Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Rouen Centre Cathédrale 4 stars

7 Rue Croix de Fer, 76000 Rouen, France

#2 of 35 hotels in Rouen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1902 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location next to Rouen cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to drive to the hotel - narrow streets and a pollard blocking the way which took time to remove and caused traffic jam.

    Excellent location next to Rouen cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    excellent hotel in a great location, will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady at breakfast was really not happy with us starting to eat at 06:20, it doesn't really start until 06:30. We were however in a rush to get to the ferry and it was out so smiled and carried on.

    The car park is very tight but we got our cars in easily by taking a little care. The man at reception could not have been more friendly and helpful. A lovely property in an amazing location. Will be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    Very badly managed,frustrating check in but overall okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disorganised staff, 75 coach tourists in foyer on arrival and people searching for their room key envelopes, when the staff had a 1 hour warning they were on way.Their rooms were not ready even though it was 3:15 and staff made us wait for long time. Had to complain several times before someone checked us in.Towels were not in our room and we had to find them.

    Scrambled egg good, air con excellent as heatwave there, magnifying make up mirror on stem was a bonus, great location with underground garage.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Wish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not fault Mercure. From the wonderful welcome by Lea on checkin, to the very central position of the hotel, the view of the Cathedral from our room, the comfort of the bed, the excellent breakfast selection, this hotel had it all. If arriving by car put in “Rue des Arsins” in your GPS, email the Hotel in advance for the Bollard code and the hotel is very easy to locate. I was sorry I was unable to stay longer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being told how difficult it was to drive to the hotel, the signage was very easily missed, was not told about obtaining a code for the security bollard system to gain entry to the hotel location. The garage parking is very tight and takes some monvering to get out

    Position in centre of the city, plenty to see and do, also plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced tired hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is tired Mercure which really isn’t of 4 star quality, and long overdue a refit. We had to change rooms because of a musty smell, the next room they showed us smelt worse so they ‘upgraded’ us to a privilege room - in reality, this room wasn’t a 4 star room either. All in all, overpriced. The staff were friendly though, agreed that there was something up with the rooms they originally offered, and did their best to help with the rooms they had available .

    Location, staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.3
    Beware Mercure stays.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very disengaged and quite unhelpful with any problem. We are not demanding guests but are quite disappointed with general service and demeanour. After discovering we left some clothing in the wardrobe it was impossible to get any service or attention to arrange recovery. I am a very regular Accor hotel guest and extremely disappointed with this Hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location and good breakfast but take your own cups and teaspoon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A kettle was provided but only very small paper cups and a wooden stirrer - I would have thought some decent sized china cups and a spoon could be provided in a 4 star hotel which states it provide tea and coffee making facilities. We stayed during the heatwave and the air conditioning in the room was inadequate, but may be sufficient in a normal summer.

    Breakfast is excellent. Beds comfortable. Room was very quiet although in the city centre, but perhaps because our room ( 111) was facing a wall at the back of the hotel, so no view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Location of hotel is superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of towels in bathroom was poor. Very thin and scratchy. Bath towels very small. No cooked meal available in the evening.

    Staff very helpful and cleanliness good. Had a quiet room which lived up to expectations but was dark-see comment above.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    A perfect location for sightseeing in the center of Rouen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small things could be improved like hotel slippers and body lotion.

    The hotel is in the absolute center of Rouen and all interesting sightseeing locations around. And offers a parking place in the basement. Perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Convenient and Comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is literally next to the Central Cathedral. This means that we got to see it in the morning light, at dusk and anytime we walked out. It's amazing how the cathedral looks so different under different conditions! The reception staff were very friendly and gave us excellent suggestions for dinner. They also e-mailed us detailed instructions on how to drive to the hotel which were very helpful indeed. There is a bollard in the city centre and we were given an access code to punch in. The only thing that stressed us a little was the car park, which was very narrow at the entrance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pokey with no outlook and finding the car park was impossible. We have been to several hotels in france last week and all were cheaper and better. Very surprised that this hotel is on booking.com site.

    The situation in the centre of Rouen

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location but a bit tricky to drive to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed and a Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ease of finding.

    Great location but a bit tricky to drive to. Views were good but I did expect more given the room I booked and the location. Location was great - right in the centre with key attractions just a stroll away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    A great stay at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the heart of old Rouen very close to the cathedral. A great location for sightseeing and shopping. Lots of good bars and restaurants around too. Parking was available which is always a plus in a city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous location in central Rouen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More fresh fruit at breakfast would have been nice. Would prefer individual toiletries.

    Fabulous location in central Rouen. Easy walking distance to all major attractions. Very quiet in room overnight, downside being no view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall, our stay was excellent and a good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC in April yet it was unusually warm and our room got the afternoon sun.

    The location was central and convenient. Our room was comfortable. The breakfast was generous and well stocked!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, normal size of the room, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the end of the April, the weather was very hot and the air-condition did not work.

    Excellent location, normal size of the room, clean. Did not have any problem with the parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    The location was the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard

    The location was the best. Excellent breakfast buffet, lots of choices. Underground garage. Very friendly and courteous staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Adequate city stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed and a Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn’t work. The only ventilation possible was by opening a door onto a communal balcony which didn’t feel safe. The room was hot and stuffy.

    Good position right in the center of town. Excellent breakfast. Efficient reception desk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    excellent breakfast, very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    give us a warning before we left for Rouen about the entrance to the citycenter, and give us the code to get in

    excellent breakfast, very good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Apart from the directions, everything but the parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Never have I had more difficulty just finding a hotel. To be fair, the town seems to be undergoing a construction project which reroutes several key streets to one way streets which don't match GPS (multiple) routings. The ONLY way we got to the hotel after 45 minutes of circling, breaking traffic laws, driving against traffic, was to stumble upon "Cathedrale" city parking lot (sounds close, right?), then navigate on GPS to the front door. The town of course is paved with 400 year old cobblestones, which were not user friendly to our luggage (1/2 mile walk). The A/C had not yet been "switched on." (Late March 2018)

    Apart from the directions, everything but the parking. The lot is this eerie, tiny, subterranean attached space to the hotel. We found the lot walking around the cathedrale and there was no way I was going to try to ingress the lot with our minivan. TO BE FAIR: The hotel sent highlighted maps of city parking to me before the trip. Additional details about the tiny subterranean lot would have helped. TO BE MORE FAIR: After talking to others on our trip, Rouen Centre seems to be a no-go area to drive a car for those unfamiliar with the town. Buffet breakfast was excellent. Staff was uniformly professional and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard.

    Location was perfect, next to the cathedral plaza and walking distance to museums, shopping and green spaces. Wi-fi worked well. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Email from Mecure went to Junk email folder so I missed the detail on the road access and parking garage. Would be good to have been warned about the parking challenges on the Booking.com site.

    Location. Breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Located in city center, close to all main attractions of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room and Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Located in city center, close to all main attractions of Rouen Big bed and very comfortable Coffee, tea and water in the room for free Staff very gentle Easy check in/check out Easy to find parking around the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    The ideal place to stay in Rouen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Evening meals in the bar were not full restaurant meals: a small choice of pre-prepared dishes. They were tasty enough, and OK if you didn't want to make the effort to go out.

    The location of the hotel was as good as it could possibly be: in the centre of Rouen near the cathedral, along a narrow cobbled street. The breakfasts were very good, with lots of choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and a small problem with the plumbing was seen to immediately.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Very pleasant and i would return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not very comfortable , but i have neck issues anyway. Too soft!

    For Breakfast , there was a very good choice and everything was very fresh and well presented.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Ok for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard room was not 4star: v small, soap only in bathroom, very little storage storage, no vent fan in bathroom. OK for a very short stay for a couple or for one person. Reception person on the first night was rude. The rest of the staff were friendly.

    Comfy bed. Great location. Quiet and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Clean comfortable and good central location but parking is difficult and the value for money is poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the hotel and parking is a real challenge if you are coming by car. The breakfast is good but overpriced.

    Great central location for Rouen. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast good choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Brilliant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was hot. see above

    Its a modern hotel right in the centre of the historic part so one can walk to all the main sights. Despite being near the cathedral the hotel is very quiet. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast excellent. The only drawbacks are the room is very hot despite having the a/c off and the window open and finding it in the car. Good that the hotel offers parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    Snowy Night in Rouen
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed and a Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although well located , it is very hard to find this hotel if arriving by car (even with Sat Nav) and the parking is a nightmare to get in an out of - I would say many people damage their car - I didn't.

    Lovely hotel - good breakfast - room lovely - staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    Ok after a bad start.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant,. Difficult location , when driving in an extra unfamiliar city.

    The hotel was incredibly difficult to find , I had to go to the tourist office to get directions. There seem to be no tourist signs giving clues as to where either cultural sights or hotels can be found in the city . When we finally got there All was well, but would hav liked more than just room service , which we did not use. Parking was safe and convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Best location ever with excelent accomodations!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Location is fantastic!!! Besides that, the room is very comfortable, parking place has an elevator that exits directly inside the hotel lobby, breakfast is awesome, and shower is excelent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Idilic location and excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel, the best location good value for breakfast and as it was my birthday I was provided with a room with a great view of the Cathedral. I would definitely stay again if I ever return to Rouen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Loved Rouen and will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was a great trip!

    Excellent hotel. BAsed in the heart of the city right near the Cathedral. Rooms were lovely spacious and clean. I was very happy with the hotel and so were my parents. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.2
    The location of the hotel is fantastic but first use a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not eat in the hotel but the breakfast was a bit expensive

    The location of the hotel is fantastic but first use a good sat-nav then ring the hotel and they will tell you the best route to the carpark witch is quite tight but ok I got my 7 seat alhambra in The room is a good size and air conditioned ther is a kettle and tea/ coffee and a safe as well as a fridge with bottled water (free) , the shower is very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    All in all this is a lovely clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking a little tight! two levels one for small cars and one for large cars we was not told about this we had fun with a Volvo XC70 on the small car level. Also no cups in rooms just Disposable Cardboard Coffee Beakers.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    A perfect & memorable one night stay in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bigger bottle of complimentary water would have been nice

    Liked everything about the hotel,staff were lovely & location was perfect. Would definitely recommend and return

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Ideal city centre location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to ask for a key to open the window.

    Excellent bed.Bathroom good except for lack of bathtub( as expected in this compact city centre site).New lounge/ snack bar facilities open all evening.High qualityof staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    The beds are large and confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds are large and confortable. The sheets are of excellent quality. Excellent breakfast, although a bit expensive at 18 euros per person. Good free wi-fi speed. Bathroom with good space. The localization is central near the main shopping street - Rue du Gros Horloge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in an amazing location! Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints. This was a perfect property.

    This was an excellent hotel in a fantastic location. It was very modern, clean, had a good breakfast. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. The price was also very, very fair. Front desk was also very helpful and recommended a great place for dinner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location once you find it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really really hard to find in a car and once you do you must have a very small car to get in and out of the underground. However that is not really a negative thing....a frustrated driver is the negative here:(

    It was in a fantastic location within walking distance of every thing - good shopping, historical sites and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Really good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything was fine

    We spent 3 nights at this hotel. The location was right next to the cathedral, and walking distance to everywhere. The services were really good, breakfast was very complete and tasty. The room was nice. Would recomend it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    alltogether i fully recommended the loaction and the outstanding town.!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    although lack of products for people who came a bit late in the morning- must been taken care when things ( like bread, and other things are missing.... to put only one waiter serving all the customers is not fair neither for the employee nor for the customers

    top location, good breakfast be

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable modern hotel well located for the old quarter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Finding the hotel!! Nightmare. My sat nav guidance finished in a road tunnel somewhere under the old quarter. presumably under where the hotel is located. Could not find any sensible access to the hotel using local map and had to telephone the hotel reception for guidance. They gave me a road name close to the hotel to put in my sat nav and it took me through a pedestrian road to the hotel. Such issued need to be detailed on the web-site.

    Brilliant location in the old quarter. Smart modern hotel, comfortable bedrooms and good continental breakfast. Most helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Enjoyed my stay, nice French people considering this is where the English burnt Joan of Arc!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite tricky to find as the road that leads to the hotel it is almost hidden from view. So here’s my tip. If you make for the cathedral front doors there is a small pedestrian lane that is situated to the left of the cathedral not a road. Take this lane follow it round then take the first left lane again - there is the hotel entrance by foot. Think of a French Canterbury and the cobblestone.

    Comfortable bed and extremely clean bedding. Right in the middle of the Old Town with all its shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was just okay, nothing exceptional there. The parking garage was extremely tight.

    The breakfast was Excellent. The room was great, very spacious and clean. Couldnt ask for a better location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed our time in Rouen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would be nice to have a real coffee option in the room instead of just instant coffee.(minor detail)

    Excellent location. Very modernized hotel. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.4
    Fantastic location, clean room. Staff, not helpful, rude, cold and unwelcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very, very difficult to find the hotel.......(we drove around for over one hour). We went to another mercure to ask for help with directions, they were very friendly and helpful and told us that the hotel is very hard to find. Once we finally arrived, the man at the desk was not not welcoming, not friendly. Just shrugged when we told him that we had a hard time to find the hotel. When we asked about parking....you pointed and mumbled......which resulted in another 20min adventure. I might suggest that they focus on customer relations and service. This set the tone for our stay...cold, rude, and unwelcoming. I will say that the bed was not very comfortable and the pillows are terrible.

    Once we found the hotel and parked the car, the location was great, the room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needed better directions as to how to get to the hotel

    Very comfortable and welcoming. Staff was terrific. Location was just a block from cathedral, from restaurants, tremendous stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location, newer hotel, great price in October, avoid restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was a disaster with confusion as to what you do, staff ignored us and couldn't tell us what many of the items were. Beds were too close together.

    Clean, modern, extra facilities, price, location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.0
    We had a wonderful stay in France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was really good. the eggs were extremly good. the only thing is that they almost would not let us eat because it was almost 10. they had not cleared the food and there was plenty - they would have had to throw it out. To me that was rude. We ate anyway!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely big room, comfy enough bed, not too hard or too soft. Enormous bathroom/wet room. Easy to use controls for heating/cooling. Balcony with door that opened fully, Large HD tv. Easy parking below the hotel. Very central and so near to bars, restaurants and shops. Would definitely come to this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    Ideally placed for cathedral but beware of breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed and a Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is a challenge. The food and drink is absolutely fine, it is the service which is the problem. We went down at 8.30 a.m. both days and were faced with a room which looked like a bomb had hit it. Finding a table with two place settings was difficult, as no tables had been cleared, leaving you to eat amid the detritus of previous people's meals, and on the second day they had run out of both plates and glasses (probably because they were all lying around on the tables!). The staff seemed to have no plan, no direction and certainly very little idea what they were supposed to be doing or how to do it. One person would put out a new place setting only for another member of staff to move it elsewhere; given a tray to clear tables, one waitress just put paper serviettes on it, leaving the dirty cutlery and crockery on the tables. A shambles and not what one expects in this class of hotel.

    Ideally located right in the centre, the hotel is modern and well appointed, allowing guests to get on with their visit very easily. The parking is cramped and getting in - and especially out - requires skill, but parking in the centre of Rouen was never going to be easy! Room was very comfortable with a proper laptop sized room safe, even if its location immediately above the fridge made it rather warm - some insulation might help. Manager came around after room cleaned one day to check all was OK - quite impressive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    No airconditionin, even though advertised and charged for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed and a Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning. This was a great disappointment. We had specifically booked an hotel that clearly advertised air conditioned bedrooms. This was confirmed on the receipt when booked, and the price/payment of our room reflected it. (We had even booked a better quality/price room and it never crossed our minds that air con would not be provided). When we found it did not work, we contacted reception to be advised that at that time of the year (25th September) the air con was switched off since, we were told, it was unnecessary! Fortunately we had a balcony so we opened the door for the night...but the city street was below. If you are in a city hotel in the middle of town, the air circulation is poor and the retained room temperature becomes unpleasant. That was why we paid for air conditioning. The result was that we had a very poor night's sleep due to overheating plus the noise of the street below. We will not be staying at this hotel again.....and if we ever consider a Mercure hotel again, we'd require written confirmation from the hotel itself that if we were paying for it, it would be provided.

    If you want to be in the centre of Rouen, this is ideal. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    You have lots of choices for breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have lots of choices for breakfast ! The taste and environment are very nice. Close to the cathedral and you can even hear of chimes in the morning :))

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.0
    Nice break in Rouen on our travels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Took an age to find hotel as sat nav struggled with one way system. Also I stayed at a Mercure hotel previously in Rouen and so I thought I knew where it was but it was a different hotel! Parking is underground and very tight to get in, my car is a fiesta bigger cars could struggle. Our room was on the 1st floor and we did get some disturbance from passing revellers during the night - not really surprising as it was in the middle of Rouen.

    All staff were friendly and helpful. The room and the public rooms were all bright and comfortable. Bed was comfy. The hotel is right in the centre of Rouen so convenient for restaurants shops etc. Breakfast buffet was fresh and tasty with items replenished before they ran out - I thought the breakfast at 16 euros per person was quite expensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.8
    I would not stay there again despite the great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel and our room were so musty that i had an asthma attack in the night. I would point out that i have an asthma attack perhaps once a year so things are not good at this hotel for people with allergies to house dust and mold. I want to warn people to stay at other hotels if they have these allergies as this hotel could be dangerous to them. Also the parking lot is extremely tight and it took us fifteen minutes of the most elaborate, geometric manuvering to extract our car intact.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They put us in the most inconvenient room they could find. We had to take the elevator to the third floor, walk to the back of the floor, then take a circular staircase up another floor and then a second staircase of about 8 steps to reach our room. The parking lot was very small. When we went out on the second day, it was full when we returned and we had to use public parking about 5 blocks away.

    Breakfast was great. The location of the hotel was right near many sites worth seeing. The room was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    The location is excellent, very close to the centre and the Cathedral with a very quiet and clean ro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is excellent, very close to the centre and the Cathedral with a very quiet and clean room and a safe parking place as we requested. The staff at Reception (especially Ms. Lea) and at the restaurant are very kind and helpful, taking special and good care of our low sugar food for breakfast. We would be happy to recommend this Mercure Hotel to everyone!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in a wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to access by car.

    The location was close to the cathedral a day other points of interest. There were lots of food and drinks options close by and picturesque homes and buildings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location for exploring the city. Tight parking garage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for exploring the city. Glad that they offered parking, but spaces are tight! At least they had one level for slightly bigger cars. (Level 1 for small cars, Level 2 for larger cars). Staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing and enjoyable in lovely city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive so ate out and driving to hotel a nightmare due to closed roads and restrictive area( not hotels fault) Hotel of this quality needs its own restaurant for all meals, not keen to eat in room.

    Location, pleasant staff in Reception and Housekeeping.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location right in heart of Rouen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not locate the hotel car park using hotel on satnav but found cathedral underground car park which cost same €15 for 24 hours

    Fantastic location right in heart of Rouen. Great soundproof bedroom and fabulous breakfast. Room 104 had view of cathedral out window. Took dog at extra €11

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    We loved the hotel and Rouen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed and a Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is not easy to find. I highly recommend getting and using the website directions. Our car's navigation system abandonned us and we were lost until I remembered that I had printed out the directions before I left home.

    We were very impressed by the helpfulness of the staff especially in helping to park our car, giving us directions to places we wanted to go, making dinner reservations for us, etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    This was one of the few hotels we found that had a reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking - oh my goodness! It is tiny and cramped and impossible and my fiancee is hardly a nervous driver! We also had a very hard time getting out because the roads around were closed or blocked so it was something of an adventure. If your car is anything bigger than a Smart, consider carefully whether to park here (or arrive very early!)

    This was one of the few hotels we found that had a reception open on a Sunday, and that ended up being the deciding factor for us. Great central location, clean spacious room, good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Would definitely recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit too dark could improve on the lighting. Lobby area was rather impersonal.

    Very comfy bed. Excellent shower. Quiet room. Very helpful staff. Great having nothing to complain about. Very peaceful relaxing atmosphere in the room and our needs were catered for.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was expensive so went out to cafe around the corner - very nice for less than half the price.

    Clean decent size rooms, staff friends but the best thing was the location!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Helpful receptionist who explained location of good nearby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the hotel (in the car) on a busy Saturday evening was a bit of a nightmare.

    Helpful receptionist who explained location of good nearby restaurants and marked up a map. Also advised the timing of a "sound and light" show which was most impressive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice place pity about the parking!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was full when arrived The map the the lady gave us to find alternative parking was not correct .

    Great position right by the cathedral Clean nice staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    Room was lovely even though it didn't have a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room looked into a horrible courtyard....

    Room was lovely even though it didn't have a view. Great layout. Really central.....Rouen is small so within 5-10 mins walk to everything you would want to see.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Incredibly firm beds spoiled an otherwise great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds were incredibly firm which prevented sleep on first night and seemed likely to ruin an otherwise great experience. However, next day staff provided extra duvet to soften bed slightly. Mercure should consider revising its corporate bed design - above all else, hotels should aim to provide a good night's sleep.

    Fantastic central location yet very quiet & private underground car parking. Friendly staff, very clean, good sized room, great shower, fitness suite - all at reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    2.9
    Rude and Unhelpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude and Unhelpful staff, had me move my car to parking lot and then told me it was full and made me move through umpossibly difficult streets.

    Rude and Unhelpful staff, had me move my car to parking lot and then told me it was full and made me move through umpossibly difficult streets.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    The location is great and the hotel is very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a nightmare finding the hotel and the parking on-site was really narrow and difficult to navigate.

    The location is great and the hotel is very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    The location is fantastic and the staff were really friendly and helpful. We will definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't access the hotel by road - mainly because of extensive road works in Rouen. Would have like an English breakfast tea bag in the room - but this is a small point.

    Very comfy bed and fab location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    2.5
    Don't go if your car has a roof box.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't complete our stay as all car parks in rouen have a height restriction and we couldn't get our car with roof box into them. Would have been nice to know before driving round rouen for an hour.

    Didn't get to experience any of it unfortunately.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: