Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Rennes Centre Place Bretagne 3 stars

6 Rue Lanjuinais, Rennes City Centre, 35000 Rennes, France

#17 of 34 hotels in Rennes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 508 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor private parking full and indoor difficult to access. Public parking overnight expensive - €16.50 from 17.30 to 08.00. Air conditioning was out of order necessitating open windows on a muggy night. Our room was above a bar/brasserie unrelated to hotel. The loud music from a visiting band was over by the time we returned from a meal but people continued to drink and talk loudly beneath our window for some considerable time. We were disturbed by groups of people in the street at intervals all through the night (we discovered there had been a big demonstration that day hence many people about) which was out of the hotel's control but made much worse by the lack of air conditioning and need for open windows. We looked for but didn't find a fan, which would have helped. We had chosen the hotel precisely because there was private parking and air conditioning, neither of which turned out to be available!

    Comfortable bed, decent shower, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room laid out for one person and I booked in for my husband and my self... one towel.one plastic glass etc. we’re told next morning other towel in the furniture !,, No mini bar

    No

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little disappointing for a Mercure Hotel. There was very little hot food put out. This was compared to other places we stayed. We were also charged for parking which seemed expensive, but at least the car was secure.

    The bed was soft and very comfortable. The room was adequate and clean. The location was perfect, two fantastic restaurants 5 minutes walk away. There was no noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is starting renovations and there was no wifi in the bedrooms. The quality of the breakfast was not as high as we would have hoped.

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Air France cancelled our return flight to Paris .. AGAIN and the hotel staff very quickly and efficiently booked us on a TGV at very short notice that got us to Paris in time for our connecting flight.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the pillows were not as good as I would have like but that was just a small thing.

    The room was very clean and a good size. Breakfast was great with all the usual goodies and very French but also covering the other tastes. the location of the hotel is great and walking distance to the older parts of Rennes and to very good restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had some problems with the electric power in my room. The receptionist restored it, but I had to get in and out of bed in the dark as the bedside light switches did not work and one lamp never worked even after mentioning it to the receptionist and leaving a note in French for the chambermaid. There was no shower mat in the bath and only a complimentary tv guide when I arrived, and complimentary bottle of water, first and last day. The receptionists varied in their helpfulness from excellent to indifferent.

    The breakfast was excellent and available for a long time. The bed was very comfortable and the bedroom and bathroom very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The scrambled eggs for breakfast were not to my taste but everything else was excellent.

    The bed was very comfortable and the facilities were good. It was as advertised. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room has no kettle or facility for making tea or coffee, which means you have to go out to a cafe. Nor does it have a fridge. Also, unusually the hotel debited my card straight after I booked through booking.com (this was a non-cancellable deal) which meant that I had to pay a foreign transaction fee and hope for an ok exchange rate - when my intention was to pay in euros using my pre-loaded euro debit card. when I arrived at the hotel. Nul points for that.

    The hotel is in the city centre, within easy walking distance of major shops, indoor and outdoor markets, restaurants and cafes and a Super-U Express ... and the old city. It is located in a characterful old building but is equipped with aircon, a good shower (and bath) , a large, comfortable bed and, very useful if you're en route back to the UK from your gite, secure parking (costing 13 euros per night). The staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking entrance is VERY steep and tight. I recommend calculating distances before going in and you will be okay. Bathroom spacious, yet glass divider too small and water would splash leaving the floor very wet despite having a towel on the floor.

    Well located and had paid private parking available. They had a small place to have breakfast/dinner downstairs. Staff was friendly. Space in room was tight but manageable. Beds nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought cc would be used as guarantee but whole amount was charged before arrival. Emailed to request refund on card as wanted to pay cash at hotel to avoid "non sterling transaction"charge on card, got email back saying cc used as guarantee, could pay at property. When we checked out we asked for refund and offered cash, was told they couldn't do this so cost us £10 in cc charges. Carpet on stairs was filthy, stained etc. Room ok ,but on arrival told air con not working so gave us a fan-could not sleep for most of night and stifling hot. All in all wouldn't go back, property has for sale sign on it so hope it gets sold and bought by someone who invests in it as the location could make it lovely.

    Location was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly it was hot/humid & rooms do not have A/C ; very noisy City location on the road meant we could not sleep.

    Location & very helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift is very slow and uncomfortable. There is no air condition or propellers in rooms. If it 28-30 degrees you will looking for cool shower every 30 minutes. Because the window is low level installed, outside ones will see you all.

    Near the down town - old wood buildings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room had some banging pipes due to the water heater (not very loud but annoying)

    The hotel is in a great location walking distance to quite a few restaurants and business facilities. Breakfast was good and the underground parking was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow and small lift.

    A bit dated interior but still very nice and charming. Spacious room with an extra bed for a kid. Extremely friendly staff. Central location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little expensive so we only had it on one morning but it was very nice.

    The staff were extra friendly and helpful, showing us where attractions were on the map and calling a taxi to the airport for us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to the centre of the action, while not too far away from the bus/railway station. A perfect base for visiting the town and its surrounding area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning not working but we had a large fan in the room. Very comfortable and clean room, all satisfactory.

    Staff were very helpful and found us another room straight away when we found the lock on the door was broken.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I think I was over-charged. I booked through "booking" at a single room rate of c€400 but was charged €450 for the room. Breakfast was advertised at 12€ but I was charged 15€ Euro. I spent 5 nights there. Its not much but it never works in the clients favour -I shall complain to the hotel tomorrow. Current road-works blocked taxi access to the hotel.

    The location of the hotel. The cleanliness of the room. The friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airconditioning did not work, resulting in a warm room and the room could have been cleaner. The garage is 'french' small, so it is easier to park across the street on the square where there is sufficient parking available

    The location is central and the rooms are nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lake check in 14:00 instead 0f 12:00 (probably because of personel lack). I felt they gave me a nice room because of my claims for late check in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dirty. Curtains held together with a safety pin!! Car park expensive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was quite tiny. The staff was very kind. The parking fee was extremely high.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room cleanliness could be better

    lovely room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Please notice that: There was no internet access throughout my stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is very close to the train and the bus station and to the city centre. Moreover, the room was nice and clean and the breakfast perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La gente de reception era muy am able.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Clean, very comfortable bed, good position for central Rennes

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very well situated in the heart of the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good accomodation. Breakfast very basic, a litle bit poor. There is a brunch bar closed to the place, much more valuable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    De locatie was perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Location, bed, shower, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea makin facilities in the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scary entrance to the underground c at park very steep

    Location perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat old and in need of an update

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard

    Very clean and excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con did not work.They put a fan in its place.Extractor in bathroom did not work. carpets were dirty.

    Parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    High price for breakfast No place for suitacases

    Very close to Tourist Information & Musee des beaux Artes

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We thought the breakfast was a little expensive so decided to go elsewhere, otherwise couldn't fault it.

    The receptionist was extremely helpful, the location was excellent and the room very clean and comfortable. We were able to park our vehicle in a secure car park away from the road and busy traffic and behind secure gates

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Underground car park extremely difficult to access. No power in room, room upgraded to third floor "suite" but bathroom sink in that room also blocked. In morning lift out of order...best hotel would do was to offer €9 discount from car park charge. Would expect better from a multi national chain of hotel.

    Good location to historic quarter of Rennes. Close to all amenities bars, restaurants, cafes etc.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel was slated 4 stars but the room had a series of issues that made it unacceptable even at a reduced rate. While the decor was fine and the room was clean, it was not well equipped. It didn't have a minibar or a safe. This I could overlook but there were real issues in the room making it unbearable. The air conditioning wasn't functioning and simply blew hot air into the room so we shut it off. It wasn't hot outside but within an hour the air inside the room was stifling without the air turned on. We couldn't open the windows because the noise from the blvd would have woken us up. We finally turned on the noisy A/C unit and at least that circulated the too warm air around. Neither of us slept well at all. In the bathroom, the toilet wasn't properly installed so it would rock when one was seated and the shower leaked all over the floor flooding the bathroom. At breakfast a group arrived and by 9am there were no more clean dishes and many food items such as bread were nearly exhausted or completely depleted. The one staff member in charge of the breakfast room was nice but unable to handle the flow of people. The front desk clerk did comp our breakfasts and parking upon checkout but I wouldn't want to return to this hotel.

    The hotel was clean

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room small, no fridge in room.

    Central location excellent but difficult to find by car because of pedestrian zones and one way systems. Breakfast very good.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only extra thing i would add would be coffee and tea making facilities in the room

    The staff are really helpful, speak good English which made things very helpful for a non french speaker.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had no bad experience - it is not a modern chic hotel and an upgrade of bedrooms is overdue ,BUT it is excellent value for money ,and that was what we were seeking.

    The Proximity to the Old Centre with its shopping ,and a host of excellent restaurants and a secure parking area at the back of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is over-priced at 15 euros, so we ate out each day in more comfortable surroundings at around half that price.

    We were able to leave the car in the hotel car park while we saw all the places we wanted to see on foot. Our room overlooked the main boulevard which was very interesting, although very noisy on Saturday night.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were lovely and very helpful Very central position

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Heating system not working properly , very noisy but room remained very cold all night

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kind Staff, great location, very confortable. Definitely would stay again.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from street at night. Difficult to find by car.

    Hotel secure parking. Friendly and helpful staff, central location

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom.

    Staff very pleasant and helpful, all spoke very good English.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking available at hotel

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room far to hot, ac didn't work properly and too noisy to open window

    Great location and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Arrived early and was allowed into our room

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The car park is a challenge particularly in the wet

    Position position position

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly staff willing to put up with my wobbly french

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing. Everything was perfect

    Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Animal fleas in the room. No coffee making facilities

    location easily accessible

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No proper lounge room Bed too wide blankets didn't fit. No spare blanket. Breakfast average No teas maid

    Location

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: