Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Moulin de l'Abbaye 4 stars

1 Route de Bourdeilles, 24310 Brantôme, France

#3 of 9 hotels in Brantôme

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 250 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful setting, outstanding restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms are in a separate building on the other side of the river

    An excellent hotel with an outstanding restaurant in a very picturesque location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location but overpriced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One lady on reception was really lovely, the other was quite short with me. The comfort rooms are inappropriately marketed as they are old fashioned rooms-poor decor etc.Website and booking.com page very much promotes as a modern fresh hotel which is only applicable to the more expensive rooms.Breakfast was expensive for what it was.

    Location was exceptional

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    The location and the wonderful warm welcome from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The re-furbishment to a more modern décor which spoiled the ambience. The patio furniture in the rooms with hot tubs which had to be brought into the bedroom by the maid in inclement weather and then had to be carried out again by me when the weather improved later in the day. The wooden furniture for the balcony was quite impractical and had already cracked with being exposed to the elements and caused splinters if not handled carefully. The bed linen is an unpleasant colour with a crumpled finish which made the bed look unmade and the pillows uncomfortable to the skin. The Nespresso machine which had previously been in the room had been removed. The service in the restaurant was poor with used breakfast dishes left on the table and hot food on the buffet not replenished. The staff member at breakfast was running up and down the stairs with breakfast trays and could not cope efficiently with the dining room as well. The music in the dining room at breakfast was loud and intrusive. I have stayed in this hotel on several occasions in the past few years and have had wonderful experiences each time before. This time it was such was a disappointment especially since I had a friend with me and we were looking forward to a special experience but this was not to be.

    The location and the wonderful warm welcome from the reception staff. The excellent cuisine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Brantome is definitely worth a stay, and this hotel is highly recommended, no reservations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms were situated in one of the old buildings, there is no elevator so getting to our rooms required walking up narrow steep stairs with a low ceiling, and getting our suitcases up there was no small effort (by the bellboy). But, this cannot be helped so this is not a complaint, just something visitors need to be aware of in booking this hotel.

    Brantome is a beautiful serene town, and the hotel main building and its restaurant is attractively situated right next to the water, and close walking distance to town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    A beautiful town and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brantome is a beautiful town and the Moulin de l'Abbaye is the icing on the cake. It is fantastic inside and out, the staff are very friendly and welcoming and all spoke English. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will hopefully come and visit again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room totally overpriced – „suite“ was in a shabby building outside hotel premises. No table available in the restaurant and recommended hotel bistro served rather dull food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park is very small so be sure to reserve a space in advance

    The location genuinely couldn’t be better. We booked a room overlooking the river and I’m really glad we did, it was lovely. The food was also excellent - such a treat. The pastry chef is extraordinary.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace and Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't stay the night as I had booked a room with a Jacuzzi and it was not working we waited for 2 hours but still wasn't fixed as I paid specifically for that facility I was not happy

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    This was our 3rd.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This was our 3rd. stay at this charming former Millhouse,and we enjoy it more each time. I hope the management does not redecorate the lobby which is now done in "Anglo countryhouse style" and is very comfortable and had much character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Really enjoyed it but disappointed with the fact we did not stay in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we booked to stay in a hotel and found ourselves a walk over 2 bridges from the actual hotel was very disappointing. Small point but the pillows in the room were really uncomfortable including the extra one in wardrobe.

    Setting, location, friendliness of staff and restuarant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Our stay here was perfect from the moment we arrived. This hotel has a superb location in a lovely town, is beautifully furnished and our room was very light and clean. All staff were exceptionally pleasant and efficient throughout. We enjoyed an outstanding meal in the restaurant complemented by superb wine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    A beautifully located hotel in a charming riverside town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room wasn't particularly clean- cobwebs everywhere. There was a damp smell too which could have been down to the jacuzzi plumbing. Our drinks waiter was very helpful and attentive but his dark suit looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while.

    The hotel is a converted and characterful mill beautifully located by the river Dronne. Brantome is a quaint historic town built around a series of river tributaries. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants but be sure to check their opening days and times. Our room was upgraded to one with a terrace and jacuzzi which gave lovely private views over the town and river. Parking is adequate as the hotel car park in a cave (!) at £5 a night is next to a free public one. Friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Perfect and somewhat unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a hotel of extremely high standards whilst remaining relaxed for people of all ages. The location is perfect for exploring all that Brantome has to offer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    We were met by a very friendly receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like about this hotel

    We were met by a very friendly receptionist. Our room was delightful over looking the river and the park. The decor was well considered and the bathroom had all the necessary luxuries. The lounge area was very comfortable and we liked the decor (sorry to hear that this was going to be replaced with French Shabby chic). The restaurant served the prettiest food we ate in all our time in France.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stay in the center of Brantome.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sun deck had no cushions on two of the loungers and the railing by the steps was loose. There were no umbrellas so it became oppressively hot very quickly. In order to get a drink you had to go inside the hotel and ask and then they would send someone. But no wait staff ever came around otherwise. A very weird set up.

    Brantome is a pretty town which you only need a day to enjoy. We stayed at the Moulin because we wanted to have dinner there. They have a one Michelin star restaurant. The room was nice and very large. We were in the Meunier so there was no view, but it was quiet and clean and the air conditioning worked well. The bathroom was so-so, nothing special. The tub is so high that it's a bit difficult to get in and out of if you have iffy knees. The hotel has a large terrace but it was always empty. The staff were very, very friendly and professional!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Luxury, gourmet hotel in a most beautiful spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace and Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was rather small for two people to share. There was very little room to put toiletries in the bathroom, no full length mirror in the room, and very little space for luggage (room 8). In fairness I stayed in room 7 on my last visit which was perfect. The sweets in the pot on the dressing table were old and sticky and were not changed on the second night even though the top was left off the container in order to draw the maid's attention to the problem. A cleaning cloth was left in the room.

    The excellent meals and beautiful situation of the hotel. Excellent welcoming and cosy lounge and gardens in which to relax. The service was very good both in reception and in the dining room with friendly and attentive staff. The hot tub on the terrace was a delight. Peace, perfect peace. Everything in the town was within easy walking distance. The restaurant was closed on the Tuesday evening but the meal at the nearby brasserie, owned by the hotel, was very good. The brasserie was but a short stroll from the hotel along the river and had a lovely terrace. Congratulations to chef on his first Michelin star - so well-deserved.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned bathroom with shower head not working and kept on running cold. Cheap thin loo paper Hotel was much too expensive for the room quality

    Location and easy car parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Prefect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on the day of out stay, we were given recommendations of near by restaurants.

    The location of the hotel was amazing. Right on the banks of the river sat out side on the shady terrace with a glass of beer and relaxed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was the other side of the canal in another building. It was lovely and very close but not the same as the the main hotel and restaurant in the photograph.

    Everything was fantastic! The staff were lovely and the restaurant is incredible. The best long lunch ever!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    A place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the effort seemed to have gone into the dinner as breakfast layout and service was rather laid back. None the less a beautiful situation with tables overlooking the river.

    The location was perfect. The river view from our room was wonderful. Dinner was a culinary delight and the staff were courteous and helpful at all times.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous hotel in a fabulous town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    as above

    Fabulous picture postcard hotel. Staff excellent, location cant be faulted. Only negative was 12 Euros for a small glass of wine is excessive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The evening meal in the Michelin starred restaurant was fantastic and the service could not be better. Brantome is a lovely old town and the view form our room is wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We've been meaning to stay here for a couple of years, had lunch at the restaurant a while back. Everything about this place is fabulous. Location, Room, staff, and the food at the restaurant was superb.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.2
    Great inn in magical surroundings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be better. Room was cosy but not more than most European hotel rooms in old buildings and we were upgraded to a main floor view room so very happy with room.

    Brantome is a beautiful town and the hotel is located in the most scenic part of town next to the old Abbey in an old Mill overlooking the river. The public areas were charming, the bedroom we had was well appointed with a beautiful view of the river and old footbridge. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The restaurant has a Michelin star and the food is delicious. Even the breakfast was excellent with one of the best omelettes I've ever tasted. The wifi was fine. There is no elevator but I had said I have problems with stairs and the staff went out of their way to give us an upgraded room on the main floor. Every time we stepped outside the door we marvelled at how beautiful the area surrounding the hotel was. Like a French fairy tale. We throughly enjoyed our time at the Moulin de l'Abbaye and would recommend it to friends and fellow travellers.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Hotel on the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very attractive within easy reach of the centre. It has convenient car parking facilities in a cave opposite it. The restaurant was very expensive (30 euro a starter) so we didn't sample the food. Staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.6
    Superb location on the river, great food, nice modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing it was all good...

    Superb location on the river, great food, nice modern attractive bedrooms with comfortable beds and facilities nice staff and near the village centre...it just worked well...!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.1
    Wake up to keep your pretended standing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    However, the hotel doesn't do what it could to reduce the discomfort of distributing the guests over 3 different sites. It is unusual at that pretended standing that the guests have to move around to have breakfast and even to pay and give back the key.

    Very well received by an efficient and professional staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    2.5
    This hotel is a scam, pictures are a front you will sleep in a different location, bad manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Watch out you will probably never sleep in the moulin as most of their rooms are in nearby locations and not in the location in the pictures . I felt i got scammed, as in my life i have stayed in hundreds and hundreds of hotels yet i never seen a hotel where you book and finally sleep in total different location to my astonishment apparently only the cheapest rooms are in the moulin and if you are stupid enough to have an upgraded room that will mean you will sleep in another house in town that doesn't even have a view on the moulin. further more the hotel manger is very arrogant and unfriendly women as i expressed my disappointment when i knew they wanted me to sleep in a location over 500m away she couldn't care less taking into consideration that i have booked over 6 months in advance not even accepted to make any discounts or a courtesy breakfast or any thing taking into consideration that it is the most expensive hotel in whole region. the only explanation they will give you is that the other building is historic and built in the 13th century, but if i wanted only the historic part there is so many magnificent castles in the region that are far more historically rich. my room had view on the canal, and the canal had view over my room and the thousands of tourist passing by can see into my room so one thing for sure you will never dare walk naked in the room as they only have blackout curtains so you will have to choose between darkness or exhibitionism. the hotel management is really bad they have no clue what they are doing, i arrived on a Thursday and the front desk women gave me a designated parking space in front of the house that has nothing to do the famous Moulin de l'Abbaye and totally ignored to tell me that the next day there was a market so i got stock on friday till 4 pm and couldn't go out till the market was over. in room breakfast was very cheap.

    Brantome is a very nice village with a lot of charm

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    3.8
    No good experience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ! Booking.com should change the description and the hotel should not use this room.

    We had booked a junior suite in this "Relais et Chateaux" with 2 rooms as confirmed by booking.com but got a normal room which was not cleaned properly with remains from previous guests. Furthermore the room was located in a building in the city 300 m from the hotel. To use of any of the facilities like breakfast, restaurant, parking, lounge, bar etc we each time had to walk the 300 m x 2. The room was placed under the roof which made it even smaller. Only one small high placed window. This is of course not satisfactory for a 300 EUR room. It was like staying in a different low priced hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    Beautiful France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the Abbots house with a balcony that overlooked the river. Reception staff were both friendly and professional. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Romantic get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were sorry we only had one night there !!!

    We loved the location and friendliness of the staff . A very special place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful room in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful room in a beautiful location. Really helpful staff and amazing restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Magical meal in superb setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited range of breakfast options.

    Superb location, exceptional staff and outstanding cuisine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room

    Location and altitude

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    High quality hotel in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    High quality hotel in a lovely location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Extremely well situated on the banks of the river, in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit overpriced.

    Extremely well situated on the banks of the river, in the heart of this very pretty town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine list overpriced

    Fabulous location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic weekend at a fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace and Hot Tub
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, 5 stars for food and great service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location, lovely restaurant staff, tasting menu superb and breakfast. B and B rate too dear
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room charge/rate excessive - great view but a very average room

    Tasting menu really very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Stunning location, spectacular view, beautiful room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stunning location, spectacular view, beautiful room, restaurant superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Charming location in a charming town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming location in a charming town. We had double room with river view and were not disappointed. Meals were great and easy walk into town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Idealic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect in every way, Fantastic restaurant and stunning location in this beautiful town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Luxury hotel in very beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury hotel in fabulous location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Geweldig hotel, vriendelijke mensen, heerlijk eten.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only missed a coffee ande thee facility in the room

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable. A lovely spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room not very large especially given the price

    Fabulous location and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel in a lovely relaxing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no milk in the room to go with tea making facilities.

    Could have been slightly more food at breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Outstanding boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff at reception. Very friendly and effective Wonderful location of the hotel Delicious meals on the terrace with a great view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Really nice but at the top end price wise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost - paying for the name and the Michelin star

    Staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Stunning accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Associate restaurant spoiled by begging wild life.

    Breakfast expensive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, amazing ambience, stunning scenery and a romantic haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace and Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel, amazing ambience, stunning scenery and a romantic haven

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Felt very 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Felt very 5 star

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting, great food, welcoming staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    All good except restaurant menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could have a different menu each night. Even the amuses bouche was identical!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints. all very satisfactory

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No full length mirror needs a curtain from the shower to the bedroom open onto the room not ok and easily fixed

    Stunning location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.5
    Excellent place for a base in the Dordogne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive for breakfast .

    Great Location , helpful staff .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    Great restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be a bit better

    Great restaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Delicious food wonderful location very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The armchairs in the room were too uncomfortable to sit on

    Delicious and fresh

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel with outstanding location in Brantom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed pretty much everything during our stay.

    Outstanding location with excellent friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace and Hot Tub
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Idyllic French Village setting, beautiful property, and outstanding service! Our visit could not have been better!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.8
    Lovely hotel although pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor for the price

    Lovely room although seemed to be over the washing room and had tumble dryers on till 10pm below us

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.2
    Well worth staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk to main hotel

    Good size bedroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect apart from the bill!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.2
    Our meal in the restaurant was simply exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our meal in the restaurant was simply exceptional

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.0
    idyllic waterside ambience ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautifullly situated, wondeful food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very unreliable

    Location of breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.5
    You can find better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired hotel poor quality restaurant

    Location on river

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    10
    We have been married for over 30 years our stay made us feel like newly weds -how romantic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    absolutely nothing

    The evening meal was exceptional, staff were so attentive to every little detail. The setting is very romantic .......

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.6
    Outstanding hotel but meals overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed 3 nights and the menu was rather repetitive.

    The facilities, room and staff were very good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.2
    Fabulous hotel in fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were outstanding. Location could not have been improved. Lovely food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic stay in a beatifull village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace and Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff are very friendly and helpful. Dinner was extremely good in a beatifull setting on the terrace.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fold out bed for 3rd adult was poor quality

    quality accommodation in a beautiful setting

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel with a great restaurant set in the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rather expensive

    Location is just perfect,comfortable bedrooms , great restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.1
    Room was excellent but 300 meters from main hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not working, nor was phone to reception, then they could not take payment as system was down, made for alot of walking back and forward Wine overpriced

    Room was excellent but 300 meters from main hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.2
    The setting on the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sadly no tea & coffee making facilities in the room. When someone in an adjoining room ran the bath/shower it was pretty noisy.

    The setting on the river. The staff friendliness & service. The meal we had in the hotel was excellent.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: