Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Moderne St Germain 3 stars

33, Rue Des Ecoles, 5th arr., 75005 Paris, France

#465 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 186 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Not bad, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very noisy. Not from the street, but from other rooms nearby. The walls are obviously very thin and not much insulation between them, clearly. There was tea and coffee (instant) in the room and a kettle, but no milk provided either in UHT by the kettle or in the fridge. The towels were also really small for showering etc, which was odd. The oddest thing was the rooms having key card access, but still having to leave your card on reception when you leave. Just DON'T put the room numbers on the cards, have more than one, and get rid of that nonsense.

    Bed very comfy, room was very clean and quite spacious considering the location. I stayed in a "superior double". A friendly welcome from the reception staff was nice after a long trip. Considering it's a three star hotel, it was good to see air con in the room and the place has obviously been renovated and modernised really well. The building itself is beautiful too, and the hotel sits in it without spoiling it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.8
    Fabulous location, shame about the mould.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was really small, with no space for a large suitcase. The bathroom was tiny, & larger people would have had trouble fitting past the basin to get into the shower - I'd estimate the gap to be 40cm. The bathroom was not well ventilated & mouldy as a result. Toilet paper was not replenished, bin was not emptied - seems housekeeping just make the bed & put new towels each day. The pillows were not comfortable, & the breakfast room was fairly basic.

    This accommodation is excellently located, within walking distance to many of the sites/tourist destinations in Paris. The street is beautiful, & our room had a cute full length window with wrought iron railing, with a nice view to the street below. Room had a twin shower head, mini bar/fridge, & good lighting options, with a dim light, bedside lamps, as well as normal ceiling lights. Good reception open 24/7 with friendly staff. TV was a good size.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    The staff was extremely friendly a very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast needs a little more variety. The price was a bit on the expensive side.

    The staff was extremely friendly a very helpful. The location was extraordinary. The room was spacious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering the location, cost, etc., there are no negative points

    Excellent location. Reasonable price considering location. Will almost certainly return

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Good location, on quiet enough street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t drain well but once the staff were made aware they rectified quickly.

    Good location, on quiet enough street. Close to metro. Staff can’t do enough to help you and 24 hour concierge is a real bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't have any kind of room service/downstairs bar. Only morning breakfast and free coffee afternoon are offered.

    Amazing location and very friendly staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    Reception staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not like in the pictures. Our double room was very basic and dated, almost hostel like. Air con was very bad, hardly worked at all. Cleaning staff left our room unlocked after servicing our room.

    Reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Amazing stay in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay in your hotel was great. At the reception works nice and friendly staff. Room was nice and clean. Nice hotel in good site. Thank you

    Our stay in your hotel was great. At the reception works nice and friendly staff. Room was nice and clean. Nice hotel in good site. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Disappointed there was no A/C in my room, even though listed in room description on booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel (and moved from my hotel the night before) because it had air conditioning, I was unhappy to find out that there was no air conditioning in my particular room (deluxe single) even though it was listed under my room description. I reported it to the front desk. The front desk staff member was very nice and apologetic and offered the breakfast, however the management would not refund me so I could go to a hotel with air conditioning. Even after getting booking.com customer service to also contact them. Booking.com even sent a screen shot to the manager who refused to accept this. The manager said it was clearly stated no air conditioning on THEIR website, and inferred I should have booked through that. While it was a beautiful hotel, I would not stay again because of this.

    Beautifully clean, modern rooms, fabulous location, there is an elevator which is great.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Location, great shower, everything on hand (safe, fridge,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we did not like was narrow hallways and very compact rooms. Although everything was clean in the room and you had everything you needed as stated above, it is very compact...almost like a dorm room. This is an historic building and they built out modern facilities in limited space.

    Location, great shower, everything on hand (safe, fridge, elevator, umbrellas, eager to help staff with anything for tourists visiting the city). Very friendly staff especially Anaide, Mary and the night-time gentleman.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent, central location and great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Lift only went up to 5th floor and then we had to use the stairs to walk up to the 6th floor with our very heavy luggage which was a bit annoying

    -Breakfast was excellent! -Staff very friendly -Location is very central -Balcony views were divine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    I highly recommend this nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, we had problems with the air conditioner as it was leaking water and making a lot of noise. Although the personnel tried to help, it could not be fixed during our three night stay.

    We liked the room very much and everything felt very fresh. The breakfast was also nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Very Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel is poor value for money and badly needs to be refurbished again. The name itself is very misleading as it must have been "modernised" quite a long time ago. Food generally not up to scratch.

    Hotel is in a super area. Staff are most helpful,knowledgeable,charming and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location, great staff, nice breakfast, but not cheap
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room we stayed in the first few nights facing the street was a bit noisy at times. The back room in which we switched to after that faced a narrow alley. The back room was quieter but significantly smaller in size.

    The hotel is very well located close to public transport, the Sorbonne district and other attractions. The area is safe (with a police station around the corner). The hotel staff speak excellent English and were very helpful. Breakfast is good value with fresh fruit salad served most mornings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was very central to travel links to all major...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very central to travel links to all major attractions. The room, although tight was smart and modern. The buffet type breakfast on offer was okay. However if taking the breakfast option make sure to book it before your trip as 12€ pp is a bit steep for what is on offer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room! Thankfully we got an upgrade but even that room needed a good clean and freshen up with paint! There was marks on the walls and dirty accumulating in the corners of the room, even wine stains on the wall! The room was also on floor 6 and the lift (that you would struggle to get a wheelchair and carer in so beware!) only went to the 5th floor then you had to walk, not ideal with suitcases. Also they still use keys, not key cards, pest if you are out with a key ring bigger than your hand This hotel is very expensive for what you get! Worst hotel I have ever booked on booking.com Also the staff at breakfast would hardly speak, felt that was rude.

    The hotel was lovely in the reception and breakfast area. Breakfast was good, tasty and good variety. Staff at reception were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice place to stay in Paris
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be good to have ironing boards in the room

    Great location, easy walking distance to many major sites, slightly away from the crowds, safe neighbourhood and nice restaurants nearby. Super friendly staff, great croissants for breakfast. Had a welcome food station as well as I arrived- a very nice touch!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Location and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has only one door to get in and out of the property. Also only one person at the concierge at night. I experienced one night coming back to the hotel and no one being inside to open the door that was locked. After about 5 minutes an employee shows up. I asked him why the door was locked and he answered was because he had an emergency and had to help somebody else and had to lock the door. Then I asked if something happens and people have to leave the hotel as an emergency and the door is locked? He said yes, it is the policy of the hotel. After that I felt very insecure to be at the hotel knowing that the door was locked and couldn’t go out of the hotel if an employee were not in the front desk to open the door.

    Location and cleanliness. The people of the concierge was very nice too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall met expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower space was very small for a large man. very difficult to reach feet and squeeze into and out of the showerspace.

    Central location in Paris and staff were helpful and attentive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    An excellent memorable short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel can arrange airport transfers, but the price quoted was high. This is not a reflection on the hotel themselves, but perhaps something they could look into and find an alternative cheaper service to offer to their customers. We paid a third of the quoted price by using an alternative legitimate service.

    Excellent location, friendly hotel staff, rooms were exceptionally clean and the bed was really comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    it was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Best Location for tourist.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Good Hotel for city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard. Other than that great.

    5 minute walk to the river and Notre Dame. Good shower. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Staffs were really helpful and nice. Location is absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staffs were really accommodating, helpful and super nice!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Top location, very clean and quiet rooms, very comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Top location, very clean and quiet rooms, very comfortable bed. Excellent for a city trip. Definitely would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    location was great very close to the main Paris's objectives and room very clean, personal very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Can’t get any better than this!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff, big (for Paris) rooms, great shower, cool location and comfortable bed!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Staff was really friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Great position, few steps from Sorbonne University and...
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great position, few steps from Sorbonne University and Panthéon, excellent staff, very clean rooms and remarkable quality of breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    We had a lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircons did not work 100%

    Clean, comfortable, great location close to metro & walking distance to Sein/Notre Dame etc. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Fell in love with Paris, wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location great and staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    The location is excellent (in the Latin Quarter), bed were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location is excellent (in the Latin Quarter), bed were good and staff was nice. Plenty of good restaurants just up the hill.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small but that’s Europe. Ac didn’t seam to work.

    Absolutely wonderful! They even let me check in early

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room décor, while funky, was a bit over the top. Might be time to change the wallpaper.

    Marie was a dream communicator prior and when we checked in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were comfortable and the room was bigger than the normal French hotels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.0
    Staff were exceptional, nothing was any trouble
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar

    Breakfast was great, room quite spacious, very well located

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Location is 10/10, room is small, but cozy.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi was very bad

    Location is 10/10, room is small, but cozy. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location with few mins walk to metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor wifi and no lifts from 5th to 6th floor

    Perfect location with few mins walk to metro station. Extremely clean toilet and fantastic room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    A lovely stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room, clean bathroom, great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Always love the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was incredibly small and a small bed.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Quirky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi rubbish. Breakfast very basic as no kitchen...but ok!

    Quirky...good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    I really liked this hotel,it is perfectly located,you find...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I found really nothing,i am sure,i will return again and again

    I really liked this hotel,it is perfectly located,you find there all you need for stay in Paris,room big enough,big screen tv,wi-fi free,coffee tea utilities,air condition,very nicely made toilettes and shower,every room in other pleasant colour,big area to rest,read newspapers,work on computer,,staff very helpful,excellent buffet breakfast,hotel near bus or metro station,but the best is discovering all around by foot,monuments,gardens,museums.Simply,you feel very well in this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location and perfect value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A/C didn't work on first evening and being in a loft room made things a little uncomfortable. Slept with open Windows. Elevator didn't work on second night.. A long way up to the loft rooms.. But we didn't mind the exercise. If you can get past the fact the Reception staff are French than you will enjoy your stay! Great hotel! Will definitely stay again..

    Excellent location and perfect value for money.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    Staff was really friendly, breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The elevator was small but this did not detract from the overall experience.

    Staff was really friendly, breakfast was delicious. Felt extremely safe in the area and it was easy to get to all the main attractions of Paris from where we were. This hotel was amazing and I would recommend it to everyone I know and I would definitely stay here again if I was coming to Paris.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    8.3
    On good bus route to eiffel tower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small sink area, too narrow for male. Not a licenced bar on premises (mini bar fridge in room).

    On good bus route to eiffel tower. Close to metro and main line. 300 metres from notre dame.600 metres from louvre. Clean tidy adequate. Staff very helpful. Continental breakfast reasonable value. Good sized shower.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    8.8
    great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    a shower curtain or door.....an extra inch or two space in the shower by moving the door over a little

    great location. clean, good decor. great shower head. nice beds, good curtains. wifi worked ok

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    Many little details tuned for comfort (tea/coffee...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too little space in the WC, so a big person might have trouble to fit.

    Many little details tuned for comfort (tea/coffee supplies and a kettle in the room; a public printer - to print your boarding pass before you leave, etc.). Breakfast good by French standards. Really clean. Staff very friendly. Excellent location. My room was silent.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    10
    The hotel was modern and clean and had original rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing it surpassed my expectations

    The hotel was modern and clean and had original rooms. Breakfast was fresh and great quality and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    9.2
    Nice and modern.
    • Couple

    the matresss of the bed was " bumpy" and the shower what not staying vertical ( I had to keep it in my hand).

    Nice and modern. Superb location. Friendly people.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    9.2
    Location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The cleaning staff needs to look inside the shower in the corners to clean it better. It can be a little noisy, at least on a weekend if you have the windows open for air.

    Location was fantastic. The staff was friendly and spoke English. Breakfast was adequate. The beds were very comfy and the room was spacious. Nice to have towel heaters.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    8.3
    We stayed here our last night in Paris.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed here our last night in Paris. It's a lovely hotel in a perfect location. It was us and our teenaged daughter and you know how hard it is to find a hotel in Paris for 3 people that's reasonably priced; this fit the bill. Sure, it's small but basically you just need a clean place to sleep - you're in Paris! The front desk person was a gem and helped arrange our shuttle to the airport which went smoothly and at a reasonable fixed price. I personally enjoy the less touristy areas of Paris but you can still find some lovely off-the-beaten-path streets to enjoy here.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    9.2
    Great location, safe and convenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We are stay for 5 nights, housekeeper not a proper clean in the following night. Not filled in the bath amenities. Other than that is perfect.

    Great location, safe and convenience. Easy to get metro, RER and restaurants. Breakfast is simple but ok. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    7.1
    Located in the latin quarters, nice & safe neighbourhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff is not too well-informed about the shops in the vicinity. Slightly expensive.

    Located in the latin quarters, nice & safe neighbourhood. Modern and relatively new room facilities.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    9.2
    Second time choosing this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Basin seems a little blocked since we checked in.

    Second time choosing this hotel. Very nice and helpful staff, like Brice, Gorge and so on. Comfortable room with nearly all sorts of equipments needed, even with kettle for hot water. Great location, with less than 10 minutes walking distance to Notre Dame, and less than 5 minutes to Panthéon. Traffic also convenient by metro No. 10 within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Will be back again!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.3
    The location was excellent and our room seems to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Housekeeping personnel came in the room in without be announced.

    The location was excellent and our room seems to have recently been renovated, which was very clean but small.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.3
    Staff at the reception was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room is too small, and not really clean. Brackfast is very poor.

    Staff at the reception was nice. Lady who served breakfast during week end was so weard, never talk, no hello or good by, really strange.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    Highly recommend this excellent location, very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Highly recommend this excellent location, very friendly staff. So close to Notre Dame, Luxembourg Gardens and more. In the neighborhood plenty of local eateries, grocery stores and more. Can't beat this humble but great location. Among others, just down the corner from the hotel on the Rue des Carmes is a wonderful hat shop, with the most friendly owner imaginable. On the square of the Boulevard Saint-Germain/ Rue des Carmes is a local market. The bistro L'Authre Bistro, just across the street from the hotel has super friendly service and great food.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.9
    Location was very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were on the very top floor and there was no elevator access to the final flight of stairs. It wasn't a big deal for us but do check with the hotel if you have issues with one flight of stairs. We were traveling with my brother and the room we stayed in had a bedroom with a shower that was semi-transparent (we had requested a room with 2 single beds, so quite clear we weren't a couple). I don't think all rooms are like this though; so again, just check if this could be an issue for you

    Location was very convenient. Nice room decor. We went on the hottest days of Europe and the room was very air conditioned very well. Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    8.8
    Obviously a great location, walk down St Germain, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lack of a terrace! Not such a spacious lounge area, but you can't have it all!

    Obviously a great location, walk down St Germain, great places for breakfast, street stalls and cool shops, really near metro and Notre Dame FAB going back in September.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    3.8
    The location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that the room and the overall environment inside the hotel does not match with the price of the room. It was also disappointing the fact that we asked for the aeration of the room to be checked (due to unpleasant smell) and we never had a follow up for the specific problem. We think that the hotel is overpriced!

    The location of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.3
    Hotel was clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Building was a little old and could have used some remodeling especially in the hallways. Hotel rooms were adequate but not as nice as most hotels in the U.S.

    Hotel was clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were adequate.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    I have stayed at the Hotel Moderne Saint Germain many times...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have stayed at the Hotel Moderne Saint Germain many times over the years. Great staff, room, and location! It remains one of my favorites...since it is like home.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    8.8
    Nice quiet room in a great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There was a space on a top of the curtain and there was some light from it in the morning, and i would prefer a very dark room to sleep longer in the morning.

    Nice quiet room in a great location. Very nice staff. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.6
    This hotel is in a great location, very close to a couple of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This hotel is in a great location, very close to a couple of Metro stations, restaurants and many of the sights. Brice at the front desk was a fantastic help with our many questions, he really made a big difference to our stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.2
    The room, the location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi could be faster.

    The room, the location. Clean, reasonably large room near quartier latin. Minibar, tea kettle, desk, wifi. In general, the hotel offered all I look for in a hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    6.7
    Location & politeness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When I paid for my advance booking by credit card, I had several other fraudulent European purchases appear on my card which I reported to my bank's fraud team.

    Location & politeness

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    6.7
    - excellent location
    • Couple

    - very small bathroom - cleaning ok but it should be improved

    - excellent location - small room but quite ok for 2-3 nights stay - friendly and helpful reception staff

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    8.3
    Wifi was fast, beds comfortable, location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The minibar and plumbing was a bit noisy and the walls are thin but didn't wake me up just stopped me dropping off quickly.

    Wifi was fast, beds comfortable, location was great. Close to metro and easy to walk to most places. Good local places for dinner and breakfast as well.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    8.3
    Good location and clean well presented hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We asked for a room on a higher floor, hotel didn't seem busy at all and got given a room on first floor. Also was a deluxe room and the shower was very small

    Good location and clean well presented hotel

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    4.6
    Free wifi was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was tiny, the same size as a regular bedroom! Overpriced for what it was. No hotel facilities other than free wifi. Wouldn't recommend if you were going for more than a day or two.

    Free wifi was great. Bathroom was nice and spaceous. Rooms were cleaned daily!

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is very modern and newly remodelled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very modern and newly remodelled. Very clean, quiet, but the rooms are a bit on the small side. We've initially received upon arrival a very small double bedroom which would be an ok size single. However after complaining about this and requesting a larger room, we were quickly served with one of the best rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful even in the middle of the night. Very pleased!

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    9.6
    Loved where hotel was situated, bout 5min walk to river and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bit of work going on, so a tad noisy sometimes.

    Loved where hotel was situated, bout 5min walk to river and NotreDame. Cute restaurants, bakers and supermarket within walking distance. Hotel rooms bright and colourful. We had 2rooms, one with balcony and view of street, other one, a brick wall. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    7.1
    Great location, overall good hotel with a friendly service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not comfortable or cozy enough for a long stay (white lights, cold corridors, ...).

    Great location, overall good hotel with a friendly service and a modern look.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very small room for 3star hotel.

    Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.2
    Good shower.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the bed was hard, specially the pillows were too thick. the elevator was slow.

    Good shower. nice breakfast buffet, very friendly staff.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Moderne St Germain traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: