Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Montilleul 2 stars

47, Avenue Jean Mermoz, 64000 Pau, France

#24 of 42 hotels in Pau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 407 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to share a toilet but that was a minor inconvenience. Perhaps more of a problem if I was travelling with my wife - having to go out into the reception area during the night.

    Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Home feeling and a staff that gives the extra (even by not being there)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    - A bit dark in the room - No one came when it was chek out, so we had to leave the keys on the desk, but that gives a feeling of "come and go" as in your own home

    - I arrived unexpectedly late (after closing), but there was no problem, they left the key for me at the desk - They kept all my heavy luggage while I went out, so grateful for that! - They answer really quickly on mail and telephone - The room and bathroom clean, and nice, and un-noisy - I would stay here again !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    for PVC lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room small with a dreadful smell of plastic seemingly from new PVC windows Long way from centre and nowhere to eat in walking distance

    parking at hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    Not bad but not excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff is not trained. Cleaning staff forgot to do the room once. management did not offer discount for the mistake. It not clear on the booking plateforms that the cheapest room has NO private WC

    Friendly staff and trying to do the best they could to make you feel good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very welcoming, they had breakfast ready for...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very welcoming, they had breakfast ready for the time we had asked for and it was delicious! Even though the hotel is next to an avenue, it was really calm, we couldn't hear any noise coming from the outside. The parking was a big plus as we had to run some errands nearby. Thanks again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    A very cozy and friendly place
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far away from town (about 20-25 min by foot), but the bus stop just outside Not many (food)shops around

    The staff was really sympathique, helpful and nice. Luggage store A cat The breakfast, French but enough Clean and good room Wifi Bus stop 1 min from hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    3.3
    When i arrived at hotel at 10 at night the girl the owner's daughter ignored me as she was on the te
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing i liked was it was near town centre.

    The only reason i booked the hotel was i read reviews saying they speak english and are very helpful which was not true.plus you asked about coffee.there was no coffee offered.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.3
    Disapointing.Have had better places through Booking.Com.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaner Shower/bath curtain black mould all along bottom. Bath not clean.Tiles around bath black mould in grouting. WIFI not connecting to any device

    not a lot

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.2
    no toilets in 50% of the rooms, but common toilets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no toilets in 50% of the rooms, but common toilets. no door for the toilets but just a tairpoulin my room was in the cellar price too high for this kind of services

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Receptionist was available für checkin after 10pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom were very small but for the price this was actually ok.

    Receptionist was available für checkin after 10pm. The personnel was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    Poor lights in bedroom and access to bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lights in bedroom and access to bedroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value, will come back whenever in Pau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can get noisy if sleeping with open window due to road traffic.

    Friendly staff, car park, good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Charming old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad coffee

    Charming old building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Don't !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very basic, bed was harder than a hard thing.

    Coffee was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was what it was.

    Very small room, adequate for one night, bathroom v small, staff friendly and helpful, room clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    location was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    location was fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice and clean!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With a car is perfect! A bit far from city centre

    Nice and clean!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    My stay in Pau
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical French building

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    I recommend this hotel for its friendly and helpful staff and its great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deco

    Warmth of staff. Helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.8
    Clean,basic accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities would have been nice. Wi Fi was limited

    Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.1
    Easy to find and close to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities a little jaaded and could do with update. Wifi utter rubbish in the room but ok in reception

    Easy to find and close to city centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    I ejoyed it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    so easy - the whole thing

    friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and an straightforward stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Very clean and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and very helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.7
    Shirt visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not havet time for sightseeing

    Not Planner visit in Pau

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.3
    Reasonable value but tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Balcony door did not lock properly therefore was insecure & let traffic noise in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    2.9
    Would not recommend this hotel to anyone the reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was a converted bidet would

    Room was poor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor internet connexion

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    great hotel in lovely town in need of some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    needs TLC

    lovely building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    Lovely old house in a great city. It needs some tlc!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared toilet

    The hotel owner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    Short and sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were very forgiving of my wine spillage on the carpet. I did offer to pay for cleaning but they wouldn't take it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    very pleasant and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    warm welcome and well situated

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been more private

    Very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.5
    Helpful friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower /bathroom very average

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel in the centre of Pau
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature in the room. No Airco in the room.

    Very friendly hotel owner. Safe parking. Near the cwntre. This is my second time. I will come back

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.3
    Safe parking and within walking distance of the old centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Safe parking and within walking distance of the old centre. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.9
    Handy for Pau city centre, on-site parking, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Handy for Pau city centre, on-site parking, good value

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.5
    Cheap and basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing fancy, but nothing to complain about.

    Cheap and basic. Secure, free parking. Not too far from the center.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    8.3
    We were made welcome by the very friendly proprietors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were made welcome by the very friendly proprietors. Our room was adequate and we had a lovely view towards the Pyrennees. Only breakfast was available, but went into Pau centre for our evening meal. Parking facilities in front of hotel secure overnight.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.2
    Ideally placed for exploring Pau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideally placed for exploring Pau. Decent car park and comfortable room. Breakfast was available (but no other meals). We dined out. Pau is well worth a good look around

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    3.8
    Good location for Pau old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very basic room. No soap or shampoo and no door on toilet/bathroom , just a curtain ! My wife was not allowed to take a coffee to our room owners said they had a bad experience in the past !!

    Good location for Pau old town

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.9
    Car parking excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I went to watch the canoeing at the whitewater park and this hotel was on the far side of the city, but this was hardly the fault of the hotel. The room was very small but adequate for one person. Double occupancy would have been very cramped. Wifi code was very long, but service was OK.

    Car parking excellent. Staff very friendly. 25 mins walk from central Pau. Breakfast basic continental but with some excellent local cheese plus cereal and yoghurt.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    We stayed at Hotel Montilleul for 8 nights and made it our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at Hotel Montilleul for 8 nights and made it our base for exploring the area.The proprietors were very helpful and friendly and ready with advice. Although the hotel is a kilometre from the town centre,there is a free car park in the town which is convenient for restaurants and shopping.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    A very welcoming and restful stay just a short hop from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A very welcoming and restful stay just a short hop from the main train station by bicycle. The owners went out of their way to help with phone charging, bike storage and restaurant recommendation (excellent Vietnamese down the road). Very clean and comfortable room, and a great breakfast with nice views of the private grounds. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    8.8
    This is a fantastic place to stay in Pau in terms of value,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing!

    This is a fantastic place to stay in Pau in terms of value, staff friendliness, proximity to downtown. It was really warm when we were there, so sleeping was a little tough, but we knew we weren't getting air conditioning, so not a complaint, just a note. We walked downtown to dinner, and there were many places to choose from. Our host was really helpful and had a great sense of humor. We would definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    Very nice and helpful owners/ staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little bit stuffy, probably due to the whole floor carpeting.

    Very nice and helpful owners/ staff. The hotel building was a beautiful old building and our room had an entrance to a big terrace, which was nice. Also free private parking was available!

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    7.5
    Very friendly owners and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No bathroom door and needs a bit of renovation

    Very friendly owners and good location

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    10
    The proprietors were friendly and they could not have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The proprietors were friendly and they could not have been more helpful. The hotel was easy to find with good free parking.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful alternative to boring chain hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wonderful alternative to boring chain hotels. Great breakfast. Run with great care by the owners.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    Very well situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very well situated. Owner very welcoming and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    A friendly family run hotel with parking and excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A friendly family run hotel with parking and excellent service. I only stayed one night, but want to go back to explore the area more fully

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    5.8
    Friendly reception
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Traffic noise during the afternoon

    Friendly reception

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.5
    Owner very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and bed was small and breakfast expensive for what it was. Nothing else.

    Owner very helpful. Parkinon property.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.5
    Very friendly owners, good breakfast, good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Inconvenient location if you don't have a car

    Very friendly owners, good breakfast, good service Free private parking

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    10
    Friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly welcome. A garage for my bicycle. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    7.9
    Freindly and helpful staff, parking, WiFi, price and position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Freindly and helpful staff, parking, WiFi, price and position

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    8.8
    Plenty of room to park in a secure area and an easy straight...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Plenty of room to park in a secure area and an easy straight walk to town.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    7.5
    Large comfy bed, good shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit out of town

    Large comfy bed, good shower

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    8.3
    Off-road parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing much

    Off-road parking

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: