Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mercure Lisieux 3 stars

177 Rue Roger Aini, Route de Paris, 14100 Lisieux, France

#10 of 14 hotels in Lisieux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 235 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    The overall atmosphere and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we didn't like.

    The overall atmosphere and friendly staff. Very comfortable accommodation compared with other stopovers we had made on our way through to northern France from Languedoc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    It's a long way out of Lisieux, there was noisy building...
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a long way out of Lisieux, there was noisy building work going on during our stay. No effort to clean public areas once builders has left. Paper cups for tea and coffee in room! Minimal toiletries supplied. Ok stay but don't pay too much

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    Adequate for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lingering smell of cigarettes. Very high-side to bath made it difficult to access for shower. Long distance from centre of town.

    Very clean , fresh bedding

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    We will definitely stay there again if we are in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The hotel was excellent in every way, with friendly, helpful staff, a very comfortable and spacious room and a first class bathroom. We enjoyed a very good dinner in the restaurant and would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    Friendly, helpful staff, but this hotel desperately needs some investment.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a meal in the restaurant for dinner. Not a good idea. We had to wait almost an hour before we ordered. There was insufficient staff, the buffet was not good at all, and we had to wait such a long time for our food to arrive, we thought we had been forgotten. The restaurant is the same place for breakfast - which was probably the poorest we have ever had in a Mercure. It felt very 'canteen' like. Disappointing.

    Location and parking were good. Staff on reception excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Good dog friendly hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath was a bit difficult to get in and out of due to high sides. Also no world BBC news working on tv

    Room and bathroom clean. Food was good and staff very friendly and efficient. We travel with our dog and very pet friendly. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.2
    Excellent restaurant, the best possible staff, nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only little word of criticism regards the temperature inside the rooms. Ground-level rooms tend to be quite cold in autumn-winter, but bed covers are very warm, so it is not so dramatic!

    Excellent restaurant, the best possible staff, nice, refurbished rooms

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    Ideal location and suited us very well en route from Spain to Le Havre to catch a ferry.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    The bed WAS very clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful, polite and especially caring towards our small dog e.g. a bowl of water automatically provided in the restaurant without the need to ask.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.1
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont expect more than a standard, middle-class accomodarion. Nothing charming or romantic. Just simple.

    Good value for money. Clean. Parking space granted for free.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.2
    Stylish and sophisticated with excellent staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told we could not claim any points after four nights sat Mercure hotels!!

    Consistency between Mercure Hotels. Large rooms excellent bathrooms and lovely beds. We made a point of staying at Mercure for 4nights while in france as they are super. Only disappointed that we were told we could not claim our points as we had booked through Booking.com.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    5.0
    Basic and expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located by an industrial estate and housing estate there is nowhere to walk out to. A very basic hotel that could have been anywhere. A costly one night stay. Guest houses a much better choice for a real French experience.

    Breakfast choice good but very very expensive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No remarks

    Good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Prima ontbijt. Nette kamer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was too overpriced for the variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was too overpriced for the variety. The accommodation was good. No complaints.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    can be recommended
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Good for a short business stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs upgrades.

    Good price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our stay and the restaurant was excellent the safe too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window opened too wide so couldn't get enough ventilation fir safety

    The hotel was excellent and the staff too

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    We'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments really 👍

    Our 16 year old had separate room next door, outdoor pool we did use🌞 clean and comfy .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    2.5
    Nothong
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothong

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.2
    over night pitstop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    excellent all round

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.5
    good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.9
    Good overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a bit tatty but OK

    Lovely breakfast and evening meal

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    6.7
    Abscence de la climatization
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Abscence de la climatization

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.1
    Enjoyed stay but was charged 99 euros for 2 ways breakfast for 1 adult and 2 kids
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive. 16.50 euros per person. No cheaper for children

    Good standard of hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    6.3
    Good overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the road.

    Easy access for overnight stop. Good shower room. Kettle in the room. Good parking. Restaurant on- site.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    8.3
    friendly welcome again for our small dog , Thank you .
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    water splashed out of the shower area . I think the expel air fan in the bathroom was not functioning at that time

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    7.9
    The bed is comfortable and the staff are kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is comfortable and the staff are kind. the free parking is very spacious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.4
    Good selection at breakfast and easy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very little security in the car park although it was not an issue. Very dated and the whole interior needs updating and maintenance. The bedrooms are of sprayed concrete construction. Noisy corridor. Not all Mercure hotels are created equal. We have stayed in some very luxurious Mercures, this was not one of them. This is little more than a Travelodge type place but with a good breakfast.

    Good selection at breakfast and easy parking.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.1
    The staff were really helpful and we had a lovely meal in...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bed sagged in the middle so we kept rolling together. No air-conditioning. We skipped breakfast because €16.50 seemed a bit steep.

    The staff were really helpful and we had a lovely meal in the restaurant. The hotel is well located and if the weather had been warmer, having the swimming pool would have been a bonus.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    I was very thrilled by the hearty welcome of the staff which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I was very thrilled by the hearty welcome of the staff which was available at any moment. Although there was a bus to be in the centre if Lisieux, the hotel was in a good position and I have well appreciated the buffet breakfast which was of good quality. I regret not to have booked the hotel for one week.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    6.7
    Good location Nice pool (if a little cold!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bar waiter a bit miserable. Very expensive breakfast. Little choice on menu for children.

    Good location Nice pool (if a little cold!). Stayed here many years ago without children, place seems almost identical.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.3
    We were upgraded to a very comfortable 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was good but rather expensive at 16.50 Euros, regardless of whether we had a full cooked breakfast or jus a piece of toast.

    We were upgraded to a very comfortable 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom suite at no extra charge

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.8
    Nice and serviceminded hotel manager.
    • Group

    The restaurant manager very unwilling to lay another table just because there were many guests and we had not reserved. After having complained loudly they fixed it. Unproffessional!!!!

    Nice and serviceminded hotel manager. Good food and breakfast. Nice girls serving.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    10
    It was a lovely surprise when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was nothing to complain about. The food was excellent and the dining area was laid out very well;

    It was a lovely surprise when we arrived. Everything was beautiful. U could see the swimming pool and all was very clean. The staff were very helpful and our room was cleaned every day with new towels.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    4.6
    The hotel seemed very dated and the level of service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel seemed very dated and the level of service wasn't as good as in the other budget hotels we stayed in

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    6.7
    Good basic hotel, dinner was Ok, (not great), rooms, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location from town centre is not good

    Good basic hotel, dinner was Ok, (not great), rooms, staff all ok.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.5
    Not far from Honfleur
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not far from Honfleur

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    7.9
    Good road access,convenient part of Lisieux, very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot duvet, breakfast very expensive

    Good road access,convenient part of Lisieux, very close to large supermarket with cheap fuel

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: