Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Mont Saint Michel 4 stars

La Caserne, 50170 Le Mont Saint Michel, France

#2 of 13 hotels in Le Mont Saint Michel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2527 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    Perfectly located for Mont Saint Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty needed cleaning before we used it. Overall a 2 Star Motel style. Reception at arrival really unfriendly.

    Perfectly located for Mont Saint Michel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Overall is a nice place to stay if you are visiting Mount Saint Michel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel dose not have elevator, it is dificult to move your luggages upstairs if you room is up there.

    Location in town is convinient with free shuttle bus to Mount Saint Michel. The breakfast included in the rate is excellent. Room is comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Very good meal in hotel restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking at hotel BUT you still are charged 6,50 Euro at the barrier when you exit the village which is effectively a parking charge although not by the hotel.

    Very good meal in hotel restaurant. Hotel advised entry code to take car into village in advance by email. Very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    Great location and that is all there is good to say about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms, lighting poor and toilets so small, you could not comfortably move in them....Really poor

    More of s chalet style motel not a normal hotel, public areas were not too clean.. no lifts to carry bags up to rooms and in my opinion not a 4 start hotel.. Restuarant was apparently fully booked for hotel guests by 6.30 pm but we were told if we visited directly we may get in..... we went elsewhere for food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    The location of the hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is excellent. Very convenient to visit Mont St Michel particularly if you have a car. It is a basic but has everything you need for your visit. Very modern and clean and comfortable. Overall would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    The room is quite big but a bit old
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator. Need to carry suitcases by stairs ourselves. The hair dryer is not good enough for a four-star hotel.

    The room is quite big but a bit old

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.4
    Fair value , basic , location is the only positive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room With 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being shown ‘the hand’ and ‘pointed out’ of the breakfast area because I was 10mins late .... fair enough but courteous ways also exist to deliver the same message.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced for the quality but good because of the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking wasn't actually free, we had to pay for going to the hotel area. There was a smell in a room. There were hair on the floor in the bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no power next to the bed which might've been handy if there was although its not the end of the world.

    Food is amazing(Yes, I was in France). In terms of location, it was extremely convenient as we had access to the special zone thru hotel booking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Great ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything too negative.

    I like the way it is spread out in different buildings. I also like that the only cars there are guest's cars. The whole complex has a great holiday feel to it. Great walk to the abbey and the abbey itself is a great spectacle.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Very nice. I suggest visiting the monastery at night to avoid the crowds. It never closes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware that it is in a "gated" area and you need to get a code from the hotel to be able "raise the gate". We drove around in circles until someone was able to explain it to us. There are generally people at the gate to help you but they must have gone to the bathroom when we came through. It can be a mess with the tour busses, etc. There are huge parking lots close to the gate but they all charge and there is no "get your code" parking area and no sign stating "How to raise the gate". So I drove and my husband called.

    Very convenient to the monastery.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice place close to Mont St Michel. Quite basic, which is fine if you need a clean room for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked four different front desk people about where the bus stop to get us to the train in the next town would be. All said parking lot 7. Well, we found out that is for group tour buses only and we almost missed the main city to city bus - which is by the parking information office. Thankfully, when the buses did not show up in parking lot 7, we ran (literally) to the parking lot information office just in time to catch the correct bus at the correct location. Hotel staff In such a small tourist village should be aware of the most basic information to provide your guests especially since the village itself does not provide signage.

    Good location. Great bathroom update! but the room was very dated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location. I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room With 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed comfortable but sweated during the night. I detest these mattresse covers that cause you to sweat all night long

    Great location, shuttle bus directly across to take you to La Mont Saint Michel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Good value and convenient for a short visit at a very expensive touring site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the room was not great The gardens surrounding the hotel are lawns only

    The room was prepared for us before we arrived, check in took 5 minutes

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were many spiders in the room. The hotel did not inform us of the password for the parking barrier beforehand.

    The breakfast was great. The location was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    Go to Mont St Michele but don’t bother staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated Hotel, dirty public areas, indifferent staff who ignored our comments about restaurant hygiene. The worst restaurant toilets we came across in the whole of a tour of France.

    Comfy bed & location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what you get. But you pay for location and proximity to Mont Saint Michel so can't really complain.

    Very clean and comfortable. Within resort to easily get to Mont Saint Michel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told by front desk upon check in that the 4€ parking price was the first time free but upon checkout was charged for it.

    Well located, good value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Staying within the protected area on the road has its disadvantages if you you are going to do more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They charged 4 euros to provide a code for reentry to the Mount for every exit. Entry should be free for those staying at hotels on the access road to the Mount

    The staff were pleasant and professional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    It was within walking distance to Le Mont Saint Michel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property only offered plastic picnic glasses to drink from and take away type cups for the room tea and coffee making facility. Poor show! The toilet, even though newly renovated, was in its own seperate room which I suppose might be a good idea but the room was smaller than an aeroplane toilet!!!

    It was within walking distance to Le Mont Saint Michel. The restaurant staff were happy and polite and when I asked the restaurant manager if I could have a couple of glasses for our room he happily gave them to me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    The hotel was very nice the location and access to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very nice the location and access to the main atraction excellent. Had a little issue with wrong dates on my original reservation however the hotel staff were excellent in troubleshooting the issue and providing assistance in solving the issue. One remark thou access to the area where the hotel is troublesome due to the road being closed off to general traffic. You receive an access code but only when you contact the hotel. Perhaps advanced knowledge of the procedure before you arrive would be of benefit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Staff were extremely helpful, polite and great to chat with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pre-information about driving to the hotel (access via the barrier and need for code), nor, once given the code, that it costs €4 every time you need it again - not idea given we were needed to move to surrounding villages and back. Hotel is very very tired looking. Location is good to get to Mont Saint Michel but not actually on the isle.

    Staff were extremely helpful, polite and great to chat with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    The room was okay for one night, nothing special but clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was disappointing. We've read a lot of good review about it so we chose to have dinner there. The staff was not so welcoming either but the food was terrible. It was not tasty at all or fresh...and very pricey for this "quality". (The day before we had dinner in a Michelin star restaurant for almost the same price, next day excellent much cheaper crepes in Mont Saint Michel) Big disappointment. Based on this experience we decided to skip the breakfast and had a nice sandwich in the bakery across the street.

    The room was okay for one night, nothing special but clean and quiet enough. The hotel has an excellent location with private parking, the bus shuttle to Mont Saint Michel has a stop just in front of the hotel. I would say that this is one of the best hotel options in Mont Saint Michel if you do not want to sleep on the island, in the historical centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    The lady on reception in particular, was helpful to us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room With 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The code to get in the barrier did not work! It is not clear when you approach the barrier that the Mercure hotel is beyond. We drove further and had to ask! Why is there not a sign outside the barrier saying what is beyond. NOT just us we saw other people having the same trouble. On booking it gives the impression you only pay 4 euros for the parking , not clear that you repay every time you pass in and out a barrier! Very unfair, we thought. So would not recommend it the hotel to anyone else. Will be putting this on trip advisor. The 2nd code did not work either and I had to ring the hotel. Another cost. and we were given another code!! Which then worked. Also my dinner at the restaurant my first day was pork and it was so dry we had to send it back. On telling the waither I could not eat it , he seemed confused as to what to do about a complaint. Eventually my dinner was changed. Not very good. Nothing offered in compensation either. An bonus drink would have been nice.!! What were the genius perks???

    The lady on reception in particular, was helpful to us. The room was cleaned beautifully.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Mont St Michel is a pleasant walk away on a good day
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's nice to have a drink at the end of the day without being dishonestly told by staff that the bar is closed so they can go home early. Not on and left sour taste. I won't name the Restaurant Manager concerned and I considered making a written complaint but won't bother. If you like to be in bed by 9pm this is probably the place for you.

    Mont St Michel is a pleasant walk away on a good day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Right price, right position!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some might find a problem if they have not asked the hotel for the code for the barrier as the hotel is in a restricted zone area. They will give you the code on the day of your arrival and if not sent, contact them to get it. As I arrived at the barrier an emergency ambulance neeeded access as I was processing the code and as my car is RHD I was out of it putting the code in unsuccessfully! Had to back the car to let the ambulance through which was s bit embarrassing as it slowed it down. Unfortunate combination of events!

    The position of the hotel is ideal for the vedette that takes you to Mont St Michel or you can make the wonderful walk.My room was not ready at 14.00 but I left my bag and went for my umpteenth visit to Monr St Michel that never fails to impress! Very good value for money. Had excellent dinner in adjacent restaurant with their local lamb pre salee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Reasonably good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had so many bugs in the room. I wonder how the hotel clean the room:(

    The location was great. Very close to the bus stop that goes to Mont Saint Michel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    We would stay here again albeit on the ground floor if we came back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator to second floor. With heavy luggage a stay on first floor would have been a much better plan.

    Close to attraction , staff very helpful excellent restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Great Location Near Mont St. Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying 4 Euros to get the code to get to the hotel, and the cost of breakfast. And that they did not send us the code ahead of time or tell us about it. My phone was dead and it was the only one hooked up for European travel, so we had to depend on others to help us.

    Great Location, but hard to get into. Mont St. Michel the city requires you to have a code to get into the city, the hotel did not send us one, so it was quite confusing to get to our hotel, but we got help from our parking lot attendant and made it in. The room was lovely, with large windows, and overlooking a garden. You could walk to Mont St. Michel from the hotel if you desired, but there was a shuttle stop right outside the door also. The property had balconies you could sit at that overlooked nature areas. Very nice place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Facilties in room is good and the bed is comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room With 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel did not inform in the booking.com that we have to pay 4 Euro per time for the access code at the gate even the first time that we drive to check-in. It seems like hotels don't want the guess to go out anywhere except their areas.

    Facilties in room is good and the bed is comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The system for getting on to the site was chaotic. It is a gated site great idea. But you need a code to get in. There is no means of contacting the hotel at the gate so you need to phone the hotel to get the code. Too late you are already at the barrier with a queue of traffic behind you. Just a suggestion a little warning would be good. Why not text the instructions and code on the arrival day.

    Great location good parking good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Good quality hotel well located for Mont St Michel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a traffic restricted area, the need for an access code to get through the barrier wasn't made clear at the time of booking.

    The staff member working on reception when we checked in was excellent - friendly, helpful and changed things around so we were able to check in early.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, space, excellent food at Le Pré Salé next door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ‘Making up’ the room in the morning was rudimentary, however for a 2 night stay we didn’t much care.

    Spacious comfortable room, nice garden view, big bathroom, unfussy hotel staff. Perfectly located for food and for catching a shuttle bus or walking to Mont Saint-Michel. The bus stop to/from Rennes is also within a 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and convenient. Enjoyed the l’agneau pre sale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet space a bit small

    Closeness of restaurant to the accommodation. Staff excellent in restaurant. The gentleman in check out organised a taxi for us to take us to Utah and Omaha beach for the day. Excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Very comfortable stay. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren't too many options for food, since it was low season and some of the other hotel restaurants were closed.

    Staff was very friendly. Easy check-in and check-out. Very close proximity to the Mont Saint-Michel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.7
    unsatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free wifi was very weak in the room and could hardly get connected. The bed was mushy and too soft. The hall was not clean...a large vacuum cleaner was left sprawled on the middle of the floor until the evening.

    The location of the hotel was perfect. The staff was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel with awesome breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, facilities and great breakfast. It is conveniently located to the shop and several good restaurants. It is also close by to the bus stop for the island

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    met our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we requested for a bigger room for 3 persons and we were accommodated immediately. When my friends in the other room asked for a change of room since the heater was not working very well, they were transfered to another room in so short a time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay for Mt. Saint Michel visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is bit small and out of date. Though, the location is good, Mt. Saint Michel can not be viewed from the room or the hotel. (There are only a few hotels in the neighborhood with that advantage.)

    Hotel is on the prime location for Mt. Saint Michel visit. Shuttle bus parking to Mt St. Michel is right in front.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Reception staff very polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing is that hotel restaurant, reception and the rooms itselfs are in the separate buildings so to get a breakfast you actually need to go outside first.

    Reception staff very polite and helpful. The place in general nice and clean. Located very close to Mont Saint Michel, very easy access.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    It was a very convenient location and the room was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very noisy room in the back of the hotel right next to a couple of huge fans (maybe the central circulation center?) that was just vibrating through the walls. It kept me awake all night and I couldn’t sleep. We informed the staff in the morning and the response was basically an « oh, ok ». Very disappointing. I think they are aware of this problem and choose to look the other way.

    It was a very convenient location and the room was nice. The breakfast was very nice as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    The room is big enough for two person and the facilities in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room With 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Internet connection in our room was really bad. It was hard for my friends and I access the data traffic or the wifi.

    The room is big enough for two person and the facilities in the room are great. Additionally, this hotel located next to a shuttle stop, which is convenient for tourists to get on the bus traveling to the Mont-Saint-Michel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.8
    Needs refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a strong smell of cleaning material. The carpeted floor had stains and lots of dog hair. Breakfast is too expensive.

    Location was very good and free parking near the shutle to Saint Michel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    A little pricey, but lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "free" Wifi could not be accessed from the rooms, you had to sit in the reception to be able to access it. Hotel was dated. It was a little complicated to understand how you got to the hotel as there are restrictions in driving around Mont-Saint-Michel. It's not a bad night stay, but given it was the most expensive per night of our trip, I had hoped for a little more.

    Rooms were a decent size. The staff were very friendly and did their best to understand me as a none French speaker. There is a bus which stops right outside the hotel which will take you to Mount-Saint-Michel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.7
    It is a good location and comfortable just not 4 star.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is definitely showing signs of wear and tear and in need of a good refurbishment, it is not of four star quality. The carpets are very stained everywhere, in the rooms and in the public areas.

    The hotel staff were helpful and friendly, the breakfast was good and restaurant very nice. The location is good and the bathrooms have recently been refurbished.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Staff were lovely, parking was easy and location for mt st...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely, parking was easy and location for mt st Michel was great. Staff were lovely, breakfast was good and the food at the restaurant was too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location, shuttle to Mont Saint Michel at your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    despite arriving a full hour after we could check in, our room wasn't ready yet... Luckily we weren't too much bothered by that

    Great location, shuttle to Mont Saint Michel at your doorstep, good breakfast & staff was very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing. Photos of the Mont St Michel don't do it justice. It's a fabulous place to see!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are very basic, breakfast is €15 pp extra.

    Perfect location for the Mont St Michel, parking at the hotel is free, staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.8
    parking at hotel during visit Mont Saint Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room what outdated, but that was compensated by the location

    parking at hotel during visit Mont Saint Michel good complete breakfest you can walk to the Mont and have a nice view on it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Very good location, good restaurant, friendly-English...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room With 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t have enough parking lots (in comparison with their number of rooms)

    Very good location, good restaurant, friendly-English speaking staff, clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Small community. Could charge what they liked, limited options. Can't fault staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpets in hallway were very stained which would put it to a 2 star for me, definitely lets it down. Paper cup for tea/ coffee in room. No TV channels to watch for English, only the news. Didn't like to be charged 4 euro's each time we took car out of the road. We had to pay this each time to get back though the barrier.

    We loved the staff. Bed was good. Location to st Mont Michel. Free shuttle to SMM. New bathroom and toilet was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Great position, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The position was excellent. Shuttle bus to the Island was great and very often. We only spent one night so did not have time to really try out the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    So close to the bus stop and within walking distance to Mt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room With 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have to wait untkl 3om to get i to the room because they are still cleaning the room.

    So close to the bus stop and within walking distance to Mt St Michel. Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel that would be fantastic if evening restuarant staff learned how to be pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar and wait staff in the restaurant in the evening - they were rude for no apparent reason.

    This is a great hotel, as close as possible to Mont Saint Michel without being on the island. Rooms are spacious, super clean and well equipped. Reception staff are friendly and helpful, as are the staff at breakfast. The evening staff in the restaurant I found to be very rude, arrogant and unhelpful - a real shame because the food served is high quality and the rest of the service in the hotel was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Overall stay was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall stay was fine. Couple of notes. Wi-Fi barely worked. They send you a gate code for parking but tip use this code to enter and park onsite at the hotel then take free bus to St. Michel. They didn’t tell us this so we paid for parking for St. Michel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Really good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location(quite near to the mountain), you can drive to the hotel via a code sent from the hotel. Breakfast is good. Facilities is somewhat like a motel, but which is common in the area. Staffs are very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Easy access to the mont, go in the morning to minimise crowds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the location beyond the road barrier so hardly any traffic. Great access to the mont. food in restaurant was a good standard with varied choices . Coffee shop across the road also did tasty desserts

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    Location is pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was damp and smelled like urine. Staff were dismissive and wouldn't help me with bus information. Just said they 'didn't know'

    Location is pretty good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Great "base" to See Mont St. Michel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Communication about the need for a gate code to GET to the hotel would have been nice. When we arrived, there was a lot of confusion on where the hotel WAS because we didn't realize that we needed to call the hotel for a code to get past the access gate to the "hotel area". After seeing the tourist traffic, I completely understand the need for limited access, but a "heads up" for a paying customer would have been nice and would have eased the stress level of driving in a foreign country, and not being able to read the local signs....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Booking.com should cut all ties with this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service was horrible. The staff does not care about your well being. Upon checking out we requested a cab to take is to the train station. The staff refused to call because it is too difficult and insisted that we take the bus. They told us a bus would arrive at 2:37 pm. No bus ever showed up, the staff read the wrong timetable or their infomation was out of date. They then agreed to call a cab. Cab never showed up and we walked 8 kilometers to the station almost getting hit by cars as there was no walking pavement. We missed our trains and were forced to pay €200 for another set of tickets to get us back to Paris. We are still trying to make our way back to Germany.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Everything was good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good . There will be your code you get emailed to you day before arrival, plug it in and the riser will lift to get in. Clean and good Location. Eat at la ferme restaurant, not the hotels restaurant. It's a 3 min walk towards back to the riser in the front gate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    The proximity of the restaurant for breakfast, quality of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff/ hotel didn't provide access codes for the barrier to the road which the hotel was on in advance meaning that we had a lengthy wait/delay whilst trying to get in touch with the hotel to gain entry; buses to/from Mont St Michel were always packed and we found it difficult to get on to the bus; we shared a car with another couple staying at the hotel and staff attempted to charge us with an access fee for the gate; not enough available extra pillows.

    The proximity of the restaurant for breakfast, quality of the food for breakfast, proximity of the hotel to Mont St Michel, frequency of transport to Mont St Michel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    We booked a two night stay on this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a two night stay on this hotel. Before you get to it there was a barrier in which you get needed the access code from the hotel in order to get through it. On a positive side it does stop masses of people parking who haven’t booked a hotel who just want to go to the abbey. The Mercure is low rise motel style hotel with non-smoking rooms with good wif-fi and air conditioning. Its two kilometres from the abbey in a well-located and peaceful location. It’s an ideal base to explore the abbey and the surrounding area. Parking is free but please note as we found out do not park underneath the trees as our motorbike got covered in pigeon poo and my husband got splattered too. On room wasn’t ready so the friendly receptionist gave us another at the end of the first floor which had a double and single bed. Our room has two doors, an outside one to enter into the room and another inside dividing the bedroom from the spacious bathroom and ample storage space area. The room had a kettle, a mini bar and a comfortable big bed. We didn’t eat in the restaurant as we thought it was overpriced and breakfast costs 15 euros each so we ate elsewhere. There is a restaurant opposite the hotel and a few others to choose from. The hotel is in front of the bus stop which can take you to the abbey. We walked it as it was worth the view. Overall we were satisfied with our stay at the Mercure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    This hotel was convenient and luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I mistakenly booked two rooms for my family of three. They didn't let us cancel the second room, so our two nights wound up being expensive. However, we each got our own bed, so that was nice.

    The location near the free shuttle busses to le Mont Saint-Michel made this a good choice for us. There are a few other hotels in the same area that you might want to look at, too. We didn't mind staying on the mainland side at all. In fact, getting away from the crowds was nice. The free shuttle busses can be crowded, so we chose to walk the 2 km a couple of times, which we enjoyed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.8
    The hotel informed us that the hotel is fully book and change our booking from 3 double bed rooms to
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel informed us that the hotel is fully book and change our booking from 3 double bed rooms to 2 triple rooms without our consent. We are very disappointed and angry with their arrangement. Moreover, we contact the hotel via email and direct call for the gate entry code because we inform them we will drive and we need the code to open the gate. However, they didn't reply and cut our line when we call them. Finally, i need to walk through the road to the hotel and ask for the code. I can't believed this is a four star hotel with such bad arrangement to their guests.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Grt place to stay if u want to visit mont saint michel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room With 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Very close to mont saint michel. Shuttle bus from the hotel to the island. The room was very comfortable and the parking was very reasonable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent dinner with good menu and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent dinner with good menu and good value. Access to Mont St Michelle by shuttle bus from outside the property Good selection of alternative restaurants close to hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    An excellent place to stay when visiting Mont St Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent with the free shuttle out to Mont St Michel right outside the door. It is only a 25 min walk out to the Mont. The restaurant was excellent food and value and wi fi was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    We might decide to stay on the island if we go again for a more intimate experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room carpet soiled and dirty. No elevator for handicapped or injured (I had a sprained knee) guests. Need instructions on how to find the right entrance gate (there are 2). We had GPS in the car but it quit before we reached Mont Saint Michel.

    Abbey tickets were available for sale at hotel. Very limited restaurant choices at location that were open and very mediocre choices at relatively high prices. More choices on abbey island. Safe and free parking at hotel. Free bus to and from the Abbey. Extensive buffet with many choices-- eggs, sausages, croissants, fruit, juices, cheeses, various hams.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Basic but functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small (but fully equipped) bedroom. Evening meal at restaurant disappointing and pricey

    Ideally placed for shuttle buses. Breakfast very good selection. Other dining facilities close by

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.1
    Not again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of staff seemingly put off, others very helpful. Parking access code was supposedly sent to us via email but never received so a 1/4 mile walk had to be done to get code as they did not answer their phone.

    close location to Mont Ste Michell.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Satisfactory but some shortcomings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have laundry services as I expected, the restaurant staffs and service are either a hit or miss. On 2nd day (6th August) the service was extremely slow and staff told me to wait whenever I make or change the order but actually got ignored until much later. Communication's pretty bad and seems like they try to avoid English speaking tourists which is absurd. Wish I had gone to another restaurant instead but the food was OK and 1st day experience was a lot better!

    Comfy bed, professional services and great view of sunset

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we can hear all the noises from outside from our room and the room is a bit too small for a 4 stars hotel rate

    we have all the comfort but for a price of 4 stars hotel i must say that this room is too small especially the toilet,we almost could not move inside the toilet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    Good room but bad service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad Wifi, No signal in my room and had to use wifi at the lobby throughout my entire stay. Asked the staff if they could do anything. This lady said 'No, too bad you have to use it here at the lobby' Upon checkout, I was charged 80 Euros as 'City Tax' because someone charged his/her dinner to my room. Asked if the tax was 80 Euros, the staff said yes. Staff did not bother to explain or double check. I had to keep asking before she decided to whip out the receipt of the dinner that someone consumed and charged under my room. In the end, the City Tax was 1.10 Euros instead of 80 Euros due to the dinner. The toilet had a stench but it did not affect much.

    The room was spacious and clean. Bed was comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Loved the location. Sucked at toiletries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom toiletries sucked, One small bar of soap and a "cruise ship type" container attached to the wall that served for shampoo and body gel - all in one bottle It cheapens the place and location. Even difficult to squeeze the bottle to release the soap solution.

    reception friendly and accommodating. Mary also told us exactly where to go when we went up to Normandy to observe WWII museums and locations. Loved finding the Normandy American Cemetery. Location of the hotel and access to the free shuttle bus to Mont St. Michel across the street from hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: