Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Paris Gare de l'Est 3 stars

1-3 Cour De La Ferme Saint Lazare, 10th arr., 75010 Paris, France

#1012 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 256 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room wasn't ready because we arrived early. I read another review that said you could leave your luggage there in storage. When I arrived I was told they had no room to store bags and early check in wasn't available. So I was kinda stranded and not able to tour Paris for a few hours unless I wanted to take my luggage on the metro and around the city. The room was really small even by European standards. My room had 2 twin beds. It was barely possible to walk around the front of the bed since there was only a shoe length of clearance between the bed and the wall. Was easier to walk on top of one bed to get to the other.

    I took the train from London to Paris and Mecure was a very short walk from the station. The hotel is clean and centrally located. There are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby. Metro is nearby too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I could fault.

    The hotel was clean and comfortable with the facilities I required. The staff were excellent - friendly, very helpful and knowledgeable, providing excellent directions to various places I needed to reach via metros. Hotel is walking distance from the Gare de l'Est and Gare du Nord (the reason I chose it), but located at the corner of a side street and I couldn't find it right away (my fault for not having directions available on phone). Plenty of restaurants and takeaway places nearby. Useful for Eurostar travellers. I used it as base for Paris Marathon, metros were cheap and frequent for all of the places I needed to visit on trip. Room was quiet (no.307), well equipped (fridge, safe, kettle).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived before check in and they let us store our luggage while we explored the city. The room was very clean and I loved how modern it was. The bed was super comfortable! We loved being so close to the Gare d'Iest train station with so many shops and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is the second time we have stayed here and the hotel has had a revamp since the previous occasion. This is not a spa hotel but very good for meeting up with friends, sightseeing and shopping. The location is good for the Eurostar and well situated for public transport links into the city centre and further afield. We found a couple of decent local restaurants and bars off Denis Fouberg. The hotel staff are professional, friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite small but beds are comfortable and noise level low which is what counts in getting a night's sleep.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    When checking out, they tried to charge me £200.00 extra for breakfast, when we did not have breakfast once. this was however quickly rectified.

    The bed was very comfy, and the bathroom seemed recently updated and was nice. Room was small, but nice and clean. Great location, with a train station very close. You can also get this train straight to Disney Land and back for only 7 euros. Staff were very friendly, and happy to accommodate. Alot of the reviews mention the volume, and being able to hear neighbours, I did not find this the case, the windows blocked out traffic noise, and i didn't hear our neighbours once.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around the hotel was not the best. Generally all the areas near big stations, has the same image. The last 2 days the air condition (had a central system NOT individual) was not working due to technical problem as we have been informed. I want to believe that this was the truth, but even if it was, I find it difficult to believe that this couldn't be fixed the next day.. Besides that, we didn't have any problem at all with the hotel.

    The room was clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very polite and helpful. Metro was very close at 200m.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air-con in our room didn't work well, so it was too warm. No English speaking News or Sports channels on TV.

    All areas were very clean and the decor was excellent and well maintained. Friendly and helpful staff. Despite being in a noisy area, the room was actually very quiet due to the double/triple location. Easy to get around Paris from here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was too warm. One person at reception was so busy talking about other things that he forgot to point out that during the week, breakfast was not served as late as on the weekend (we arrived on a Friday). One location trade-off is that this is not the most charming of neighborhoods, but the convenience was worth it. The room is a bit cramped.

    The air conditioning worked very well; we were able to set it at will which enabled us to get the good night's sleep we needed. The breakfast was good. The metro was about two blocks away, as was the Gare de l'Est.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet of our room had stinky smell. We have complained and the staff changed the room next day only. Also saw another customer complaining that the a.c of his room is not working.

    Stuffy smell of carpet in room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bed is smaller than i expected . Also the bathroom has no bathtub .

    I love the location, the cozy and homely feel of the hotel and the staffs are very friendly . I enjoyed the breakfast a lot .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I did not like is that the hotel was in the north end of paris which is typically high in homelessness and crime. We had no issues during our stay with the exception of being followed by a pickpocker on one side street.

    The bathrooms were very clean and modern and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was great :)

    The lovely shower and comfortable bed, I was very poorly on New Year's Eve and it made it a lot better having the television and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area felt unsafe. Had I have been a lady alone I would have been scared to leave the hotel.

    Not a great deal to have liked about this hotel as the location spoilt it, lots of gangs hanging around and people generally lurking and making the area feel generally unsafe

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy little room with decent bathroom, just what we needed! Only 30 mins walk to the louvre, which is great to help burn off all the food from the bakeries near by!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows should be better insulated - lots of sirens in the night.

    No muss, no fuss - great location for Gare de l'Est and Gare du Nord. Room was smallish, but that's to be expected in Paris. Rain shower, comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    air cond broken for two days and not fixed, breakfast very simple and every day same, rooms small, no facilities = sleep only

    convenient location close to Gare de Est in a quiet side street, room small but appropriate for sleeping, good bed, small but OK bathroom, good and clean towels.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First - payments. They reserved additional €360 for no particular reason (they said it was a mistake on their behalf) and kept that amount frozen for more than two weeks even after I asked what it's all about. On top of that, they charged me the amount for the room before unfreezing previously mentioned amount. Second, wifi connection. Super slow, weak connection. Third, there is a family of rats living near 5 meters away from the entrance near the trash containers.

    The room was clean and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could be noisy as on main road. Normal traffic sounds is muffled but emergency sirens very much noticeable at every hour of day and night.

    Hotel recently refurbished (2016). With contemporary design and furnishing (wow to the huge rain head in the shower!) and everything in excellent state, it's almost a boutique hotel experience for a much better price. You still get a Mercure-level service, so no tiny soap bottles and no shower cup to go with the rain head (bring your own...). Location good for Gare de l'Est and Gare du Nord, with many restaurants and cafes all around.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to Gare du Nord, very nice staff, good beds and very good breakfast! We loved the rainshower after walking for hours in hot Paris!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of effective air-conditioning.

    Staff were lovely, rooms were lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carridor is a bit narrow.

    The bed is very comfortable. Brilliant staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. But very clean

    Very clean and modern. The shower was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Nice room, good stuff, handy location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    RAS

    Check in rapid efficient and good humoured.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not wash cloth

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor value for the price. Would have liked a proper bar.

    Clean and modern.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at 14 euro is expensive

    The hotel is close to train station so very convenient. Room was compact but very clean and nice shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt have any information about shuttle transportation to airport

    Great location, easy to use public transportation by bus or metro

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tiny room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very convenient location, quiet room, nice staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel.

    Was clear, amazing location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surroundings - rough area of that district. Not safe at night.

    Staff very friendly, professional and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely room spacious, comfy, clean, everything worked

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, close to train/metro stations. Few bakeries, restaurant, pharmacy, and supermarket nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi connection in room was quite poor.

    Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice room and nice breakfast and good location near Gare d'Lest

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally none.

    Great location, clean and really comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice modern rooms and bathrooms. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea in the tea and coffee making facilities. Only 2 milks.

    Very comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are small and wardrobe is not useful.

    Location is nice and very close to main train and metro stations. Staff are very kind. Room is very clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs better signage on the front of the building - would make it easier to find.

    Breakfast buffet staff and reception staff were extremely friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was good. Bed comfy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast very brief. but it is normal in Paris.

    wifi was very good. room was cozy and well-designed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nicely renovated. Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy location, with the window shut it was too hot and open lots of traffic noise from nearby Boulevard de Magenta.

    Clean and tidy if somewhat small room with friendly staff. Easy access to metro with good local restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The safety box didn't work, the volume of the TV was unchangeable, and the sound of the cars passing outside in the early monring was quite annoying.

    The hotel was well located(three minutes walk from the Gare de l'Est), the room was clean, and the breakfast tasted good.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First night we had no aircon in a room that you could not sleep with windows open. And the do not disturb sign means do not come in when we are getting changed/NAKED

    This hotel is so close to transport and a few little nice cafès

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    mattress a little hard but perfect for a bad back. free wifi signal not strong enough, however this can also be a good thing whilst on holiday. light in the hallways need to be brighter.

    nice room with lots of space. excellent air conditioning, and lovely big windows. helpful, and polite staff. very clean room. honest staff, as we left money in the room and personal belongings. good location and not noisy.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy, you can hear people using the bathroom in adjacent rooms and hotel is located just off a very busy, noisy street. Struggled to sleep at night. The beds were also very close to the wall and we found it difficult to navigate around the room

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The windows are very thin and the noise from the street can be heard. It is also quite a lively area so you can hear people until the early hours. There also isn't any lighting in the corridors - it is very dark.

    The hotel is very close to both Gare L'est and Gare Du Nord - there is a great patisserie just around the corner.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The airconditioning did not work in our room so we reported it the next morning to the reception who said that as it is Sunday there is no one to repair it until Monday so eventually agreed to give us another room. When we arrived back at the hotel later that day we were told there is no point to change room as the airconditioning was not working in any room but it would be OK if we just left the window open, we could not leave the window open as it was too noisy.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor reception, identification never checked, seedy dark hallways, view of garbage area, drunken people outside window. Misinformation about wifi usage and metro access. Overpriced, former guest's items still in room at check in.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Size of room - quite small but that's Paris for the money paid.

    Handy to Gare Est and Gare Nord rail stations. Handy to plenty of foodie places. Room very small and functional and clean. Outside bustle died down to good level from around 10:30pm. Staff were good.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The outside building is quite old and abit dirty, also normal guest room is quite old toilet is abit small. The bad thing is the corridor from elevator to room is very dark, not enough light up and it look doesn't safe.

    The location is easy walk from both gare d'l est and gare d' nord. Staff are friendly anf helpful. Breakfast are great, and perfect.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For Accor hotel I was expecting at list cleanliness, unfortunately very dirty

    I am sorry, but just the staff were friendly

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location for the Gare de l'Est.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Wifi keeps cutting off.

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is in a great location and is great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hairdryer wasn't very good

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was new and confortable and breackfast was good

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we enjoyed our 2 nights there, staff were very helpful good location. all in all good value for money

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are small, a bit cramped

    Location New and clean rooms

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: