Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Beauvau Marseille Vieux Port - MGallery by Sofitel 4 stars

4 Rue Beauvau, 13001 Marseille, France

#5 of 104 hotels in Marseille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1067 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.4
    The view of the pier from the balcony window
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The infestation of rats that is happening in the city and the locals are turning a blind eye too😮 On my early departure I was told by a male member of staff that seeing rats should be expected when you travel to a Port and boasted about his more experience of travel than mine when he knew nothing about me😡 The city is dirty & overcrowded and please take my advice and do not waste your money on this visit.

    The view of the pier from the balcony window

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were snobbish and not helpful enough. Even when i was checking out i was asked if i enjoyed, i said not really, the guy at the reception didnt even bother to ask why!

    The hotel is luxury and clean and my room was big. Breakfast is fine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Super friendly, helpful staff and good coffee for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator was under repair when we arrived but we were able to use the service elevator to bring our bags to the room. But in the two nights we stayed that was the only time the elevator worked. The service elevator wasn't working either which I can imagine would be challenging for some.

    Super friendly, helpful staff and good coffee for the mornings. Shower and towels were good. Extra amenities such as robes, cream, shampoo and conditioner were all good quality. The location was excellent and although you overlooked the a busy harbour we didn't hear a thing! The windows made everything very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Generally nice stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I personally think it was overpriced (but maybe because of Gran Prix weekend). Hotel itself needs a renovation and room size could be better. Elevator was most time out of order.

    Location was perfect, staff was really nice but made a lot of mistakes with my bills. Internet speed was a great surprise. Very nice and spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, deceptive pricing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many upcharges that inflated the bill by nearly 50 percent. Parking is available, not free.

    We were upgraded to a suite, a wonderful harbor view. Bed was comfortable, fine bath. Easy access to shopping area off the harbor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay at the Beauvau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was nothing not to like.

    We enjoyed our stay at the Beauvau. The location is excellent. The reception staff was very kind and helpful, ready to provide guidance for places to visit and restaurants and make reservations. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. All around is a nice environment to relax after enjoying the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a small point. Breakfast buffet was really excellent but at €25 per person a bit steep - only used it once.

    Great hotel . Perfect location. We had a deluxe room with a view over the port - perfect. Living area as well as bedroom. Great bar - again with the perfect people watching view. Helpful and friendly staff. Easy walk from the station and central to everywhere we wanted to see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Delicious breakfast with specialties from the Provence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Delicious breakfast with specialties from the Provence. Nice view on Vieux Port from the bar and breakfast room. Oustanding location for a touristic visit to the city with the metro and bus stops at a few metres from the entrance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    A great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast choice

    Not great breakfast selection especially for vegetarians and items not replenished once they were finished so if you came for breakfast later there wasn't a lot left to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Delightful stay on the rehabilitated Vieux Port area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel in a perfectly location on Vieux Port. Second floor bar looks out over the (newly cleaned up and renovated) Vieux Port area. Take the ferry boat ride out to ile d’If (and Château d’If - the place that provided inspiration for the Count of Monte Christo story) - very scenic ride. The museum in Fort Saint-Jean (the impressive pile of rock that you pass on the way out of port on the ferry) had a Picasso exhibition that was unique and very impressive (and I have seen dozens of Picasso exhibitions all over Europe). It was on Picasso’s costume design work for Diaghilev’s Ballets Russes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant in the actual hotel but thats minor as its surrounded by restaurants

    Beautiful hotel with stunning views. Fantastic breakfast Lovely kind staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Bed is just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window straight to the wall. However for one night stay is acceptable. There is only public parking and it is a challenge to get in there even with navigation.

    Bed is just perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Sweet hotel with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning was a bit inconsistent, some days we were given more tea, other days not. Same with the loo roll. Cocktails were pretty expensive... Although they were delicious and the view is top notch.

    Excellent location and lovely view from the bar. Really liked the decor throughout the hotel. The staff were really friendly. Our room was very quiet and super comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Ideal location for a short break in Marseilles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed to find a cracked toilet and a very poor shower (very difficult to get the temperature or the angle right). The air conditioning was not powerful enough (and this was October!)

    We had a very good sized room with a comfortable bed. The view was outstanding, as was the soundproofing. The included breakfast was just right for a French petit dejeuner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Good location hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really the best MGallery I have visited as the facilities are pretty basic and offer limited extra comfort. Unfortunately, we had a room facing a wall in the central courtyard, so for the view, not really interesting. The parking is really expensive in the area. Allow at least 30€ for 24h stay.

    Excellent location, close to main touristic sites, large rooms and friendly staff. Great breakfast buffet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic room and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite with Balcony and Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to pay extra 28 euros for parking. The staff there parked for us but we expected free parking. Btw, the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, they do have a very lovely bar tho.

    The view was great and room was wonderful. Our room was on the 5th floor and it was quiet and comfortable. We didnt know the breakfast could be brought upstairs so we didn't book it in advance, but if you do they will bring breakfast upstairs within the time specified by you. We really liked the stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Nice, professional treatment at the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Those partial glass doors in the shower let sometimes water go into the floor .

    Nice, professional treatment at the front desk. Breakfast ready at 6:30 am that we needed because of an early flight. Spacious room & bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic location in friendly hotel full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Suite with Balcony and Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not made up properly for 3 and 4 of us on the first day, and we really struggled to get some milk!!

    Excellent location right in the centre of Marseilles, we had a beautiful duplex room looking right over the harbour with a balcony. The staff were all really lovely and friendly. They were also very quick to help out when we had a problem with our safe. Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Julien the barman speaks excellent English, and was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Julien the barman speaks excellent English, and was very helpful in recommending local restaurants. The bar overlooks the Vieux Port. My room had a fantastic view overlooking the Vieux Port, and the hotel is right next to the metro station, and very close to the tourist office information office. Tip: Take the shuttle bus from Marseille ariport to Marseille St Charles train station (20 mins) and then travel two stops by metro to the Vieux Port. A taxi wouldn't be any faster. You can buy a return ticket for the combined bus and metro at the airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    The receiptionist told me that the room was not ready /...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receiptionist told me that the room was not ready / cleaned on my arrival at 5 o'clock in the afternoon and asked me to wait for about an hour or to change the room with another one which does not have any street view, upon my decision for waiting, she made the room ready in 5 minutes !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.7
    Overpriced waterfront location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Suite with Balcony and Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staff at reception was particularly surly, unhelpful and humourless. A bad impression for a hotel trying to create a good brand.

    View from room, breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    First time in Marseille which is a place with lots of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The business of the town. Marseille is a very large and busy place which took me by surprise. Booked a room with view of courtyard which was actually the wall of a building

    Breakfast was very good with lots of variety and fresh pastries. Location the best as it was opposite the metro train. Staff very friendly and helpful. I think Marseille is an expensive place to stay compared to other destinations on our trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    2.9
    Overpriced and underwhelmed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was sold as courtyard view. It was actually a small shaft with the air conditioning unit, no courtyard, no view. The room was hot and we couldn't open the window because of the noise from the air con. The staff were pretty rude and unhelpful when I brought this up . They Said there was nothing they could do. Terribly value for money. Not worth it at all

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel with fantastic view!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping always forgot to put toiletries in our room and coffee so had to constantly call the reception to ask for them which it was a bit unpleasant for us as we are the kind of people that don't want to trouble anyone. Staff can do with basic English language so they can communicate properly with their guests.

    The hotel is really nice with special interior design. Staff was brilliant however the English was poor and hard to communicate. We have had bad experiences at the restaurants near by with staff very rude and 0 customer service therefore we chose to go to the local restaurants in town where it was brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    We stayed here for three nights in August.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for three nights in August. The hotel was very lovely with lots of delightful period features. The weather was extremely hot so the air conditioned rooms were very welcome indeed. On the subject of the rooms ....they were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing with so much choice and all the staff at the hotel that we encountered on our stay were polite, friendly and efficient! Would recommend highly! We had a harbour view from our room which just put the cherry on top of the stay! Simply stunning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Very good breakfast, nice and comfortable room wth sight out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good breakfast, nice and comfortable room wth sight out over Veux Port, very central location, near restaurants shops, museum and more, the roome and all places in the hotel were Clean and nice all over

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    The hotel was very nice and we had a lovely room with sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of parking at €28 per day. Added another €84 to our 3 day stay.

    The hotel was very nice and we had a lovely room with sea view. Breakfast and staff were excellent The location is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aircon was adequate but could have been better.

    Excellent view of the old port from our deluxe room. Breakfast was amazing. Reception staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Great stay in Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great reception staff, very thoughtful. Great hotel, room, comfort, cleanness, breakfast, great location, all city attractions close by the hotel... I do recomend the hotel for your stay in Marseille.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Excellent overnight stay in fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not there long enough to find any problems. I imagine that the rooms overlooking the port must be amazing as the view is extraordinary

    We had to book last minute and staff were very kind, efficient and helpful. Location is amazing. Bed extremely comfortable and the room Temperature was perfect. I really liked the complimentary waters in the fridge and the helpful staff. We had a beer in the bar overlooking the port which was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.3
    I had high expectations, hotel is ok but not exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    noise of the street outside. small room. No place to park the car after 11PM had to park in a very dirty underground parking lot then walk back to the hotel.

    Breakfast and bed comfort.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Walking distance to everything at in the Old Port district...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At first quite shocking to see pairs of armed soldiers patrolling the streets during the day ... but in retrospect, we felt safe and there were no incidents while we were there. English or high-school level French was adequate to shop and dine in the tourist areas.

    Walking distance to everything at in the Old Port district including throngs of outdoor cafes, fish market, and immediate access to tour buses covering most of the city`s sights. (Notre Dame, old port, shopping malls, etc.) Happily avoided driving in Marseille by returning the car to the airport, and taking a taxi to the Old Port. Best decision I made. Too many one-way streets ... Lots of vendor stands on the side streets near the port area ... Very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    Excellent location, ok-ish hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the breakfast was extortionate at 25 euros each so we never had it - 50€ per day before you even leave the hotel would be ridiculous. Most of the staff in reception were unfriendly and never greeted us as we passed by. Bathroom products were not replaced when used and we had to request them. On the whole I do not think the hotel is worth the high per night cost.

    The location and the views (if you pay for them) are excellent. The room design was not bad although a little carelessly put together in places (you can see wallpaper paste smeared on the paper, the furniture is old and doesn't work coherently with the design). The room size was pretty good. The reception and communal areas were nicely presented.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of hotel is great in the center of the old city on the Vieux Port , room was fine, though somewhat small, staff very friendly . It is a famous hotel where Chopin and George Sand stayed 170 years ago, it is in a great location to visit the Vieux Port and other important sites in Marseilles. It is close to lovely restaurants and allows nice walks in the old city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    the location and the room were great, problem with the air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location and the room were great, problem with the air conditioning, so super hot in the room and too loud to have the window open, so a sleepless night!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    Below expectations. The design reference should be taken alway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures of the hotel are below what you find in reality. The room is not big and the it's everything but not a 4 star DESIGN hotel. You can easily book a b&b (chambre d'hôtes) and get far better quality and service and have a tailored made experience.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel in the heart of Marseilles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A non slip mat for the tub would have helped.

    Breakfast was outstanding, with great variety of food and fabulous view. Very close to port activities and variety of resteraunts for all tastes. Clean and quiet with helpful staff. Very accomadating with early check-in as we were coming in from overnight flight .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    French elegance at it's fullest..!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window view : Old Port of Marseille....The Hotel was bathed in Sunlight...fresh flowers were located in every floor and the smell of Nespresso morning coffee was motivating guests to seize the day.! Luxurious but yet simple, extremely comfortable, offering flavors of Aix- en Provence, decorated in French elegance Grand Hotel Beauvaux Marseille has everything a traveller is asking for..and even more..! Highly recommended.!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Location is great, service not so good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even if you have do not disturb, they would still disturb. One day cleaners left my room door wide open with all my stuff inside. Thankfully nothing went missing

    Location is perfect! Walking distance to the port and to the shopping area. Metro and train station is a short walk away

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, absolutely amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minus point was the toilet, we couldn't sit strait on it because of the toilet paper holder on the wall.

    Very friendly staff, absolutely amazing breakfast. Very clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Quality Comfortable Accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The croissants fruit and other items on the breakfast buffet should have been covered as many flies were on and around the uncovered foodstuffs

    Restaurant servers and all hotel staff were very polite and friendly the general ambiance was pleasing with good quality comfortable bedrooms with all the little extras provided that complement and make for a very comfortable stay. This was a very pleasant good quality hotel with an excellent view of Vieux Port

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location for a week in Marseille!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little tired. More storage drawer space would have been useful. Maybe some books for hanging coats and wet swimwear!

    Breakfast choices were exellent and plentiful and available over an extended period! Views from bar and breakfast room were stunning! Staff were attentive and obliging!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful port view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel overlooking the old port. Do try to book a port view room. Breakfast was great, in fact everything was first class. Even a free morning paper at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely old hotel right on the Harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and had no chair just a small stool under the table. There was a small balcony but you had to climb on a step and through the window a little difficult. Again no chairs so could not really use the balcony.

    Great breakfast in lovely dining room overlooking the harbour. Comfy bed, very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Went with an open mind as we have not stayed there before Friendly welcome , info given etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not find fault

    Cleanliness of the room good supply all round coffee machine in room bathroom big and spacious with nice goodies slippers and bathrobe Breakfast 100% excellent good variety etc

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Traditional hotel, well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Well located right by the Vieux Port. Lovely room with view over the Vieux Port. Valet parking worked well although parking in central Marseille is expensive! Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Excellently located right in front of the port couldn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellently located right in front of the port couldn't find s better location, breakfast had plenty of choice with some lovely sausages to have with some excellent French bread and other local products. Couldn't fault my stay at the hotel and the staff were really good too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Marseille is a great place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Take your walking shoes and a camera.

    We were able to cover every all twelve of the best things to do on Marseille from the excellent location of the hotel using taxi, metro, hop on hop off bus, ferry and coastal boat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Great Port Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cost at 25 euros.

    The hotel was well located and faces the Vieux Port. I chose a quiet room on the sixth floor and behind the hotel with roof level views. The good sized room was clean, very quiet, with a good sized modern bathroom and a super comfy bed. Helpfull and professional staff take care of your requests and requirements. I did not have breakfast. First time in this hotel after three visits to Marseille. Good value for money and recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the hotel was refurbished (rooms included) they left out the shower.

    Breakfast was really good. View of the port in the morning exceptional. Room was really nice with view of the port.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.1
    Very nice clean friendly hotel, but breakfast overpriced for small eaters!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not included in the price as I thought it was, we are not big breakfast eaters, myself and my husband only had 2 slices of toast each with jam and a very bad weak cup of coffee for the 2 morning we were there and we were charged 100 euros for this!! Don't get me wrong there was plenty of food to choose at breakfast, but I think you should be charged by what you had eaten, I was so shocked when they handed me the bill when leaving....but you live and learn!

    The room was lovely, very clean and a good view over the old port. The bed very comfortable and relaxing. The bar was nice and the barman Olivier was very friendly and welcoming. All the staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    A great place to stay in Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no view.

    The bathroom was a very high standard and the shower was excellent. The buffet breakfast was delicious served in the breakfast room with a beautiful view of the port. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    great location to walk everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and views while the room was soundproof. Able to walk to many museums and cafés. Boat takes you to Chateau d'if (like Alcatraz) Walking tours were marked with colored paint on the sidewalks. We bought the city pass and everything (except food) was included.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Stunning view and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light shades in breakfast room too low. My husband hit his head. The waiter said he kept doing that as well!

    Bed and room v comfy and quiet All staff pleasant & helpful. Breakfast good. Outstanding Madeleines! Location and view unbeatable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    The location of the hotel is very good, 2 stops from ST Char...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the hotel is very good, 2 stops from ST Char tain station by Metro Line 1. and several steps from Metro exit to hotel. The room i booked is a port view room with fantastic view which made us happy. Breakfast is ok. every thing is good. If the price is more cheap it will be better!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Perfect location, fabulous breakfasts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weirdly high doorsills at the entrances to the rooms ... tripped several times and came close to a bad fall.

    Fabulous view of the harbor, clean upscale rooms, unbelievable breakfast buffet, right in the center of the Old Port, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful! Tres vien!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - had to leave....

    - What a perfect location!! Just in front of vieux port and metro station. The room with port view was fantastic! - Every single detail of the room was very artistic. Yes! It was very french!! - Breakfast was good. Especially the atmosphere and the view. -Very friendly staff!! -capsule coffee in the room was quite spectacular! -The room was very quiet when I close the window even though the hotel confronts the hot traveling spot! -Wifi worked well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet and breakfast were both overpriced. Valet took a very long time to get our car back.

    Amazing location. Room was lovely. Staff are very friendly and patient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    9.2
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked room with balcony. Unfortunately there are no seating facilities so couldn't sit and enjoy breakfast ect on balcony.

    View from room. You need to book room with harbor view. Breakfast included served in room. Staff very friendly even though we don't speak French.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    5.0
    Great location & A Hotel with Potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of aircon, room very hot and when the window was open noisy. The shower rose would not stay in the direction it was placed forcing you to hold it while showering. Room required some maintainance, chipped and dirty paint work. Window was cleaned only after specific request. A real surprise considering the outlook.

    The location, view of the water and easy access to shops and food establishments.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel with wonderful views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!!!!

    This hotel is just perfect! Had a wonderful weekend for my husbands 40th. Excellent location, friendly staff, great room & lovely breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    Marseille - sunshine, sea and sand!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our view from the bedroom! We knew it wasn't going to be a port facing room but instead looked out on a 'courtyard' - basically all the vents from other rooms. We could just about see some sky if we looked up but other than that it was walls and windows!

    The breakfast was great. Location was exactly where we wanted to be. Could easily walk from the bus station to the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.2
    This hotel is a must look at if going to marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was limited on there choice of cocktails they did not have the ingredients for what they offered.

    Hotel is located in the best place possible with fantastic views. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.8
    Sofitel at Marseille's Vieux Port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom decor was unattractive: the massive headboard, the yellow nylon curtains, the colour of the carpeting, some of the furniture. No chairs in the room. Some of the hall carpeting - strange zigzags. ALL rooms have yellow touches.

    The breakfast is splendid: eggs, sausages, mushrooms, bacon; cheeses, breads, fresh fruit salad, dates, figs etc. Newspapers. The staff are helpful and friendly. A two minute walk to the opera house. The fact that Lamartine, Mérimé, Chopin and George Sand stayed here.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    Thought I was back in Bangkok,Everyone in Hotel Happy and Smiling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our ability to stay longer would have been better. Hope I can come bacl again in the summer time.The

    The staff excellent,happy,smiling and very helpful nothing was difficult for them The kitchen,dining staff excellent,the coffee was hot I like.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.5
    Enjoy the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular. The shower head had to be manipulated to stay in place. I have noted that the French have done away with the bidet in the bathrooms. Is this a modern trend, a case of limited space, a case of less money or that today's generation need not wash like grandma.

    The location is the best. The view, which comes at a considerable cost, is also the best, over viewing the activity of the inner port. The breakfast was good by French standards. The room and bathroom was ok although a bit small.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    8.3
    Great waterfront location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    couldn't find the entrance to the hotel easily although you know you're at the hotel. kind man from the brasserie came out to point us towards the right direction. also the bar closes quite early.

    Great waterfront location! easy to find once you get out of the metro. big room with a view of the marina.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.3
    A nice hotel to stay in Marseille
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cushion is not comfortable. They are too big and hard. Also, was quite cold in the room, heating is not working. I asked the hotel staff and I received an electric heater.

    The breakfast was really good. The room was nice and spacious. The hotel location is perfect with a nice view to the old port.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel in a superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    high prices in mini bar.

    Location,views of vieux port from room, ample accessories, general hotel atmosphere, breakfast. Had to wait for taxi in reception area and low, mood music was superb and relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.2
    An elegant, well served property, very French.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no dining room for meals other than breakfast, and most nearby restaurants were either chains or bars, or did not begin serving until too late for a woman alone to feel comfortable. An odd commonalty among all the hotels I stayed at -- there was a desk in every room, yet no lamp in its corner, so at night the space was dark. I had to move the only chair to the window in order to knit or read in the daytime, or lie in bed at night.

    I admired the staff uniforms, enough to want to assemble the same combination of white & blue matelot shirt, navy blazer, jeans, and white canvas shoes. It was elegant while giving the atmosphere of a seaport. The breakfast was excellent, and the service staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Ideal location and lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I only gave 3/4 for facilities, as I didn't need parking or gym or spa so I didn't enquire

    The location was excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good and was served 6.30-11.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    SUPERB HOTEL!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the city because i felt that i am not in an european city .VERY multicultrural....

    The hotel is fantastic.Helpful staff ,polite,very clean,nice decoration and very good location, since is better not to use the public transport to Marseille for safety reasons.10/10 for the hotel!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Incredible view of the port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was clean and comfortable. We were surprised by how nice the toiletries were. Breakfast was a bit more than we usually pay however it was worth every penny! Good variety and very responsive staff. The reception was accommodating and helped us make dinner reservations in the area and had good suggestions. We liked that someone was at the front desk at all hours and the security of the building during the night was pleasing. The area is perfect for tourist attractions for visitors and travel by metro, train, and taxi. We would definitely go again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Great Hotel with a cannot be bettered Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing!!!!!!!!!!

    The location my room 207 faced the old port with fabulous view. The bathroom very good and always had hot water. Metro and buses stopped outside. The breakfast was good and ample. A few streets away were trams. All the staff were very helpful with any of my queries. Many many restaurants to choose from. I do recommend the de-luxe room with harbour view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.1
    Lovely hotel let down on details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Old Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work. Coffee maker unreliable and they wouldn't let me have 2 teabags! Leaking tap. Floppy shower head. No toilet brush. Rude night desk person. Not what you'd expect at an expensive hotel.

    Fantastic location overlooking the port. Very quiet room despite noisy lively port. Liked the feel of the room. Good options for buffet breakfast. Valet parking very helpful. Great reception on booking in.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: