Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Marais Bastille 3 stars

36 Boulevard Richard Lenoir, 11th arr., 75011 Paris, France

#263 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 799 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Weekend on july 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first they gave us a room that turned to the building itself, there was no air circulation and the room was small. On the second night, after we complained The staff was cooperative and replaced our room.

    I recommend asking for a room that faces the boulevard and on a high floor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Very good quality/price option
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personal very nice (especially day staff in comparison to night staff). Rooms and bathrooms are modern and comfortable. Location is nice, in front of a parc and near several subways. I spent 2 different stays there : 1 in double room, 1 in signle room. I definetely recommend the double rooms! ;)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable. Would use it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only reason I didn’t give a better score on comfort was that the first two nights the air conditioning was unresponsive.

    No the croissants weren’t extra flakey. They were more breadlike. Otherwise breakfast was very good and the staff brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Great service from the minute we walked in the door!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault

    Great service from the minute we walked in the door! Very friendly receptionist who checked us in quickly and gave us a map to help us explore. Good location really close to the metro and the breakfast in the morning was reasonably priced. Great hotel especially as it’s only 3 stars.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is typical Parisian, just big enough.

    Hotel is just 100 meters to metro and 5 minutes to place des Voges or to Bastille. Great base for Paris holiday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location in Paris with an easy access from the airport...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in Paris with an easy access from the airport and Thalys. Helpful staff adds to the relaxing atmosphere of the place. I have been, and will continue, coming back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable room, good location, and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Because we had a sixth floor room, we had to be careful not to hit our heads on the gables. Also, there was renovation work going on just outside our windows, so we lacked the ability to open our windows and curtains with privacy. This was not a big problem, just a small issue.

    The staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location, and very quiet charming hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, and very quiet charming hotel . Hotel staff is very kind and helpful. Good continental breakfast and our room was small but clean. Would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    A very practical and comfortable small hotel near the Bastille and the Marais and near a Métro .
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was a bit confusing but the man on reception put it right remotely very efficiently. Both people on reception were very helpful.

    The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom and everything in the room was ideal for a short visit. Also the breakfast was very nicely served.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Good for value, comfy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were hoping location would be a bit closer to Marais.

    Comfy bed, nice staff. Room was big enough and the bathroom was brand new! Bastille Market happening just in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    great place - but ask them not to use perfumed fresheners before your stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It smelled strongly of perfume when I arrived. Either an air-freshener or perfumed cleaning products had been used and since I am allergic, I didn't sleep well the first night even though I opened up the windows and let in lots of fresh air. I asked that the room not be cleaned again during my stay and the second night was better.

    The staff were fantastic, the location is great and the room was clean. Lovely linen. There was a kettle with tea and coffee which is very important for me to get started in the morning. The wifi was great. It was quiet at night (I had a room looking into the inner courtyard). The hot water was hot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    the car to airport is terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We book a car to airport before one day through the hotel. But it is terrible experience when departing. At first, The driver is late about fourty min. Secondly, Driving is very bad, Let us see red light and sometimes She take up two lanes, Even go straight to the front car because of the lack of concentration. It is too bad. Everyone is nervous.

    There is a perfect morning market near every thursday and sunday. Floor,food,seafood.....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Small,ideally situated for amenities,metro 100m away,clean hotel and happy staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was scaffold outside the window as they were doing some roof work but this was not a problem just restricted our view but wasn't an issue at all as it was nearly finished.

    The hotel was just right for us. Metro was over the road shops were close by and staff always had a smile and were very helpful we were up graded free of charge as well. Great place to see Paris.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location - clean and functional stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room size!!

    The location is fantastic. Pretty hotel and staff very friendly. Room was clean. The beds were comfortable but oh, my, a small room in Paris is a challenge. The relationship of bathroom to bedroom is touching at the edges of decency! Fortunately, my friend and I know each other well. I'd stay again because my expectations were to see Paris and it's perfectly located in the Marais district for all you want but if you want more intimacy or privacy, look further.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    The room was quiet and with a nice size in comparison to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dark, the bathroom got all wet after I showered, and there was not enouth breakfast space for all guests.

    The room was quiet and with a nice size in comparison to other Paris hotels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    Bed was comfy and the room was warm despite the biggest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was "compact" but this is not uncommon for Paris I am led to believe. There was just about room to store everything. It was fine if like us you only need somewhere to sleep, not so great if you need to spend time in the hotel. Having said that I would stay here again.

    Bed was comfy and the room was warm despite the biggest snowfall in Paris for 20 years.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    Great little hotel which did everything it needed to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was a tiny bit small and shower was a bit feeble but both totally adequate.

    Clean, comfortable and acceptable size room (for Paris). Great location for Metro and walking everywhere. Room-cleaning and bed-making very good indeed and friendly, pleasant staff. Comfortable bed. Great place for a short stay in Paris.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely trendy lobby and breakfast room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower hasn't been thought through properly as you pretty much end up flooding the floor when showering.

    Lovely trendy lobby and breakfast room. Our bedroom on the 5th floor was very spacious and so was the bathroom! Some details could do with refresh but place very clean and modern! Heated tower rail in bathroom made every shower feel lovely especially with the cold weather outside! Room was really warm too. Just a few minutes walk from tube station. Very quiet room despite balcony giving on to main busy road and square. Sunday morning the square had an amazing market on, loved all the items and fresh food you could buy there!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Perfect and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything that the previous reviews are saying is exactly right. Location is perfect with a 2 min walk to the metro. Breakfast was also very good. Staff were lovely Jose was a delight. 10/10 fully recommend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    I will miss this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    too much narrow passage between the bed and the little table with the coffee, waited long time - sometimes - for the hot water to come in the shower. But all this is nothing compare to the excellent hotel!

    I asked a quiet room and a view of the street. I had both. the room was nice and hot, in winter, outside 7-10 degrees, we even didn't open the heating all the time, because the room is warm enough. they left us in the room every day coffee, even decaf, tea, and little cakes (I asked for the kettle in advance). the staff is wonderful 24/7, knowing English. Breakfast is great, very rich. the location is great, near some Metro's stations, near the Bastille. On Thursday and Sunday we saw just under our window the open market of the Bastille, where you can wandering hours and eat Gourmet...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    All in all it was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room a little too small.

    A pleasant little hotel. Modern, well-equipped room, although quite small (yet it is Paris...). The service is solid and pleasant. The location is excellent - about 10 minute walk from the heart of the Marais district.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Pleasant staff, clean and tasteful place, convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited outlets in the room. European outlets are different from those in the States. Although we were provided an adoptor, it took a long time to charge a phone. We were struggling to charge our phones and iPad overnight. A suggestion to the hotel: some hotels provide outlets just for electronics (iPhone/iPad and Samsung) in the room. It is very convenient for people from various parts of the world.

    Location of the hotel is close to restaurants and subways, which have easy access to main attractions in Paris. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Nice and clean place. We would go there again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    1) Location:
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Location: Not a visual treat, but is well connected. There is a farmers market on Thursdays which sells all kind of products. Bastille has some good eateries around. Did not try food from our hotel. 1) Connectivity: The hotel is located close to 2 metro stations (Line 1 - Bastille & 5 ). Metro 1 connects to all major central attractions like Concorde, Louvre, Champs Elysse, Arc De Triomphe while Line 5 connects to the central station . Bus 69 around the corner also connects to major locations. 2)Friendly staff: The staff of the hotel are very pleasant and helpful. 3) Room: small but very clean room though not much of view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely stay at the hotel next time we visit Paris.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Adjacent Double Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some traffic noise if you have a front bedroom.

    Great location with good access to metro and restaurants. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast much better than expected for a French hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    The staff at Best Western Bastille-Marais made our stay very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault the hotel.

    We just loved the location, the room was clean, the staff were the best. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to friends and family. The decor in the lobby and breakfast room were perfect for art lovers. The in-house breakfast for Paris was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    A weekend in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ive stayed in this hotel before and my partner and I had a good time here. The staff is very friendly and the cleaners aswell. It is all very nice and tidy and locationwise you have many restaurants and metros close by. The bathrooms are very nice aswell.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location, waking distance to the metro, shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that you are asked to leave he key at the front desk every time you leave the room but it worked out. Also, it seems many of the boutique hotels in Paris ask you to do the same.

    Excellent location, waking distance to the metro, shopping and restaurants. There is also a farmers market in front of the hotel a couple of days per week. If you are looking for the Ritz, the isn't the place for you. If you are looking for a clean, modest facility with friendly staff in a good location stay here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.7
    Nothing harsh on the whole good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location a bit too far from most turístico places and they could have an electric coffee machine in rooms and the”Madelaine “ could also be part of every day..!!!

    The personnel was very amiable and room clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note.

    The service is very friendly, speaks good English, and is extremely helpful. I recommend the hotel, the location is good, the room was very clean, staff good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    The BW Marais Bastille is well located, rooms are small but comfortable. Staff is frendly/helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was cramped, especially the shower.

    The BW Marais Bastille was conveniently located for our vacation in Paris. It is within walking distance to many attractions and close to the subway system. Our room was small but clean and well appointed including a safe. Staff was particularly helpful including booking a taxi for our trip to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    The location of the hotel, at a few steps from Place de la...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived, the bathroom was not as clean as I would expect from a hotel of this standing. Also the breakfast only has very basic items.

    The location of the hotel, at a few steps from Place de la Bastille, is great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i requested a coffee in the downstairs area and female receptionist was simply rude and told me i could make myself one in my room. had to point out sign that indicate coffee could be requested. she was not happy. i got the coffee but didnt enjoy it after this exchange.

    location excellent. market opposite twice per week. good area for guests to sit and read. selection of books to choose fr in number of languages.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel in a nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size was on the smaller side though this seems to be the normal in paris. Breakfast was good but repetitive. Some variety would help

    Great location quiet but still close to bars brasseries and other stuff. Only 190 m from a metro station and a short ride to the Louvre notre dame etc. Friendly and helpful staff and well appointed rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    The front desk staff was very polite and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our room wasn't great, but we didn't really spend much time there anyway.

    The front desk staff was very polite and accommodating. The rooms were clean, the beds were fairly comfortable, and the hotel was in a great location!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel in good location for restaurants, bars and Metro - and Sunday/Thursday market
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We faced into an inner air well so no view except of the man opposite in his bathroom!

    Good location very close to Metro, good bed and pillows. Compact room and could have done without sofa so we had more room to move around. Shower also made a lot of mess on the floor! But was hot and had good flow. Continental breakfast was generous. They were very helpful and we had no problem leaving our case for the final day after we checked out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Simply the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location if you want to stay in the Marais. Technically it is located in the 11th, however Places des Vosges is only a 10-min walk from this fantastic boutique hotel. It is worth spending a little bit extra for the superior double room which is spacious and extremely clean; we found it perfect for our 3-night stay with a toddler. Breakfast is very much worth every euro. We looked forward to it every day. The best thing about the hotel is, as others have said, the staff. They make you feel at home from the moment you step into the lobby. Friendly, caring, they clearly care about their guests and the hotel. We have stayed in many hotels in and around the Marais and we think we have finally found the perfect one. We will definitely go back to this gem of a hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely weekend, nice hotel, in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a little dark. We were at the rear of the property looking into the courtyard. So I would definitely request a room at the front of the property next time.

    We were able to check in early which was great and the lady on reception was friendly and helpful. The hotel is just a two minute walk to the Metro (Bréguet-Sabin) and a six minute walk to bustling Bastille. I loved the neighbourhood. It's very quiet, clean, and with a couple of lovely little Parisian bistros in the backstreets behind the hotel. There is also a great Sunday market along the boulevard at the front of the property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    It was a good choice for our stay in this beutiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was very average, not that tipical French breakfast, so we had it elsewhere.

    KInd and helpfull staff, clean rooms, great location. We found it a great choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay and would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was fantastic to explore the Marais and all the great eateries nearby in addition to exploring the rest of Paris. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. We also got given a great room with a balcony. The cleaner was also great and kept our room very clean and nice. Shower had excellent pressure and the bed was very comfortable. Even though our room over looked the road it was still quiet and we were always happy to come back and rest. Would absolutely recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Good value and good area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view

    The gentleman on the front desk was great. He was extremely friendly and helpful.i wanted to practise speaking french and he spoke french with me and was very encouraging. The hotel is in the marais district. Very interesting addresarea The

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfort bed, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Water pressure in the shower was sometimes too low (probably when other people were using), All restaurants recommended by the stuff were closed

    Comfort bed, good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    Great value and comfort in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing bad to say.

    We were upgraded to a room with a balcony that had distant views of the the Eifel Tower. The room was small but very comfortable and clean. Also located very close to the metro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Hidden gem in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little tricky, but most of all, we hated the requirement of leaving your key at the front desk every time you leave.

    High end finishes, very roomy accommodations, gorgeous and large bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    2nd time and always lovin' it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi could be better since it may disconnected at times. But not really a thing to be fuss about :)

    The bed is exceptionally fluffy! It's always a good night sleep each time I'm in there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Very close to an amazing bakery.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's across a "park" that is home to many "Sans Abris"

    Very close to an amazing bakery. Front desk staff was very knowledgeable and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.3
    Staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maid tried to enter our room despite the "do not disturb" sign hanging from the doorknob I was concerned walking back to the hotel at night due the the homeless population in the area

    Staff was friendly Room was spacious (we received an upgraded room) Good breakfast Close to many cafes and restaurants near the Bastille

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Great experience and wonderful concierge near the heart of Bastille!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the concierge - we was so hopeful and kind! We were able to leave our bags with him before check in and walk the market across the street (which happens every sunday) until our room was ready. We also got a brunch recommendation from him, which was lovely. And we were able to leave our bags after check out for a day trip to the Chateau Fontainebleau, which left from nearby Gare de Lyon. We also loved the personalized air unit in the room (Paris is short on AC). And we loved being able to upgrade to have a bathtub -- sometimes you just need to relax :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Central, clean and value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were friendly, room was compact but big enough, clean, I love clean bathrooms and it fitted the bill, very central, I travel 3-4 times a year to Paris and it's my third stay here at the Hotel Marais...until the next time

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    A good hotel in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The temperature in Paris is very high and the air conditional need replacement for new equipment with more power, because in the room no working very well.

    The property is a good location to the center of Paris, and the transportation in taxis is accessible for all attraction for my tours.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and friendly staff. A lot attraction nearby or walking distance. If you are consider where to stay for a trip in Paris. It's a good choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location. Line 4 metro station is five minutes walk that takes you to the most important sights. The Sunday market in front of the hotel is a "must visit" category. Appropriate size rooms and bathrooms compared to others in Paris. There are many good and excellent restaurant in walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    3.8
    The staff was not nice and not corect they told as is free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not nice and not corect they told as is free brekfast than yesterdays make extra charge for 3 day 105 € Drinks on room Bar chargeable one btl of wayer 3€ plus taxes Smell on the room from bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    We had probably one of the nicest rooms on the highest level...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a hotel policy asking you to dispose the room key cards at the reception. When we asked for the reason, we only received the answer: "it's for your security- you understand?" - no, not really. Was a bit annoying to always ask to get the key cards back after returning from a walk.

    We had probably one of the nicest rooms on the highest level of the building with a nice view over the roofs of Marais. The staff was quite friendly. Enjoyed the stay pretty much.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel with Good value money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Great location. Close to all ammenities and transport. Friendly and kind staff. Room a bit small but still ok. Bed very comfortable. Nice breakfast. Our room was on the third floor facing the street. Windows are double glazed so you can't hear the traffic. In general we found it a very nice hotel and would hinghly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could be renovated.

    Everything you need is in the room. The bed is very comfy. The shower was rather big and worked well. The room size is good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    6.7
    it was as described so you cant complain that you were mislead
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating did not work on the fist night and it was very cold. Sought advise from staff who tried to help but it did not work. It was sorted on the second day.

    hotel in good location and did no more and no less than advertised

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.9
    Weekend stay at Best Western - great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we were placed in was much smaller than rooms shown on pictures used for advertisement. Furthermore, the sliding door between the room and the bathroom do not provide as much privacy as with regular doors.

    The location was great! Very close to subway stations and within walking distance to attractions along river Seine and fantastic 4th arrondissement to name a few. Furthermore, there were a number of great cafes, shops and a lovely Sunday market nearby. The rooms are clean and the reception staff is very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel close to Bastille and Marais
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dark : interior patio with poor access to light

    Comfortable bed, and very helpful personnel. We were 10 min walk from the shopping area of Marais. A very quiet room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    10
    Amazing and very accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved staying here with my boyfriend. It was our anniversary and I had emailed before going to let them no. They had left a bottle of champagne and a note saying "happy anniversary " in our room. The staff were all super friendly and approachable. This was extremely nice and I was so happy. We would definitely return. We were close to everything we needed to be close to and the hotel rooms and beds were very comfy and cosy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.2
    We really enjoyed our stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were great. The room was comfortable and not as cramped as I expected. The neighbourhood has ample eating places, supermarkets and bakeries. Metro almost at our door. An easy walk to La Seine and Ile Saint Louis. We found this location to be a quite handy base for exploring Paris, the common tourist spots and the Parisian's Paris. The huge Sunday market almost at our door was a bonus. The Colonne de Juillet at Place de la Bastille is a great landmark to help find your way back home. My picture shows the view from almost the front door, the site of the Sunday market the day after, looking towards Place de la Bastille.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    10
    Our stay was very enjoyable and we will return to Hotel Marais again soon - thank you Hotel Marais
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Replace/add tea bags daily

    Hotel Marais is a comfortable and extremely pleasant Hotel to visit because of the location, exceptional customer service and comfortable and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    10
    A great first trip to Paris!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was entered and tidied despite leaving a do not disturb sign on the door. Breakfast options weren't great mostly due to us being vegetarian and gluten intolerant but also lack of something substantial for a busy day out and also good value, so we went elsewhere each morning for breakfast but being able to eat here would have saved time.

    The location is brilliant, Bastille is a great area to stay as its enjoyable in its own right but easy to connect. Room was clean and very quiet with a nice view of planted courtyard. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was nice - marble sink and good sized bath/shower. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Easy communication and positive environment.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    9.6
    Great location, excedllent value, friendly faces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at the hotel a couple of hours before check-in. The man at the front desk greeted us warmly and we asked him if we could leave our luggage so we could start to tour our beloved Paris. After checking with housecleaning, he gave us the key to our room and we were off and runnning. He and the woman who replaced him were very helpful with names of restaurants in the area. Best Western is a great value value and a friendly face in Paris.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    8.3
    Great little hotel - a perfect base!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No residents bar, but this is only a small matter, as there are plenty of bars in the area!

    Good quiet location, close to the metro (Breguet-Sabin 2 mins & Bastille 5 mins) and only a 15-20 minute walk from The Seine, and Notre Dame. Gare du Nord is 6 stops on the Metro. Spotless rooms (I had room 1, on the ground floor) very clean and tidy, nice comfortable bed, and a hot walk in wet room shower, with plenty of room so everything doesn't get soaked! A good breakfast, served by friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi should be improved

    Friendly receptionist staff they are ready to answer ur questions and give excellent tips .. good location metro just 5 min walking .. healthy breakfast with excellent quality ... quiet and relaxed room...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.8
    Great small hotel to stay in Paris
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually I was there one day and didnt had chance of something I don't like.

    The staff were very polite, at our service, good location next to Bastille, quite small family ruled hotel, great athmosphere, calm and definitly recomended by me and my wife.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Stay was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be better. Wouldn't suggest getting breakfast there

    The staff were awesome the whole time. Help me reserve some stuff. It was cozy hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel! Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The style is nice and contemporary. Very spacious for the price. I loved the modern bathrooms. The staff was nice and friendly. They gave great advice for our visit. Extremely helpful. So far this is my favorite place I've stayed in Paris. It's extremely close to the metro station and GREAT value for the price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    Great location, friendly staff and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't really bother us much, but they ask you to leave keys with the front desk when you leave the hotel during the stay...

    Great location, friendly staff and clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our cups/mugs in our room went missing twice and we had to ask for more coffee or tea on two occasions.

    Great location. Friendly staff very helpful. Air conditioner powerful but quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Paris Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I guess by Australian standards the room was rather small but how much time will you spend in the room? Afterall....... you are in PARIS.

    The position is perfect, with the park, which on Sunday becomes a busy market, just across the road. Quiet but within walking distance to the hub of Bastille. With many wonderful restaurants to choose from, easy access to the Metro and very helpful staff, what more could you need?

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    This is a great hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a great hotel !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice , Cosy, clean, great Location, Nice hot shower and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing i didn’t like

    Nice , Cosy, clean, great Location, Nice hot shower and the front desk lady was very nice .. I would definitely come back 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Very basic place to stay. No frills
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    construction work noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    construction work noise

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hôtel Marais Bastille traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: