Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Mercure Lyon Centre Charpennes 4 stars

7 Place Charles Hernu, 69100 Villeurbanne, France

#6 of 21 hotels in Villeurbanne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 372 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t really like the way staff were. When we first checked in, the lady at the front desk was so helpful and friendly. And most of the staff members were okay that I have seen. However, there was a man who had no idea how important the customer service is. He was rude and arrogant. When he started talking about extra charges, he suddenly started speaking in French when the conversation was in English from the beginning. He is the proof of how one person can leave a bad impression on a customer for the entire company.

    Location of the hotel was pretty good. The rooms were a little small, but they were pretty clean and comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really worth all the money, a quite standardized place.

    Chain hotel in the center of Lyon. Good rooms, good breakfast, good position close to the underground station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service not what it was. Safety deposit box not working and wasn’t fixed in 3 nights we were there, despite our request our request on arrival. No coffee cups were provided one day.

    Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is really bland, not worthy of a 4 star hotel.

    Good location just in front of Charpennes metro station. Good underground parking, but a bit expensive at 14€/day. We appreciated being allowed to leave our car in the parking from 8:00 am the day of our arrival until 6 pm when we departed (we were in town for a conference) at no extra charge. Comfortable and clean room with modern furniture, large TV and good soundproofing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The underground parking under the hotel is very narrow and its entrance is not so easy to find. The cleaning staff entered the room when I was resting, and another day, left my door ajar after cleaining.

    Very good breakfast with a lot of choices, and the room was very quiet and comfortable. The staff was also helpful when I had some asks about the city or to find some good restaurants. The subway station in front of the hotel is a must.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is nothing special, expected more from a 4 star hotel.

    Good location just in front of Charpennes metro station, maybe a bit far to walk to the Presqu’île and Vieux Lyon but the metro will get you there in 10 minutes. Within walking distance of the Part Dieu train station, the shopping mall with the same name and the Tête d'or parc. Good underground parking, for 14€/day. We appreciated being allowed to leave our car in the parking from 8:00 am the day of our arrival until 6 pm when we departed (we were in town for a conference) at no extra charge. Comfortable and clean room with modern furniture, large TV and good soundproofing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extractor fan not working in bathroom Miserable man on reception who was almost rude in telling us that we couldn't check in. The rest of the staff were great.

    Comfortable warm rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The colour of the drapery (purple) may not be to everybody's liking. Access to the garage is not easy.

    Good location close to public transportation. Reasonably comfortable rooms. Good breakfast choices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was only there one night so I did not find anything I didn't like.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room a good size. A good choice at breakfast. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. Close to the metro.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor was dirty and as we were on the 2nd floor ( room 211), there was a lot of noise from the street. Especially the traffic. The bathroom could also use some renovation ... It was my first stay at a Mercure hotel and probably the last one. To be honest , from our room point of view, the hotel is not a 4 star hotel

    Friendly staff, good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the hotel parking spots were quite narrow or difficult to get into with our car. However, we found one that suited our needs perfectly.

    The friendliness of the staff was genuine and evident right from our arrival. Hotel was a pleasant walk to the Parc de la Tête d'Or and although away from the old town, it was well connected by public transport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nicely renovated hotel with great connection to all public transports (tram & subway). Very quiet environment with very confortable rooms. Very good breakfast with high quality products.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed as even the shower was not working properly and we had to report it. The shower gel was almost empty. It's unacceptable for a 4 star hotel!

    The carpet was dirty and the bed was not comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was bit small but clean. I was located in room 205 and found it very noisy at night. Hotel in general could do with an update

    Location was very good and very close to Public Transport. WIFI was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only option for a coeliac was fruit and they mixed the grapefruit with orange and kiwi, causing everything to just taste like grapefruit. The hallways had wires coming out of the ceilings and for what I paid for the hotel, I would've expected better.

    Beds were comfy and the decor was nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance to the parking very difficult to find and overnight parking more expensive compared to similar hotels. A map to access parking on the website would would be welcome.

    Very convenient location near a metro station and tramlines. Breakfast was a high standard, perfect croisssants and scrambled eggs. Staff very friendly. Good strong shower. Room clean and tidy with comfortable bed and quiet room even though overlooking the main square.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms - need maintenance.

    Location is good - just by a metro station and 30 min walk to old city, the park and the Halles. Staff is helpfull and friendly. Brerakfast good and was included in my rate but hear it costs EUR 30+ otherwise, whcih is costly. WiFi was free and good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So noisy and there was construction work that we weren’t informed about

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking for drop off

    Very good stay. Room clean and quiet. Great breakfast. Only downside: parking for drop off non existant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Comfy bed, stylish room, hotel staff with good English

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Room could have been cleaner.

    Lauren at the reception was very friendly! Very quite room as requested.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy hotel in Lyon - great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor and building a little out dated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs are friendly and very attentive. Location is superb as it is near the metro station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedbugs!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work Took long to check in

    Centralized Confortable bed & pillow

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel overall is not well-maintained and totally overcharge for the rooms. However, I do note the room was clean.

    Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The entrance of the parking garage is very hard to find. If there's an indication or a sign from hotel, it would be better, though the parking is nice and secure underground.

    The room is very clean and well maintained. The location is really great. It's only 100 m. away from the metro station and there are supermarkets and restaurants around the area. And it's about the 20 minutes walking distance from parc de tete d'or.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel's price of the stay is much higher than the price I've got from booking.com (I had the the deal sign).

    Well I was positively shocked when I entered my room. Everything was perfect. The room was big, the bed was even bigger, the TV was giant, the small table appeared very comfortable for my notebook, the free tea/coffee facilities were very appropriate; The location is excellent. You could walk from the train station or use the tram. You could go everywhere with metro or bus. There is also a big bike rack beside the hotel; There is a McDonald's at the opposite side of the square.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    entrance to the carpark.

    friendly and helpful reception, excellent room clean and confortable, big flat screen, very quite despite facing Charpennes square . Secure underground carpark, though a little pricy.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving Lyon :)

    The Hotel is located directly near the metro station and the tram so it's easy to access anywhere you want in Lyon. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, the room service was great and the hotel is very clean as well. I recommend Mercure Lyon Charpenne.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could have been better, not enough choices and the bakery was not fresh

    Very good location, the staff was good, quick check-in and check-out

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shower didn't work, dribble only, very poor. Bar closed at 10pm on Saturday

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was too expensive for what was offered

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor bar

    Good room

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Toiletries basic and coffee not replaced when consumed despite 2 day stay

    Tea and coffee making facilities and good transport links

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location was great, comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location near main railway station Close to EdF Septen

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Could include a few more items in breakfast. Otherwise it was fine.

    Well connected. Very Helpful Staff. Excellent wifi. Comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly personnel

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    le personnel pas très enthousiasme

    rien de spécial

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The very hard bed

    Location Parking Coffee set in room

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: