Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Marseille Centre Vieux Port 4 stars

1 Rue Neuve Saint Martin, 13001 Marseille, France

#28 of 104 hotels in Marseille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2161 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    overall had a great stay. Staff very helpful with excellent English skills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    mattress uncomfortable, a little better after I turned it over. Breakfast overpriced, excellent breakfast in the port for just 7 euros.

    Great location. Booked a privilege room. Spacious with excellent bathroom facilities. Air-conditioning kept room super cool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast fresh orange juice exquisite brioche.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one night table. Room has no writing space. Hotel has no nice public space with a view once you've had breakfast

    Breakfast fresh orange juice exquisite brioche. Great parking. So close to vieux port. Helpful reception staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.3
    The bed was comfortable but didn’t think the room was up to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets were run down and didn’t feel clean. The curtains could t be drawn properly and the fridge light was always blinking which meant theough out the night, the light kept blinking

    The bed was comfortable but didn’t think the room was up to a Mercure standard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Poor air con
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aur conditioner did not work. We reported it but still on our return it wss broken. It made sleeping hot and uncomfortable

    The location was close to Vieux Port and station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location for visiting Marseille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were excellent, helpful and very welcoming. The hotel itself is centrally located and very convenient to restaurants and bars. Breakfast was overpriced at €18, if one wanted only continental breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Value for money and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast, which was not included in the price but had to add separately, could have been priced better.

    Located within a 5-10 min walk to the old port it is very efficient choice for a visit to Marseille.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom had an awful smell and the bathroom did not seem very clean. Towels were changed but the floor remained uncleaned. The room didn't even have glasses. They had only lousy plastic cups and the only amenity in the bathroom was soap. Not what you'd expect in a Mercure.

    Good location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful city to visit for a short break. Hop on off bus tour excellent. Good choice of restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location 5 minutes walk from the Vieux Port where there are many restaurants and cafes. Local supermarket 2 minutes from hotel. Clean spacious room with lovely view over the city. Staff friendly and helpful. Easy to get to from the airport by local bus to the train station then 2 stops on the metro

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    Not a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 4 of us that check-in on this hotel. When we arrived NOBODY HELP US TO BRING OUR LUGGAGE INSIDE. There are two workers outside the hotel, but when we asked for help they said it’s not their job to help customers to bring luggage’s inside.

    Front desk person helped us get taxi when we check- out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    Ok other than the hot room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air con in Mid March when we stayed as the management apparently consider this to be winter. As a result even if you selected 10 degrees it pumped out heat. Our room was far too hot for comfort and we were forced to sleep with the window wide open which was obviously noisy as it is in the City centre.

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.8
    Big room, nice view from 8th floor, complimentary tea and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed in the hotel was too hard even though I like hard beds. We told the receptionist and they put a layer on the mattress which made it somewhat better.

    Big room, nice view from 8th floor, complimentary tea and water, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Clean, central hotel with good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been great to have a decent UK news channel available

    Privilege room had very comfy bed, free soft drinks and coffee and lots of space. Wifi signal excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    Great accommodation and breakfast.
    • Group
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    At this location, it is already dangerous to go out at night. No more food at the reastaurant at late night.

    Staff was very helpful and speaks English.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Would deffinately use this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paper coffee cups in bedroom, small and ultra small sizes. It must be easier and quicker for staff rather than washing china cups, but if i'd have known in advance I would have brought large strong plastic beakers with us from UK. (We used big paper cups, which we brought from fast food chains, to use in the room.)

    Fab location and great view of old port from our Juliette balcony, with lots of activity on the promenade to watch too. Market stalls and subway below our window too. Lovely, plentiful hot and cold buffet breakfast, glad we booked all inclusive b+b rate, cheaper than buying breakfast on arrival.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Excellent overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to airport. No shuttle available. The taxi we did get to the airport was the best I have ever been in. A clean new Mercedes. Smooth ride.

    Variety Coffee excellent. Came from a cruise to stall overnight in Marseille. Breakfast much better than shop. Bread table was very nice along with cleanliness and ability to navigate around stations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice breakfast and comfortable stay in the heart of Marseille
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel could have more practicle maps with running courses to inform customers where to go

    Bed was really comfortable Very good and varied breakfast with the best croissants I have eaten in a long time Great location, close to the Vieux Port and close to some nice shopping centers Very easy to go running along the coast starting at the Vieux Port

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Nothing too complain for. Corresponds to the best Accorhotel chain standards
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Though officially the check-in in time is 14:30, the kind receptionist arranged a room for me already at 12:00 - great thanks for it! Room was quite large, with comfortable bed, widescreen tv, clean bathroom, with teapot and even fridge available. Plenty of food in breakfast. Perfect location - very close to Old port, in 10 min. walking distance from railway and bus terminal. Really nothing to complain for - corresponds to the best Accorhotel chain standards!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Good break, wandering around in the daylight no problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel was clean and bright but looking a little tired in places. Walking about after dark was quite intimidating between the Hotel and the nearest restaurants. We had mosquitoes in our room and woke up scratching. This was in October!

    The Hotel was quite satisfactory and only a few minutes from the Vieux Port. Parking was relatively easy. Basilica an essential visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Convenient, on the whole comfortable and reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    The rooms were well equipped except that the towels were rather thin. One friend with whom I travelled was in room 910 and she seemed to have an infestation of mosquitos. She told front desk but nothing was done about it. She was in quite a bit of discomfort.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel with nice rooms
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The capacity of the lifts were bad. Guests had to wait long time in the morning and often had to go upward before they got down

    Nice big room with good cofee/expresso machine and the boiler. Good bathroom, with separate toilet. Offer of bathrobe and slippers. Superb breakfast in a big restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Stuff service was verz good and helpfull, poor room facility and breakfast for this stars rating
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is some joghurt , coffee, 2 kinds of Bacon, one sort of cheese, three kinds of fruites, and eggs with fried tometoes. croissans... no fish unfortunatelly, poor breakfast. in the bathroom under holder was mildew, shower handle had some extended flow (slightly broken), no shampoo was in the first night at the dispencer. Paper Cups are not useable if you want to drink coffee or tee in the afternoon in the room. Wifi was with bad Signal. Room number was 701.

    Very helpful stuff at the reception and cleaning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent service and breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be perfect if the room also provides a tissue box.

    The service is excellent. I got detailed information about the nearby transport and restaurants from the reception staff. The location is near the Marseille St Charles train station with about 20 Minutes walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    The Hotel was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small paper cups for tea plastic cups for wine / cold drinks asked at reception for glasses and cup and saucer and was refused which for a top hotel is pathetic will not be staying at a Mercure hotel again

    The Hotel was fine

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    really enjoyed it. location excellent. will be back in a few months for sure
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a little more choice of food in the evening in downstairs food /drinks area

    Breakfast was really fresh and great variety. Staff so nice. Bed huge and very comfortable as my husband suffers with his back he was so happy to have a good bed. Nice to have facility to make tea/coffee later in our room. Have recommended your hotel to friends who are in marseille soon. Congratulate the staff please for their hospitality from us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Open train excellent way to see the sights. Well worth a trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park 50 metre walk thru shopping centre Possible sewage odour in wc from dubious soil pipe joint. Cost of breakfast.

    Hotel location within easy walking distance of old port and city centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Highly satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi connection in the room was weak and sometimes, non-existent. The air-condition should not have direction towards the bed, because you may end up next morning with a pain in your neck or your back.

    Excellent location (walking distance: 2' from bus and tram stations, 8' from marina, 9' from Gare St Charles). Your are in the beating heart of Marseille but without noise. Spacious room with nice city view, big and comfortable double bed, high quality amenities, friendly personnel. Nice touch: the espresso machine and the big TV screen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.8
    Location near the harbour, very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was dirty, park place in the parking very uncomfortable, you will need 30 minutes to get out from the hotel and have to pay 20€

    Location near the harbour, very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    It seems that there are always not enough staff in the lobby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It seems that there are always not enough staff in the lobby so that people have to line up for checkin, checkout and general enquiry. It's a bit pity for such a four star hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    Kind staff, they found a doctor for room visit on a Sunday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Mosquitos in the room 2. Altough room and bathroom were very clean, the toilette was smelling like a public one.

    Kind staff, they found a doctor for room visit on a Sunday. Very much appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    A Fantastic Hotel to explore Marsailles from
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't stay long enough!

    Outstanding room. Large TV with English channels, comfy bed, rainfall shower, safe, fridge, knock out view, (see pic). Best breakfast selection of our holiday including a hot breakfast selection. Secure safe car park exclusive to Mercure. Half a kilometre from Vieux Port Harbour. Loved everything!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Bed comfy and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A telephone call the following morning and you failed to have found an expensive iPhone/laptop world charger left in the wall socket of my room on 7th floor on Sunday 6th August. If your staff who prepare the rooms for the next guests had properly prepared they would have found it. Do you not have a policy for where left items should be taken and recorded? This did not reflect well on your hotel management and was disappointing.

    Bed comfy and good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    A night in Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little too hard :-)

    Very friendly and nice staff - very pleasant room - very delicious breakfast - very central situated - parking in same building as the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    comfortable hotel in excellent central position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like paper cups provided in the bedroom from which to drink the provided tea & coffee. Also the wooden sticks with which to stir.

    Breakfast room was large, no crushes or queue, plenty of choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.3
    We found it all very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was included and very good, but it seemed a little unorganised and things had run out, but it was all ok. Some proper cups in the room for coffee would have also been nice

    We found it all very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    2.5
    bad receptionist named sebastien
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a receptionist with the name Sebastien was very rude and unprofessional. I told him that I ordered a room with an extra bed and he said no. I said this is what I ordered and this is what I want. He said he could not bring another bed. Then I talked to another receptionist (I though she was the manager, and that guy Sebastian came and started laughing. I told him why you laugh? This is unprofessional. Then I went to the room and keys did nt work. He did it on purpose probably. then I went very angry and ask for keys that work. I went to the room and realized that there was an extra bed. This unprofessional guy does not know what is included in the room! Then I called the reception for extra sheets and he would not respond. 2 hours later another receptionist responded. I asked for sheets and she sounded very angry for this. Where on earth they found this receptionists! This is the worst hotel in terms of service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Old Marseille Port around the corner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Close to historical parts of Marseille. Very easy to explore. Great bar with excellent bar staff - a highlight of our stay! Big comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a superior king room (level above the standard room) but the standard of the room was ultra basic and not much decor or feel of a superior room. We have stayed in many Mercure hotels around the world and this place was definitely not to the same standard as them. The mattress was quite uncomfortable as we could feel the springs and there was no support. Experience with room service was horrible. Called to ask for vegetarian food and was offered chicken salad and salmon sandwich as options. Ended up at the supermarket next door for lunch.

    Helpful reception. As the bed was quite uncomfortable they offered us a different room. But that did not help much as the beds in all the rooms are the same.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    A very pleasant hotel but only a one night stay and will definitely return next year for longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we went by car, directions or a co ordinate position would have been helpful as the Sat Nav in our hire car did not recognise the number 1 of the address

    The Room, the facilities, the excellent breakfast and the proximity to Vieux Porte were spot on !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Modern hotel with large rooms centrally located in Marseille downtown
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modern hotel with large rooms close to the old harbour but also with a tram connection to the Euro Mediterrenean Business Area one street behind the hotel. Good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable visit to vibrant Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel entrance poorly sited. Cannot see the hotel until you have walked past it.

    Hotel bar was spacious. Nice place to relax after a day walking in the sun.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.0
    Enjoyable but could be much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast here did not compare to the breakfasts in other Mercure Hotels I have stayed in. Less choice of everything, especially cereals and types of bread. English tea bags were weak and water for tea was not boiling hot, only warm. The room itself (twin bedded) was smaller than Mercure rooms in Paris. 'Musak' at breakfast was extremely irritating and unnecessary!

    Location and staff were excellent, all rooms were clean. Bathroom included a bath. Windows had excellent glazing so noise was never a problem.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Rather for business people
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the location is good in the sense that it is close to attractions and the port, unfortunately, it is on a small alley which is dirty and dark. The whole hotel is mostly clean. The building is old, and so are the customs there.

    This hotel is mostly visited by business people for conference events. The whole hotel is mainly centred around them, and not tourists. The breakfast was amazing! Pancakes, omelette, croissant, variety of fruit ... The location is good, everything is close enough, the port is only 10minutes from the hotel. Staff were nice. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.3
    good location, 5 min walk to old port, 10min walk to train...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast has not much variety, not recommend for the price.

    good location, 5 min walk to old port, 10min walk to train station. a lot of restaurants nearby. Staffs are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    We stayed at Intercontinental Hotel Dieu as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at Intercontinental Hotel Dieu as well...it was a rip off Intercontinental hotel Dieu was a blunder . would suggest go for Mercure .. way better lovely breakfast friendly staff at front desk good location with tram

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.7
    High speed wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheese choice in breakfast was limited. Staff was mostly friendly but one front-desk person was outright rude . Dont want to name him here.

    High speed wifi. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    I thought hotel had a very good location, we walked every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I thought that the B'Fast at €18 was a bit too much especially if one just wanted a simple Continental B'Fast.

    I thought hotel had a very good location, we walked every day to/from the Vieux Port, to the Tourist Information Office, Restaurants etc., it was also possible to take the tram to other parts just outside the hotel like Longchamps, Les Terrasse du Port.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    My go to hotel in Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet connection, no vegetables for breakfast

    5 minutes walk from vieux port, excellent staff very nice, helpful and funny and they actually do speak at least 3 languages that I tested, good and diverse breakfast, quiet rooms, nice view of the history museum and the ferry wheel, 10 minutes walk from the centeal train station

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a standard room. It was very spacious which was nice in comparison to other hotels. It was quite plain, but pleasantly so. Very clean. Staff were friendly enough and willing to help. Location was not bad. Breakfast was a great selection and everything was delicious. The dining room had great views.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.9
    I worried to stay here due to around hotel is not safety I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amenities was not enough.

    I worried to stay here due to around hotel is not safety I heard, but this concern was overthinking just too much thought. Location was very easy to access center of city, moreover parking was very useful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.9
    Location is very central but dirty surroundings of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Busy business hotel. We spent holidays and liked location/price, but for pleasure I would recommend try to find different type of hotel (I did not succed when try to find a nice a hotel for our vacations and actually did not see anything better around)

    Location is very central but dirty surroundings of the hotel. Very good located reasonably priced business hotel. Breakfast was very good with a lot of variaties

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful Marseille hospitality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed four and half day (extended late check out) and we asked the maid to change the bed sheets. She indicated that she was not 'authorized' to do so. We had to request thru management. Maybe there was a miscommunication.

    Location and staff are amazing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    6.7
    I will keep loyal to Mercure hotel since I had nice memories with it
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house keeping lady in the day of check out, she was keeping urging us to leave to finish the room clean up although we had informed the reception that we will leave at 12:30

    The breakfast was excellent, the real French flavor. The view from the window in the morning is amazing very cheerful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    5.0
    Maybe do not judge by my rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See what I liked

    Maybe do not judge by my rating. Last room available. It was a room with a disabled compliant shower. Abled and/or diversely abled the room wasn't great. Faint odour of pee undertones against hospital sanity smell without the cleanliness you would expect for 130 euros for one person. They did throw in the parking though

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel close to Vieux Port, restaurants, public transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Morning buffet could have been better arranged

    helpful and friendly front staff, central location close to Vieux Port, restaurants, public transport excellent breakfast, good Wifi

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Great hotel in a very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could be more comfortable abd the shower facility a bit easier

    Very central location, easy to get to from the train station Very good room and really friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Expected a much better welcome!!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I rated the above, I was disgusted that I had to wait till 16:00 hrs to check in my room since the room wasn't ready. Check in time was supposed to be at 14:00hrs - I had to wait at reception where there was a complete chaos with a group of clients.

    Comfortable room Very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.6
    Expensive but worth it for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the small side, aircon not the best

    Excellent service, lovely breakfast room and the meal itself, expensive but worth it. Good facility for keeping luggage.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.3
    Very much better than I imagined.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't realise that the room payment would automatically be taken from the credit card I used to book the room online a few months earlier. I had another card with me which I wanted to use when I checked out.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.3
    A breath of clean fresh air.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room 1110 the twin beds were both very hard. We woke aching all over.Whilst giving you a kettle there were only paper cups- useless. The bar provided glasses.

    A very well appointed breakfast room with everything you could wish to eat beautifully presented.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.5
    Good Hotel, Aggressive Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning staff very aggressive, didn't knock and refused to come back later despite the fact I was having sex with my girlfriend. Very intrusive.

    Spacious room and clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.6
    Worth a visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very comfortable and clean. Fantastic shower in the bathroom, with toiletries replaced regularly. The breakfast was excellent, with a great variety of both hot and cold foods as well as cereals and pastries. Great location at just a couple of minutes walk from the port. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.8
    Convenient to metro and a short walk to Port Vieux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a smoking room at first then the next room had Mosquitos which bit me all night.

    Convenient to metro and a short walk to Port Vieux. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.9
    Close to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We are still arguing about the price, with invoving of booking.com. Creepy faces around the hotel. We asked every receptionist in France to recommend a place to dinner - the restaurant from Marseille was outstanding expensive, but average level.

    Close to the center. Have no own garage, but have own exit from the public underground garage.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    4.2
    Expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is rude and not helpfull (even mocking the clients). They do say that trey are efficient in the intervention in case of a problem, but that is not even close the case.

    Well positioned

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.1
    Central location in Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking spot is in a corner of a shopping center underground parking and it takes some time to reach the reception from that spot. Not ideal if you want to go and take something from your car. The lift works only with the room key and if you don't have the key with you ...you can't use the lift. The stuff could me more warm and friendly.

    Great location for exploring the city. Nice modern looking room design. Good breakfast with a little bit of everything.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff from bar very abrupt, no room service as each time I asked for extra tea sugar etc I had to dress and go down to bar for it, so not convenient.

    Comfy bed, smoking room great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    8.8
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing that the hotel can change. it is a bit of a trek from the station to the hotel. approximately 15 minutes on an incline, so its just something to be aware of. But its just 5 minutes walk to the port which is actually more important!! So overall, you win!

    Great customer service- changed my room due to a faulty aircon. Friendly and helpful staff Fantastic, well presented breakfast! Good quality coffee.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in heart of Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say about this hotel I would recommend to anyone visiting Marseille.

    Lovely room with lots of space. Air conditioning very effective and bathroom was excellent. Public areas very stylish and staff were professional and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.5
    Most helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area in which the Hotel stands could be frightening to new travellers. It is like any other Port. Get out and about, the Tourists are the biggest problem.

    Most helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    6.3
    The breakfast was excellent and the cost of wine in the bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very difficult to follow the instructions to find the car parking and the return route to the hotel. The road works alongside the hotel were a nuisance. I think that the receptionists would benefit from some English lessons!

    The breakfast was excellent and the cost of wine in the bar was very reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.5
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    air con not working,also they had no record of our reservation via booking.com which would have been a big issue if they had no spare rooms!!

    staff friendly and professional

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.0
    Well-situated hotel at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the receptionists was very snooty with us : she shouldn't be welcoming people at a hotel reception because she's rather repulsive with her haughty manner. However, the rest of the personnel were very friendly We didn't have breakfast in this hotel : 19€ is steep considering what you really eat

    The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Vieux port, and the nearest tram is two minutes walk away, so the location is very good Our rooms were very spacious, clean and quiet. I'd recommend this hotel whether your stay is long or short

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    6.3
    Pleasant hotel for quick stay in Marseille but not attentative to the little details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It felt a bit like the hotel is not very profitable, so the beancounters had ordered cost cuttings: paper cups instead of real cups, tea bags not replenished during the stay and on the first night only one towel instead of two.

    A pleasant, modern and clean hotel close to the Old Port of Marseille. The train station is also a 15 mins walk up the hill where you can get the airport bus shuttle.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    9.6
    Great location, clean and pretty lobby, bright bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower doesn't have curtain or anything to avoid water leaking into the floor:( King size bed wasn't the real king size mattress....they put two twin mattresses, so there's a bump in between

    Great location, clean and pretty lobby, bright bathroom

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    8.8
    The location of the hotel is very good, our room on the ninth floor with panoramic view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think that breakfast could be included in price. In order to have free wifi access from our room we were asked to give our email adress! If you walk to the train stationlate in the night better choose cental streets, because some narrow streets between hotel and cental train station made us feel unsafe .

    It is nice hotel ! The staff in the reception was very kind, englishspeaking and willing to help us . The location of the hotel is very good, near the old port and the old town (panier) and close to the central train station (about 10-15 minutes by foot). In walking distance you can find historical monuments, shops (gallerie Lafayette is opposite to the hotel), bus stations, cafes an restaurants…Our room was on the ninth floor, was quiet, with nice furniture, comfortable bed, air condition, very clean and had a wonderful panoramic view of the city!.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: