Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Thalassa Fréjus 4 stars

Rue Des Forces Françaises Libres, 83600 Fréjus, France

#12 of 22 hotels in Fréjus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 465 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    A disappointing holiday - we left a day early
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Sea Side
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic with poor quality fittings . There was only a small shelf on each side of the bed where there would normally lly be a bedside cabinet or table, and there was enough room. A kettle was provided to make hot drinks, but only paper cups were supplied. Similarly, small plastic tumblers were provided as toothmugs. I view this as somewhat insulting to guests, and not in the current spirit of trying to reduce the use of disposable plastics. Although a mini-bar was advertised, it contained only 2 bottles of water! It would be more accurate to say there was a ‘fridge. There was a strong spring, similar to those used on fire doors, on the door to the seperate lavatory making it difficult to open, particularly in the middle of the night! Behind the door to the bathroom was a doorstp sited so far away from the wall that there was a constant danger of walking into a partially-opened door. The lighting was dismal - just two strips inset into the mirror, so putting contact lenses in was impossible. The shower was on a raised plinth but there was not enough fall for it to drain properly so showering without flooding the floor was extremely difficult. What was not clear from the description of the hotel was that it is part of a very large complex built around a marina, all of exactly the same age and type and completely soulless.

    Blissfully comfortable bed. Good view over pool and sea. Spacious room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is very small, , shower is not suitable for tall people (6' 3 or more), need to be redesigned, no room to put Towels and other things Room is pk but could be improved with more drawings, Breakfast is a bit expensive.

    Location , access direct to the beach, to the port, many restaurants, parking not far, Room is ok but was pretty noisy (on a noisy road), my advice, book a room with sea view or portview to prevent this pblm. Swimming pool is nice, good size Hamam

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.0
    Would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool area very strict - no flipflops, men must wear tight fitting trunks (!), locks on entry and exit and only one pass allowed per group which means you have no flexibility - you must enter and exit together. No parasols for shade, no drinks allowed at all. No outside bar or food served all day. Very restricted Hours for service for food and drinks. Towels available but again, restricted. No beach loungers - just access to a very busy public beach. Restaurant very clinical with no atmosphere. The spa is very underwhelming and you have to wear a swim hat and pay 3EUR. Staff unhelpful in most instances. Foul smell from drains in the bathroom.

    The bed was very comfortable. It had a nice balcony but quite an unattractive view of a car park when a seaview was requested.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.8
    Speedos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t use the pool as you had to wear speedos and the man managing entry to the pool was very rude. The rooms need a makeover as they need renovating.

    location was perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location but staff under pressure and rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at check in were very brusque. I understand they were very busy and that we could not check into our room until later however their manner was very abrupt and not necessary. I would not have had a problem with room not being ready if explained politely. We were initally told to come back in an hour and then when we came back and asked were spoken to very rudely. I have stayed at this hotel in the past and feel that now has staffing problems. Bathroom very small.

    Room very quiet. Clos to beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    The location was fantastic - beach - port- pool everything...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite an old hotel that needs some upgrading. Rooms were not 4* therefore it was overpriced

    The location was fantastic - beach - port- pool everything was on the doorstep

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Not what we thought we had paid for!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our balcony was dirty and scruffy, room was very average, bathroom tiny and badly designed, no storage/shelving for toilet bags. Corridor our room was located on was 'fousty' (good Scottish descriptive word for mouldy smell), the carpet was stained in several places. The pool area did not belong to hotel, therefore lots of rules and regulations, no parasols, no pool bar and security patroling fence making sure the men are wearing Speedos and no food or drink being consumed!!

    The foyer and bar area had obviously been more recently decorated. It was in a good position for beach and marina.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Curate's Egg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The separate toilet is very small and has no extractor fan. Breakfast is NOT Mercure standard. Milk was warm, very little choice of cereals and not much choice for cooked breakfast. Running out of things constantly, even including bread. This is not worth the extra charge. By far the worst aspect of this hotel.

    Nice room with comfortable bed and decent bathroom. Overlooking harbour with a balcony. Great location from this point of view but it was a 30 minute walk into the old town of Frejus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location, poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff rude and poor service. No effort to clear tables at breakfast, and poor service at dinner.

    Great location for Port-Fréjus and a walk away from St Raphael.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Great holiday in South of France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Sea Side
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact you cant reserve parking unless you book direct through Mercure.

    The location was great. Good restaurants within walking distance. Helpful staff. Clean rooms. Right near the beach. Lovely facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.8
    not a 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast is expensive and not so special, the staff is not very welcoming and it feels like you bother them when you ask something ( apart from the bartender). The spa didnt feel very clean, most probably due to the dirty toilette. There is a lunch break for the swimming pool and it close rather early, like before 7pm. You don't have bathrobe in the room, only if you sign up for treatment you can get one ... I thought it was rather cheap on their side, and a first in a 4stars

    location is great the spa treatment menu is large and my gf told me she was happy with what she selected

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.4
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground garage , my car got damaged by another guests car he reported to the hotel staff who did not inform me only by chance he saw me and told me what happened

    Proximity to beech and alternative restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Excellent located hotel for Frejus with its fabulous port with many restaurants and bars
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had 4 rooms and reception very thoughtfully accommodated us all nearby. View of the port was lovely Hotel very clean. beds very comfortable. Breakfast good - stronger/breakfast tea would be good! I would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed breakfast and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient toiletries i.e. no separate bottles of shampoo and conditioner for ladies , . No black tea and milk . No draws in units.

    Comfy bed, clean towels, clean sheets

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    Rooms are small pool is fabulous very well supervised hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small pool is fabulous very well supervised hotel is minutes away from the beach bus service is not great only comes at certain times view from rooms is stunning but wouldn't advise street view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    Perfect spot to stay in Frejus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Remember to pack swimming trunks for the men as they do not allow swimming shorts in the pool area!

    We had a lovely view of the port from our room and the balcony was a cool place to sit. The room was clean and well equipped. The staff were friendly and the bar area very comfy. I liked the pool area and direct access onto the sandy beach from the back of the hotel. It was an easy walk to the port for a good selection of bars, food and shopping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.4
    Otherwise, the journey was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculous, ridiculous, ridiculous not to be able to wear normal swimming trunks at the pool, only boxer swimming trunks. The access to the pool was forbidden if you did not follow this rule. The Thalassa could have been open! It was July!

    Breakfast, the beach. The diner menu was some monotonous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    Nice weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nit picking, but the mussels we had in the restaurant were tiny.. really not worth eating -

    Great location, very helpful reception and spa staff - Free wifi was good, TV OK. We used the Hammam in the spa - free parking right outside the hotel..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    Expensive breakfast, so we skipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They forgot to call our taxi in morning, but still made our connections.

    Expensive breakfast, so we skipped. Grocery store very near and reasonable prices.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    The hotel needs a refurbishement.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs a refurbishement............

    The hotel needs a refurbishement............

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    A nice short holiday close to beach, harbour and lots of restaurants. Still peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A poolarea was smaller than in the pictures.

    Hotel was nicely located, straight access to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    A good couple of days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough coffee and tea bags in the room and poor quality paper cups for hot drinks???

    Great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our stay in a great location and views over the harbour

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room - Sea Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was really comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Location was excellent and the staff friendly also the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent and the staff friendly also the buffet breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Top Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alles war super!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.3
    very nice location and sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room - Sea Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    old indoor pool , need update

    great location next to the beach o harbour.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic harbour view from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking facilities.. had to get up early to move the car and park it half a mile away from the hotel.

    Fantastic harbour view from our room.... very clean and decorated lovely.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    7.1
    Location is wonderful for marina restaurants and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds could be more comfortable. Harbour side rooms have no sun. Breakfast limited but nice, could be a problem if hotel was busy.

    Location is wonderful for marina restaurants and bars. Good beaches and a natural park is less than 5mins walk away.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.5
    The location is great, right in the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we had was very dated - not an issue as such, but the receptions's decor leads you to believe the room will be a little more modern. Breakfast is expensive at 18 Euros each, so we didn't have it & walked across the harbour to one of the cafes!

    The location is great, right in the harbour.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    9.6
    This was our second stay;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could cost a bit less!

    This was our second stay; and we will be back again. I lost my wedding ring - family heirloom - in my room; I searched everywhere and couldn't find it. A magical cleaning lady searched the room and found it. I'm so grateful to her. We had a great day at the spa. Ate delicious food in our room twice. The location of the hotel is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    10
    The room was very comfortable ,overlooking the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very comfortable ,overlooking the sea.There was very little noise at night from fellow guests. We thought the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    6.5
    Easy and polite check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a unpleasant experience. The buffet was good, but at 08.25am there were no clean tables, we had to clear a table by ourselves taking unused plates and cutlery from other tables. There was one waitress who concentrated on refreshing the buffet but gave no attention to the clients without clean tables. For this poor service we were charged €37.80.

    Easy and polite check-in.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    8.8
    Lovely quiet location almost on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were stopped from using the swimming pool as normal swimming shorts is not allowed by a GUARD!! Be prepared to go out and buy small tight version for around 30 euros in town.

    Lovely quiet location almost on the beach. Generous sized balcony. Modern Bathroom with separate toilet.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    6.3
    Good location and nice room in general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don't like the knowledge and non flexibility of the staff. Check-in at 15:00 is very late and when we arrived at 13:00 we still had to wait to 15:00 for check-in. It shouldn't be that hard to switch us to a free room to get access earlier. How can it take 2h to clean a room??? Just make an effort...

    Good location and nice room in general.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.9
    Great location on the beach.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed wasn't the best ever. Gym was definitely lacking - it's more of a workout room (not much equipment)

    Great location on the beach. Close to loads of restaurants. Great brekfast buffet in hotel.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    6.7
    Great position - close to beach and harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking awkward and difficult to organise with reception staff. I had two completely different answers about parking. Would have preferred to know the options before I booked so I knew what to do when we arrived Outside pool only really suitable for kids - also strange rule about suitable men's swimwear meant we weren't able to use it at all.

    Great position - close to beach and harbour Comfy and big bed

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    Lovely hotel staff location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not the hotels fault as they do not own or run the outdoor pool or gardens. But beware of the security man enforcing the no shorts even the marks and spencers type for swimming . .He lacks any of the charm or understanding that is found in the hotel.

    Lovely hotel staff location .breakfast only meal we tried .this can be eaten in the garden at your leisure .room overlooking harbour sunny in the morning cool in afternoon very quiet at night with doors closed WE WILL RETURN

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    We arrived rather early, and there was a little inaccuracy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We arrived rather early, and there was a little inaccuracy in our booking. However the staff at the reception quickly helped us and provided the room. The view was Excellent with a capital E. The hotel has direct access to the beach. In the evening when the waves were high at the sea the kids enjoyed the hotel's pool. Beautiful interior in relaxing pastel colours in public places, a big well designed quiet room, very nice bathroom, balcony with a marvellous view over the water horizon - nothing else to desire. The kids enjoyed it tremendously, and so did we.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    As it was a Spa hotel there were lots of facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    As it was a Spa hotel there were lots of facilities regarding the pool,treatments and easy access to the beach. The gardens were beautifully kept so breakfast was extra special on the Terrace

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    5.8
    The pool and close proximity to port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception poor felt like a business transaction, no warm welcome, lack of information - not told about access to beach via private gate, or master switch in room to turn bedroom elec on for TV, etc..Room clean but bland with ac not working and noisy as we had to open balcony doors to cool down room.

    The pool and close proximity to port.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast, room, staff, location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being charged an extra 10€ per night for our dog. We were informed of this on arrival. If this is your policy, please make it clear when booking.

    Breakfast, room, staff, location, location, location... We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    5.4
    Old hotel
    • Couple

    Old hotel

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    6.7
    Hotel was ok, breakfast and facilities too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms need update, we were booked in disable person room.... and non of us is using a wheelchair.

    Hotel was ok, breakfast and facilities too.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    7.1
    THE FOOD,CLEANERS ATTITUDE,ALSO
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NOT ENOUGH PARASOLS AT THE POOL,TV SELECTION[NOT ENOUGH ENGLISH CHANNELS

    THE FOOD,CLEANERS ATTITUDE,ALSO THE RECEPTIONISTS WERE EXTEMELY HELPFUL

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    5.8
    Ac was not working,no body could do anything to help, was...
    • Family with older children

    Ac was not working,no body could do anything to help, was hot during night, could not sleep

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.3
    Nice location, plenty of services and facilities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the furniture is a little bit old and they have a poor restaurant.

    Nice location, plenty of services and facilities, comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    5.4
    The bed and the view from the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool area Breakfast Bathroom Room design Access to the beach

    The bed and the view from the balcony

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    Bar closed early each night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar closed early each night.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    8.8
    Location, access to beach, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, access to beach, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    Lovely location staff friendly & helpful hotel peaceful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely location staff friendly & helpful hotel peaceful & quiet.clean

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    7.1
    very friendly staff, good breakfast, fast wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    room quality of 3-star hotel

    very friendly staff, good breakfast, fast wifi

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: