Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Citôtel Hôtel Monet 3 stars

Charrière Du Puits, 14600 Honfleur, France

#10 of 25 hotels in Honfleur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 379 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Extremely enjoy label very short stay. Friendly, unique and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in the family room was a little dated but it’s not a big deal. It was clean and that was the main thing.

    It was just lovely and quirky and different to the chain hotels we looked at. It was a lovely stroll down to the the beautiful town of Honfleur. Staff were really friendly, beds were comfy and breakfast was really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Are you looking for a well-located and charming hotel at walking distance? Look no further...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    The hotel was at a short walking distance from the beautiful Honfleur city centre, with free parking space both on-site as well as literally in front of the building. The room was charming and had two double beds. It was a real joy to start the day on a small but very cosy, private and quiet terrace in the sun. Citôtel Monet was a very pleasant and unique experience to us!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Magic Monet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    It is in a quiet location in easy walking distance of the centre. Although we enjoy the consistency of chain hotels, we loved the uniqueness of Hotel Monet. We've never stayed anywhere quite like it before. We were not quite sure if we would like it but we did very much and look forward to returning in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    lovely atmosphere;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lovely atmosphere; all well designed and warm welcoming; only 5 minutes walk from city centre, but away from the trouble - so perfect situation; quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Exceptionaly enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem with the showers drainage which flooded the floor slightly.. but hopefully will be corrected as we will be back..

    This was a pleasure of a stop with a disabled spacious ground floor bedroom with very comfortable seating and coffee table area. A huge shower room. Also a lovely large patio area... Exceptional

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was tiny - accessing the (over bath) shower would be very difficult for anyone with mobility issues. Felt room rate was expensive for the standard of decor, though suspect this reflects demand for rooms in Honfleur.

    Bedroom was a decent size with a terrace (not used due to bad weather). Bed was comfortable, The owners were welcoming and the property was easy to find.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Very nice and helpful manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and helpful manager. Only a ten minute walk down the hill into town. The centre of town is extremely busy so we're pleased that we were 10 minutes away - tha also meant that there was somewhere to park the car for free on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Extremely friendly and accommodating reception, with good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely friendly and accommodating reception, with good attention to detail. Excellent location with everything one would need for a cozy and relaxing visit to Honfleur.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    7.5
    Great room but bad customer service (receptionist).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside looks like a cheap motel. Christmas decorations were horrible. VERY slow internet. We wanted to cancel the reservation at the beginning but we could not because of the cancellation policy so we kept the booking. At our arrival the receptionist read her comments and said with an arrogant tone in the middle of the room "Ha! you're the one that wanted to cancel". Not very professional...

    Great room, plenty of space. Nice furniture, really well decorated, my girlfriend liked the colors. free parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    Something pleasingly different and very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could not find a critical point to report fault.

    Quirky yet pleasing individual style, Fabulously comfy bed, large well equipped shower room. good parking, very friendly staff, huge choice for breakfast. inc tea and toast! Helpful advice and full knowledge of the area and beyond. Well positioned, minutes from Honfleur centre. The Pay D'Auge further afield well worth the visit, charming towns with many half timbered houses and unusual stone roofed churches. Did not require wi-fi, too busy enjoying the holiday than feeling the need to connect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.9
    Good value, good location in a great place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room this time was tiny: fine if all you want to do is spend the night there (which is all we did want). The wifi only occasionally reached it.

    We've visited Honfleur four times now, and always stay at the Monet - it's only a few minutes' stroll from the centre, through ancient, picturesque streets. (Be aware that, on the way back, it's uphill.) Good breakfast, albeit in a small room that feels cramped at busy times. Friendly welcome. Has its own parking spaces within the courtyard, plus some more just outside on the road.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.9
    Good for overnight / short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walk back up hill after dinner on the harbour was a challenge but we were warned an hotel can do nothing about this. (All added to the experience)

    Warm welcome and good breakfast. Room was fine but other facilities are limited which we knew before we booked. Location and parking (for Honfleur) were fine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    A quiet haven in a busy town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door into the room was a push and slide system which we found a bit tricky to lock. There was no window as such to open as the wide glass door acted as the window so not really suitable to leave open. One thing to watch if you are leaving early morning in the dark as we did, there are no lights on after around 11pm - 12pm and we had to negotiate the steps down to the car in total darkness. Luckily we had a torch in the car to enable us to get our bags to the car safely.

    The hotel is family run and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. The car park is a real bonus as Honfleur gets extremely busy with visitors. We were able to have breakfast outside in the small garden and it was lovely with plenty of food choices. It is about a 10 minute walk down to the centre of town which makes this hotel very quiet and peaceful. Each room has it's own little outside seating area which is nice to sit when the weather is fine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.4
    Little Hornfleur Haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! However we did find the hotel a little difficult to find.

    Excellent breakfast and plenty of it. A little haven in a beautiful town. Wished we could have stayed longer! Would I return. You bet!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.1
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little tired, but everything needed was available.

    Excellent breakfast. 5 minutes walk to harbour area of Honfleur. Great local cuisine.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Bath soap dispenser too high to use in bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath soap dispenser too high to use in bath

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, friendly staff, comfortable room and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely people in a quiet location - a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of choice of restaurants. A very quiet location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice owners and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    I'd definitely go back. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely courtyard, nice room, shower pooled across the floor but there was a mop.Really nice place. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electric sockets loose. Not enough plugs.

    Location was great. Parking convenient. Quirky hotel. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a little too hot in room no ventillation

    location is great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Good location for exploring Honfleur and environs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nearer to the town centre would have been a bonus for 80+s!

    Excellent hospitality from the proprietors

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper tea cups in room,

    Very friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely staff and good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our four rooms had an issue with Ants.

    Lovely staff and good facilities. Outdoor breakfast was a treat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay in Honfleur
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noisy motorbike arrival late at night

    croissants excellent. room very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    6.3
    On the top of the hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was bad

    Each room had a little outside space

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for walking into Honfleur , couldn't use outside terrace as cold but would be perfect in warm weather. Easy parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.3
    Great location for the town , good parking and peace and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower position.

    Great location for the town , good parking and peace and quiet. Owners very pleasant and helpful. Good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    10
    Very comfortable room,good breakfast and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable room,good breakfast and excellent location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    10
    Excellent--would highly recommend it. Not fancy but quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a quaint little hotel up a very steep hill after a walk downtown. The harbour was beautiful. We just did a walk everywhere.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.9
    Pleasant stay in comfortable and welcoming surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    price + breakfast seemed a bit expensive.

    Spacious bathroom, comfortable bed, chairs and table outside was a nice touch. pleasant welcome.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you don't mind being out of town and up a long, steep hill it's fine.

    Lovely little, homely B & B. with it's own private car park.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.5
    Quirky and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inadequate parking, seven spaces for 14 rooms

    Peaceful location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Great situation for visiting Honfleur, comfy boutique style; friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard pillows! Common to most hotels I know, but bed was very comfortable.

    Atmosphere and situation up a hill short way from Honfleur.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.6
    Location excellent,good breakfast,comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location excellent,good breakfast,comfortable room. 2nd time we've stayed there and would definately stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    A delightful last stay in France
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside patios were a bonus. Rooms were lovely and clean. Parking was good for us as adjacent and wecoukdkeep an eyeonourdog.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable with lovely touches whilst quite basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was expensive compared to other comparable hotels we stayed in in Normandy, but perhaps Honfleur is more expensive?

    Comfortable with lovely touches whilst quite basic. Very peaceful area.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    10
    Wonderful clean and comfortable room - amazing shower!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NOT a "didn't like" as such - but remember, no restaurant or bar, so bring your own! The walk into town is short, but downhill - so an uphill climb on the way back, of course. Do note if you have any mobility difficulties.

    Wonderful clean and comfortable room - amazing shower! So relaxing. Very close to the beautiful town The owners are so friendly and helpful. Very highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    Friendly, helpfull owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Uphill walk back from town centre but interesting to walk through old part of town.

    Friendly, helpfull owners. Excellent breakfast, kettle in the room and free on site parking! What more could you want?

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.2
    The location was perfect only 5min away from the village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was perfect only 5min away from the village. The hotel has a family touch and the owner is very nice and helpful. We definitly would recommend that hotel!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly helpful couple running hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Locking the bedroom French windows is a little tricky. We are very old so having had a problem, we asked for a repeat demo and to be supervised doing it ourselves. Easy once you know how - just like our similar - but slightly different windows at home in UK!

    Very friendly helpful couple running hotel. Gave us good advice about local restaurants, naming several in no particular order. We ended up with dinner at one which was excellent, and they confirmed at breakfast it was their favourite (obviously no names!). Easy walk into town.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.6
    Good sized room with two comfortable double beds (rather...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast would benefit from a modern ground coffee machine (as seems to be standard in most three star hotels)

    Good sized room with two comfortable double beds (rather than twin single beds)

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    Modern clean décor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - but if you find walking difficult this may not be ideal location for you.

    Modern clean décor Warm welcome from owner Private seating outside room with sun shade Breakfast in the garden Quiet location short walk down hill to busy tourist area.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    5.4
    The owners are friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It feels not like a hotel but more like a motel. It is located on a very steep hill. It is about 20 minutes climbing up from the Honfleur port.

    The owners are friendly people. The wife speaks English, the husband did not.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.2
    The 21st century accomodation is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I expext from a three star hotel to serve a buffet breakfast for this price instead of an upgraded continental. The hotel is situated on a hill, 10 mins walk from downtown.

    The 21st century accomodation is excellent. The room we got was spacious and relaxing. Free private parking space. The staff is friendly and helpfull. Overall very good value for your money.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    10
    Charming does not begin to describe this little gem of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming does not begin to describe this little gem of a hotel. Everywhere you turn there is evidence of a loving, artistic touch. There is a small terrace outside each room. Parking is available. The traditional French breakfast was delightful. The hosts are most gracious (when asked, they will guide you to restaurants where the locals eat).Within walking distance of the center of Honfleur. This was our favorite place to stay during our 2 week visit to France (eight different hotels).

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    7.9
    Great people, very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower in room 1. Would have expected something way better for the price. Accessing wifi was a bit of a hassle too.

    Great people, very welcoming. The car park is big. The hotel is charming and quiet and very close to the center of Honfleur.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    fantastic parking at the door of the room, 5 minute walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    fantastic parking at the door of the room, 5 minute walk to centre of town, but nice and quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    10
    Perfect place to stay great beds fabulous hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing going home could have stayed longer

    Perfect place to stay great beds fabulous hosts

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    Great location short walk into centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great location short walk into centre

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    9.6
    Briiliant place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all.

    Briiliant place. Nice rooms, parking right in front of it, an excellent breakfast and the best staff we can think of. We love it.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    8.8
    helpful staff, thoughtful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    helpful staff, thoughtful

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    10
    Close to town and within easy walking distance but not in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to town and within easy walking distance but not in the middle of everything so it was quiet. Parking is free.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    7.5
    Bed was really comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom smelt a bit damp. Wifi didn't work in the room (room 5)

    Bed was really comfy. Nice quiet hotel. Good location. Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    10
    Very close to center of Honfleur, every room has a balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very close to center of Honfleur, every room has a balcony or outside area, parking on site

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff and quirky nature of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff and quirky nature of hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    7.5
    Safe parking short walk into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wi fi signal

    Safe parking short walk into town

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    Lovely peaceful location - good beds and coffee in the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely peaceful location - good beds and coffee in the room - great

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    8.8
    the location is good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi Fi can be better!

    the location is good! 5 Min walk to downtown.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    9.2
    Good parking and convenient for centre of Honfleur
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Position of shower a little awkward. Didn't like plastic cups for hot drinks in room

    Good parking and convenient for centre of Honfleur

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.3
    We loved the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wi-fi did not work in the room

    We loved the location!

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    5.0
    Hotel Monet is getting run-down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel Monet is getting run-down. Many minor repairs should have been done in our room--but were not.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    8.3
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perhaps could have provided better tea/coffee facilities

    Comfortable bed Location Parking

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    9.6
    tucked away and very private
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    tucked away and very private

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    10
    Great location, just steps from the city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, just steps from the city center. Staff very nice and the room as a great space, and decoration.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    7.1
    Location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room facing the parking/yard were everyone can watch into the room

    Location of the hotel

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: