Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Montmorency 3 stars

2 Rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France

#14 of 36 hotels in Carcassonne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1168 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Amazing Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakast is expensive and meal options are limited, though you will probably want to eat out in the city. The room would be better with coffee facilities and a table would be useful ( especially outside ) for eating

    The location could not be better and the pool area is lovely after a long hot day. Rooms are large and air conditioning works well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    I did not like the way the staff behaved !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the way the staff behaved ! The staff were rude and not very helpful! We went to the management with our problems and we were basically told that we should leave the hotel if we weren’t satisfied with the service they were providing ! On previous experiences when staying in a hotel , management would normally ask what they can do to help to make our stay more enjoyable . In hotel Montmorency, the answer was pack up and leave. My impression was that the hotel was so busy they weren’t interested whether we stayed or left ! 😡 We would not recommend this hotel !!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Value added enjoyment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Easy to miss on first pass with the car.

    Location is perfect and plenty of private parking. Room was clean and efficient. Breakfast was amazing and the bar allows you to relax at night looking at the walled medieval city of Carcassonne.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Good value no finesse that would be easy to achieve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows terrible, cracked tiles in bathrooms. Exterior bar area needed cigarettes picked up and a vacumn.

    Great location but the city is really a beautiful tourist trap loads of overpriced stuff to buy etc. Visit for an hour or so then go back into real France. We will go for the fireworks next year. Hotel pool small, rooms ok but terrace pointless. Bar was great and not expensive. Staff lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    All in all a wonderfully located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very very small, no complimentary water or coffee in the room which for a 3 star I would expect. Hair and body shampoo was watered down as opposed to being replenished to go further in the bathroom.

    Location perfect and pool facilities excellent; so too was the bar and general ambience of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Contemporary Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, I didn’t have a balcony or a view of the castle and I had requested both.

    The pool area was quiet, the location was excellent and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Great views, fantastic service, comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Contemporary Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent Hotel with a view of the Old Walled Carcasonne. We were 'over' the road at the cheaper sister hotel but shared facilities with the main hotel breakfast, bar, pool. Breakfast was quirky but fantastic served on the patio of the main hotel looking at the city walls, the table was laid with baskets of pastries and bread, yoghurt, cheese, ham and fruit more than enough for all plus juice and tea and coffee as requested. We were in town for England playing in the World Cup so sat and watched the game with some more Brits and also some amused Australians a cosmopolitan feel! The pool was smallish but adequate with a jacuzzi, plenty of sun beds and table service. A short uphill walk took you into the walled city and a variety of restaurants that were open 7 days a week.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Delightful garden and pool by the walls of the Cité
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a dislike but important. Some guests are surprised that the Montmorency is a annex to the more expensive Hotel du Chateau across the road. But you have access to the bar/terrace, breakfast, garden, parking and pool of the more upmarket hotel. I think this is a great selling point for the Montmorency.

    Loved having breakfast in the beautiful garden which overlooks the walls of the ancient cité. The location of this hotel is perfect and the surroundings exceptionally attractive. Rooms are comfortable and secure parking is free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, lovely town/city, pink wallpaper was...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, lovely town/city, pink wallpaper was slightly outdated and princess style (suit a little girl) but i didn't spend long in the hotel due to work commitments. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel montmorency is a bit overpriced. Breakfast was dear at 15 euros and parking cost 10 euros per day. We would have liked a fridge in the room or tea / coffee facilities. The décor was a mix of country and 80s style which was strange.

    The location was perfect for us - 5 minute walk from the medieval city and bus stop for the airport. The pool area at main Hotel du Chateau (across the road) was very nice and the parking was very secure. Bed was comfy and room 48 was very quiet. Aircon was also good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location, use a number 4 bus to get from the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, use a number 4 bus to get from the train station only realised this on last day. Beautiful pool area and jacuzzi, lovely decorated rooms and even a small garden. People commented about walking over the road from reception but this really is not an issue. Medieval city is amazing and a must see, although in new part of town a bit far to walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Will stay again however would upgrade to a balcony or garden room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Vending machine in lobby but no chilled water so an ice dispenser would be good. No apres shampooing in room. Breakfast expensive but plentiful and would prefer a smaller less costly option.

    Location, cleanliness, use of Hotel de Chateau facilities, comfort of public areas and attentive and helpful Staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect loication for the Cite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance and corridors to the Hotel Montmorency felt like an out of hours disco, but hey you don't sleep in the corridors!

    Great location, Decent rooms, The facilities at the sister Hotel du chateau just over the road are very pleasant with a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Very good accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good accommodation at two separated houses. Our room was clean and comfortable. Location is fantastic just a couple of steps from Carcasson castle gate. Staff was helpful with fluent English. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    An amazing location and a lovely hotel, really recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Country Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    Beds very comfy, lovely pool area, fantastic location for medieval city, easy stroll to new town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is fine, location right outside castle/fortress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room layout was peculiar and not particularly convenient. Tough to find a place to put and open your luggage. Bathroom layout was very odd (location of toilet and paper). If you have trouble getting in and out of a tall sided tub or are a somewhat larger person, I would not recommend this.

    Hotel is fine, location right outside castle/fortress. Pay Parking is convenient but you must check in before you can access the enclosed lot. You must check in across the street at their more upscale facility, then cross back over for your room access. Staff pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Location, Location, Location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception and breakfast is separate from actual hotel rooms. Mental image of booked hotel is from the reception area.

    Location is perfect, right next to access to Carcassonne castle. Parking is safe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Attractive hotel with one of the best locations in Carcassonne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were under the impression all rooms had either a balcony or a terrace which was not the case so read all the information and check this if you require one. The 'modern' decor of the hotel foyer is horrible and didn't suit the age of the building. Black walls and doors cheapen what is a lovely building!

    Location couldn't be better, this hotel is just outside the Cite gates. Hotel Montmorency is situated across the road from Hotel Chateau, whose facilities could be used including the swimming pool. The country superior room was pretty, spotless and welcoming and decor suited the character of the building. The bed was comfy and shower over the bath was adequate. Shutters on the windows allowed black out at night and the location was peaceful. Breakfast was expensive at 30 euros a nights for 2 so we didn't eat in the hotel at all. It is so close to the Cite where there are loads of restaurants anyway. Bar was welcoming at night for a nightcap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    A fabulous weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was a little ‘snug’!

    The staff were helpful and very friendly. We loved Eliot, the hotel dog! The situation of the hotel couldn’t be beaten, 5 minutes walk to the old city and yet away from the crowds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    The facilities, outdoor pool, bar/seating area looking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was limited due to there not being a kitchen in the hotel but it was fresh and tasty so as long as you know what to expect it’s nice. Also it’s so close to the cite which has many cafes and restaurants that it’s not really an issue.

    The facilities, outdoor pool, bar/seating area looking out on the Cité were great. Spa was also nice although it cost extra. It was great to have access to all the facilities of the main hotel but have the more affordable price of the Montmorenecy rooms. Staff were very nice and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Good but not perfect, too expensive for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price does not match with the quality. It was really expensive for only a tiny room with a small bath. Definitely not worth the price. Breakfast was not included and it costs 15€ per person.

    A cozy small room in a hotel just right next to La cité. Amazing location. Clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    A lucky pick from Internet and we were delighted with it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was highly satisfactory Excellent location for Citadel and Airport Bus Ground Floor Apartment which opened to garden Breakfast to be highly recommended Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    No value for money. Small rooms and small bed. Private sauna only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super small rooms for the price. They didn’t inform that the sauna was only for private use and had an exorbitant fee to get in. If you haven’t booked in advance don’t expect to get a slot at the spa. Hate that all the information isn’t clearly mentioned. I would’ve liked to know that is a private sauna.

    Very close to the centre of Carcassone. Patio was a nice touch. No reception entry was great and hassle free.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    The room was very spacious and beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water didn't work for our shower

    The room was very spacious and beds were comfortable. The breakfast was great and the views of the medieval city were amazing. It was a quick walk to get there as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to reach the reception. We had to pick up the key at another location opposite the hotel. It took very long before someone answered the doorbell.

    Nice hotel in a great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    A little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was well appointed but very tiny ... that said there was a lovely area to sit down in the garden outside which would have been perfect in the summer (it was end November when we stayed).

    The location is perfect for the medieval city - and has secure parking for an additional €10 per night. The staff were absolutely delightful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    very close to the entrance to old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two hotels divided by the road. Only one of them has restaurant and it is not montmorency. So when I needed some beer, water and tea I had to go to another hotel, take all this and go across the road with all the stuff. I was helped with doors by a member a staff- it was very gentle of him. Very modest breakfast. Small rooms. Beds smaller than written on their booking.com page

    very close to the entrance to old town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms small and couldn’t find the difference between Classic and Superior Classic and bathrooms on the small side.

    The fresh local produce used at breakfast was great but too much!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    A relaxing break in an outstanding location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Contemporary Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Although you have to cross the road from the main hotel you have access to facilities of a four star accommodation but without paying the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Contemporary Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t anything I didn’t really like! If I had to think of anything it might be that our room was very loudly decorated, but even that was okay!

    The hotel was in a perfect position for visiting the medieval City. The view was beautiful! The hotel also had behind a gate parking so we knew the car was secure. The room was a cube with everything you could possibly need. Very well thought out!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous location just outside the Citadel Walls - our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Contemporary Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some aspects of the "design" were a little strange - head of the bed being a couple of inches lower than the foot & the room's down-lights cycling on & off making it hard to find anything in the wardrobe

    Fabulous location just outside the Citadel Walls - our bedroom & en-suite looked fabulous - car park is reassuringly secure - quality of food at breakfast is good but fixed selection gives limited choice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location with wonderful breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress could use replacing

    Just outside the old City--so you didn't need to deal with hauling your luggage up through the medieval town. Great staff. We pulled into the concrete area in front of the doors of the hotel, but walked across the street to check in. Unloaded the car and moved it into the secure parking area. Wonderful breakfast and service. Room was tiny and need some updating. Mattress a little uncomfortable--but we were there only one night. The hotel has a very modern look but some of the rooms, like ours, are decorated in the French country look.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    A great spot to stay while visiting Carcassonne
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Contemporary Large Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the family apartment which was a great size. We would have appreciated a small kitchenette to store some food and make tea/coffee, however the staff were only too happy to refrigerate a few items we had with us

    Fantastic location within walking distance of the old town. Beautiful view from the outdoor terrace to the stone wall of Carcassonne. The pool was a bonus for our family

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    A delightful end to our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that you have to pay 10 Euros to park in the car park. The loo paper holder in the bathroom was behind the loo and impossible to reach without contortions. Bad design!

    The location is great, very quiet, yet only a minute from the entrance to the Cité. Our room was tastefully decorated in a chinoiserie wallpaper. It was roomy enough with a big double bed and a spare single. The bathroom was well appointed, although small. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant break in a wonderful location - good food, wine and history
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Breakfast was fabulous and served to the table which made a great change. Location location! View of the ramparts is brilliant particularly at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Location and parking were perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Contemporary Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little on the pricey side but for the convenience to the old city it was worth it. Morning staff were lovely, evening staff could have been a little more helpful in explaining the old city when I was asking for information.

    Location and parking were perfect. Room was nicely decorated, modern and very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely spot with views of the old city nearby and an easy walk to the action.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small but for one night it was fine.

    Loved the dining room with its view of the ramparts and the pretty sitting area around the pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.3
    Felt like the poor relation to the hotel opposite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is an annexe of the Hotel Du Chateau on the opposite side of the road. Hotel has no facilities of its own and no staff on site. Locked at all times it is accessed via a keypad entry. The rooms are incredibly small and the bathroom ludicrously tiny! You cannot swing the proverbial cat and you go through the door sideways. Ridiculous!

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Give this hotel a try - you won't be disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Position of hotel so close to the city was just amazing. Staff were helpful & willing to do whatever to make yo feel at home. Room was clean, bed comfy, pool just right for a dip & sunbathe as weather was glorious. if you want to visit Carcassonne; then this hotel is right outside the city gates. You can pick up the navette bus from airport for 5 euros & it drops you off right outside. Couldn't rate vegetarian option, as not applicable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    location and amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bedroom has no drawers and very little space to store clothes

    location excellent and grounds very well cared for . Outside seating areas very comfortable and of course the view to the City .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Great first night for our stay in Carcassonne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real down side during the stay

    Hotel ideally placed for a stay next to the Cite in Carcassonne. Nice pool area and Bar for relaxing. The Montmorency is more of an annexe to Hotel Le Chateau and after booking in or using the pool bar or restaurant its a v short walk across a road to get to the front door of the Montmorency. Rooms are pleasant and ours had a small terrace overlooking "la cite" Friendly staff, breakfast quite expensive for what it is, but was OK. Would stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel , beautiful setting and grounds , a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Contemporary Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally although a friendly welcome , it should have been more informative i.e , I asked about the opening times of their own village restaurant and response was I don't know . However as said all the same very friendly

    Lovely hotel , beautiful setting and grounds , a great experience . Although clearly an expensive hotel with an exquisite restaurant , it's still feels family friendly and relaxed .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    We stayed only one night but we enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit too expensive. We would expect more with regard of the price. Proximity to the Cité is probably main reason.

    We stayed only one night but we enjoyed. Nice clean room with balcony, whith a view to the ramparts. Breakfast excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Great stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to walk up steps to our room with all our luggage! No lift.

    We didn't have breakfasts as they were expensive but the location and view from our balcony was superb. Car parking secure. Pool area at sister hotel was lovely. Had a drink at the bar there'.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    AMAZING LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception area check in and Bar is beautiful, with castle view. however our rooms were in a seperate building to the back with no views, a bit disappointing. The decor is mixed, ultra mod entrance, then the room was old country style, quite small but adequate. The view at the bar makes up for this and its so close to the castle that location is amazing.

    Amazing View of the castle, the bar sit out area really is its unique selling point. The staff are friendly and speak english. The rooms are small but clean and well serviced. This hotel is on the steps of the castle, lit up at night time it is a beautiful spot to have a drink and enjoy the view, breathtaking. Pool is lovely and private, have car park facilities and close to public transport. location amazing. yes, i would recommend and revisit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Wondeully and modern hotel in old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Contemporary Large Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night in Carcassonne.

    Carcassonne and the medieval castle are a must. The location is directly across from the remparts. It is a modern hotel and we had the house that accommodates 10, although we didn't use the third floor. We had access to our private garden and stunning views. The modern house was very comfortable and tge bathrooms were spacious. The breakfast was excellent and if not for the cold and rainy weather, we would have eaten outside on the beautiful terrasse.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent decor - Perfect location - friendly polite staff -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner in room chirped like a cricket all night. No food for kids. Food and drink a bit pricey.

    Excellent decor - Perfect location - friendly polite staff - very clean - beautiful settings / garden

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were sultry, they kept you waiting for service - in their time. This did not apply to the mature elegant lady, but the younger staff. At breakfast the coffee was cold. The space allowed for two people at breakfast was not sufficient, you were expected to juggle with all that was placed on the tiny table. Very cluttered and stressful. .

    Location Ease of parking View from the terrace Security Bath, although could not reach the body wash.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Stunning location and - hence - somewhat overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the bathroom tiny.

    The location is stunning - just by the old city of Carcassonne. The sister hotel, which is where you check in and where breakfast is served, is beautiful and no doubt the rooms are much nicer (as well as much pricier).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Country Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive (€15) for what you got. No tea making facilities or fridge in the room.

    The location was amazing. Right outside the main gate to the Cite. The pool was great to cook off after a hot day exploring. The bar was reasonably priced with an amazing view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, friendly staff, decent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear other rooms although supposed to be soundproof, could do with a lick of paint, bathroom quite small, no shampoo provided (only hair and body gel).

    Excellent location, French shutters good for sleeping, very friendly staff with perfect English.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    The hotel is directly across the medieval city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is directly across the medieval city. The staff, service and breakfast are amazing. Truly exceeded our expectation and we will definitely come back for another longer stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little on the small side but other than that, not a lot was wrong with our visit.

    The hotel is literally right outside the castle (Cité De Carcassone) and was within walking distance of the local shops. The grounds of the Hotel grounds were well kept and beautiful. The pool was clean and private. The evening vibe was laid back and friendly. You are able to sit outside and just lay back and relax with a drink. The staff can't do enough for you. They were great, very personable and welcoming. The staff also speak fluent English for those of you who are a little green with your French (like myself!) Special mention of the hotel mascot, the wonderfully friendly Basset Hound! Make sure you give him a stroke and say hello!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.8
    The proximity to la citie and the use of the sister hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was over priced.

    The proximity to la citie and the use of the sister hotel facilities (la chateau). E. G the pool and 24hr bar. Reception was very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Great location very close to the medieval city, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adding tea making facilities / a kettle to the room would be an improvement. Drinks could be obtained at the main hotel bar 24/7 though.

    Great location very close to the medieval city, comfortable room, great staff. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Carcassone. Enjoyed speaking to Elliot the friendly (If greedy) dog who lived at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Great Location, a Bit Confusing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ours was one of two properties under the same management. One is across the street from the other, where the reception and breakfast room are located. Each has a different name, making things a little confusing at first. Having to go outside to get to the reception and breakfast could be a problem in bad weather. I think we paid more than we should have. I thought I had arranged for breakfast in advance, but we were charged extra for that. We were also charged daily for parking, even though we did not drive to the property, nor did we ever have a car while there (?!?). Breakfast, though good, was more than we needed, really, and more than I expected to pay.

    No hotel is closer to the entrance of the old town of Carcassonne, making it a great location. Both the room and common areas were attractively decorated. The little garden seating area was nice if you plan to spend much time at your room. They have real AC here (one that actually makes the room colder) second only to a place we stayed at in Venice. The breakfast was very good and quite hearty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is managed with a 4 star property Pics you see for the 3 star property is actually in the grounds of the 4 star property You can use them, but is slightly misleading. PleAse note reception for this property is in the 4 star property, slightly confusing at check in

    Great location. Nice sitting area for us outside our room Parking secure with code ( combined with 4 star property)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Good location -shower needs fixing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needs work - taps stuck and hard to use, grate blocked and smell in room overnight from shower drain - but Management took a note when mentioned so will hopefully fix it up

    Location the best, staff lovely, Elliot the dog great for kids, bar location great for gazing at castle , pool was great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel in wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Contemporary Large Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main recommendation would be a rail around the staircase in this particular suite as it was open - may be a bit of a worry if staying there with children. Only one mirror in the suite - as our party was 6 ladies sharing, we could have done with a few extra. Could also do with a small fridge in the dining/lounge area downstairs to keep bottles of water cool. Small sink in downstairs loo could have been handy as had to go up the 'scary' stairs to wash hands after use! These points are personal opinion for recommendations only in this particular suite. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel (or the family suite) again!

    Fantastic location, just outside the main gate into La Cite. Fabulous accommodation (we stayed in a suite which slept up to 10 people) very comfy, spacious and very clean. Use of the pool and facilities at the sister hotel was a great added bonus, especially sitting in the bar area at night with stunning views of La Cite! Very helpful, friendly staff. Really was a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    Great reception area at the foot of the castle walls in a...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our actual accommodation was across the road from the main hotel and the entrance looked somewhat like a sleaze bar in Soho (as I would, of course, imagine) and the room itself was really tiny (ie no room to put a suitcase) with very dated décor/French wallpaper. Further no facilities to make a drink or any fridge. The set breakfast at a fixed price was expensive (which given we had the dining room to ourselves and we had the pick of the seats was only worth it for one morning to sit facing the gardens to the castle). I did not like the food being delivered to the table on various plates which, of course, would most likely mean what the previous guests did not eat would be re-served; I would have preferred a buffet style breakfast. The food itself was good/plentiful. Car parking not cheap but seemed secure) The location is great for visiting the castle, however to get to the newer part of the town (for sightseeing; shops and crossing the lovely old foot bridge) one really should go on the signed foot path which is on the other side of the castle walls. In order to visit a vet (which was a 10 minutes walk in the direction behind our accommodation) the route was not at all pleasant; dusty/dirty; many run down shops/buildings [however a good chemist shop] ; cars parked on the pavement meant constantly stepping into the road of fast moving traffic, etc. We went in the morning to the vet and I would not suggest going in this direction on a dark evening. {The vet itself, as suggested by the tourist office, was good].

    Great reception area at the foot of the castle walls in a nice garden area with friendly people at the reception. Really great location for visiting old Carcassonne/the castle.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location right next door to the Medieval city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Contemporary Large Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used an electric kettle and/ or a kitchenette in the unit we were in... just to be able to make a cup of tea in the evening before bed....

    Great location right next door to the Medieval city. Excellent breakfast provided by the hotel at a reasonable price. Elliott the basset hound was a delight

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's so close to the Walled City. You also get to use all the facilities (including pool & parking) of the sister hotel across the road (this is where you need to check-in). We'd stayed in the main hotel before so knew we'd get good service. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are slightly small but as you're out all day it didn't matter to us. Also, like most of France, there's no tea/coffee making facilities or fridge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Going to Carcassonne?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was as happy as Larry

    The location is perfect, we went to the castle and had a lovely walk around the magnificient old buildings. It took us 20 minutes from the train station to the hotel and its right at the entrance to the castle. Beautiful Hotel, friendly staff, defnitively worth the stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable well-designed hotel perfectly located in Carcassonne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very small but at the price perfectly acceptable.

    Enjoyed using the restaurant which was in the 4* adjacent hotel. Lovely grounds with fantastic views of the old city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous location and great hotel for the Cite of Carcassonne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    15 euros for breakfast so we walked into the cite -100 metres away and had breakfast in the main square!

    The individuality of the rooms and having a patio.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.1
    Spacious accommodation close to old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Contemporary Large Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was only one toilet and shower in an accommodation that would 10 people easily and that there were no cooking facilities or even a kettle or fridge

    We liked the large amount of rooms and proximity to the old town

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Perfect Carcassonne hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Contemporary Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor point; you must cross the street to check in.

    The room was spacious, the staff extra helpful, the location unbeatable, and the room's terrace very pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    A perfect stopover right next to the Old City
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Country Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldnt find any areas for improvement!

    The location was perfect - just outside the old city walls. The hotel is set within lovely gardens with its own private parking. An easy walk to the main modern town, and about 30 seconds away from the main entrance to the old city. Service was great, food good - bar in the hotel was excellent. Hosts and staff were very pleasant and efficient. We arrived a little early and our rooms were ready:)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.2
    A relaxing one night stay in Carcassonne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Country Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only small gripe was having to pay 10 euro for parking when space on site. Apart from that all was excellent.

    A very friendly, comfortable hotel with great views of Carcassonne city walls. Visted in February so weather cold but enjoyed the comfort of the hotel bar / restaurant. Service was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.2
    Amazing 24 hour views of Cite historic ramparts
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom a little small, but OK. Storage for clothes very small.

    Right outside the main entrance to ancient town. Ground floor room with private small garden and terrace perfect for a pet. Spa available in winter. Excellent Sushi in town, Sushi Boat especially. Cassioullet plat de jour in Ancient cite is great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.1
    Good hotel/location - needs some facility upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Contemporary Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel of this standard, & we did think it good, to have no in room tea / coffee / complimentary water was poor Even the common area at the entrance had nothing - we note that others have made similar comments in reviews Also didn't like "old fashion keys", as opposed to "key cards" - some upgrade required

    Location Room comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    Perfect setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit pricey so opted to find somewhere in the cité - plenty of cafes to choose from . Did have lunch at the hotel which was quite tasty but basically a ready meal heated in a jar as they do not have a restaurant .

    Super location with secure parking ... although a little hard to initially find reception as it is at the sister hotel . Staff very helpful and friendly and room very comfortable with its own private outside sitting area .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    Exceptional location & fabulous hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Country Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is so close to the entrance of the walled medieval city of Carcassonne, literally across the road and a few steps away! Exceptional hotel, staff attentive from the moment we arrived!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had a VERY noisy drinks dispensing machine which could be heard when the bedroom doors were closed. Would not stay again because of this.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.9
    Location. Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rudeness of one staff member who just laughed when I brought to her attention that it was impossible to see the numbers on the bar code on the back entry of hotel du chatau because it was a very dark wet night and there was no lighting . Having said that all other members of staff were helpfull and friendly .

    Bed Linen and towels were of good quality . Housekeeping was excellent .

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: