Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Metropol Hotel 3 stars

45, Quai Du Rhin, 62100 Calais, France

#12 of 34 hotels in Calais

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 837 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great, just next to a train station and close to local tourist sights. And staff are polite and kind, they’ll greet you every time they see you, also they will help you if you ask them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought breakfast was included and it was €13 a person. The breakfast is not worth that! We were a bit upset about that, but that’s the only thing.

    Comfortable beds and service. The front desk worker when we arrived was the absolute best!! He was funny and had a great sense of humor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard The decor in the reception and dining room was very dated

    Location was great for a post ferry night The room was clean The staff were friendly Free breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated in run down area near the station. Bathroom had no shower curtain.

    We stayed one night after a late crossing from Dover to Calais. Parking was available outside the hotel. We didn't want to walk into the town centre (10 min walk) but the hotel had a small but very cosy bar in the lobby run by a very friendly night porter. Much nicer than a lot of small hotels we have stayed in in Calais over the years.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has the huge advantage if you are coming back from France with a loaded car that it has a garage. It is an old-fashioned hotel, with a dated feel (which we like), and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small for twin beds plus luggage. Dark decor and dark hallways made for a few trips on the random ramps in the passageway.

    Booked late in the day and was no problem to check in. Breakfast was exceptional despite there being no gluten free options, we were offered eggs and bacon and full continental breakfast. Older style hotel, almost vintage-retro decor. Reception staff were excellent and helped mum practice her french.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very basic and really needs a shower that is attached to the wall

    Breakfast was very good value and we had a great choice including fresh fruit salad and cheeses.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a brilliant hotel and great value for money. I couldn't make any negative comments about it.

    I'm ashamed to say that I've been travelling through Calais for over thirty years and never took the opportunity to stay here. Now that we've found this hotel that will definitely change! The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel is in a brilliant place for the local bars, restaurants etc. It's quirky and typically French in style with so much more character than a soulless international chain hotel. What makes this place even more brilliant are the excellent staff. You couldn't wish for more friendly efficient staff in any hotel. These guys and girls truly are what a good hotel should have. Excellent knowledge of the local bars and attractions, even letting us borrow umbrellas when it started to rain. They really are great. Ok. Some folks have complained that there's no kettle in the rooms. True. There's no kettle in most French hotels. So what. Do what we did and bring a travel kettle lol. Seriously. This is a brilliant hotel in Calais and the staff and locals were so friendly it's one of the best weekends we've had for a long time. Can't wait for our next visit. Thanks for the brilliant stay. Well done.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of had a kettle and tea/ coffee making facilities though to be fair I have noticed very few hotels in Europe offer this facility

    Quiet location but within easy walking distance of town and ferries, hotel was very quiet and room was of a decent size

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Past it's best - but still very acceptable internally. Area looks a bit dodgy.

    Old school hotel with a lot of character. Room was very nice indeed. Proper bar with good service. Breakfast really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the out side. initial looks give a terrible impression. Auto lights in corridors take some time to turn on when leaving lift or room.

    good sized room, good bathroom. Central to Calais center. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything to complain about. All good. Staff helpful and pleasant and so efficient.

    The staff were incredibly helpful, on our arrival after touring Spain and France it was our last hotel before heading home. It was also the only hotel that offered to help with bags.It was also the best breakfast ever. Excellent value would stay every time. The beds were comfortable everything excellent Well Done! Best hotel by far.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No stand up shower.

    Very basic, but clean & met our needs. Super friendly staff. Shower was a hose in the bath, but for the price totally fine. Clean linen & excellent service. Outdated decore, but for the price it was perfect & functional. Pleasant stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big quiet room, massive modern bathroom ( disabled-friendly by the look of it, but not in any way a problem), free street-parking right outside, short walk to markets, shops, docks, park, good cooked and buffet breakfast and friendly bilingual staff. Styling of public areas a bit British pub/club.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no tea or coffee in your room but you can buy one at the bar but it was only black coffee

    Nice friendly staff excellent breakfast easy to get to and close enough to walk in to the town only 2 mins walk and you have every thing there bars restaurant shops The bar at hotel is open till 2am as well

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next door to the lift so bit disturbed in early hours of the morning. Would like tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Room was very comfortable. Didn't have breakfast. Walking distance to restaurants. Quiet. Free parking outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there could have been tea and coffee making facilities in the room or in reception. had to go to a bar for a hot drink. the breakfast was too expensive at 13 euros a person. some people only want coffee for breakfast. they have a covered garage that they charge 13 euros a night for which we had to use because our roof rack was loaded.

    friendly staff and proximity to port

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don’t climb stairs this is not the place for you. There is no lift. The reception is one flight up. Was not a problem for us but could be a problem for others.

    The staff was very Friendly I liked the reception we received every time we came in. Breakfast was Delivered to our door. The egg was cooked perfectly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was at the end of three long dark corridors with lights that switch themselves off automatically after a short while. Not ideal if you're trying to reach your bedroom in the evening. Looked like a setting from the movie The Shining. Only 5 other guests in the hotel, which made my stay a bit uncomfortable. Didn't feel safe with only one staff attending the hotel at night. Photos of new bathrooms in booking.com shows only those room that have been renovated. The rest of the hotel rooms remain outdated. My room and bathroom was one of the old rooms which have not been renovated.

    The lady in reception was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was clean but simple things like a shower curtain not a screen and the shower faucet could not be mounted on the wall so one hand lost to holding it.

    An older hotel with faded grandeur but very clean and well cared for. Bonus was bacon and eggs for breakfast, perfect for a long drive ahead.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived very late and left very early. The staff had us smiling (though we were very tired!) on arrival and exit, very friendly and welcoming. Excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower 😔 bath only. Ask to be changed to a room with a shower, staff told me no. Hotel was empty. Very unhappy with room and staff! Would not stay again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator didn't work in our room. Hotel had a look and tried to bleed it but it still didn't work. Luckily, although weather was cold the room was just warm enough. Hotel is a little tired and the room furniture a little light-weight, but no worse than most others at this price point. Corridors have motion-sensor activated lighting, which was unreliable on the stretch leading to our room.

    Great location. Loads of free parking opposite. Pleasant staff. Excellent breakfast - fried eggs and bacon freshly made to order, plus usual continental offerings. Clean room. Nice little bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nearby train station announcements could be heard and started at 4am!!

    Staff very friendly easy access to downtown. Old Hotel that had lots of character

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room for tea and coffee No light in main bedroom only lamps Very tight to sit on the toilet knee was hitting the wall in front

    Nice friendly staff, reception area very well decorated and comfortable great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a bit dated but cant really complain for the price

    Close to the ferry terminal, ideal for channel hopping, quite cheap and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately no shower curtain in our room to having a shower was awkward. Also lots of other hotels provide tea/coffee facilities in the room, this hotel does not.

    We stayed here before and where delighted to return, the car park is really secure and great if you have a car load of stuff. Also within a few minutes walk of the main street with loads of places to eat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the twin rooms are dreadful with beds so close together it was like sleeping in a double bed with my work colleague, also the huge neon sign for the hotel was right by my window and lit up the room for most of the night.

    A lovely old fashioned hotel with a great lobby and sitting area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle in the room.

    There was no tea and coffee facilities in the room, parking was on the street outside, there where only a couple of tv channels all French. Location near to town bed was comfy. Bathroom could have been cleaner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent as always, we stay here regularly, the staff are always friendly, even when we arrive late, the rooms are very good for the price and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic facilities need updating . Some things missing ie no shower screen or curtain for the overbath shower.

    Friendly helpfully staff. Location for town good but travellers caravan site opposite off-putting.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel needs updating ,the shower was to sit in the bath all shower none existent , no tea or drinks in the room. I would not recommend this hotel to any one.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Never have we had to complain at this Hotel.

    The Staff, location & value for money are all excellent. We had a great few days at the Metropol, many thanks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Calis is a port area so the place doesn't have a lot to do we was there to catch the ferry

    Patric on the front desk was lovely an so friendly he came out to say where to park as we arrived and we was to pay when we got to the hotel and because we arrived late (2.30am) he said just pay in the morning really happy with the service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stop here regularly. We always receive a friendly welcome, even when we arrive very late. The rooms are comfy and the locations is great with plenty of parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and coffee facilities in the room are always welcome but Metropol didn't have any. Bathroom was a little cramped for my liking. I know this is a hotel in France but obviously caters for UK travelers so a few English speaking channels on the TV wouldn't go amiss.

    Room a little on the small side but comfy never the less. Guy on reception was also the barman but was very helpful and polite. Continental breakfast was good and service excellent. A comfortable hotel just a little off the beaten track.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great as always, we stay here regularly. It's not the most luxurious hotel in Calais but the staff are lovely and it is good value with free parking and a great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have been staying at the Metropol Hotel for 20 years, the staff are so helpful and friendly, nothing is a problem for them. We took friends for their first visit and they felt they were made very welcome, Well done again Metropol.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is an older building the bathrooms are small and the rooms are not always pristine decor wise. But the hotel is great value and it is always clean.

    This is our 5th stay here, the staff are always friendly, the rooms are always clean and comfy, location is easy to find with plenty of parking. It is our favourite hotel in Calais and we have previously stayed in most of them, before we found this one.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to find the hotel entrance, no signage directing around the corner - a local gentleman directed us the the right direction.

    Easy friendly check-in, comfortable room with a HUGE bathroom and a great shower. Had a lift.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We decided to stay an extra day which cost us £150 for the night, as against £80 for the first night. The bar was a bit dowdy with no choice of beers on offer except the usual mass produced pasteurised products, and the breakfast experience is an exercise in mass diy feeding. No on site parking, although hotel assisted price comes to £12 a day near by. The hotel has been created within the walls of an old wharf side brick and iron warehouse. The attempt at retaining the character of the building is poor and excepting a bit of exposed brickwork and the odd iron post the hotel is not a lot different from the characterless interior of any other hotel chain. A lost opportunity I thought.

    Great location for local sights. Near Beatles expo, Liver building and museums. Decent size comfortable room with all that's required and an open aspect from the windows.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to stay longer.

    As soon as we walked through the door into the hotel and saw the decor we instantly knew we had picked the right hotel. We only wish we could have stayed an extra night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hate the green around the corridors, the shower is in the bath which needs updating makes it difficult for us oldies have a shower. An accident waiting to happen? Didn't have breakfast because catching an early boat..

    We stay here often in the past, it was certainly better this time around, fresher loved the area. Restaurants, shops, walks etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think we were near the left, every time someone used it we could hear that clearly also near train station, but it didn't inconvenience us that much

    Well placed close or near centre of the town, we liked the clean bedding, shower works well and good breakfast, staff were really helpful and Katarina helped us to book a nice restaurant, and what meal we had in fact we were talking about all the way back to UK,all in all enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free wifi - it just plain sucks. It didn't work in our room at all, only at reception and the dining room.

    The location is great; next to the Calais Ville station and between the commercial area and the night time social district towards the beach. The receptionist was incredibly helpful with local advice and helping organise taxis and transport options. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is old and tired in much need of a refurbishment. No restaurant does not help as the nearest ones a a good 10 mins walk and My wife and I have difficulty walking.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was inside the bath, did not chance stepping over the side of the bath had a strip wash. It was not worth the chance of an accident? Older people need something better an accident waiting to happen. It would not stop us from going again for an over night stay.

    walKing distance for sight seeing and restaurants. Parking was ok because we had a small trailer and we were parked in a one way street out side the hotel and no charge. Catching the boat to Dover was close enough to make the journey comfortable. Maybe a 10 min drive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was along 3 dark corridors from the lift. No proper shower in the bathroom. No tea / coffee making facilities The PRICE was very dear for the facilities provided

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little shabby, like the bottom of the bath panel is crumbling, but for the price it is acceptable. The bathrooms are a little small too, but have everything that you need.

    Great location, friendly staff, comfy beds, we always get a warm welcome here even when we arrive very late, ample free parking across the road, even for large vans, the rooms are always clean and comfy and the hotel is in a quiet but convenient location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff seem pleasant enough, but the hotel is very dark and dingy. It needs a lot of updating. If they just painted it through out in brighter colours then it could be more appealing. Carpet on stairs seen better days. Stayed at Ibis budget hotels and they are far better value for money than this hotel.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My heart sank when I pulled into the car park opposite the hotel. Not at all inviting. But I needn't have worried as the entrance was in fact around the corner and was just as one would expect. I was later assured by locals that the area was perfectly safe for vehicles parked overnight.

    Delighted with our stay at the Metropol. Welcoming, comfortable and extremely good value, this is a typical old-style French hotel. Sometimes such hotels can be a bit challenging, but they always tend to offer something much more interesting than the boring indifference of the big hotel chains. And this hotel is a gem. It is now my hotel of choice for my regular passage through Calais to and from the UK. I am already looking to my next quiet drink in the huge, comfortable arm chairs of the bar; and to my next visit to the lively Pirate bar 100 yards from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plenty of choice at breakfast, including bacon and eggs for the English. A large locked garage -accessible from street level,not underground - and a comfortable bar. Although next to the station there is no disturbance from the trains.Most of Calais centre is walkable from the hotel,but there is a free local bus from outside the station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. A nice very clean and very quite hotel. The only down side was the €12 for breakfast, which was not really very good value. But we would definitely use the hotel again, Maybe they should incorporate the breakfast into the room charge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very expensive at 13 euros each. Garage 13 euros also is expensive . The rooms are cheap but add these other costs and you save very little.

    Location excellent for the town centre, secure garage, pleasant rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Early morning noise from neighbouring station.

    Perfect location for an overnight stop prior to an early Channel crossing. Great welcome from excellent staff. It is inexpensive and cheerful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We booked the suite at a substantial discount. It is like having your own apartment and comes with special extras such as separate loo, brilliant shower, coffee and tea making facilities, table and chairs, comfy sofas need I continue? Go for it it is worth it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the rooms are all non-smoking you could tell people had smoked in the room. Had to keep window open to air it out. Also, shower in my small double room was handheld, but not a problem for one night.

    Really comfy bed and an excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We upgraded to a superior room and for the life of me I couldn't see why it was classed as such. The room was very small and had no additional benefits that you could class as superior. It is a very old Hotel and it showed. I asked at reception why this room had been classed as 'superior' and was told that it had just been refurbished.

    The location was ideal for us and parking was good if a little public. The staff were excellent and spoke very good English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities weren't up to standard. The bath had a shower head attachment but no place to hang it off the wall.

    Choose the hotel as it offered secure parking for an extra charge. Parking was good. Street parking also available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is decadent, needs to be modernised and a big investment in all areas. Everything looks old. The bathrooms in particular looked old and worn and so did reception and the dining room. We took a misleading offer as it seemed as if breakfast was included in the price but we then found out that it was not. We decided not to leave our room in the evening to visit a ww2 sight due to groups of people wondering around the town.

    The staff were nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are simple and a little dated.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Secure parking (paid extra). Rooms comfortable and clean. Inviting bar area with comfortable leather chairs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was terrible. The shower head was fixed to the side of the sink, so unless I was 18" tall it was useless. In real need of updating

    Not a lot, as there was no restaurant or coffee making facilities in room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing small room booked superior twin - goodness knows how small the normal twin was? Towels tiny and toilet dripped all night.Dark dindgy rooms and dated common parts. Expensive

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small thing would be not able to get WIFI reception in the family suite at back of hotel but could get in main reception but that can happen in England so I wouldn't say it's a negative thing and it was probably only because of the location of the family room.

    Spacious suite for a family of 5 although the booking only showed a room for 4 but the manager didn't mind and didn't charge us extra. Lovely friendly atmosphere. Breakfast was tasty, croissants were so fresh and flaky, bacon and eggs also. Parking just outside hotel doors at no cost. Would certainly recommend and would have no hesitation in staying here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little renovation in bathroom won't be bad. Anyway it was ok.

    Location just outside the center, but easy to find a parking place. Clean place, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old fashioned. Tiny bathroom with barely enough room to use the toilet. Felt like daylight in our room all night as the hotel sign was illuminated directly outside. Tiny TV. Biggest problem (which is not the hotel's fault) is that we felt very unsafe. There are lots of immigrants around here and we were genuinely worried we may get mugged or worse! We would advise parking your car securely, although of course that bumps the price up!

    Near the town hall and town centre and a 5 min drive from the Car Ferry.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One (minor) complaint would be that there was no proper shower, just the shower attachment from the taps... but as a result i took a very relaxing bath.

    Superb central Calais location less than 15 minutes drive from eurotunnel. Very reasonably priced and although a little (but not unpleasantly) old-fashioned it was very clean and comfortable. Parking was secure and on-site and worth the extra cost. I would definitely stay again and recommend The Metropol.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a shower and having a double bed rather than 2 singles pushed together.

    We were literally just staying over night to rest before driving on to Belgium so we weren't there long. The man who greeted us was really nice. The bed was comfy. There was no shower attached to the wall but we had a bath. It was really close to the ferry stop which was perfect for us. The room was quite small but it was pretty quiet apart from being right next to the train station meant you could hear the announcements in the morning. All in all it did the job!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to all our other accommodation (all booked via AirB&B) this was by far the worse. The hotel was in a very run down area, we left our motorcycles directly outside reception but still spent the whole night worried about them and checking them. The area was badly run down with extremely questionable looking character loitering around the area. The room was clean, but very small, my roommate who is 6ft 2 could barely sit on the loo as there was so little space in the bathroom. We paid vastly more than we had for anything from airB&B for far less. We had either whole studios or flats inc breakfast for between £40-60 per night (for the two of us), compared to over £100 for this place. I would never want to go there again.

    Managed to book at short notice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...maybe the station announcements from next door which start early in the morning!

    I travelled to Calais on my way to the channel tunnel. This hotel is just a few minutes drive from there. Looks old fashioned from the outside but very clean and cosy inside, very clean and comfortable room. Very friendly staff. I had the breakfast which was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff good value except the bar prices very expensive a d when I asked why the beer prices were so high I got an answer saying there is a gas tax to stop people getting fat full no but still e careful what you drive k

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee and tea-making facilities in the room. WC in the ensuite bathroom was a bit cramped and wobbly.

    Super-clean and comfortable bedlinen, just what we needed after a change of plan at midnight. Free parking on the street outside. The 8-person lift was accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had reading lights on stalks over the bed but these didn't work. There was one ordinary lamp that did work, job half-done, I think The shower in the bath had no hook to you could attach I to (not hands-free)..

    It was central and good value, Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air-conditioning in the bedroom would have helped. Fortunately, I brought my own fan.

    Staff were very efficient and friendly, and the location of the hotel is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cancelled my first booking for 3 people to re book for 4 printed reservation, when we turned up they said it was not booked but gave us the rooms .staff ignorant.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: