Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement 4 stars

1 rue Paul Louis Courier, Rennes City Centre, 35000 Rennes, France

#16 of 34 hotels in Rennes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 827 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was officious-as she didn’t have English -I asked her to speak more slowly in French so I could follow but she seemed to ignore my request

    Good breakfast spacious room parking on site central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On check in the staff said I can park my motor bike in the under ground car park at a cost of 11€ par day. When I rode down there was no places so parked at the Gare Sud (Train station ) I used the underground metro to get back.

    Hotel room very clean and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They have these glass shields on the bathtub that folded and didn't keep water from running underneath it. The shields were also too short so much of the bathroom floor would be soaked if you took showers while standing. Our hair dryer didn't work and was making some buzzing noise all the time. We borrowed a detached dryer from the hotel after they verified it didn't work.

    Very spacious and modern rooms and hotel in general. Breakfast had a full buffet with many options and there was someone to guide you through it the first time you had breakfast. The breads and pastries were fresh and tasty. Also there was a orange juice machine that squeezed fresh juice, so none of that artificial stuff. The location is very convenient, virtually close to everything in town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was terrible. See photo. For my first time in Rennes, this was disappointing.

    The room was very clean, the bed comfy and I liked the separate door to close off the bathroom area. The hotel was quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say here

    Excellent situation close to the centre, very nice room, very comfortable bed, even a choice of toilet tissue (that was a first!), friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed could have been more comfortable. Need to put a card in the rooms detailing television channel numbers. Took ages to find CNN. Could not find BBC News.

    Nice bathroom, Good and free internet, bottle of water each day is a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I know when in France, but if you not very good at French then not much variety on the TV. However, it wasn't a problem just would have been more comforting.

    Friendly staff. Easy access to travel facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Other than a leaky shower I found the hotel to be more than adequate for a short stay. There is no restaurant but there are plenty of establishments nearby.

    Good accommodation. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was very good and the staff most helpful. There was also the bonus of a secure underground car park with a lift up to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fast and stable WiFi. Quiet room: no sounds from corridor or outside. Ideal location with respect to city center and local transport (including bus to the airport).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only had an overnight stay but everything was excellent and very good value for money. If I had any detail comment it woould be that the cost of car parking was not stated on Booking.com, but that is a very minor detail.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't know whether it's a Mercures' rule but when you get there they charge me and extra amount of money just in case you use the minibar or any other service of the hotel --to me 250€ exta for 2 nights -- I've been several times in France and never happend something similar to me. I paid and now the problem is that the hotel dont refund me my money back and they don't answer my emails so now I have to struggle to get my money back. I warn you in case it happens to anyone else.

    The room is quite big and the breakfast is a bufet. Just two steps from the Republiqué square in the downtown.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WC bowl was dirty but we don't eat from there! AC difficult to achieve satisfactory setting. Underground car park quite gloomy. Toiletries typical Mercure, no frills.

    Breakfast good and convenient but expensive . Location good, wifi good, parking good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast but it was very busy and crammed in the small breakfast area in the morning with a bus tour group and staff were run off their feet. I had to clear away a table myself to find a place to eat and food was running out and was slow to be replenished in some cases.

    Nice staff and room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On web site it stated breakfast was included but it wasn't. Felt paper cups in rooms was not a good choice!

    Helpful staff with suggestions for dinner. Quiet room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miserable and incompetent reception staff. Overcharged me at outset (refunded later) and knew nothing about the area.

    Great breakfast staff - worked v hard and nothing too much trouble

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location for visiting Rennes - an easy walk from most of the tourist sites. The staff was friendly, the room spacious, the bed very comfortable and the breakfast offered a nice variety of choices. We especially appreciated the very modern bathroom and shower. We will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very well designed and cosy, modern hotel. We had a room at the back looking on to a pleasant garden. The staff were all very helpful and cheerful. A really good base for seeing Rennes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing to dislike, but a hotel restaurant would have been handy.

    Location, cleanliness were excellent and staff were all friendly and efficient. Restaurants , shops etc were all within comfortable walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap plastic cups in bathroom. If it does not hold the toothbrush up, it is useless. What manager decided to just cheap plastic. Leaving the hotel the pre charge on the 13 the May had not been released and it is still not released from pending in my account. Date now 26th May. I spoke to the front of house manager on the day I was leaving and was told the computer was down. Perhaps this needs to be fixed as well! I have emailed this situation to the hotel with little responded. David Allinsonmartin.

    Excellent placed. Easy to walk to the old city sector. Well placed near restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small un-well equiped gym. Laundry should be sent in the morning to have it back at evening.

    Good location at the city centr,it is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is overpriced for typical European fare. The beds really sucked and the pillows were awful.

    The parking is very easy and reasonable (at 11€). The rest of the city is kind of irritating to park in, so take heed. Staff is friendly, hotel is nice enough for the price. Wifi is good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It rained !!

    Extremely helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Location was excellent for us. Room very clean and comfortable. Car Park was very large and cheap at 11 euros overnight for City parking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ludicrously expensive continental type breakfast.

    Excellent central location with good secure parking. Probably better for business traveller as opposed to tourists.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Mercure points could not be added to my Accor hotels account because "the booking was done on booking.com rather than Accor's homepage". Why do I get my Air France miles if I do not book at airfrance.com? Because that is normal!

    The breakfast is really good. Though the options are limited, the quality is just perfect. The staff is very nice, helpful and efficient. The room is good in all the respects, a free bootle of water every day is a plus. Best Mercure hotel so far.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comments

    We had a room with the view to the courtyard which had a water feature, left the windows open, it was the best sleep we had in this holiday! Very helpful staff, I forgot my flat shoes under the bed and they posted to me, awaiting to receive the parcel!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    . a water bottle was already opened. a pillow was dirty, a women hair in bath room. also, i didnt recommend use car park,so unconvinence.

    The location is wonderful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was not like any other Mecure we have stayed in. There was no bar or restaurant. It did not seem like a hotel. We saw only one member of staff in the time we were there (the receptionist who stood behind the smallest counter). There was only one pillow each and enough tea/coffee/milk etc to make one drink each. We got a good rate, otherwise we would have considered it overpriced.

    Room was comfortable, although smaller than we're used to in a Mercure and the receptionist very helpful. The location was very central.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking had very low height clearance (no good for vans) and there was no space anyway! Need to improve the booking process for parking.

    Very informative staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast area seemed a little disorganised on the morning we were there but I recall that we arrived after a tour party had left which could explain a lot.

    The staff were professional and friendly and coped with our terrible French speaking ability very well. We were given a local map and some good tips on what to see in the town area. Our room was large, comfortable and quiet. The décor is modern and colourful; something we like. This hotel does not have a restaurant but nearby there is an excellent Restaurant called Le Panda. Chef Thomas serves beautifully presented and prepared food accompanied by an excellent local Red. The service quality was friendly and first class. Menus in French and English were offered. Recommend this restaurant highly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar could be better

    The hotel was excellent in a good location but the staff were outstanding. Especially when I lost a pair of expensive spectacles which they found and returned to me when I arrived home. They were competent and very accommodating. Highly recommended hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very comfortable and spotless clean room, bed and bathroom. Room was very spacious and well laid out. Location is excellent: in walking distance from both the train station and the city centre with the Parliament of Brittany square. Several restaurants nearby. Excellent spread at breakfast in both savoury and sweet options. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At departure, reseptiin personnel was not very attentive

    High quality breakfast. Friendly personnel at breakfast buffet and lounge Bar. Also at reseptioni upon arrival. Nice location to walk in center and ole town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful staff ideal location and ample secure parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con despite being advertised

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Close to the metro and the city centre. No noice in the room. Lotion available in the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Norhing

    Everything was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower hose had no holder unable to take a shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs

    There was very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could've been better for the price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal for an overnight. Plain. Comfortable. Good value

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff and superb customer service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smokers had used the room

    Location was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food options available were very poor.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good local

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    De locatie is perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room Noise from lift-elevator. bathroom not very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SATNAV taking us all directions, nothing to do with the hotel.

    Breakfast was wonderful, room was tidy, perfect location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent quality breakfast, very quiet and comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good car park under hotel which is a few yards from Rennes centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed could have been wider

    Loved being in the mansard roof. Very airy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    full breakfast was expensive

    the bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    air con poor thankfully not that hot. very few tea and coffee etc. breakfast too expensive.

    great position and lovely view of garden from room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good Breakfast Air conditioned room with good heating/cooling controls

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent. Breakfast very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some minor remedial work needed in the bathroom , otherwise all ok

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location so convenient for bars, restaurants and shopping

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We expected Rennes to be a nice old French city like Rouen. It is not. and the weather was lousy, so we decided to leave early and visit Rouen again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant at the hotel

    Breakfast ecellant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent throughout

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need to be refreshed. Linens and towels should be upgraded.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive and not like a 4 star hotel

    Good location .. friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didnt like

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good breakfast, car park, quiet good secondary double glazing. Will stop there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This a clean and modern hotel, great for a overnight stay, very good breakfast and secure parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Impersonnel

    La situation, le parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pure convenience and a lovely hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I still don't find the decoration appropriate for a 4-star hotel.

    The breakfast is really wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long checkin . Cant book car parking . False fire alarm at 8am for 5min. Only one coffee machine at breakfast

    Large room. Excellent bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spray from the shower went all over the floor and was very slippery

    The bed was very comfy but the pillows were unbelievably comfy!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's location ; bathroom spacious

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is amazing. Staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Good security, the door is monitored at night.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: