Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux 4 stars

114, Boulevard des Belges, 6th arr., 69006 Lyon, France

#61 of 113 hotels in Lyon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The air circulation in the room was not very good; breakfast is a bit too simple.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful; location is great; room is very quiet and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little out of the centre, about 20 minutes by metro to the old town. In front of quite a busy road and train line but I was actually surprised at how quiet it was at night, we slept well. No black out curtains.

    Was easy to find, one metro stop from Part Dieu or 15 minute walk. Walking distance to the parc tete d'or and les halles, a lot of eating options nearby. They offer breakfast in your room as restaurant area is small. Only a small selection but was impressed with the quality. Helpful staff. Big television in room, good Wi-Fi. Overall very good value, we'd stay again as we've visited Lyon a few times if it's your first visit you may want to be a bit closer to main tourist sites.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One comment was that unfortunately the wifi was not working during our stay. They explained that they changed something and that the issue came up on January 1st. The bed was slightly too hard to my liking but it is really a minor down.

    The spacious and neat room. The location, close to the park, restaurants, mall and subway, tram & bus and easily accessible from the airport. The attentions with the free bottle of water, the boiler + tea availability. The perfect silence, triple glass. We will definitely come back :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No door to bathroom, poor air recycling, rumorous stepping sounds from upstairs, dark courtyard view, impossible-to-find night bell at the hotel entrance

    Spacious room, very good bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room, except of bathroom which would deserve some renovation. Otherwise hotel is situated in historical building and do not have standard Mercure look. Good location, close to city centre, metro, many restaurants around. Parking place easy to find on the street close to the hotel, we were there during longer weekend which might have been advantage, as it seems many locals were away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxi 'deal' the gave me on my way back to the airport was 1,5 times more expensive than on my way to the hotel. Rip off.

    The size of the bed was good, but it were two single beds put together.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to repeatedly sign in to WiFi. But OK once signed in.

    We were asked which side of the hotel we would like our room to be. Street side or rear. We chose street, because the windows give a nice view of the avenue. Staff spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free internet is slow Breakfast buffet not fully stacked on time Hot milk was barely warm each day despite asking

    Location Room / comfort of bed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is comfortable and quiet, staff is nice, location good, pretty clean but I would not give 4 stars.

    The location is very good. Not far from metro and from the Part-Dieu train station (15 mins walk). Close to the "Les Halles" market. Less than 30 mins walking from the historical city center.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the breakfast room would be good when it's hot outside!

    The location is ideal as it's so conveniently located close to La Part Dieu train station & shopping centre - a mere 10 mns walk and the Tete d'Or Park - about 7 mns walk. It is also very close to local shops. The staff is very helpful & courteous. The rooms are comfortable, the lay out works really well. My room overlooked the road and I was afraid of being kept awake however double glazing ensured peaceful nights which was an added bonus. Breakfast is made up of cooked and continental items and is quite substantial & enjoyable. Nadia looked after us really well and we could stay well after 10am which is when the buffet gets cleared. This was quite convenient as I had invited some friends over for brekfast. Wi-Fi is fast & very reliable which is brilliant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow free WiFi, but sufficient for booking and such. Not very comfortable pillows, but ok. When I arrived, there was no piece of soap for the sink, only in the shower. Staff quickly fixed it though.

    Good sound and light isolation. Helpful staff, who speaks sufficient English. Good location near park, with short walking distance to foodhall and train station.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Went for the Euro football but like all the hotels they doubled the price for a one night stay, €189 which is just ridiculous and wanted €18 for a continental breakfast. Shower had no thermostat so constantly went from hot to cold.

    Small hotel with restaurants nearby. It was clean, comfortable beds, nice staff and if you wanted to stay in this area yes I would recommend it. Be warned Its not near the tourist area.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s close to everything, walking distance to the park where the zoo is... worth exploring

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists were superb and super helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise isolation is not perfect as we could here some noise from the corridor sometimes.

    Beautiful building, god bed, good location, great staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Staff and nice and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper cups, towels, size of room.

    Room was much smaller than the photos led us to believe, towels were worn, paper cups in room for tea and coffee,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Room is quite small, and the shower place is not a nice design

    breakfast is pretty good, the room is very cleanning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    One of the nicest hotels with a great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very quiet room, great location, 6 mins walk to the commercial centre. Parking right across from the Hotel, 6 mins walk to Jardin Botanique.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely view from the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small

    The location is wonderful and hotel is clean and simple

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfortable bed and quiet room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    just renovated room isn't an advantage: brown tab water and sink quickly filling up in bathroom being asked when I will leave the room (not on checkout day)

    location, clean room, closet in room: lots of space, great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom for this stay: shower was in bathtub and was very slippery to get out. Also, due to orientation of shower I sprayed both mornings the floor big time. I had a better room on a previous stay

    Breakfast, location, rooms

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As is true of nearly all chain hotels in France, the bath tub is narrow, with a highly curved bottom and high sides. We are physically very strong, but still found it a danger to step out after a shower. Senior alert.

    Needed a easy, one-night stay between plane and train travel. Well appointed rooms with adequate space for luggage. Staff very accommodating for a late arrival (midnight) and early departure (6 am) but make sure you communicate these. We didn't partake of the breakfast (which I believe was a separate charge anyway.) If you are looking for a decent space for a short stay, this was a very good hotel, and reasonably close to the train station for walking to/from. Hotel also honored our request for a quiet room. Didn't hear a thing. But this was an urban hotel with no elbow room outside (no grounds, no common room) so I wouldn't stay longer than 2 nights personally.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have been treated with modern super showers in hotels recently, so having a sometime inconsistent shower over a bath was a slight come down.

    The location is great for the vibrant Brotteaux part of town, the park and is easy for a leisurely wander into town. Great bars and restaurants filled with French locals just around the corner.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no parking at this hotel and no warning of this. It cost an extra €31.50/day to park in the car park across the road.

    We booked the 'Privledged' room which was very comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No real occultation in that room At 5:00 am, too much light in the room In the bathroom a plastic glass and a paper cup for cofee A pitty at that level!!!

    situation

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pas de room service

    Situation

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient for our requirements.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    room size for downtown, location of hotel [choice of restaurants around], breakfast ok, staff

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    - nice room - clean - free wifi - silent - mini bar - great breakfast !

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: