Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Strasbourg Centre 4 stars

25 Rue Thomann, 67000 Strasbourg, France

#52 of 82 hotels in Strasbourg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 536 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration was too cheap and small and the bathroom was so old and the breakfast was so bad

    nothing was good just the location its near from the centre and they have a parking and the room was so dark they don't have lights!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty and old hotel. Shabby small rooms. There was little choice for the breakfast, a few tables in the cafe, very busy in the morning. No parking place. No air conditioner.

    Location is fine. The hotel is on the quiet street. The staff is polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very basic and not fitting of a 4 star hotel. The only warm food was scrambled eggs and sausages. The hard boiled eggs are collected by you from a fridge and are ice cold. The fruit salad was anything but fresh, with the usual pot pourri of fruit in a bowl and the grapefruit pieces tasted a bit off.

    The comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location was perfect the cost was bit to high for running eggs and we never was greet with the champagne we were promise, and the staff once we paid they never once greeted us as we would enter or leave the building, the breakfast area was ok but I don't eat pork and the only meats they had out was pork. I was also under the impression when I book that parking was park of the cost , but as I left I was being charged for parking. don't get me wrong it has to be the best location to vested the city easy walk to every where we wanted to see, but the few thing I mention were in question.

    location was the very best easy walk to the city and all the thing we wanted to see

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though the hotel is close to the train station, it is not possible to reach it by taxi, since it is place in a street closed to the traffic (at least during Christmas Market period). If you have heavy baggages this could be a little uncofortable.

    The hotel is in a strategic position, very close to the center (5 min walking) and to the train station (10 min walking). Very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was unclean, when you enter the hotel and the corridors it smells like wc. This smell comes directly into the room. The floor of the shower was grey and it was unclean. I have had stayed feel better Mercure hotels. It was like 2-3 star hotel.

    - close to the train station and city center - comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is hard to see why the hotel earns 4 stars. Our room was dusty, the bedsheets as well as the walls of the room were stained. The bathroom only contains a shower gel and nothing else (so make sure to bring all your toiletries!).

    Mercury hotel is very well located in Strasbourg. One thing that was great about the hotel - it's breakfast! Big enough to fuel you up for the day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no welcoming staff old & yellow blanket (cover of bed) old floor carpet of corridors very bad view of room window No sign of Hotel to find it v. very expensive small bottle of water for pills (no welcoming drink at lobby)

    good location very good breakfast very kind breakdast waitresses nice view of terrace for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking....the last space was so small it was not possible to get in or out of the car....in front of the Hotels busses blocked the parking for getting in or out our luggage

    breakfast god, brakfast room ey ice with a view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault is the very loud doors, waking you up every time. Maybe it would be good to install a system to avoid the doors getting slammed all the time!

    Location was perfect, right in the centre of Strasbourg. Very clean room and lovely staff!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the two days when I stayed there there were large groups in buses arriving that were obviously pretty noise during breakfast otherwise all in best order!

    location was great everything at short walking distance friendly staff very clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress is to old and damaged (small hollow in the bed). Bottle of water in the room fridge was already drank. Rooms are old. Pillow not comfortable for neck. Very average breakfast

    Location Connected with Sofitel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I pre-paid my parking space for all nights at arrival, but was no parking space at the last night (full). As a work-around, I parked my car at the Sofitel parking (other part of the same garage). Some reservation would have been handy, especially when pre-paid.

    Friendly and helpful staff, clean and quiet room, in town centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not easy to find the entrance to the hotel late at night due to there being two large coaches parked in front of the entrance obscuring all the signs. And also making it impossible to drop off passengers and luggage close to the door. I was surprised to find a pair of dirty socks behind the curtains - this would imply that the room had not been thoroughly cleaned?

    Location is very good. Easy access (on foot) to all the tourist sights.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - too loud in the room (constant street noise) - thin walls (you can hear next door neighbor's whisper) - very old rooms (dated material and furniture)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the pillows too soft but this is the case with most hotels for me. Soap and shower gel were the only products provided and I found a pair of socks belonging to a previous guest under the mini bar cabinet. The walls seemed to be thin. I could hear noise from other rooms.

    The hotel was a 10-15 minute walk from the train station and close to shops, restaurants and the Cathedral. The mattress was firm and the shower was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pretty basic hotel for what you pay. Wouldn't call it four star but still very nice.

    Clean, comfortable and very quiet location just off some main intersections. Cute place and free chocolate in the lobby!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not replenish food soon enough. Scrambled eggs and bacon cold Should be China cups in the rooms horrible paper cups

    buffet breakfast very nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not good at all, and not on the 4 stars level, always the plates are empty, every time you have to call the staff to ask for something and they bring it from inside, not only the food, even the hot water. When ever something finish they don't fill it again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was a bit limited, no bar or restaurant, but thousands of bars, eateries, and patisseries close by, and so we wouldn't bother with breakfast next time.

    Very comfortable beds, great location, helpful, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi functions in only 10% area of our room. The hotel is becoming old, and some facilities are not in their best conditions.

    The hotel is close enough to most attractions for tourists yet far enough to remain quite.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we received a complimentary water just for one day The safe was not functioning and we told the reception twice but they didn't fix it. you cannot reserve a parking place

    Breakfast was OK the location is near the center, downtown is accessed by foot, tram is also 5 min walking distance. la halles mall is about 10 min walking distance

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not a 4* hotel room. The toilet is very small and I couldn't not even stay upright on the shower

    The location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is wide, hotel is near from cathedral, monop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was very utilitarian.

    Comfortable beds and pillows. Appreciated the free bottled water. Close to tram stops.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable, excellent location near central tram hub

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is great! Staff are friendly. Breakfast is so good that I ate a lot. Bed is comfortable and room is clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of smoke in the corridor (floor 3)

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shower did not drain properly.

    Very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet needs renovation.

    Staff of reception offer very good service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or cafe in hotel

    Location great for a short stay to visit tourist spots and try great food. Canal boat trip a must. Seems like a mini Paris

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could have been better value for money.

    Staff were very good and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was exellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow is extra comfy !! Idk where i can buy the same one.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very pleasant and efficient.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matras needs to be replaced. You can only sleep in the middle as the matras is hollow

    Near the center, easy access from trainstation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit overpriced for what it is ...

    Overall alright. Good location. Nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and furniture dated. Bed placement and decor seemed more like a hostel than an established hotel brand.

    Location and staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room, nice and clean. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel doors bang closed with a horrible loud noise, which woke me up at 06:00 and it didn't stop. It would seem that the hotel could reduce the noise by adding some material so the slam is not that annoying. The Wifi reception was terrible in room 608, however, my friends who were in room 612 had outstanding reception. Lastly, the breakfast price is outrageously expensive. As a group, we ventured out to a local bagel shop and saved close to 40.00 EUR per party of 3.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the location is excellent. Really close to the tram and all the action.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Couple

    No parking spot at the hotel, they offered discount to a close public one, though. No breakfast included, which is then quite expensive. Room not so clean, the whole facility is not very well maintained. There was a strange smell on the corridors, probably the product used for cleaning.

    The location was in the city centre, but not on the main streets, so it was quite. The staff speak good English and also other languages, they were very friendly and ready to answer any question.

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel parking price- a bit high - but we could book in advance which was great.

    Great location 2 minutes from Place Kleber, we visited the center without having to take the car. Friendly staff, good breakfast. A tiny quiet fridge in the Superior room, which was very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reserved non-smoking, received smoking rooms, changed after excuses (unsuccessful attempt...). WiFi with hickups. No toiletries, no slippers - offered as a favour. Not really clean. Standard rooms are between 2 and 3 stars, whilw the hotel claims 4.

    Excellent location. Happy to find an available place in the underground parking, at 17 Euro/day. Breakfast room on 7th floor is nice. Average breakfast, but served by good quality staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Couple

    The arrogante of a lady.. The mansgerv??? No idea ....saying to the clients.... You cant not stay...She didnt manage to work with the terminal and told us to find another hotel...

    In the check in... We are ask for total payment... Mmmm... Ok... My credit cards... My debit carts... My wife credit and debit cards... A friend cards... No one was válid for payment... For arround 20 times... After that an amazing setence ... No card no reservation ... You can not stay.. Once again my friend credit card ... This time it works ... My cards as my wife cards have made payment sim stasbourg for all weekend...!!!!

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really uncomfortable bath towels. Free wifi didn't work most of the time. For the price we were paying we expected individually packaged toiletries, not an all-in-one shampoo/body wash/conditioner nailed to the wall.

    Great staff, very friendly. Easy to find on foot from train station or by tram. A short 5-10 min walk to the cathedral/city centre. Just off the main road so very quiet (almost too quiet) at night.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best avoidedd if you're expecting 4 star quality, more like 2 star Location is OK, as for the rest it's hard to find positives Our "Superior" room was hot, even in fairly mild temperatures (21c) the air conditioning simply did nothing to cool the room, it was rather like an asthmatic mouse blowing on you through a straw. There was no cupboard or wardrobe for clothes, simply a 6 inch hanging rail 4ft off the floor in a 9 inch alcove, no drawers either so you have to live out of your suitcases Our fridge did not work, the light was on but none of the settings on the dial did anything to keep the contents cool The cups were paper and the glasses plastic, hardly 4 star really The bedding plain white with a coloured drape to make them appear to be of a quality you'd expect Stains on the carpets including what may have been a blood stain, not certain on that, it was red. Standard lamp switch held together with Cellotape, cover plates on electrical fittings and the plate over the toilet flusher would fall off if not handled with extreme care Toilet paper which was the cheapest you could possibly find, towels were small and cheap too.

    Strasbourg is relaxing with nice people and food

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cost of the breakfast it wasn't explained to us we only found out when we got the email the next day

    The modernness of the room and how clean it was

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The parking garage has very small parking places. If you have a medium or large car then it is nearly impossible to manouevre to park

    Great location close to all attractions

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1)Hairs in bathroom sink, 2) dirty stained carpets, 3)television not working, 4)car park was full(had only 16 spaces) we were forced to use adjoining Hotel car park

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The AC was not working well. When I asked the technician they told me if it is not working open the window!! I don't know what kind of service. Also no body help in my luggage. The services are poor.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Duvet cover and net curtains both had rips in. Stains on ledge by loo. For a superior room in a 4* hotel this wasn't up to standard.

    Friendly helpful staff. Well placed hotel close to Cathedral and Petit France.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The scrambled eggs are not real,made of powder, no fried eggs, the staff at the restaraunt did not answer in english, the shower did not stay at the position you actually wanted, service does not fit the price and the standard of other mecure hotels where I used to go to

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The soap and the shower gel weren't replaced once finished. The fan extractor in the bathroom wasn't strong enough to take out the steam during the shower.

    Very good location Nice panoramic breakfast room Very quiet room

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The furniture and carber very old and there is smell in the room. The breakfast very limited and the cost is 17.8 euro is too much. The parking of the hotel was full and I park my car in the city parking which was far a way from the hotel specially if you have a lot of luggages and even no valet parking available.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Short walk to all city center attractions. Friendly staff. Although central, the area was quite at night. However hotel breakfast at €18 was not an option but lots of coffee shops nearly.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast was o.k not much variety and meat was of a poor quality

    location was great and the staff were very friendly. Room was clean however the bathroom had areas of mold. WIFI was superb

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -the double bed was uneven -the room was very dark (request even number rooms, which seem to get more light) -the bathroom & shower walls were dirty -no available parking in hotel's parking lot -overcrowded breakfast room

    -in vicinity of main historical & shopping points of interest -quiet area

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Parking is a nightmare. The car park was full and I had to park the other side of the river a good 10 min walk away. Breakfast is stupid expensive at !7 euro!!! plenty of local cafe for an awful lot less.

    Centrally located only 5 mins walk to the fantastic Petit France area. Staff were great on reception very happy and smiley. Huge comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was far too expensive at 17.80 Euros and not very special. Breakfast room far too small - people had to wait to be for table to become free.no bar or lounge area to speak of.

    Excellent location and staff

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    The professionalism of the staff. The tea and coffee facilities in the room. The comfort of the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room looks old and tired, needs an update.

    Great location close to many shops and sites. Staff were nice and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cleaniness

    Near city center.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Metro next to the hotel is huge and takes alot of time to reach the metro

    Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing - expensive but less so than other options

    Comfortable room Good breakfast Helpful reception staff

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Garage underneath. Walking distance to the center.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy hotel, expensive, smelly rooms

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast could has more variety

    location, rooms, bed and other everything

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smell at arrival in corridors - luckily it didn't continue into the room

    Cleanliness, comfort of bed, location

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    quiet and comfort one of

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Situation exceptionnelle en centre ville

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Big group of older tourists on bus tour.

    Friendly staff, parking available.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, Helpful receptionists, Spacious/spotlessly clean room.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, easy, comfortable stay. We felt at home with excellent staff. Parking downstairs. We stayed 3 nights.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: