Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Oceania Le Métropole 4 stars

3 rue Clos Rene, 34000 Montpellier, France

#1 of 57 hotels in Montpellier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1390 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, great breakfast, with lots of choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a disability I was unable to get access to the pool which was unfortunate as this was one of the main reasons why I chose this hotel ☹️. The fitness room has just 4 machines- quite basic

    Lovely hotel, great breakfast, with lots of choices. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Perfect city-center location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was strange: bathroom is a glass-encased corner that has open ceiling so the steam from the shower spreads throughout the room. (It all looked nice, though)

    Location: right next to place de la comedie, which is center of city

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Situated in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service to have a drink at the garden or lobby could be better (also they don't serve any snacks during the day).

    Situated in the city centre. Nice, modern room with a very good shower!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    I would recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool is nice but was a bit crowded. Would be nice if there are more chairs.

    Walking distance from the train station and right in the city center, very good location; the soundproof of the hotel is awesome, our room face the street and there is music playing inside the hotel on the corridor, however once we close the door of our room, we hear nothing, which was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was excellent 3 minute walk to train station and 5 minute walk to all shops and restaurants. Beautifully appointed rooms. Modern with excellent air con which kept us cool despite outside temperatures. Shower and bathroom excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Good location, room, pool, parking, breakfast, & dinner.... reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was a bit smaller than pictured on the web site but it worked out fine and there was a Jacuzzi, not pictured... in house parking was convenient and the garage was easily navigated, unlike some places we've stayed in nearby cities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay in Montpellier center attending a Physics Conference
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was fine, nothing to complain about. Only a detail the tag that can be hang at the door has the same information (Do not disturb) on both sides (in two different languages), one can be confused and just turn it around to let the room be cleaned and having the unexpected consequences that the room is not made because one just shows (in french) "do not disturb"

    Very well located, close to the Comedie square. Nice staff. Very clean and quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff were very welcoming and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff were very welcoming and friendly. The hotel was in a beautiful old building with large reception area and wide staircase. Breakfast was excellent and staff there were very helpful in seeking out some gluten-bread for one of the family. The family enjoyed the small swimming pool for cooling off in. The outdoor area was lovely and shady to sit it. It was very well situated close to the railway station and easy short walk into the centre of town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could not have drinks at pool , reason dangerous to have glass but they could use plastic glasses. Pool a bit cramped and a few more chairs would have been good

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    A hidden gem near to the main tourist areas as well as the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    A hidden gem near to the main tourist areas as well as the tram station and train station. Beautiful decor, incredibly comfortable bed and completely quiet..no noise at night at all. Small but pleasant pool. Helpful staff who let me practise my bad French , but could all speak perfect English. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Montpellier.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.8
    Hotel was nice, but wouldn't go back because of the bed and the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was extremely uncomfortable, pillows weren't very good either. \Pool and pool areas were very small, only about 4 loungers and a few chairs, so hard to make use of the facility. Sauna and Gym were very basic.

    Friendly staff, nice clean room, cant comment about the food as we didn't eat there, although the menu looked nice. Location was quite good in relation to the train station and the town square, each a couple of minutes walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Would definately stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was a great place to stay.

    Excellent service and incredibly clean hotel. Great location. We had a twin room and the beds were a much larger single than usual and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Really lovely rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more chairs would be great around the pool.

    Really lovely rooms. The pool was great and very welcome after day sight seeing. Very comfortable. Fabulous shower! Great location. Very close to train station and Place de la Comédie. Easy walk to shopping center and museum. (Can recommend the Picasso exhibition)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    It was the perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you arrive by car make certain you telephone the hotel for the correct address as it took us 1.5 hrs to finally get there due to roadworks and division

    It was the perfect place to stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Nice atmosphere, nice staff, spacious bedroom and super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checkin hour is a bit late but they managed to help us checkin earlier while we were waiting at their terrasse.

    Nice atmosphere, nice staff, spacious bedroom and super friendly with dog!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel, kind staff but disappointed with service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service: my dinner just wouldn't come... they were extremely nice and apologetic about it but well... not normal for room service to take 1,5 hours to serve a plate of food Also, the pillows were very big. Having lighter alternatives would have been good

    Room design and cleanliness Staff was very kind

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    was a wonderful experience and we really enjoyed it. We really like to come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is really good but the road is so difficult to find. We were spending around 2 hours to find the place

    bed is very comfortable and rooms are clean. breakfast is good. the reception is very helpful. We were lost on the way to the hotel in the city and reception was on the phone to guide us all the way through.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very pleasant stay. The staff is very friendly and professional. The room was nicely decorated. I love the atmosphere of the lobby and the impressive stairway!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful historic hotel in a great location, clean, but small rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small and a bit bare, almost feels like an airport hotel and did not match the rest of the hotel (still very clean though!). Wish they would have matched the rooms to beautiful historical decor of the rest of the hotel when they renovated all the rooms.

    Great location, the lobby was stunningly beautiful, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, we wanted more pillows (they only provide 2 in total for 2 people), so we called down and they brought us more immediately and happily. Free parking garage attached to the hotel so it feels secure and helps in the hubbub of the city. Clean hotel, clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    While our stay was short it was a very enjoyable experience overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not fault the hotel over our two night stay.

    Staff very helpful at check in, offered upgrade at very reasonable cost when we requested a quiet room. Clean comfortable room and extra plus is that the whole hotel is non smoking. Beautiful decor and retention of the original elevator off the lobby is a particularly nice feature. Nice bar with friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    The whole experience of staying in this hotel was wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet did not seem to be sufficiently secure.

    The whole experience of staying in this hotel was wonderful and we recommend it highly. Great place to call home away from home. Thoroughly enjoyed a long weekend in Montpellier and the hotel contributed enormously to our enjoyment of a vibrant city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    (1) The property is well decorated throughout and has a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a great one night stay with no real major complaints. Some very minor issues - (1) there were no travel adapters to borrow which was a little frustrating as I was there on business and both my laptop and mobile died. It would be great to have these to offer guests. It took a little longer than expected to get drinks at the bar once we ordered, but this wasn’t a major issue.

    (1) The property is well decorated throughout and has a lovely outside garden area for drinks al fresco. (2) Staff are very helpful at Reception with all needs and indeed very friendly. (3) Loved having a Nespresso machine in the room and lovely sky view which let in lots of light. (4) There was a pool and jacuzzi on site but unfortunately I didn’t get the chance to use them. (5) It’s super close to the main train station and piazza/square so a great base to explore the City.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Very helpful and efficient receptionists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it was not possible for guests to have dinner in the restaurant because ithe entire place was reserved for a large group from a conference.

    Very helpful and efficient receptionists. Good pool, nice breakfast, nice rooms, nice hotel, nice lunch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Very conveniently located, 3-5 minutes walk from the heart...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very conveniently located, 3-5 minutes walk from the heart of the city. The rooms and the entire hotel seem as if they have just gone through renovation: everything is pristine and works as it should (no creaking floors, doors that are difficult close or het stuck). Besides the location and the excellent state of the building, the breakfast was also truly great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable surprise, a hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were only there for 1 night and paid for an upgrade in room which was still a very small size. It would not have been comfortable for 2 guests for more than 1 night. The bed was perhaps a little firm for our liking. We wanted to sit outside and read in the fresh air but smokers came and sat down in the garden every time, perhaps a smoke free part of the garden would be nice.

    The staff were outstanding and it was extremely helpful to have bilingual speakers. The reception, breakfast room and porter were very professional. The room was very clean. We liked the outdoor area to sit and read or have a coffee. The decor both in the public areas and the room was wonderful. It is close to the train station, trams and the city square but is still very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location, nice interieur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy access from TGV station and well within the walking distance to most sights and great restaurants, well sized room and bathroom, great sleep (on quite hard matress - some will not like it). Approachable staff, interesting interiour of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good reading lights by the bed would be appreciated for reading in evening and extra pillows in the room.

    Beautiful historic hotel and comfortable modern room. Lovely public spaces for reading. Jacob at the front desk was very helpful. Good secure bike storage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, great staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a beautiful hotel, recently renovated but retaining excellent period features. The location is just a couple of minutes from the historic centre of Montpellier with bars as soon as you step out. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately our hire vehicle broke down in the Hotel car park and they went out of their way to help us get it resolved and get back on our way. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Elegance, comfort and location with the bonus of parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please, an English Channel on TV like BBC or CNN,and not the Chinese English propaganda channel.

    Beautifully restored,elegant building with spacious room and contemporary furnishing. Added bonus is on-site parking. Pleasant staff, good breakfast and proximity to Place de la Comedie combined to make this a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel but unfortunately the neighborhood is very loud ALL night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The street our rooms looked out on was EXTREMELY LOUD. It was horrible. On Friday and Saturday nights there were people partying and laughing and SHOUTING outside until from 8pm to 5am. I literally didn't sleep more than an hour at a time one night, and was woken up several times the other nights. Even on Sunday night when the partying wasn't quite so bad, there is still street cleaning and trash pick up and so on late at night and early in the morning that is loud enough to wake us up. We were really disappointed and would highly recommend requesting rooms on the other side of the hotel (if they have any facing the courtyard). We unfortunately couldn't switch as we needed connecting rooms.

    The staff was very accommodating and helpful (for example, we had some food that needed to be refrigerated for our young child and they helped us get it in and out of a fridge multiple times a day each day). The room was spacious and extremely clean. The showers were terrific. The parking garage was very convenient. The location was tricky to drive to at first, but easy to walk around from. We were in a deluxe family room (connecting rooms).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel maybe a little loud at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good and bad at the same time.We had a room that faces the street in front if the hotel. Not the hotels fault but at night there were people screaming, beeping their horns at 2am and also people randomly drumming on bins. So if you are a light sleeper do ask for a room facing the back. The mattress was very hard. The gym didn't have any free weights just cardio equipment (typical hotel gym I suppose).

    The hotel is beautiful. Every detail of the decor is great. The rooms are very modern and clean. Staff are super friendly and helpful. The location is great for getting to places in Montpellier not ideal for the beach though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Montpellier and surrounding area is fantastic. Hotel very central and staff really lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast I felt should have been included. Limited storage in room so lived out of suitcase for our stay.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. They tolerated my basic French and they all spoke English.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Hotel spacious ,very well decorated .we will be back .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather at Montpellier 26 February -2 March 2018 .

    Everything. Hotel has to be recommened. Quality of bedroom,restaurant ,breakfast,bar ,wine & champagne . Staff young ,friendly smart. Smiling .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Old hotel nicely renovated still keeping charming original...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room rather small. Only one pillow. Dull bread cutting knife.

    Old hotel nicely renovated still keeping charming original details. Modern rooms and bathrooms. Very quiet room on 4th floor towards the inner courtyard. Easy to use and not noisy aircon/heating in the room. Window could be opened (extra bonus!) Not very large buffet breakfast, but good coffee, two kinds of excellent bread, good quality eggs you boiled yourself. Lovely breakfast room/restaurant. Private garage easily accessible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight difficulty locating carpark due to pedestrianised areas and narrow surrounding streets.

    The location was excellent. Hotel a nice mix of classic old world reception and stylish modern rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice but not upscale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really don't like the bathroom not being a seperate room from the bedroom. Therefore the room only work well for solo travellers. The breakfast is very average (eggs are wet/undercooked, no fresh juices or fresh tea/coffee, croissants are not fresh)

    Brilliant location and lovely building. Pity the rooms don't keep up the theme.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no coffee making in the room. We ask for a kettle and it was 20 euros per day extra. Only down side

    Hotel was very nice and clean. Staff was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and enjoyable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was very slow, almost unusable. The TV guide showed BBC channels but they weren’t available - not the hotel’s fault, the cable provider changes the selection without notice!

    The room was lovely, double aspect at the top of the hotel overlooking the courtyard. Friendly staff. Great location. Good breakfast. Great parking - although the number of spaces are limited, so if it’s full you have to park in a public car park.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Surprisingly good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very loud at night if you have the window open.

    Superb hotel in the middle of the city. Beautifully equipped room at a very reasonable price. Excellent secure car park and an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Nice hotel, great situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked tea / coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast was a little expensive, didn’t see many people in the dining room. Parking charged, which seems the norm now, unfortunately. Bar was in darkness when we returned to the hotel at around 11pm.

    Underground parking with a height limit 1.9m, easy to get in and out of. Hotel had pool, gym and spa but we didn't use these facilities. Situated right on the edge of old town, plenty of bars and restaurants near by though the hotel was an oasis of tranquility. Large room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast was not worth the 15 euros you had to pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not worth the 15 euros you had to pay. We ate breakfast at the hotel one day but ended up going out to town for breakfast the other day because of poor quality of breakfast at the hotel. The pool and pool area was also not very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Good stopover on rail trip from France to Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not possible to get a hot drink in the evening.

    Convenient for station but also near old and new town centre. Pleasant outdoor pool. Spacious and comfortable room. Light and airy dining room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Hotel is close to the station and near the tram stops, with lots of places to eat nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An English thing, but no tea and coffee making facilities n the standard bedrooms.

    The Pool and the garden area were very good. We didn't use the restaurant but the Menu was varied. The Hotel has been updated very well, retaining the history of the building but modernising the bedrooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.8
    It served our purpose as we were visiting family and didn't spend much time in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff knew nothing about their wine stock (in France!!!) only one white wine and one red wine offered. No kitchen staff after 2pm. Restaurant closed at the weekend. Breakfast was ok, but scrambled egg tasted like foam.

    Central location close to tram terminal, and despite being in town the rooms were very quiet. Rooms were well designed with good facilities - excellent shower!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very modern, smart & well designed but a little too small. The car park was excellent but difficult to find and difficult to access. Advance information would have been helpful in this regard

    Stylish communal areas & extremely friendly & helpful receptionist

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    A real find in the centre of Montpellier
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite hard to find and Montpellier's one way system means that a missed turn can result in 2Km more driving!

    Friendly and helpful staff, beautiful historic rooms in this oasis of a hotel set in a slightly shabby part of Montpellier. The pool and courtyard are delightful and really catch the sun- our children loved going from the jacuzzi to the pool water and back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    A great base to explore Montpellier with a touch of historical glamour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fabulous location. It felt like there was a real sense of history staying in the hotel - all of the original features, like the lift, were a lovely touch. The pool is great, but gets really busy in the early afternoon, so best to get there early.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel in a brilliant location in a beautiful city!
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We loved the mixture of historical splendour and modern facilities. The pool and leafy garden were a huge attraction in a busy city. The hotel is ideally situated for both the centre of Montpellier, and all tourist spots, and the train station, where you can arrive direct from Paris or link with euro star. The car park was spotless and again a huge bonus in a city with limited parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Toilet with no sink!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet with no sink! Maybe I'm strange, but I found that not hygienic at all. The sink was in a separate room, with the shower. Presumably to wash our hands after showering?? Shame, because otherwise everything was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location in the middle of the citycenter, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A Refrigerator in the room will be perfect.

    Perfect location in the middle of the citycenter, nice little swimmingpool and a garden to relax. Very good beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel and a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing hotel and a perfect location! It doesn't look much from the outside, but once you enter the hotel there's a whole different thing to see! We'll certainly return to this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.8
    Would definitely look for another option if visiting again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very unwelcoming, no fridge in the room. Entrance to hotel was up and dirty dark side street. Bar closed at 10:45 on a Saturday night. No staff wanted to assist with customer service.

    Lovely clean lobby and the room was spacious

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Great Hotel in Montpellier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and immaculate. Great location in the city centre. Fabulous breakfast, all you could eat and drink, great choice. Very quiet of a night even being in the city. Swimming pool to cool off in after a day out exploring. Very pleasant and polite staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is very nice and centrally located but our GPS had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very nice and centrally located but our GPS had trouble finding it . When we finally arrived the sign was so high above the street that we didn't see it. We ended up having to go around again through the warren of one way streets in downtown Montpelier which was much bigger than we anticipated. Finding parking was also difficult and there is not a good place to stop in front of the hotel. All in all, we spent about 45 minutes going round and round to find the hotel and a place to park. Apparently this is a common complaint. If you do stay at the hotel, please contact them in advance to get directions to the garage for hotel guests which is nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Comfort and style add to excellent location. Service exemplary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sensitive fefrbishment blended old with modern. State of the art showers are the best I have ever seen/ used. Garden charming. Breakfast generous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in Belle Époque magic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This stylish hotel is newly renovated and we were completely floored by the way it looks! Under the direction of Didier Boccone, the hotel has managed to combine a wonderful Belle Époque reception area with ultra modern, contemporary rooms. Where other contemporary hotels sometimes feels cold and impersonal, Le Metropole oozes warmth and personality. A clean pool, smart breakfast, lush garden and friendly staff are added bonuses. A very impressive stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you miss the turning by car you will need to take 15 minutes to circle the city before getting it right next time. Tough to find with GPS

    Everything was perfect. Location is amazing and very quiet. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast really good. Great parking. Very happy with our room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for a visit to this great city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel right in the heart of Montpellier. Comfortable, stylish and really good to have a small but great outdoor pool. The staff were discreet and perfectly helpful . Breakfast was good value with a substantial range of hot and cold choices. Very pleased indeed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Thirsty traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We returned to the hotel at 5.45 pm after walking around the city on a very hot day but could not buy a drink anywhere in the hotel - not in the bar, the lounge or even with room service. There was only one person on duty at the desk so he said he couldn't help us and that we couldn't have a drink until 7.00 pm when someone else would also be on duty. How ridiculous. The hotel you are paying to stay in should provide basic services. Instead we had to return to the heat and walk in the dirty streets to find a place for a drink in most unpleasant surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A street nearby full of weird people (homeless, maybe junkies ?). I didn't have any problems, though

    Beautiful and functional design, big size of the room, charming little swimming pool in the sun, cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Don't choose if you travel by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities in the room: no kettle, only 2 pillows and no mini-fridge. The main issue was the parking, the hotel doesn't let you book a place, if at night there is still an empty lot, you can park, otherwise it's your problem!

    The hotel is central, close to the train station. The room was spacious with a huge bed. The bathroom was clean and the shower amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Treated like a princess from the friendly locals to the huge portions of great food & fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff especially Tom at reception, were helpful, knowledgable and friendly. The pool area was a welcome break from the hot sunshine, the perfect place to cool off in the middle of the city!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    wonderful, brilliant, fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have preferred crockery mugs instead of paper cups in our bedroom but that is the tiniest criticism we have

    Fantastic to all of the following: hotel location, staff, room, breakfast and dinner. We have been spoilt by every aspect of this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful and stylish hotel with helpful staff in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym should be better equipped and didn't like access by lift only; room could be a little bigger. Don't like separate WC with no hand basin. Don't like glazed walls to shower right next to bed .

    Terrace and staff Power shower good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location - better on the inside than it looks on the outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No instruction in the room whatsoever - good if you like working things out. Never quite got the hang of the safe.

    Excellent location. Staff were friendly and professional. Public spaces are stylish and pleasing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    One of the best French hotels I have ever stayed at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were really uncomfortable, and we were kept waiting for 15 mins to get a drink at the bar one evening.

    We were upgraded to a suite. The bathroom was amazing in there - clean, modern and with a large shower area. Pool area was a real sun-trap, with a lovely jacuzzi too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Charming hotell in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small

    Charming obby, bar and outdoor garden , great bathroom. Nicely renovated to keep old charm, while providing all the latest comfort and technology.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable modernised rooms in venerable old building in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel restaurant is closed at the weekend which is strange and very inconvenient for those seeking a relaxing dinner in the hotel.

    Comfortable modernised rooms in venerable old building in the centre of town. Nice to have a small pool for warm days.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Perfect location, perfect hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Direction to the parking.

    It has a perfect location for visiting the city, and the hotel is very nice over all. But it is hard to find it by car, I needed help from the staff to park my car at the hotel, but they were very helpfull with everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Private parking & swimming pool in the centre of the City - Book!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is closed for dinner at the weekends, but plenty of good restaurants are located within 5 minutes walk.

    This hotel is in the middle of the City, just a couple of minutes walk from Comedie. For a hotel with private parking and a swimming pool (did not use) to be in the centre of a City is a major, major plus. The hotel was refurbished last year and it was done with attention to detail and style. Next time we visit Montpellier, we will book this hotel again. Staff were exceptional and all picked up that we were British and spoke in perfect English. They were all very helpful, polite and welcoming. Well done to the management for hiring first class staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.6
    beautiful hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good but could have been much improved if there was more choice of fruit such as melon and strawberries. My mum is allergic to dairy so there were not many dairy free options to choose from for breakfast and more fruit would have been ideal.

    Excellent location, close to the centre and the train station. Lovely decor, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful with an experience look! Saddened we stayed there for a short period.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    Mediocre
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool and Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV didn't work properly. No parking available. Reception staff not overly welcoming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tight parking spaces.

    Everything was just perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Great location and nice practical hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is bit great

    Great location and nice practical hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75