Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hôtel du Midi - Les Collectionneurs 4 stars

22, blvd Victor Hugo, 34000 Montpellier, France

#11 of 57 hotels in Montpellier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1400 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoy my stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location of hotel is excellent (next to Place du Commedie and Opera house , 5 minutes walking or 2 minutes by tram from main train station).The hotel and my room is beautiful.There are a lot of shops and restaurants around the hotel (also a supermarket).Most of staff are nice, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Location excellent , hotel good value for money even if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Caught foot on poorly finished bath room floor tiles from bedroom to bathroom

    Location excellent , hotel good value for money even if breakfast not included. Staff very Helpfull

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Amazing location, helpful staff, and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strangely, we had an allergic reaction every time we stepped into the room (second floor). We suspect it was the carpet.

    Amazing location, helpful staff, and great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location to discover the city by strolling around is superb. Next to Place de la Comédie. Nice decoration, breakfast in the room was delicious. Nice view, beautiful building. Staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location and Comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not value for money and if it is not included I would not recommend paying for it.

    The location was perfect, right next to city center and the bed was very comfortable ! The staff really tried to help as much as they could and were very friendly !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel should provide clear instructions on how to get to the car park because of the one way streets which are a nightmare to navigate. Poor signage to underground car park which looked like an underpass not the entrance to underground car parking.

    Staff helpful. Accommodation very quiet considering central location. Modern bathroom with plenty of hot water. Size of room adequate. Basic tea facilities. However the Hotel should provide clear instructions on how to get to the car park because of the one way streets which are a nightmare to navigate. Poor signage to underground car park which looked like an underpass not the entrance to underground car parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location but I'd stay elsewhere next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room decor was terrible and could do with an update. The shower is really badly designed and it's impossible to use without soaking the floor.

    Slightly faded but okay hotel right off the main square. Very large room with comfortable beds. Wifi worked well. Welcome drink was a nice bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Excellent modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about .

    Loved the location right off the main square. Room has nice size with a wonderful large walk-in shower. Really comfortable bed. 200 metre walk to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location, very comfortable and staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed request was not properly communicated and could have caused a problem in different circumstances. Breakfast was very good, but expensive.

    Great location, very comfortable and staff were very welcoming

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    great stay. would def stay again in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room Comedie view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was no assisatnce with bag to and from the room. the bathroom was very small. the shower went on the floor.

    the hotel was great. room was amazing. great size. great comfort. staff were good. breakfast service was great. very good location. nice and queit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    right in the city center (Comedie)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only drawback is a lack of parking - need to use the public garage (Comedie) which is 100m away. Would be good if the hotel advised its guests in advance.

    great location - right in the middle of Montpellier.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Good breakfast, sweet and savoury options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To arrive by car it is very difficult. You can not really access the hotel. Best is to go to the Comedie parking. Plugs far away from the bed although 2 usb plugs on one side of the bed.

    Good breakfast, sweet and savoury options. Scrambled eggs, bacon and pancakes as warm options. Fresh cut fruit. Cheese, smoked salmon and ham available. Comfortable rooms, comfortable beds, nice shower. Good soundproofing. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    thoughtfully refurbished classic medium sized property with GREAT location and dance photo theme
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Controlling the room temperature through calling the front desk is a bit of a bother....

    Front desk staff ( especially Diana) was excellent...in helping me arrange my time on my first visit to Montpellier...Diana found a wine tour for me, as well as an excellent boulangerie near by....The room was modern and redone thoughtfully.. I loved the photographs on walls throughout hotel of the performing artists, especially the dance....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    4.2
    Uncomfortable, disappointing, nearly ruined our visit to Montpellier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This property was a beautiful hotel years ago but badly in need of renovation now. Upon arrival the smell of urine greats you at the entrance as well as a number of homeless/drug addicts and their large dogs. Those people are all around Place de la Comedie making it an uncomfortable place to visit but the hotel could keep the entrance clean with daily cleaning. There were pieces of missing glass in the stained glass window in the stairwell. A spill on the stairs was there for several days before being cleaned. The climate control in the rooms does not function as the front desk alone controls the temperature. We found it too hot to sleep at night but the outside noise did not allow us to open the window.

    Good standard French breakfast buffet. Some of the desk staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Montpellier a highly rewarding place to visit, with Grand Hotel du Midi a very convenient base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A once grand building with some obvious compromises (e.g. bedroom size) in terms of efforts to upgrade to contemporary requirements.

    Excellent location on fringe of main square. Handy to everywhere in this eminently walkable town. Staff made every effort to assist. WiFi excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located on a beautiful square and only a few metres from the tram stop. We got a bargain on a suite - cheaper than the double - so we had plenty of room .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Location near the centre of Montpellier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small. Getting there by car is difficult, unless you come by taxi you can not reach the hotel by car. The hotel is obviously aware of this, it seems this is something that Montpellier authorities have to address.

    Location near the centre of Montpellier.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found this hotel a bit overpriced for what it offer.

    The hotel is overlooking the square of La Comédie, a focal point of Montpellier. You can reach all tourist attractions within a walking distance. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was nicely decorated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic value, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Perfect for the money.

    Best location possible, friendly and professional staff available at all hours. We were a large group of British men and they put up with us without a bad word in our direction and were helpful with directions and reccomendations at all times.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent comfortable hotel with great character positioned with a fantastic location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Any minor issues that I've experienced whilst staying at the hotel have been quickly resolved by the hotel staff.

    I've stayed at this hotel multiple times whilst travelling to Montpellier and this remains my "go to" choice out of the many that are available. The location of the the hotel is fantastic, right in the heart of the old historic part of the city adjacent to Place de la Comédie. The hotel itself is very nicely furnished and presented. The rooms are a fair size, clean and comfortable with the nicest beds, choice of copious pillows and nice linen. The bathrooms are spotless, showers are powerful with good solid temperatures. The staff are always friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    After a very long day of travel it was perfect, warm and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t know how to turn on the lights , wish they had explained at check in . No big deal !

    After a very long day of travel it was perfect, warm and cozy . Took a hot shower and slept with the window open for the fresh air . Very quite .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.8
    I enjoyed my stay however I wouldn't come back because of the noise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice hotel, good location. Unfortunately, every night we could hear noise outside of people shouting and singing very loud. I was there for my exams session so found it very inconvenient and unpleasant. Maybe the windows need to be better soundproofed?

    Clean and comfortable rooms. Staff was friendly, helpful and responsive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel but what makes it stand out from all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bar not open often enough!!!

    Excellent hotel but what makes it stand out from all the other excellent hotels are the Staff. They were so helpful and informative about Montpellier they are a credit to the city and the hotel. Big shout out to Matthew. cheers anne

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark 'colourful ' decor made rooms feel smaller. I understand that inspiration for colourful schemes was the Opera House but it doesn't work in a small room. Peeling wallpaper and dusty ledges - easily sorted! Minor I know but very noticeable.

    Comfortable bed. Decent shower. 5 minute walk from railway station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    A very pleasant experience .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our Bedroom although very clean comfortable and excellently decorated it was rather small for the price structure and quality of the hotel .

    The Staff were excellent and booked us a table at the adjoining brasserie which was an excellent choice for a Romantic New Years Eve Meal . We enjoyed a pleasant welcome drink at the Hotel with an excellent Bar staff. The Breakfast was very good with very attentive staff . Matthieu the on duty manager was excellent and made our stay extra special.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Decent place with a bit bizarre decor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no kitchen on site, so it is not possible to have freshly cooked food.

    The hotel location was fantastic; the staff were very friendly. The room was clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.9
    Excellent Location and a comfortable hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived in the afternoon we couldn't check in until 3pm, an earlier check in would help. They did take our bags though which helped. Also our room was cleaned very late the next day, around 3pm which was not really ideal.

    The hotel is very conveniently located which is fantastic to walk everywhere and it is right next to tram stations and a very short walk to the railway station. Mathieu at the front desk was really helpful when I had to get to a work meeting and needed assistance with taxis and trams. He was great. The hotel is comfortable and the room was well set up.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Very nice. Staff was always gracious and helpful. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Power was out for a couple of hours one morning, before sunrise, while we got ready for a day trip to Carcasonne. Couldn't make our in-room coffee. A bit inconvenient but the shower worked fine and our iPhones provided enough light that we were really NOT inconvenienced much. ( I think the power outage affected more than the hotel.)

    Montpellier is a beautiful town full of life. The Grand Hotel du Midi is in a fabulous location to enjoy this city. Excellent dining experiences all around this historic district. We were able to enjoy the festival of wine and the marvelous holiday lighting in the town. Fantastic !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    Location perfect, rooms very clean and comfortable, staff...
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location perfect, rooms very clean and comfortable, staff kind and helpful. Been a guest for 6 years. Will go on staying there whenever I have the pleasure to visit Montpellier.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice bar, which doubles as breakfast room. Unfortunately the bar personnel starts cleaning up and setting up for breakfast long before closing time, which is 11 PM. That doesn't make it very welcoming if you feel like having a nightcap. However, there are plenty of outdoor cafes in the immediate vicinity.

    Beautiful hotel in an excellent location. Not noisy, even though it's situated in the lively historical center. Very friendly, helpful personnel. nice decor, also in bar and lobby. Fantastic beds, slept like on a cloud. Loved my stay there, and in Montpellier as a whole. A lively city but not hectic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Style and comfort in an Haussmann style building at the very centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, except I miss the old breakfast room. Serving it in the bar is never a good solution and it was very overcrowded.

    Above all the renovation and new 'style' are an outstanding success. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully decorated. They are equipped with everything you need for an excellent stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.4
    An unromantic hotel that could try a lot harder.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived 4 hours ahead of check in and the staff were fairly unaccommodating despite having pre warned them of our flight time. I was shown a boardroom type of room to get changed in. (They randomly failed to show me the bathroom). Room 111 was dark and unromantic, the decor was pretty offensive, and the bed was very uncomfortable. We slept badly for 3 nights. At night its so hot, but you can't open the doors as its so loud outside. We later learnt they had locked the air con system. The end of the bed is about a foot away from the bathroom door. The staff have contradictory views. We asked the receptionist for dinner recommendations, he told us that everything on the main square was "disgusting" and to avoid. The next morning we asked a different receptionist a recommendation for breakfast, he told us to just go anywhere on the main square. His attitude was lazy and unhelpful. This trip was for our 1 year wedding anniversary, which we had communicated at time of booking. It wasn't acknowledged by the staff at all. The only thing found in our room was 1 small water bottle - for 2 people. Gee, thanks.

    The shower was excellent. The location is a short walk from everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    I would recommend this hotel to all our friends .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Would have liked a lower price breakfast in the hotel.

    Friendly staff who advised on local transport. Fantastic location on Historic square. Plenty of lovely restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    staff really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stayed for 2 nights, ac didn't work for the 2nd night, blowing out only hot air when cold is needed... couldn't sleep well wifi was unstable for the 1st night

    staff really nice great location and nice decor bar on 1st floor is lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    A grand hotel with all the modern conveniences. Close to restaurants and public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Comedie view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been included in the price.

    Central location and great view of the Opera House. Very close to the Railway station and close to restaurants and cafes. A great hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.6
    Avoid this place at all costs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is a disaster especially if you arrive by car. Cannot even access the place to drop luggage. No restaurant on site despite web site saying there is one. Rooms really small and uncomfortable, and bathroom really poor.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con was quite noisy but didn't prevent us sleeping

    Excellent location at the edge of the Comedie. We had been inadvertently booked an additional room which the friendly staff remedied immediately and with no argument

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Beds very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very comfy. Breakfast adequate. Breakfast could offer more /superior choice. Staff both Front of house, and housekeeping excellent Would be very happy to stay again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Location is ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not knowing name of car park before getting there. It is important to give name of car park to all clients : LA COMEDIE.

    Location is ideal. Great decor. Confortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    pretty good location and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pretty good location and nice staff. Facilities are new and nice too. Everything perfect. Staff also helps us to get a discount for parking under the comedie plaza.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Best location in Montpellier
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used an extra towel or two in the bedroom as there were two of us and only two towels.

    We loved the decor, the rooms are large and we had a lovely balcony overlooking the restaurant. The shower was brilliant. Loved it all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Classy and clean hotel in an amazing area!l
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No significant issues.

    Based on my walk around town, this was the nicest hotel inside/out. The decor was elegant and traditional French. The rooms were a bit tight for a family of four but were very clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast buffet was nice as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Location, comfort & friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked everything :-)

    We liked our stay, the hotel is right in the city centre, but still our street view room was very quiet. The hotel has a chic/art boutique style. The bed was very comfortable, and the shower in the bathroom was very powerful. The breakfast was a good buffet breakfast with lovely mini pastries, variety of french breads, eggs, yogurt etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Parking is very close at the Comedie car park (1 - 2 minutes walk), and it is better if you park your car before you check in. Impossible to park in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location, enjoyable stay, get the superior room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall decor of the hotel could be described as gracefully crumbling art deco. There is no AC in the lobby - but perhaps that was just during overnight hours. There is a huge quality differential between regular and superior rooms - I highly recommend that you pay extra to stay in the suite with the balcony overlooking the plaza with a huge tub. It would be great if they included parking (in the underground lot) - it is about 20 Euros.

    The hotel is very well situated. We checked in very late at night, the night staff was very helpful. The regular rooms are small - we were able to upgrade to a very large room with a opening balcony with view of the plaza for a very minor 40 Euro. I think we would've been unhappy if we stayed in the regular room, which was cramped, carpeted, heavily curtained - it had the feel of staying in a velvet lined jewelry box. The upgraded room, however, was entirely different and extremely pleasant. Modern, marble floor, spacious (like 500 sq ft), with a gigantic circular bathtub the size of a jacuzzi with a balcony opening up to the plaza. Windows insulated sounds very well, we did not hear the concert in the plaza at all. The King size bed was very comfortable. A hearty breakfast was included, as were welcome drinks - the fruity beer on tap is delicious, crisp, well-balanced, not sweet. Highly recommended. Also nearby is an excellent Thai restaurant called Art Mango - authentic flavors while being creative.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very friendly, they go out of their way to give a pleasant stay and enjoy Montpellier site seeing. The location is great, it is in the middle of everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Nice and elegant hotel in the center of Montpellier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are travelling across the Provence, it's one of the most convenient options. The hotel is in the center of town, near the beautiful central square. The parking place is underground (public parking), do not miss it while arriving to the hotel. The rooms are very nice and elegant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.1
    Good breakfast, better than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Comedie view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little dark. Not much surface area to put belongings onto or read maps etc. No car parking directly at the hotel. Discounted car parking at nearby public car park but we had to walk a bit with luggage between there & the hotel.

    Good breakfast, better than expected. Great location & view of the main square.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel, great location, great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Such a grand hotel, superior room was excellent, great location on corner of Place de Comedie. The decor was funky and tasteful, in keeping with the overall theme. Close walk to the station and the main square, entertainment and shops. Lift available. Loved the whole experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Stylish recent renovation of the rooms and lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stylish recent renovation of the rooms and lobby. The beds and linens were very comfortable. We could walk to the train station, restaurants, etc. We loved our stay there!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar is closed on Sundays which was really unexpected. We were also supposed to get a welcome drink which we never got.

    Loved the hotel! It was super central. The hotel itself is very beautiful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Can't go wrong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location. Friendly and helpful staff (who spoke excellent English). A posh-feeling hotel without being overly pretentious. I was only there for one night and maybe I'd have been able to pick holes in the hotel if I'd been there longer, but I was very happy with it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel right next to the opera house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no negative things to say about this hotel.

    Room was good, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location of the hotel is right in the centre of things yet still quiet in the evening. Every site is just a short walk away. The staff were courteous and spoke good English (unfortunately my French is poor and so that was a great help!).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the hotel was difficult, particularly as we were driving. The one way system means that if you miss the hotel it is another 10 minutes drive as you go around the one way system again. There was a lack of signage to indicate where the hotel was. There was however plenty of signage for other hotels. Instructions as to head for the Place de Academies car park would have very useful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    3.8
    Wouldn't rush back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor lift, hotel shabby, room small and bathroom had very little space to put anything. Internet useless throughout the hotel. Only one bedside table?!?!

    Bed was comfortable and air con effective.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Hotel in a great location, just on the edge of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel in a great location, just on the edge of the picturesque, lively main square, with shops, restaurants and town within easy walking distance. Room was a good size, clean and well appointed, and staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Relaxed stay in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of shower curtain which meant wet floor and nothing to place shower gel shampoo on while showering Breakfast buffet needs better management as on some occasions supplies had run out and not replaced until brought to staff attention. Manual toaster needs replacing with automatic to ensure faster turnaround

    Nice clean comfortable airy rooms, great location and friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.7
    Great location, beautiful building, but choose your room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrible smell of the bedroom as if chain smoking had been practiced for years and covered up with detergent The combination was gruesome

    Good size of the room Beautiful building

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautifully restored grand Hotel adjacent to the main square...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff at reception have little interaction with guests.

    Beautifully restored grand Hotel adjacent to the main square and easy walking to the train station. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable.Excellent value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    GREAT HOTEL MIDI
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very well located hotel right in the centre in place de la Comedie and next to the Opera Comedie. A short walk from the train station. In the centre of all the action. The hotel occupies a beautiful period, classic building. My room was on the second floor with a small balcony and views into the the main square. A good sized room, carpeted, super comfy bed and modern bathroom. A quiet, clean and very comfortable room. Period details throughout the hotel are evident. Good lobby area. Staff helpfull and eager to please. Good value for money and highly recommended. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.4
    Not recommended if you have a car and luggage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Way overpriced for what it is. Be aware that no parking is available and if you arrive by car, there are no signs to tell you to avoid the tunnel and take the frontage road on the right. It took us a while to get there. And once we did, there is no way to pull up near the front of the hotel to unload luggage. We had to have one of us stay with the car while the other one carried the luggage a good distance to the hotel. One young man helped. No one else did. Dreadful.

    Clean room. One young man on the staff was helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Perfect base in the centre of Montpellier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Comedie view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The enormous swimming-pool sized bath in the room. It is supposed to be a feature of the deluxe room but is so huge that it is too big to actually bathe in and becomes an obstacle that you have to walk around to reach the shower room.

    Excellent central position, handy for the old town, the Place du Comedie, the station and public transport Helpful and friendly staff. Quirky and unusual decor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.9
    The center of everything....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow are too soft....Expensive breakfast, better to eat off-site....not hotel's fault, but my Mom got stuck in elevator for an hour, management compensated us for the inconvenience. So all good

    Location is perfect, right next to Opera House. Beds are comfortable. Trams are right there. Tourist office as well. Many Restaurants within walking distance. Hotel staff very responsive and helpful. Good room size.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    The hotel is really nice and clean and the Reception staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit more information on where we could have parked the car would have helped us a lot. We ended up driving around the very narrow one way streets of Montpellier for more than an hour until I manageg to get out of the car and walked to the hotel and asked for info where we can park.

    The hotel is really nice and clean and the Reception staff really helpful and friendly. Its location in the centre, next to the Opera House is perfect for sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    amazing room deco
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little issue in my room with the bathroom sink, the water stagnated in there. That's a very little problem, the experience was perfect.

    great building, beautiful rooms very comfy couch and bed!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Amazing stay in Montpellier city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was great and nicely refurbished. The room had a side view to the Place de la Comedie. Modern furniture, coffee machine and an amazing feeling. Located right in the city center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.6
    Comfy central hotel -great atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Montpellier's changing one-way system was a nightmare. Once you know that you need the Comedie carpark, accessed from the Comedie tunnel, life is easy

    The reception staff were outstandingly welcoming and helpful. The location is on the nicest square of Montpellier The recommended restaurant, Les Bains , was a great pleasure , enhanced by the care of the waiter, Dylan. The reception staff went out in torrential rain to indicate the directions to the excellent and nearby restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Great location for city trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have no parking space. You need to park at a public garage without any discount for hotel guests.

    The hotel is situatated in the middle of the historical city center and was easy to find. You are close to the shopping and restaurants area. The room (number 302) was very beautiful and neat. the Bathroom was spacious and had everything you need. You have a view on the city center with a very tiny balcony. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. In the morning you can have the breakfast buffet for 18 euros or a small breakfast for 8 euros. The provided Wifi had a strong signal and was free of charge. Would for sure recommend this hotel and would love to come back again :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Location is excellent. Right beside the Place de la Comedie, but slightly set back leaving it extremely quiet. Beautifully decorated, a feeling of opulence without being over the top. Excellent, attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Three lovely days in Montpellier
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room looks like a military canteen - respatex like tables & chairs. Fair selection of breakfast items, but nothing outstanding.

    Location extremely central, yet not noicy neighborhood. Very nice room for a reasonable price. Staff gave good advice on where to have lunch & dinner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    The decoration of the bedroom, the extra confort of the bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decoration of the bedroom, the extra confort of the bed (really) and the little attention of the personel. A cosy place in the center of Montpellier at 2 minutes walk from the train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Very good stay, and very relaxing. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Difficult to cool down the room. Only possible by leaving the windows open. Not your fault, but there were quite a few vagrants hanging about near the hotel entrance and at the front of the Opera House. Unpleasant, and at night when they seemed drunk a little worrying.

    Location was very good and the staff were very helpful with all our queries.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only moan was that the pillows were so soft they gave little or no support. I had extra due to a medical condition but still my head sank through them culminating in a stiff neck!

    Very well located just off the Comedy but very quiet. All the staff lovely and room very pleasant with comfortable bed and excellent wet room. We had a great time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    10
    I highly recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no way to reach the hotel by car.you've got to park your car in the parking and take your baggage with you and walk to the hotel.

    Location, cleanliness and staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    4.6
    No breakfast a140 euros and old
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rien

    Booked the room the to the high standard, but I was higly disappointed with the no breakfast after paying 140 euros for one person per night. I will never book this hotel again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.6
    Perfectly located right next to Place de la comédie, in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard room was on the small side but fine for a short trip with handluggage only.

    Perfectly located right next to Place de la comédie, in a beautiful old building. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: