Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Bellagio Amboise by Popinns 3 stars

115 Route de Civray de Touraine - face au Parc des Mini Châteaux, 37400 Amboise, France

#16 of 19 Holiday rentals in Amboise

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1765 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not walking distance to town if you have any mobility issues.

    Lovely and clean. Friendly staff. Well equipped. Good value for money. Lovely quiet location overlooking the valley..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you aren't going with your own transport, It's hard to get taxis out of the main town past about 9.30pm, so pre-book if you can, as the walk back to the hotel is a bit light on pavements......

    Loved the set up of duplex apartments. Staff were really helpful - We were a very late check in, but they were still welcoming and friendly (and efficient!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment 3-4 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was very basic- would be difficult to prepare a full meal. Location was fine but would require a car.

    Lots of space, excellent size rooms, grounds lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very average food. My fondant au chocolat was over burnt and looked more like a brownie than anything else. Staff is slow, unsmiling and unwelcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs more outdoor maintenance to make it look more welcoming and cared for......eg grass cutting, replacing torn flags, maintenance of roadways. Wifi was intermittent .

    Quiet at night, room bright and airy, country feel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment 3-4 persons
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The mattress in the main bedroom was very worn and my back ached after sleeping but this is easily fixed. I would have liked to see a kids play area tailoring to older children and the property w Ould benefit from a boundary fence, it felt a little open and we were unsure where the property needed and the neighbour started. The road around the property is in desperate need of fresh tarmac the pot holes are awkward in places and unnecessary for a modern property. I think the reception was fine and the staff friendly but the dining area/ bar could do with a guest area to have drinks or refreshments whilst functions or other meeting were being held, we were unsure of the procedure and there always seemed something going on, a little area set out for guests would have been a bonus. Although I have written more in the negative column than the positive, we will defiantly stay here again.

    On arrival, we weren't expecting much and the external aesthetics were as we had seen in the booking. However once inside our building we were very pleasantly surprised, the rooms were open and warm and had what we expected, they were clean and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few dirty spots- not super attentive to detail (hair around chair legs, plastic cup on balcony.) Pillows were uncomfortable. No oven or toaster oven.

    Lots of space (ours had 2 floors, 2 hang out areas, a kitchen, dining space and 2 bedrooms)- beds were nice (except pillows.) Kitchen has most what we needed to prepare a quick snack at night and breakfast in the morning. A great location and nice grounds. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment 3-4 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used a sponge or dishtowel in the kitchen. The tile floor does get dirty quickly with it raining so a doormat would be nice.

    The space provided. We had the two bedroom apartment with a sitting area upstairs as well as a tv. There was WiFi available. The apartment was immaculate and free from any odors. Our room was ready upon check in and we were greeted and in our room within minutes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You must have a car, if not it's really difficult. Condition of roads with in the premises are not good. Not so satisfied with the service,there is no phone.if you need something you have to go far for help from the reception.they will not come to the room. The plumbing work is not good for sure.there was leakage in hand wash while complaining the reception changed the room the next day And on the other room also there was the same problem plus additional leakage issues at the shower. WiFi signal is pathetic

    It's not far from near by tourist spots, the area is big. Nice place to spend with family.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment 5-6 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had understood internet was available also in the rooms, but the wifi is free only in the reception, and our cottage was quite far from there! the place is a bit dark in the evening

    the duplex was spacious and clean the location ideal for visiting the castles

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment 3-4 persons
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant was pretty expensive

    These complex is perfectly situated to visit Loire Valley. Close (with car) from supermarket, city center and a lot of castles. We have a very big apartment with two rooms, living and two bathrooms. Big enough for 4 adults and a little child. The apartment was equipped with all the things necessary to cook, a fridge, two TV's.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest concern was lack of upkeep of surrounding property. It looked neglected, like a convention project that didn't pan out, it was also outside the town of Amboise proper. So, one needed a car to get there. Going to Amboise by public transport would be terrible if booked at the Villa Bellagio. Another concern was for older or handicapped persons. We were two 70 somethings who are healthy, but we had to carry our luggage up and down steep stairs to get to our room.

    The beds were really comfortable. The room was large with nice seating area and the kitchen was well equipped with dishwasher, fridge, dishes etc. But no dish cloths to wipe after oneself. Nice table and chairs. TV. All very modern inside and clean. Great blackout curtains and very quiet for a good night's sleep. It was en route to Chenancon and so very handy for chateaux. There is an outdoor pool, but we did not use it, so cannot comment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit further out from Amboise than we'd realised, some parts of property look a little run down, the pool was quite cold!

    Spacious room, plentiful breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where the apartments were based.

    The apartments were a surprise but spread out. It was not what I expected but once inside the apartment, we were very surprised. Very clean but entrance area smelt very unpleasant. Fortunately inside was immaculate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking at the property is difficult when busy. There's not enough spaces next to the apartments themselves and some cars were parked on side of road which they weren't supposed to be. Had to park in main lot in front and walk to apartment.

    Great facilities for families. There's an outdoor pool, bouncy castle and ping pong tables set out for guests to use. Apartment was big enough for family of four and there's a kitchenette to make hot drinks, and a fridge for cold ones.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment 3-4 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in the residences so on hot summer night bedrooms were stifling. Also properties look a little tired

    Good buffet breakfast with lots of choice; accommodation was very spacious

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were not friendly. Communication poor - they advertised BBQ set menu for Friday & Saturday but failed to inform you that this was the only option for food. Food very average, I would go out to Amboise if you can. Undercooked bacon & sausages at breakfast.

    Perfect no frills accommodation for a stopover. Great to have pool & bouncy castle. Lots of space to run around, great to break up a long car journey. Accommodation spread out and away from main building, which was good when weekend entertainment on. Breakfast buffet was pretty good, hot food let it down.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities are very good in the room for family. And breakfast is very good. This hotel is close to the castle. But this villa is too big, sometime you can't find your room, if it is far to the reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like staying at a prison camp in style. They need to landscape the grounds and make it more welcoming. The breakfast was a complete mess. We arrived 10am and there was no bowls, plates, hot food or bread. It meant we had to leave the premises to find something with kids. They rightly removed the cost from the bill but no apology. The place had I stayed there longer would have depressed me!

    The evening entertainment was done well and the staff made an effort

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in room.Fan is a must.

    Same breakfast everyday.No choice I you are vegetarian.Had coffee machine but no pods.No kettle.Internet was rubbish.There was no fan or AC when outside temperature was 30 degrees.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment 5-6 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't park near the property as places were already taken. We did have one issue with a neighbour who had blocked the path to unload a car and despite our party including some with mobility issues who couldn't walk down the grass slope, he wouldn't move until he had finished unpacking. We didn't report as nothing you could have done.

    The apartment was fabulous with lots of space. Having a bed settee gave us more options as to who slept where. We didn't use the bar restaurant as there was a themed night with one price which was a bit expensive as we didn't want a full meal. The swimming pool was fantastic. The only improvement for the apartment would be somewhere to sit outside. There were doors from the lounge where an outside table and chairs could be.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment 3-4 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool is too small for the site (and freezing). There was also no patio area outside the villa or any patio furniture to sit on - we had to take out the dining room chairs. The downstairs toilet also really smelt; we had to shut it off and not use it for the duration of our stay.

    Really comfy beds. Great space for the price of the accommodation. Amboise is a fantastic town to visit and was only a short car journey away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment 3-4 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gardens were a bit tatty and unfinished but others have commented on this so it was how we expected really

    Lots of space and well equipped kitchen . Two tvs and separate lounge for children .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking after dark is tough - not enough spaces available (or too far to walk), too narrow drives and dangerous ditches everywhere breakfast is poor variety and quality pool is too small and only few (~7) sunbeds for that big and crowded site...

    perfect location, clean and fairly priced

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There could have been better crockery & cutlery in the kitchen. there needs to be more games & entertainment for the children. The roads need to be better as they were very dusty and full of holes.

    The apartment was spacious and clean, it was nice to have a lounge area overlooking the fields. The pool area was a bonus

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shops or restaurants nearby.

    The food was good. The flat was a good size. It's clearly designed for families, but was fine for those travelling alone. Wifi was fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the flats are like small houses, there is no garden furniture to have your meals by your house. Only garden chairs are closed to the reception and swimming pool. Too far to go by feet to the bakery or restaurants, and there are no buses nor taxi... You must use your car or have bikes.

    The kids liked the swimming pool and air-castle. The flats were very comfortable, lots of space, very quiet, very good beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to make sofa bed and the pool was too cold with not enough sun beds. Kettle would be good in room too.

    Facilities for children were good and guitarist and singer in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the attitude of the receptionist (a lady in her 40ies, all others we saw -a young man and a young girl- were very nice). the apartment is designed for 4 people, but there were only 3 pillows. we asked for an extra one and the above mentioned receptionist was not sure if we could get it (strange!). we also asked for towels to be changed the following day (one of old ones was fresh, but had black marks all over it) - she was not impressed with the request. also, it rained at night and the balcony being covered in dirt and algae (looks like never has been cleaned) which made it very slippery in the morning. we drew her attention that it is potentially a safety hazard to which she had no reply. avoided any eye contact and explicitly waited for us to just go away. which we didn't. so she replied there was nothing they would do during our stay. I don't know where French law stands on the safety of the hotel guests, but the balcony is definitely unusable (due to unpleasant look & dangerous if wet) - which is a shame, because it would be nice to enjoy it. also both villa Bellagio as well as booking.com should take into account that the apartment has been wrongly described.

    location, swimming pool on site, kitchenette in the apartment

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Maintenance. Better cleaning.

    The location is good, few minutes drive to Amboise and a rich supermarket. Nice and quiet place out of town. It's a small apartment with nice kitchenette. Cleaning was ok although we had to ask for it twice. Wifi was a bit problematic. Weather was hot a couple of days and we asked for a fan which was dismantled and I had to fix it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning of some of the areas in the unit could have been a lot better.The deck area was extremely dirty,with mouldy glass panels ,covered in cobwebs and dirt and the deck itself was covered in slime,which meant every time you walked out onto the deck your feet got covered in dirt and which ended up being trampled back inside.I ended up cleaning the glass panels need the deck myself but there was no broom to clean the deck itself.Once some of the areas were cleaned it made a lovely area to sit and relax ,especially with the hot weather that we had.A shame because otherwise it was a lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you stay more than one night, take the necessary to cook, salt etc and just a recurrent smell from the sewer

    Proximity with Chenonceaux, Amboise, quietness, t he appartment was comfortable and huge! parking easy. We had a good evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It looks like by building this large hotel, the money ended: car park places is not enough big for fitting all guest cars; the roads are with holes; Terraces not ready.

    Good location, quiet place, near to 3 chateaus. Very spacious room, all amenities, bathroom with bath, small kitchen. Small and not deep pool works until 21.00 o'clock. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment 5-6 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our 2-room apartment was in the building in front of the pool area and near by the main building where check in and the restaurant were located. But being that close to the main building turned out to be not good -- as the DJ playing music both Thursday & Friday evenings was extremely loud making it impossible to sleep till about 2 AM. The weather was hot so it was necessary to keep the windows open in order to get some breeze in (due to no air condition) but with the loud music, keeping the window open, was not an option. So we had a couple of bad nights of the 3 we stayed. We asked the front desk for fans but they didn't have any.

    The Bellagio apartments were nice and the beds comfortable. They were nicely cleaned with a large balcony. The kitchen area had just enough dishes in order to do some cooking. There's even a dishwasher, which I really don't see the need for it, as they're just a few dishes to wash. You definitely need a car to get to this location and to get around town. The day we arrived everything around was closed but luckily we found a McDonalds restaurant (5 min. in car) open where we had dinner. We stayed at this location in Amboise in order to visit the Castles. The shopping plaza where the McDonalds was located had a big supermarket where we found everything we could possibly need.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Those little details that make your life a tiny bit unconfortable. For example: there was only one (half person size) mirror which was placed in an unconvenient position within the bathroom. A large sink was in the middle so that I basically couldn't get to put make-up on. Beds pretty small. We had to use the external entrance of another building because there was an artificial canal in front of ours and no passage through it. Not possible to pay with Maestro.

    Very spacious and well equipped, the shower is nice and the stuff friendly. Green area around the room with a little pool and ping-pong tables.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was difficult to find the cottage.It was in the back blocks -long grass ,weeds everywhere.The Road to it was full if pot holes On arrival the entry was littered with blown leaves and we had to step over a line of weeds across the doorway.The first thing I noticed on entering reception was a disgusting container of cigarette butts.No hairdryer in room !Staff friendly.Rooms clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super ugly terrace Very untidy from outside the cottage If u have nowhere to go for an overnight stay, this place is ok.

    Location is good when using a car. The room was OK.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked for a couple and 2 year old daughter. We were given a room at the top of a set of spiral stairs so it was a bit dodgy and we had to survey her all the time and put the coffee table across the stairs so she didn't fall down.

    The room (apartment) was comfortable and modern enough and the bed was great. The free breakfast was really good also and we ate in the restaurant which was also very good. Service from reception staff and restaurant staff very good and friendly. We didn't use the pool as we were there in April and it would have been too cold. The only issue with the hotel is it feels more like a village and is quite a walk/drive to the reception/restaurant. I found this a little strange as we were there in low season and there wasn't many people around. Like being in an empty village. All in all a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment itself was nice and comfortable, but the whole complex had an unfinished and neglected feeling (no pavement around buildings, pipes laying around, spiderwebs around the door). No hairdryer in the apartment. No equipment to do the dishes (no sponge, liquid or tablets for the dishwasher).

    Breakfast was excellent value for money. The WiFi worked well in our apartment. The staff was very kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment 3-4 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have enjoyed lawn furniture and a wifi connection in the unit.

    A great amount of space, more than we needed, really. I frankly was a little worried after seeing pictures of what looked like an unfinished housing development. In reality, despite the underdeveloped landscaping and potholed drives, we relished the opportunity to stretch out in a two-level townhouse after more cramped accommodations. The unit was spotless and looked out on lawns that were perfect for the kids to run around on. If you don't need to be in the center of Amboise (and after walking around a bit there, we were just as happy being on the outskirts) the Villa Bellagio is not a bad option.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. The only observation I would make is that the roadways around the villas are potholed but this is obviously in the process of being addressed.

    The hotel is conveniently located less than a mile from Amboise town centre and an easy walk along quiet road. The accomodation had everything we needed and was warm and clean. We booked based on the price and were not disappointed with the deal. We would definately stay again. Lovely staff too!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being on the upper floor of the apartment unit with a winding narrow staircase. Difficult to lock and unlock door. It was more than the described distance from Amboise.

    Rooms were clea, comfy and provided extra space to move around. Also appreciated the ability to cook.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Duplex Apartment 5-6 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sewage smell in bathroom. Second place we stayed at with horrid smell.

    The place was exactly as pictured and expected for me. Reasonable, lots of space for a family, pool and space to play outdoors, great Loire valley location as long as you don't mind being out of town (we didn't).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment 5-6 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place!! For a group of friends nothing can be better! We rented bikes to visit the castles and relaxed near swimming pool! Good breakfast! Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment 5-6 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Pretty firm mattress - No air con (it was August and hot) - Small bathroom with no lock in apartment for 5 people. Tiny towels. - No late reception. We arrived after midnight after a long drive. The reception building was shut down and an envelope stuck to the door. The apartment was unlocked with the key inside. - Buildings in good condition but of the cheap and quick assemble kind.

    Reasonable breakfast buffet, however it cost extra with our apartments.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment 5-6 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool tiny for such a massive complex and also parking inadequate for so many residents . The complex is on a big site but so much space has been wasted , v strange!

    Lots of space on apartments ,modern and spacious . A short drive to the lovely town of Amboise. V reasonable light breakfast option in main hotel area. Swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment 5-6 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambiance is poor the exterior of the main building needs to be made to look like a Villa not an institution. Landscaping needs more trees and shrubs and shade areas added. It's all very bleak

    Pool and size of our large family 2story room for 6 was very good value. Location was central for day trips.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were lot of families with children and we couldn't enjoy the pool as it was full with noisy kids. It is great as a family resort, but it is not a location for young couples. The bedroom and the living area weren't separated and this wasn't made clear by the pictures we found on booking.

    The dinning area was great and the apartment had a large terrace. The personnel was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment 5-6 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house did not smell good (that came from the evacuation) and the staff told me that they tried to fix it but that it was due to the city of Amboise and that they could not do anything about it. Maybe the smell was worse because it was really hot?

    Great property and lots of facilities. We enjoyed staying there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure how to describe this location. Looks like a low income government housing complex. Parking was inconvenient, internet was useless.

    It was a place to stay. Had a refrig.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation itself did have a some minor spots where it looked like the builders had cut some corners in finishing the interiors (e.g. in the bathrooms). There was no problem with function, etc., but it did lessen the impression of what otherwise was a very good spot to stay. The location is a bit of a drive out of Amboise itself -- around 10 minutes or so. This wasn't a big issue for us since we had a car and were only staying for one night, however it may be something to be aware of for others when booking.

    Apartment style accommodation was very handy for a family with young kids. We only stayed one night so didn't really get a chance to take advantage of the facilities. However the pool looked very clean, and they had a bouncy castle for the kids.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Duplex Apartment 3-4 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi in the house initially didn't work. No indication how to lock the door by lifting the clutch upwards. Recommend that guests are provided with a one pager of important messages with on the back a simple map of the city and where the hotel is relative to the city.

    The houses are spacious and clean. Easy to find and a short drive by car to the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment 3-4 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place has absolutely no shade anywhere outside. Also the pool is tiny.

    The bbq while not cheap is fantastic value - great buffet including whole bbq fish, lots of different types of sausages, a big shellfish platter, lots of melon etc.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool. No Wi-Fi in the apartment, had to go outside to get a signal.

    Could leave the car by the door of the apartment. Just need to cross a road to get to the mini chateaux and easy access to several castles.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment 5-6 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking around the hotel was an issue for us. There were designated parking areas but people chose not to use them and park outside there room. This resulted in the roads around the complex becoming blockedo and difficult to drive around.

    The duplex apartment was more more like a new build house and was very spacious and had everything we needed for our break. The pool area and bouncy castle were great for the little ones. We were more than happy with the accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have plates, cups and cutlery in the kitchen but we brought some.

    Was worried about all the negative reviews but its spacious, modern, comfortable, clean, great value for money. Didn't have to park the car far away from the room, it's not at reception. Supermarket is close by. Amboise is a short drive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Duplex Apartment 5-6 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    The paths around the properties were very dusty.

    The six sleeper villa is spacious and the kitchen handy for preparing food. The children loved the pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment 3-4 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there's an indoor swimming pool, we would go back in winter!

    We like its decoration and well-furnished duplex house. Nice swimming pool even it was a little windy, kids enjoyed playing in the pool! It's a 10-minute- drive to Amboise center. This was the second time we stayed in this hotel-residence, we really appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. It's great for travelling with a dog. Dog friendly accomoodation, lots of open spaces, forest next to it for dog walks. The restaurant was great, and we could eat outside on the terrace with the dog.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been so much better if they had attended to the small details. No air con and savage mosquitos meant you couldn't leave windows opened. They could have had screens on the windows or supplied a fan. It was 38 degrees whilst we were there. Kitchenette was missing a scrubbing brush, dishcloth, detergent etc. It was "serviced" daily ie. rubbish taken and towels changed however even that wasn't done and I had to complain at the front desk to get some action. We were given 1 dishwasher tablet per day if we asked. Brochure said they arrange laundry service. Thats not the case. Wifi is hopeless in the rooms. Room on arrival was clean but not clean = cobwebs everywhere, needed another vacuum. Had to move sofa bed to pull it out and it looked like it had never been cleaned under there. Staff rude and surly. Can't park your car anywhere near accommodation which is terrible with a 3 year old and a baby and 2 suitcases etc.

    Food at the restaurant was really nice but service was very slow and it was quite expensive. Pool was great and well maintained. Beds were ok.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the whole property is huge, and really designed for families with children (organized around a big pool, and a "jumpy house" play space for kids). For us, not so ideal. The kitchen was not equipped with some of the basics (a water kettle for example), it was clean-ish, but not convincing, and the location was really remote to everything. Easy to get on the highway, but nothing near. The price wasn't enough of a bargain to justify the negatives.

    The deluxe room we had was large, and the bed was comfortable. It was nice to park the car close to the room (although staff said we would need to park in the main lot - about a 10 minute walk from the room).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit cleaner would be nice. The floors were dirty.

    The breakfast was quite nice. The room is spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately the floor was dirty. Otherwise very comfortable and good location depending on what your itinerary consists of.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It looks like they just built the hotel. The swimming pool is too small and the houses are just fine. I wouldn't have spent there more than one night! The buffet dinner was ok. The price is too expensive for what they offer. Too basic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no outdoor furniture to make best use of the outside space at the back of the apartment style rooms. The swimming pool is small.

    A very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff in an excellent location ideal for exploring the area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's nowhere near the Chateau Royal, as it claims in its description, but several kilometres outside Amboise. Buildings and driveways dilapidated, swimming pool small.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very unhelpful. It seemed like a very big hassle for them to sort a taxi for us back to Amboise train station. We hired bikes from the hotel and the staff were so unhelpful when we needed new bikes when the lights weren't working. Just generally found their attitude very rude and they didn't make any effort to try and help us when we needed help

    Room was clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Duplex Apartment 3-4 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, near Bloise, and other castles and chateaus. A large property, quiet, and peaceful with many townhouses. The townhouses were very spacious and clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some chalets are far away from reception, it is not convenient without car (There is nothing around).

    Breakfast is quite complete. Installations are new. Restaurant area is nice. Quiteful location. Convenient to stay with car to visit Chennonceau and Amboise.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel wasn't busy when we stayed but the girl on reception wouldn't allow us access to our room until 4pm. We'd been driving for hours and arrived at 2.30 on a very hot day, but she insisted we came back at 4 :( The rest of the staff seemed nice. Definitely need a car to get in to the centre of Amboise, too far to walk.

    Plenty of on site free parking. Good area for walking our dog, plenty of grass/trees. Nice food choice in restaurant, not too expensive. Having a kitchenette/fridge was useful in the mini apartment. Having french windows in the lounge & bedroom was nice to let air & light in.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Duplex Apartment 3-4 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the detached buildings. Lots of room for us with older teens. Wifi worked great. Couldn't try pool because it was cool that day. Dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Apartment 3-4 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments were dirty, very old and tired looking! There was no jug for boiling water No information in the rooms Very noisey neighbours

    The distance to Amboise

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is a good 2 -3 mile walk back into the town centre although this would not me a problem for a car owner.

    The accommodation consists of a series of villas to in a ring road system at the rear of the reception. The place is located for easy car access to Chenonceau, the Pagoda and Leonardo Da Vincis house.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly stocked, grounds a mess, tiny single beds.

    Looked good on booking.com but the place was a mess the unit totally under stocked had to ask for a lot of basic equipment Terrible.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rent a car. It is a must in here.

    The villas and the environment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds outside were awful, walking in dirt and rock then tracking into duplex. They need sidewalks and a patio with furniture

    Quiet and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: