Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Grenoble Centre Alpotel 4 stars

12 Boulevard Maréchal Joffre, 38000 Grenoble, France

#33 of 50 hotels in Grenoble

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 149 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.0
    Only average, after an awful first two hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Information on parking is not correct both on booking.com and the hotel's own website. They only have 20 spaces and you cannot reserve in advance. This meant we had to park in a public car park over half a kilometer away and then haul our luggage to the hotel in the rain, not easy for someone suffering from arthritis. Incurred extra costs compared to hotel parking due to having to park elsewhere. Ended up in multiple arguments with reception regarding this, receptionist's tone was very rude and said "It's a city hotel, what do you expect?". Very nearly cancelled on the spot and moved to another hotel. Handed keys with no information about WiFi, breakfast, etc. Got to the room and the bathroom door had two broken hinges and wouldn't close. Moved rooms only after another 30 minutes and "upgraded" to a "Privilege" room which just means you get a couple of free drink and don't have to search in the drawers for the additional pillows. Air conditioning was pathetic in both rooms which we experienced.

    Good location for visiting the old town in Grenoble being between tram stops on the A and C lines, also only 10-15 minutes walk from the old town. Hotel was generally clean and the bed was fairly comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    ı have stayed for bussiness and the hotel was really quiet, breakfast was really good and variety.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ana caddeye bakan odamın camı açılmıyordu--Windows are fixed and cannot open.

    breakfast was really good for france , boiled and cooked egg, cheese, many kind of pastry, butter, 3kind of jam, fruits, orange and pomelo juice,milk, muesli-finally you can be saturated with :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    4.6
    It is not recommended for stay during the summer time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is not recommended for stay during the summer time. The air condition in each room can not be adjusted. It is too warm (25°C)!!! Their staff can not adjust the temperature as it is fixed in central control system.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit quiet at night around the hotel. But a few blocks further there are nice pubs and restaurants.

    Nice hotel. Good breakfast. They offer some local treats as well at the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel with mountain view and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking slots in the garage might be a little bit wider, as it is difficult to open the doors for both the driver and the passenger. First you should let the passengers get out of the car and only then park ...

    Very good hotel, we got mountain view from the window. A very good restaurant on the ground-floor, highly recommended for dinner or a glass of wine. Parking is available in the garage.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.5
    OK overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The room was a bit cold, even with the heat on max. Also, the bathroom ventilation was weak, the whole bathroom and room itself was very humid even after one shower, with a lot of condensation on the windows. Also, the windows are rather old and single pane, they developed a lot of condensation. A bit on the pricey side for what it's offering, but not too expensive.

    Very comfortable bed, very good breakfast, clean. The staff was very friendly. Nice, big, HDTV, very good for watching movies from my laptop.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.8
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was advertised as a 4 star but it really didn't feel like and the mountain view they claim they have is not such.

    The friendly staff the cleanliness, location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    Great business hotel in an excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor criticism is the lack of a fitness room.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location very close to the tram lines. Good comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Overall it was good. The reception staff during the day were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no proper tea and coffee mugs provided in the room or upon request from the reception staff.

    The restaurant food was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.7
    Renovation during my stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation during my stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    WIFi was poor and after complaining nothing was done.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 11 nights

    WIFi was poor and after complaining nothing was done.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free water and comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.3
    hotel standard chambres confortables
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel standard chambres confortables

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    2.9
    Due to the fact that this hotel is the nearst stayable hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Over charge for NO reason. When we left the hotel at least 19th, February 2016, we were told that we had comsumed in the hotel restaurant for 30 euros, which is completely nonsens, because all our meals we had were in my daughter's home, with my daughter. When we pointed out that fact to the reception, who is a young man with black hair and glasses, to our great surprise, he refused to verify whether it is our consummation and demanded us to pay this unreasonable fee. He even said that he was tired so he didn't care if it was really us who made this consummation. He refused to offer any help, or make any effort. He seemed impatient and just wanted us to pay this unreasonable fee and get off. He kept saying that it is none of his business and that he didn't care. To me, it was outrageous. Eventually,we have a TGV to catch that morning so we had to pay the bill. And I have no choice but to stay in this hotel because it is the nearst hotel to where my daughter lives. But careful people. They will demand you to pay something that is not comsumed by you. Till this day, this problem remains unsolved. This time is 30 euros, who knows next time what they will do.

    Due to the fact that this hotel is the nearst stayable hotel to the where my daughter lives, this hotel is my regular choice. But it has nothing to do with the hotel itself.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    5.0
    Location close to park.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Cannot regulate room temperature - very hot, no possibilities to open window, air conditioning is not working. Avoid ordering stake in restaurant.

    Location close to park.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    9.6
    Good location, close to tram stops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Secure parking at hotel is quite tricky if you have a large car such as an estate as preset spaces with walls either side.

    Good location, close to tram stops. Quiet. Very clean, good breakfast and staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    Very clean & comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Very clean & comfortable room. Had everything required for our stay. Good location, near the stade des alpes & 10 minute walk to town centre. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Wifi was also good & rooms fully air conditioned. Staff were very friendly. Would definitely stay here again if we were to return to Grenoble.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    6.7
    Hotel is a decent overnight stop in Grenoble with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's definitely geared towards the business traveller rather than leisure with a businesslike breakfast area designed for solo travellers who want to eat quickly while checking their emails. The covered parking is only suitable for small cars as the spaces all have walls.service is also business like rather than pleasant or friendly.

    Hotel is a decent overnight stop in Grenoble with the advantage of secure parking. It's a 10 min walk from the main part of the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    4.2
    located close to office
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleaners had left the vacuum in between the doorway of my room and an adjoining room and left for the day - uncertain as to whether the room had been properly cleaned before cleaners left. Restaurant was closed - inconvenient as I and my colleagues would have stayed elsewhere with available facilities.

    located close to office

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    6.3
    Well situated in the center of Grenoble!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The whole hotel needs a renovation. It looks a lttle like back in 1985. Too expensive for what it is. Rooms are very tiny.

    Well situated in the center of Grenoble! Amazing breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    8.8
    evrithing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    evrithing

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    7.1
    service, clean, central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no wellness, no fitness center, restaurant was closed on weekend

    service, clean, central

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    7.9
    Bed comfortable and nice cleaning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed comfortable and nice cleaning

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    7.5
    Parking available
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small room

    Parking available Clean Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    8.3
    Location and Room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Expensive.

    Location and Room

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    Staff were very helpful, supermarket close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very helpful, supermarket close by.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    8.8
    everything was ok as I expected for this accor hotel brand.
    • Solo traveller

    everything was ok as I expected for this accor hotel brand. parking.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    6.3
    Room air conditioner made a noise, but did nothing to cool...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room air conditioner made a noise, but did nothing to cool the room down. Car parking spaces were tiny.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: