Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Notre Dame 2 stars

1 Place Abbé Thellier De Poncheville, 59300 Valenciennes, France

#7 of 21 hotels in Valenciennes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 301 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing room with direct view over Basilica of Saint-Cordon! Very clean. Great shower and the bed was very comfortable! Great value, we decided to book a extra night. Good service, very helpful staff! Delfine give us good advice about places to visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was basic, but it's a 2 stars hotel, so you couldn't not expect more, it was oké.

    Very friendly staff! They told us about the things to see/ to do and gave us the food specialties from Valenciennes. There was no parking space in front of the hotel so they told us were we could park. The hotel was very good located and quit during the night. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift but staircase was easy to access.

    This was the second time I stayed here. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating and able to recommend local eateries. Very close to the centre of Valenciennes. Had a very quiet room to the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing although parking is a little bit of a challenge!

    Location, friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast, definitely worth a visit and would stay again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast a bit insubstantial

    Delighful, friendly and helpful staff. Recommended great restaurant close by. Central position for those who want to explore.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Although small hotel, room was compact, everything was very clean, tidy and well presented with good continental breakfast in morning. We were fortunate arriving late, parking was available outside the hotel. Interesting area with magnificent historic Notre Dame Cathedral right opposite hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately I couldn’t get any English speaking channels on the TV but this was a minor inconvenience. No lift and the stairs are curved and a little steep. On street parking is available but at a cost.

    We stayed at the Hotel Notre Dame as a convenient location for viewing the Paris-Roubaix bike race which passes through nearby Arenberg. It was a good choice both for the race and for exploring Valenciennes, as it is just five minutes or so on foot from the main square. Very typically French in style, our first floor double room, reached by a curved staircase, was very large and clean with a suitably large double bed. The bedroom furniture was a mix of styles but functional, though the lighting was poor. In contrast the bathroom was very well lit and had a large bath tub but only a hand held shower head. Breakfast was limited but sufficient and good value for money. Overall we found the Hotel Notre Dame well suited to our needs and would have no hesitation in returning should we be in the area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No elevator, so you'll have to climb the stairs with you luggage.

    Great location - quiet place very close to the city centre, so all shops and restaraunts are just 2 minutes away. Good breakfast, including hot omlette, bacon and assortment of cheese.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Unfortunately the hotel has not an elevator. So you have to grab your luggages and head upstairs to find your room. The hotel is somewhat old. Mosquitos if you leave the windows open...

    The staff is really helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and the Hotel is very close to everything: mall, restaurants, tram station, museum, etc. Great location and great vista from Notre Dame Cathedral!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious breakfeast which was included. Nice to have the free parking. The dinner at the restaurant The Tupina was really good! The cleaning was good and the staff were all nice and helpful. Nice taste - beautiful!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic, bathroom small and outdated.

    Nice garden, good location close to town centre and in vicinity of the cathedral. Staff was very helpfull and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms are very old not modern. breakfast without sausage and cheese :/ not enough for germans

    Breakfast was good but typically french. very nice and helpful staff. perfect location, nice little city could use a late check put, very good

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location with plenty of restaurants close by and Motorcycle friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff.. lovely location.. secure parking for my motorcycle...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly worn out

    Extremely nice staff, great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very friendly. Arranged motor bike parking that was very secure. Town centre location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked tea/coffee making facility in room

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable clean room and good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Comfortable and clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room noise from street Room layout clumsy No WiFi in room No simple cupboard for storage

    Staff, location,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truly the Nicest staff I have ever seen.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room a bit basic.

    Peace and quiet, friendly staff, continental breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    shower needs to be higher

    central position

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for a one night stay touring France . Pleasant staff , clean comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit old-fashioned; noise from corridors; parking not explained clearly

    location in centre of Valenciennes; staff helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    la situation de l'hotel, un parking en face, isolation acceptable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is inconsistent

    Very simple room, but clean and comfortable in a great location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exterior of the building could do with a face-lift

    Large spacious room,with old style features, draw back,no lift that I could see

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mosquitoes in room (6, but only 1 survived!). Breakfast was very basic, and limited.

    Convenient; lovely staff. Nice room; excellent (new) bathroom facilities. Easy walk from town.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had such a short stay that there was nothing that we didn't like.

    We loved this hotel. It felt cared for and in turn we felt very well looked after. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Our family bedroom was perfect. We ate our dinner in the garden (takeaway pizzas, wine and orangina) and it felt so relaxed and comfortable. A somewhat sleepy town but if you happen to be there then the Hotel Notre Dames is a safe bet.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past 10 years and always enjoyed the quiet location and friendly staff. Best of all is the lovely large enclosed garden at the rear of the property. This is my favourite hotel in Valenciennes and always my first choice to stay when I visit. My ground-floor room this year overlooked the garden - which was delightful! As a frequent business traveller I also appreciated the very spacious room and extremely comfortable bed. There are a number of nice local restaurants and shops nearby and the interesting 'Old Town' area is just a short walk away.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location close to main square and centre. Friendly staff. Lovely garden. Quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing to report

    5 mins to restaurants and shops. 24 hour reception. Convenient private parking within 2 mins of hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location. We had a pretty room with beautiful stained glass windows (nouveau art). Good restaurants in walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very close to town centre. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good choice at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great value for money. Clean & comfortable, lovely garden, central location between city centre and the park!

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Simple lovely hotel all your needs and staff informative and warm/friendly. Will stay again x

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Hotel Notre Dame traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: