Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Narbonne Sud 4 stars

Quartier Plaisance, 11100 Narbonne, France

#12 of 17 hotels in Narbonne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 780 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know the standard at Novotel and it´s perfekt as an oversleeping hotel when we are on the road with our dogs. But to stay for a week big no no. In and out perfect!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi despite assuring there was. Poor attitude by staff when questioned. "Not our system. Can't do anything about it." Hotel was being refurbished ... not pre warned corridors filthy with decorators' dust and paint. Carpets full of bleach marks.

    Room was clean and linen and towels excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Where to start? The pool was not open and I was not informed before arrival. The wifi was intermittent. The iron stained my shirt when I ironed. The bathroom was dirty. The breakfast was ridiculously expensive. 17 Euros for disgusting slimy eggs, no thank you. Had I known the hotel was so far from anything and everything, I would have chosen a different hotel. I was totally disappointed and hope the stains come out of my custom shirt.

    Over all the people were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness a bit poor for a 4 star hotel. Carpets old and worn with many stains. Tables in lobby has same cup rings throughout our 3 day stay. Stains on sofa bed in room.

    Bed very comfy although room small for a family. Good breakfast buffet. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was very clean and in a good location. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was superb with a good selection. The hotel had a bar and eating facilities which was good and the staff were friendly and even giving the children small cuddly toys on arrival. Pool was excellent and all in all a great stop over on our way down to Spain

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple setup of rooms; didn't provide soap or shampoo.

    It's located in an industrial area, however very close to city. Friendly and kind staff. Buffet breakfast very good, deco in comun areas is modern and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service, not being able to communicate easily with some of the employees made it difficult.

    Being a Novotel you expect better than Ibis but my experience has been generally hit and miss with Novotel. Room was fine, location quite far from anything useful without the car, so not great if you want to wander around. Many employees didn't speak English which I thought was a bit strange in a touristy place. Service and facilities (apart from the small pool) not above any regular Ibis.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Perfect location for a drive from Barcelona to UK. The staff were lovely and welcoming. We arrived late and just had a snack in the bar but it was tasty and very good value. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Bonus that it is also pet friendly - a bowl of water offered without us asking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Double Bed and 1 sofa bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC wasn't working properly, so during the night the temperature was quite high and I couldn't sleep well. I told the reception desk the next morning and they apologized and said they would look into it, but that was of little consolation or help to me as we were checking out. They also changed their in-room breakfast policy meaning that now you choose specific items from a list, rather than saying you want a full breakfast (like we enjoyed on our last visit) and I felt that put a damper on the whole "experience".

    The staff was very nice and the room was just as I remembered: clean and well equipped for a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we stayed there for the first time thay charged us 12 euros for our very small cat , the second time we stayed there they said there is no charge for cats so I do think we should be refunded the 12 euros do you think so ? other than that there is nothing to say we didn't like kind regards LARRY&JULIE poole

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's just a business hotel, not warm....and there are two roundabouts before getting into highway. I will not choose to stay here in my next trip. Not the fault of the hotel, but the design of the highway access, too complicated.

    We did not have breakfast in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, but too many roundabouts around, makes it very confusing to get off and on the highway. I will recommend to stay a location in center Narbonne as it would much interesting and easy access to restaurants and food supplies.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We specifically chose Novotel Narbonne Sud for the pool, however on arrival we were told it was out of use and closed. The pool would be a major factor in the 4* rating and price so i feel we didn't get value for money. If you do not have a car rental it is a very long walk into the city and Taxis are efficient but extremely expensive compared to the UK.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Restaurant and bar were good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet was marked, door had flaking paint and the bath was repaired. New bath required. Made me feel uncomfortable.

    Great location for travelling ... just off motorway but not noisy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the hotel is a little tricky unless you have a good sat-nav (à la Tesla). Entry to the building on arrival after midnight seemed to be a problem.

    A strategically located Tesla pit-stop for travel to/from Spain. Semi-rural setting (see photo of view from room window); good facilities and food. Also ate well here on return leg.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were functional rather than pleasant. Dinner service was slow and not the food poor. Breakfast buffet was difficult to locate items - for example milk jug in meat tray! Hot food was not even tempting. Carpet was badly soiled.

    Not much!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say.

    Wonderful sleep in a comfy bed ready for a long drive the next day. Ideal location close to motorway. Lovely staff. A special mention to the man serving in the bar who was so helpful and kind when we arrived late wanting a drink and a snack. Served with a lovely smile. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant was terrible. Had to wait an hour for some simple fruit salad which was included in the kids menu. Food itself was also at best average. Curry tasted a bit like a can being opened and heated up.

    Close to the highway. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Double Bed and 1 sofa bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds and good air con. Dogs allowed everywhere in the hotel although not good for "walkies" in the surrounding grounds. Good electric charging points for our car (Tesla)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was a great selection however they kept running out of food. I tried more than 3 times to get breakfast, 1st there was no plates and had to go find staff to ask for some, so got my plates but they had run out of sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, pancakes. They had no milk for the tea, and both coffee machines weren't working. When you have to pay €16 odd for breakfast you expect a bit better service.

    The reception staff were really helpful and spoke super English.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High prices. Average reception staff

    The pool area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed covers are starched to such extend that it would be possible to stand the bedsheets upright in the corner. Extremely uncomfortable!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in our room was in a clear need to be replaced. It had a lot of stains.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good service from the staff, it felt safe to park the car at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ugly views out of our particular room & bar prices were very expensive.

    Excellent customer service at the front desk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not very comfy

    Food was lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We often stay in Novotels and this one is not up to scratch in any way. It was awful.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very shabby and dirty. The carpets were disgusting.

    Nothing in particular except a waiter in the restaurant who was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice marina to visit near narbonne-plage which at school holidays is nicely busy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good parking which was in the price

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals too expensive in the hotel the recepción was bad speaking other languages

    the breakfast was nothing special and for that too expensive

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some strange smell in the bathroom.

    Convenient to A 9

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room was very cramped

    Was ok for a stopover

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service slow in bar. Asked to book us a taxi and they booked a Jaguar that charged £30 for 10 km

    Good breakfast. Nice pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit difficult to find. The GPS routed us through the Ibis parking lot :)

    Clean, met expectations and requirements. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Despite the room was clean, the carpets and floor didn't give a clean impression, since they have stains in lot of places.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly: they all speak another language which for us was critical since we barely speak French. They solve immediately the issues that we had and always with a smile.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to report.

    Just as expected from Novotel: nothing too fancy, but just what you need. Superior room with sofa is a good size. Liked the extra door separating the entrance/WC/bathroom to main room.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Always have to waIt ages to get served at the bar, we always arrive around 5.30 - 6.00 pm and the staff all seem to be having their dinner at the same time, bad organising ! Should always have one member of staff available, most people like an early evening drink. Also can never get to eat in the restaurant, even when we've booked, we cannot get to the table on times.

    The superior double is roomy, good free wifi, the staff are all helpful. Plenty of free parking.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice clean rooms. Good breakfast. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Overpriced breakfast

    The garden inside the hotel

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nil

    Great staff and well positioned

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    too far to walk to narbonne centre

    helpful staff when having trouble with hire car

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit apart from the city, you can by no means walk to the center, public transport connection not really good.

    Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    One coffee machine at breakfast, dozens of guests queuing up, then it kept breaking.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good Location for Motorways Plenty of Parking Good Value Hotel Excellent location if Touring

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The carpeting badly needs to be changed. Also the bath, as it is yellowing.

    Staff helpful and breakfast very good.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything. It's impressive that in a 4-star hotel, we got such small and dirty room.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quite a small room for 4 of us.

    Nice and clean, certainly good for one night stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Couple

    Nice hotel with secure parking

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room size

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    rooms & bed too hot

    Food

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: