Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Niort Marais Poitevin 4 stars

27 Rue De La Térraudière, 79000 Niort, France

#9 of 19 hotels in Niort

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 374 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and the staff excellent but not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed in Mercure hotels before and will look for them on trips on that basis. I do not think that this one met the standards of the last one I stayed in - Cherbourg - where I paid for a standard room which was better that this premium rated room.

    Staff were extremely helpful, friendly, professional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant stay in Niort to see the Medievil Festival
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A separate area outside for the dogs booked at the hotel to use as a toilet .Its greatly appreciated that dogs are allowed in this hotel and a great shame that some owners seem reluctant to pick up their dogs mess .

    Lovely hotel in excellent position , well presented and beautifully clean rooms ,very helpful staff and nice foyer and sitting area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Not up to Mercure usual standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled of cigarette smoke, staff in restaurant were unwelcoming and service was exceptionally slow. Pushed to buy more expensive wine from their selection (no wine by the glass on the menus although it was available in the bar). Food was adequate but pricey. No mirror over dressing table area in room.

    It has car parking and is in a quiet location, although a walk through a run-down area to the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Good comfortable hotel especially as an overnight stop when travelling through western France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking security gate left open during stay

    Good room with a very comfortable bed. Excellent bathroom with plenty of hot water and a good size bath and shower facility. Easy walking distance to town where there are plenty of restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.0
    Room fine, everything else terrible. Staff and breakfast dire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We should have been told that the hotel was effectively shut. We were given a 'breakfast' that was vile. Not the freshest bread, one glass of juice, rotten fruit, dried up cheese. Refused to pay the princely sum of 17 euros each! The receptionist did not manage an apology or any interest whatsoever. Probably the rudest staff and worst breakfast I have ever come across after years of travelling. You would expect better in a hostel. A hotel to avoid at any cost.

    The rooms are good as would be expected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and enjoyable, pet-friendly stay.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you're looking for comfortable accommodation with a good breakfast and free, secure parking close to the city centre, this hotel would be a good choice. If you're travelling with a dog, it's ideal. Niort is a pleasant city with more to offer than I realised.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.2
    Modern choice in Niort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy hotel with business conferences and meetings and car park can be full in the daytime.

    Modern hotel near the city centre with good secure parking and private for a fee. Rooms are good size and comfortable. Restaurant on site and also a good choice of local restaurants five minutes walk away at main square. Train station also nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.9
    An ok hotel, but need some improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room they gave us had a leakage and was all wet. The second one was ok, but too small for the baby crib I've asked. Still it was ok. There was just one person working at the hotel (the receptionist) and she wasn't in a very good mood when we arrived. The restaurant wasn't open (in a Saturday night). I've payed almost 20 euros for breakfast and all I got was 1 croissant, a piece of bread and butter and cold coffee. No eggs, no ham, no cheese, nothing else. And they wanted me to pay it twice as if my 13 months old baby would add as a person even when they just delivered one of each thing.

    The room was spacious, even being very central they have a large parking in the property, the receptionist of the night shift was a really nice guy. The hotel has been recently renovated so it looks nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    A hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on a Saturday night and the restaurant was closed for dinner.

    Niort is a delightful town with many restaurant options and a short walk (5min) from the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    4.6
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior room at extra cost was small. Very poor value for money. Room service and dinner menus were limited and uninspiring to say the least. Apart from cleanliness it was more like a 2 star. Cannot understand how it maintained 4 stars. At almost half the price hotel in Spain the previous night was vastly superior in every way.

    Clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Good overnight stop off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Fairly centrally situated quality hotel. Plenty of secure parking. Good overnight stop off. Quiet at weekends. Restaurant open on Sunday evenings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable; reception staff friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining room seemed gloomy in a grey day with full leaf cover on trees. Menu seemed a bit short of items from which to choose

    Sorry - nothing really stood out

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Many thanks to the personnel!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many thanks to the personnel! Even though breakfast is till 10 am, we were allowed to get it around 10 am as traveling with a baby is always a challenge, we could enjoy our breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    My name is Harry Long and I live on the Isle of Wight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As on previous visits we are disappointed with the paper beakers in the bedrooms. The four star rating surely justifies proper crockery.

    Plenty of space in the car park enabling me to drive in and choose which spot. Good choice for breakfast in a spacious dining room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Nice comfy clean and modern feeling hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to dislike.

    The breakfast was excellent but pre book on a deal,plenty of good restaurants near by within easy walking distance. Hotel very clean and fresh feeling. Good base to use for surrounding areas La Rochelle not too far or Rochforte. Hotel close enough to the action but tucked away so very quite on a night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    5.4
    Alright for pets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of room & corridors a doggy & cigarettes separate toilet & bathroom no hand wash in toilet not very hygienic

    The receptionist help

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    First class visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Serious trip hazard near to pool and safety there also lax with access always open - young children could wander in.

    First class positive service from staff. Problem with room equipment was swiftly solved by moving us to new room. Restaurant menu was helpfully varied. Easy walk into shops and other services. Breakfast with plentiful alternatives.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    A pleasant and comfortable stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pity they had to provide paper cups with the tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    An excellent location just a few minutes walk from the main downtown area. Plenty of secure parking. Tucked away, this hotel surprises by its actual size and facilities. A nice swimming pool ideal for a dip after a long drive. Perfect for a short stopover on the way back to the coast. We had an excellent dinner outside on the terrace. The bedroom was a decent size and was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    A very comfortable, quiet stay in a favourite town of ours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very comfortable, quiet stay in a favourite town of ours. It was well sin posted, but our sat nav led us a merry dance round all sort of back streets - so beware - Actually the hotel is conveniently place for the City and also secluded - this is ideal. the bar and restaurant were well worth patronising, food and service good. Breakfast efficient and pleasant. Rook particularly modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.2
    Pleasant hotel, well situated in Niort.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior gate to leave the car park did not work, and the receptionist on duty did not explain this. We had to ask for the way out. The receptionist did not offer any information about the hotel, eg breakfast times, how to find our room as the sign was not very evident.

    An excellent breakfast for the price. The lack of noise in the hotel. The facility to make our own hot drinks

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    7.1
    Good price, some changes needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WC did not have a sink, the soaps were minuscule,and the breakfast buffet was overpriced (a better buffet can be had for less at the sister Accor chain, Ibis.) The worst aspect of the hotel, however, was the room doors: they did not have hydraulic dampers, so the doors slammed every time someone entered or exited. Our sleep was frequently interrupted as a result.

    The rooms are large, there is free parking, the area is quiet, and the price is good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    8.8
    One night stay while cruising from Spain to homeland Belgium
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could maybe use a make over, but all in all : regards the style of the hotel And service And staff I say : I didnt bother or care at all. So, no didn't like, just a small small mention

    Great staff ! Very helpfull and personal. The coffee at Breakfast : Heaven !! Can i mention this 2 times ? :-) Location : in the middle of the city and still easy - chill - relax at the hotel : wonderfull Secured free parking : Top !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.3
    Good position and excellent facilties
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in restaurant could be surly and service slow.

    Good position near middle of town, good parking and excellent facilities. Food in restaurant was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Great location with ample parking (free) gym no additional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Resturant a little pricey

    Great location with ample parking (free) gym no additional cost.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.0
    We were given a refurbished room and the bed was comfortable. Restaurant was expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our opinion not a four star hotel but four star prices

    Good free parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I booked I thought I had the breakfast price included but was asked to pay 34 euros . The breakfast was however very good.

    Very comfortable room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel with secure parking and really friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A very good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Varied menu easy to find the hotel and good parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Varied menu easy to find the hotel and good parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Superb, would definitely use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing,

    Excellent Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room superbly comfortable. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    enjoyed our stay would recomend but bring your own wine
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wine was very expensive

    close to bars and restaurants, hotels restaurant was good had dinner there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    discovery of a town which is making an effort to be attractive, but does not succeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel restaurant does not try very hard

    the swimming pool is a plus. a couple of interesting restaurants are in easy walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Mercure Niort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy access to city and my place of work

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    would ve like quite room could offer a bigger room as was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would ve like quite room could offer a bigger room as was lots room available however I did mention to reception about the room and the noise

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Very realaxed hotel, good kitchen, very good breakfast, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Very realaxed hotel, good kitchen, very good breakfast, quiet surrounding

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Excellent location with an easy walk to the main square with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Niort is a lovely town.

    Excellent location with an easy walk to the main square with a good selection of bars and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.9
    Great city centre location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Comfy bed - liked toilet separate to bathroom - good food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.9
    Estancia tranquila y confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La habitación era amplia, tranquila.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Lovely clean business like hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely clean business like hotel. Right in center of town

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    5.8
    Not up to the Mercure standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More like a conference hotel .not like the usual Mercure chain that we have stayed in Wouldn't stay here again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.3
    Rooms sufficiently comfortable, ample private parking space...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pets are allowed in the rooms - for anyone allergic to animal hair or smell the stay in such hotels is russian roulette. I had not noticed "pets allowed" earlier.

    Rooms sufficiently comfortable, ample private parking space closed overnight, convenient restaurant and quiet surroundings. A good hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    Very quiet clean hotel with an above average breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No criticism whatsoever!

    Very quiet clean hotel with an above average breakfast. We were able to keep the window open at night, it was so quiet. We had a coffee maker and the parking lot was securely gated. It was a short ten minute walk to town center and shops. WIFI was reliable and fast.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Situated just where we wanted in town and it had its own car...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Situated just where we wanted in town and it had its own car park (free). Staff polite and were able to understand our pigeon french! Room was excellent. It was modern,spacious,extremely clean and had a fantastic shower. Tea/coffee facilities in room with cardboard cups but that wasn't a problem. Saturday evenings restaurant closes but we just walked round the corner and found a very nice pizzeria. Had breakfast in hotel as we didn't want to mess around looking for anywhere open early on Sunday morning and we wanted to carry on with our journey to the Dordogne. Typical continental breakfast with the added sausages,bacon and scrambled eggs which we did think a bit steep at 15€ each. Other than that we would thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    4.6
    The location was great, the Hotel room was spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no bar, no restaurant, nowhere to have a drink on arrival. a bit disappointing.

    The location was great, the Hotel room was spacious and clean. Parking was free. Breakfast was ok.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    8.3
    evening meal and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Assigned room 202 on evening of 28/09/15 but it was beside hotel lift that was noisy into the late evening and early next morning and totally disrupted our sleep.

    evening meal and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.1
    We were a mature couple on a leisure trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were a mature couple on a leisure trip. I choose Mercure Niort as a one night stopover en-route from Cherbourg to Granada. As such the location proved less than ideal as it was a long and convoluted route from the motorway to the hotel. The free parking was secure and convenient -1st class. The room and hotel décor were more a three star than a four star quality – it was the least attractive of the three four star hotels we used en route.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    8.3
    Staff excellent and charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    swimming pool closure times - arrived at just after 8pm on a very hot day after 8 hours driving so child disappointed to miss promised swim

    Staff excellent and charming Breakfast choice terrific outside seating area for eating was great food was very good

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    4.2
    Very unhelpful reception staff, told us they had I rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Receptionist

    Very unhelpful reception staff, told us they had I rooms left when we ask to be moved even when myself and my husband went on the Internet and tried to.book more!

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    8.8
    Clean comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    none

    Clean comfortable hotel. Staff speak english. Food in restaurant was really nice. Hotel has a nice outdoor pool (we didn't get to use it though). Rooms comfortable. Good location to walk to town centre.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    7.5
    Service and food (dinner) in restaurant was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower room and toilet were on the small side but nice that they were separate. Breakfast - coffee was not hot, no bacon but otherwise ok.

    Service and food (dinner) in restaurant was excellent

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    The warmth of welcome from reception and the excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The warmth of welcome from reception and the excellent parking facilities, including secure undercover garaging for €7 per day.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.8
    Very well presented hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very well presented hotel.Modern,friendly,helpful staff and good restaurant.Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Horrible breakfast and no staff around. Useless hairdryer and tired and shabby rooms

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast too expensive !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast too expensive !!

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    9.6
    Convenient for en route
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient for en route

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.2
    Friendliness of personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some renovation is needed in the near future

    Friendliness of personal Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    10
    Bed comfortable and large.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed comfortable and large. Rooms well insulated so no hotel noise. Staff very friendly. Plenty of car parking spaces.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    6.7
    The bar and restaurant was closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bar and restaurant was closed. It was not mentioned when I booked it.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.5
    Cost of breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cost of breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.6
    Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    Central

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.5
    City centre location with private parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool was outside and unheated. Dinner was expensive for what was provided.

    City centre location with private parking

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.5
    The hotel was good with excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Took us an hour to find hotel Sat Nav could not find it despite full address and code

    The hotel was good with excellent food

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    7.5
    Central but quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom/toilet layout

    Central but quiet location Easy parking

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    Lovely comfy room and good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely comfy room and good facilities. Very helpful receptionist offered to help translate the menu for us.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    8.3
    Location en rote to normandy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited menu

    Location en rote to normandy

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast too expensive at 15€ so eat out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast too expensive at 15€ so eat out.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.8
    Good food and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good food and comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.2
    Everything, especially the well mannered staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything, especially the well mannered staff. Good communication skills and friendliness. Excellent food in their fine restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    7.5
    Rooms were comfortable spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Waiting around in reception on arrival although it was 20:00 hrs

    Rooms were comfortable spacious Food was good drinks were expensive

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    10
    The hotel was excellent as were the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was excellent as were the staff. It was a very good base for my wife and I to use to explore the region.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: