Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Nevers Pont De Loire 4 stars

Quai De Médine, 58000 Nevers, France

#11 of 22 hotels in Nevers

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 428 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location close to Magny Cours motor racing circuit. Secure parking. Situated next to river below the town. Easy access into the town for bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was supposed to be air conditioned but on arrival we found that this had been turned off and the heating switched on despite the it being a warm day with a temperature of 24degC. The room was hot and stuffy as it was not possible to open the windows due to the large number of midges rising off an area of stagnant water between the hotel and the river. Hotel staff refused to switch the air conditioning back on but did eventually manage to switch the heating off, but it made little difference.

    The food in the restaurant was fine and with only two on duty, the restaurant staff did well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the top floor at the end of the corridor. There were flag poles on the roof above. The flags blowing in the wind caused a rattling noise in the room.

    Secure parking below the hotel. Comfortable, clean room. Only used the restaurant for breakfast. A decent choice available. A good riverside location on the outskirts of the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Typical Mercure. Clean and basic but has everything you need. Close to Nevers old town so good bars and restaurants are only a short walk away. Nonetheless, the hotel is very tranquil and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I rarely write a derogatory review but our evening meal will be remembered as one of our worst. It took nearly two hours for us to receive our meal. My fillet of fish looked a mess on the plate and had fish bones within it. The carafe of house wine was awful. To culminate the experience every table but ours had a candle lit as the sun set. Somehow we seemed forgotten. Many others waited like us but one or two were served and finished eating while we waited. A four star hotel needs to do better.

    A typical modern chain hotel set up to provide the expected amenities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the restaurant were very attentive & hardworking. The food was very good. This was just an overnight stop for us as part of a longer journey.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toiletries whatsoever in room. One all purpose bottle on shower wall that i couldn't squeese. Told at reception that "everything was in closet" . After removing towels and pillow from closet it was EMPTY. Also told by reception and by notes in room that "everything" was available on demand. However, receptionist also takes care of reservations thus being involved in very long phone conversations while long lines of prospective check ins are accumlating. The elevator stopped working so the same person helped guests to the second floor. I would forgive his rudeness under these hard circumstances but i had a very bad time. If you visit here, be sure to bring everything you may need. The hotel management is skimping on your expense and not supplying basics that are customary in all hotels these days. I shall never forget a shower cap again.

    Location, view, food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything though it would be good to have a grab handle in the shower to help older or disabled people who would be helped by this.

    Lovely bed and really friendly staff who were delightful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of staff, a bit empty at time we have to ask "is somebody there" at the front desk. One could expect a bit more from a 4 star, like a pool, more services on a Sunday, but this is a location without so much travelers so it is "Okay"

    Location, friendly people, relax, value for money, the staff, even if not so many are really nice. Also, -very good point from my extensive traveling experience- no pushing for check out time. No stress to be out on time, no problem to check out late, that is really a nice thing and quite unusual. Also, they are flexible to change room when available, so really "customer friendly". This is why I always return there when in town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wished that the staff had told us that no dinner is served on Sunday evenings. We therefore did not have dinner that evening since the evening was foggy and driving to a restaurant that we didn't know seemed hazardous. I also asked about a pottery business that the city is supposed to be famous for, but the woman at the desk didn't seem to know about it. So I Wish the staff had been more informed and helpful.

    The room was fine and the breakfast was good. Hotel was clean and modern.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pity about the run down leisure centre next door & some "young men" hanging around with nothing to do.

    Staff efficient & attentive: Cuisine very tastey & enjoyable. Bed most comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant and food were poor. Big shame as otherwise would have been a lovely stay.

    The room, bed and view of the river. Lovely terrace overlooking the Loire

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We wished the bar and outdoor terrace had been more lively as the setting and ambience otherwise were delightful - shame about the rather run-down look of the adjacent Maison de la Culture although this was not viewable from the hotel itself.

    We especially loved the good size of the bedroom and the luxurious lay out of the bathroom. Having a reasonable sized fridge in the room was a marvellous bonus. The fittings were all of high quality. The riverside location was a big plus; the view along the river to the bridge was marvellous at any time of day. Standards of cleanliness were first class.Super helpful staff at all times.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful. If there are only a few rooms occupied they will turn off the hot water and tell you to have a shower in tepid water. Not impressed. Left early. Management rude. Regular staff lovely and doing their best under obvious difficult circumstances.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were cold and unhelpful. Food at dinner was very average and lacking in flavour. 6 euros for parking and 15 euros for breakfast seemed a lot for a hotel on the edge of the centre and a breakfast with very little variety

    Room was quite well equipped and clean

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No food available on Sunday also no one serving at the bar. After a long drive not what we were expecting. We were also kept waiting at reception on arrival as no one was there. Very unhappy.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu choice limited and breakfast uncaring staff

    Location Rooms and parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff, good food and very clean and nice views!excellent value too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely view of the Rover Loire. Great place to stay if going to Magny Cours too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO FOOD ON SUNDAYS COULD TELL RESTAURANT CLOSED ON WEBSITE

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaking toilet in room, giving off bad smell.

    Restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no wheelchair accessible toilets unless you go back to your room this is very poor

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better ask for a bedroom with the view on the river when booking.

    Nice place near the city center where many places to visit and walk around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was OK

    Great location looking over the River Loire. Beautiful town with a great feel about it, friendly locals and not touristy!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    A very good quiet position with comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Away from gare or bus stop

    Big bed, adjoining rooms a plus for family travelers

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is more expensive (15Euro); No dinner in Sunday in this hotel

    Big room and good clean, good service from front desk

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room have good sight view of the river, clean room and bed. Good taste breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great proximity to the Loire River and easy walk into the city center for all the sight seeing and cafes. Lovely city. Lots of history.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable bed. Good location by the river. Spacious, well equipped room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds but poor pillows Good parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room well laid out and tea & coffee making facilities in room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast 15 euro coffee from machine ready sweetened, selection of buffet poor

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed too soft.

    clean and with closed parking availability. Good restaurant and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Myself .& husband along with elderly Father returned from a meal out to have a few beers on Sunday night.we three are very quiet and just sip beers and myself wine .after two rounds it was 11.45pm.my husband went looking for a staff to get a round last one .the lady in reception just said No Finished.was rude in her attitude. The lights were still on in the Bar. We were very disappointed that we didn't stay in the place we were in which was nice and warm. Came back to hotel. Sitting with our coats as was cold .

    The Bar area is a lovely setting but one has to go looking for staff to get served.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The one thing they were unable to supply for us was wifi - they provided us with a password but this did not work on any of our devices. On enquiring further at the reception, they tried but were unable to help us. You might think that after all these years, this problem might by now be solved.

    The restaurant was excellent. Food was very good and the service impressive. We ate in the restaurant for the two nights of our stay for this reason. We liked the breakfast too - everything you might reasonably wish for was available.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My schedule didn't allow me to stay longer.

    The room was spacious, comfortable and very well appointed. The dinner on the terrace overlooking the Loire was a delightful experience in every way.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff argued room type and rate that we booked on bookings.com. We booked breakfast included and a view of the water. When we arrived we were told a view was more money and that the breakfast was extra. We also had to pay for parking. We were tired and not happy.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pole Quality pf The room furnitures

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    paper cup in the room

    location at the bridge

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As above

    We arrived on a Sunday after a long drive, to find restaurant was closed, as was the whole town. Nowhere to get a bite to eat or a drink

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tres proche du circuit. Garage ferme

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, restaurant

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Schöne Terrasse auf die Loire, sehr nettes Personal.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    See above! Told could only access wifi through Google but couldn't do that either so no wifi to keep in touch with family

    See above

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms did not have aircon. 32 degrees outside, 26 degrees inside.

    Location, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the young receptionist was very good, and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My short stay.

    All of the friendly staff, especially Ingrid. Wonderful gourmet food in the restaurant, also great breakfast.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Mercure Nevers Pont De Loire traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: