Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Le Montana & Spa 4 stars

24 Clos du Montana - Argentière, Argentière, 74400 Chamonix-Mont-Blanc, France

#40 of 47 hotels in Chamonix-Mont-Blanc

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 54 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt so welcomed right from the moment I got to reception! The lobby is charming and cosy, perfect to relax with a cocoa and book or a glass of wine, while my room was so comfortable, with a great view of the mountains (even from the ground floor!) and a heavenly rain shower. I loved relaxing in the hot tub after a day on the slopes (the base of the lift is about a 6 minute walk), especially with how peaceful and quiet the hotel was. At breakfast I saw it was basically fully booked, but you wouldn't know it because of the calm and peaceful atmosphere. Highly recommend for a solo getaway treat or a couple for a relaxing time in Chamonix!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Monotonous breakfasts, no vegetables, no parking lot at the snow court and a very slippery entrance to the hotel, no salt or sand for safety

    comfortable bed, beautiful view, Nice room, proximity to the ski slope good swimingpool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was very poor, so I was unable to do any work. Spa facilities are small, only two chairs, so if other people are there before you there is nowhere to sit inside. The spa also closes early (8pm) so if you want a late night swim or jacuzzi it's not possible. You also have to pay extra for the sauna. No breakfast if booking here online. But the hotel and facilities are really lovely overall, just a bit expensive.

    We had a junior suite which was super comfortable, with a great view. Bed was amazing and blackout curtains provided a nice dark room to sleep in. Owners were a very kind family and the hotel has a super cozy feeling. Lovely warm pool and jacuzzi. Billiards. Great location next to lift Grand Montets.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing "extra";all to be paid for ,to the extent that the staff removed an apple which belonged to me from our room!There was a notice in the breakfast area to the effect that you had to pay for any food not consumed at breakfast (which was expensive enough, anyway).Made me feel very unwelcome. No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Often not enough towels left in room. Mini bar fridge didn't work properly. Terrible smell in shower. No way a 4* hotel - maybe for the spa area, but the rest is more 3*/3.5*

    Comfortable room, nicely decorated;spa area excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a disappointing stay. A lot of stuff was at extra cost, the staff was not particularly friendly and accommodating or solution oriented. Facilities are definitely not worth of a 4* hotel... Maybe the place checks all the boxes on paper, but in practice it is definitely hugely overpriced.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite with Mont Blanc View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room due to plumbing problem Pillows poor Breakfast expensive as extra

    View of mountains

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location next the the ski lift, but incredibly over priced other than that. The "ski room" is a basement closet without any proper boot heaters, ect. Spa facility hours are very limited. Would be a good hotel if it was in the bargain price range.

    Location to ski lift

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The skiroom was a bit basic and situated in the basement, but that's the only real downside I saw and not a real issue for us.

    Excellent location with easy access to the different skidomains and ample parking. Good information from the host on interesting diner addresses nearby and advice on where to ski depending on your level. Nice junior suite, well equiped with a beautifull bathroom and absolute silence during the night.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Chamonix is a wonderful ski area and this is the best hotel I have stayed in in the area. Very comfortable, friendly and homely. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It is rather expensive but that's because of location however service and cosy quality feel made up for it.

    Didn't have breakfast so can't comment. Not big rooms but very comfy, smart. Lovely bathrooms. Wifi was average. Nice cosy lounge with log fire. 5 minute walk to the main lift station.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff,beautiful rooms combined with a James Bond level Spa! This beautifully restored hotel retains a very comfortable Alpine bar/Lounge.The excellent breakfast makes this a future regular hotel!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was not so much variety in what was available for breakfast.

    Fresh, modern and comfortable room with great views. Perfect location walking distance to the ski lift.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The lady at reception was not at all friendly. The bed was exceptionally hard. The breakfast was poor. I thought that for Euro 330 for one night this hotel was absolutely not worth the money - we would not stay there again.

    The view from our room was fantastic. The interior of the rooms have recently been updated and use nice old looking word on the walls however, it is clear they have just laid new styling over the existing materials rather than creating a "new" interior (for example there were 3 different types of flooring in our room - not a good look).

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the road noise made it very difficult to sleep especially as the windows needed to be open as it was hot

    awesome room with all the conveniences; good location

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was so hot. And the bathroom reeked badly of mold/mildew. It could be smelled throughout the room, but was lessened if the sliding door was shut.

    Quiet! So few places we've been in Europe have truly been quiet. And that was also important because the room was so hot all 4 nights we had to sleep with the patio door wide open. Very peaceful place, welcoming and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I felt it was quite expensive to stay there although great location. Breakfast we didn't par take due to the cost also and there were no tea and coffee making facilities and to buy coffee was also very expensive.

    The view was lovely and the room was as well. There was a lovely pool and spa.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    An absolutely out of this world experience and not in a good way. Read on if only for entertainment value... Advertised as hotel and spa with no mention of extra cost for the spa. When we asked about the spa we were told we had to book in advance and there was a EUR 10 charge per person per sauna and Hammam. So 60 EUR per day. We disagreed when the bill arrived and they called the police. The owner parked his car in front of ours to block it and told us we couldn't leave. The police took the hotel's side regarding the bill but we did they the owners it was illegal to take hostages...so we did get our car out eventually. The hotel's triple room was too small for 3 adults. When we asked about something bigger we were told by the lady owner at reception that's what we had booked online and she then hung up. At breakfast (17€ pp per day) I asked for another glass of orange juice and was told there was a limit of one glass per person. We had a friend round for coffee and he was not offered a drink even though staff were hanging around doing nothing. When the coffee came they brought no cup and we had to fetch one ourselves. Needless to say the whole experience was somewhat upsetting and we left not quite believe what just happened.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dark and uninviting lounge area.

    Super helpful management Lovely pool and sauna

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Expensive

    Proximity to the ski lift, hotel facilities and customer service

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not suitable if you are looking for busy night life bear by.

    Christoph and Jordan are awesome!

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Convenient clean and great service

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice atmosphere, close to lifts.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: