Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Villa Nice Victor Hugo 3 stars

19 Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France

#25 of 169 hotels in Nice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 753 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    In Nice to attend a wedding found hotel intimate and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concerned how light rail will effect the outlook of hotel once completed. Breakfast room a little airless when busy, ran out of pancakes and bacon one morning, urn with hot water would have been good for tea drinkers.

    Boutique style and decor, location, casual and relaxed feel. Loved the large windows which we could open rooms very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, fairly spacious room with French window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive for 3-star. Internet pretty poor.

    Comfortable, fairly spacious room with French window. Light, bright and clean. Great location near the beach, shops and 10 mins from the old town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Recomended, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Problems with WIFI, not reliable wireless connection 2. Bed sheets to be changed more often in rooms

    1. Good location 2. Nice room 3. Availability of reception to provide information 4. Good shower 5. Freshness in the rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Real bargain, recommended for those who want a really good room without too much fuss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator doors impractical when carrying many bags

    Super nice room, great bed, bathroom and proper air conditioning. Nice terrace view and location. Outstanding value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Very nice stay, in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location. Lived up to expectations. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was very good. I will go back to Nice and the French Riviera region again for a longer period next time. So much to explore and see.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, safe and memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No dedicated parking to unload and reload baggage at the entrance of the hotel

    The room was very comfortable, fabulous view and the bed/pillows made sleep a pleasure. The staff understood that our French language skills were lacking and they made allowances for us. We would come back and stay on our next trip to France

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Reviews are accurate: Great hotel, excellent value, super-helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrific hotel, has everything the traveler needs: 7-min walk from Promenade des Anglais (Bus #98 from airport drops at Rue Congres / picks up at Gustave V stop). Walking distance to: Supermarket, launderette, best crepes cafe in Nice, parking garage, and Vieux Nice/Castle Hill. Hotel itself is spotlessly clean, has lift/elevator, cool decor, comfy beds, modern well-appointed bathrooms. Awesome staff...Lionel is amazingly knowledgeable and helpful. Definitely will return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    We had an amazing stay for a long weekend here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large bed was extra comfy. My view from my window was amazing. It was lovely and quiet at night. Very relaxed hotel. Breakfast was good. Good position for prom/beach (although pebble Beach) and train station. As nice as pictures shown. Would reccomend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    We like staying here very much and will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A second chair would be good. The small designer table in the corner of the room was too small at around 12 inches. A towel rail for hand towel needed in room 12

    6 foot bed in confort room, fridge,kettle. There are improvements with breakfast since last year with fresh fruit salad and pancakes. The hours are conveniently long at 0700-1030. The small balcony overlooking the street. Convenient location between seafront and station and some super restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was a bit spotty at times, mostly at night. We weren't trying to do big things but simple Youtube-videos or social media pages wouldn't load. It was better in the morning. Maybe a lot of people were online at night? Pressure in the shower wasn't that great. We were on the sixth floor so maybe it had something to do with that.

    Perfect staff! Everyone was very friendly, always saying hello when they saw us. Not only the front desk staff but also housekeeping for example when you passed them in the hall. When we arrived, the room was not yet ready. We were a bit early but the lady at the front desk changed our room so that the room was ready. Very nice. Very clean in the room & bathroom. Soaps etc were supplemented every day. Location: 5-10 minute walk from Promenade d'Anglais, few minutes from Av. Jean Médecin (big shopping street). Noise-level: great. We were pretty high up so no street noise but I had the feeling the hotel was very well isolated. No noise from other rooms on our floor, either. If you compare with neighboring hotels, the prices of this hotel are excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in this quaint boutique style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything came up to expectation

    Everything was very comfortable and the staff were really helpful especially on our departure day when we had a late flight and could have been affected by the strike in France. The young guy on reception checked all through the day to see what was happening. Super location, easy walk to the train station, the promenade, the old town. They are constructing the new metro line to the airport in the street outside but it did not mar our stay, just made the street very quiet at night! Would return again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    Unfair Pricing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I thought the pricing was unfair. They charged me the same price as they charged the couple traveling with me. Of course I only had one breakfast daily while they had two. The prices published in the brochure in the room were completely different than what I paid (higher) as a single traveler.

    Breakfast was good. The decor was nice. They had an elevator!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Great Stay would not hesitate to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were friendly and helpful, rooms comfortable, great shower , breakfast was good many items on offer , location was good only 10 minutes leisurely stroll to old town/main sites also 5 mins walk to train station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Nice and co
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In front of the hotel the street is closed due to some works, consequenty some time there are some “People” sitting on the street that speak loud (fortunately only during the day)

    Staff very gentle. I booked a comfort room and during the check in the receptionist told us that They have upgraded our room to a executive room. The room was very big, Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.9
    On my second day there the bathroom door was stuck and I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On my second day there the bathroom door was stuck and I was stuck in the bathroom for awhile before I got to communicate with the hotel staff , eventually I was able to get out but that was something strange for me ........This was my first time booking a hotel for myself without a travel agent and I couldn’t believe what I had to go through with payment because the hotel doesn’t accept debit cards , I don’t own a credit card (which was new to me), I later on googled this and found that I was not the only one and that this process was normal . This experience allowed me to have so much more respect for travel agents and such companies because I wouldn’t want to go through this process for a second time

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    The location is good - few minutes walking to the promenade...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is good - few minutes walking to the promenade and old town. The hotel itself was lovely :) It was our honeymoon weekend and we got an upgrade, which was great :) The breakfast was tasty with many different options.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.3
    Would go again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very central. Clean. Staff good. Room size expected a little bit bigger but it was adequate (ordered comfortable room). Breakfast - decent. Luggage kept in appropriate room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.5
    Elegant Boutique Style. Comfortable Rooms & Delightful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Night I arrived the desk clerk was rather impatient and really should not be in the hospitality business. Suggest he try another profession. That is why the rating dropped a point or two. Otherwise, staff was friendly throughout my stay, Merci!

    Hotel was well designed with a grey/white theme (my favorite) and the beds were comfortable and my petite room was like a cocoon for me after a tiresome journey. Breakfast was nice and bar is well supplied with champagne, too. Lobby is a nice place to hang out, though I could not leave my comfortable room (and bed). My off-season rates were a bonus, but I would also pay the full season rate to be there, too! Walking around NICE it was also very easy! Hotel is well situated to town and train.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Aircondition was not heating but didnt create big problem...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircondition was not heating but didnt create big problem according to good weather, we checked it hotel management should clean the filters and also out of the AC

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing, easy walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the breakfasr did not end at 10:00 am. I missed it becaise the beds so comfortable I couldnt Get up! Suggest weekends with a breakfast rhat ends at 11:00

    Traveling alone has its’challenges; this hotel was an easy walk from train. Style was simple chic in grey and white with accommodations that were cean and inviting for a good rest. Room was cozy and modern. White clean sheets and enough towels like a 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Good value hotel. I would choose again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short cord on wall mounted hair dryer. Strange arrangement of Bathroom door and room door.

    Relatively large bathroom with shower. Easy walk to train station (north) and beach (south). Bed was queen size. Visited in November.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Very pleasant and a true surprise since I had no prior knowledge of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lighting in room and bathroom was insufficient. lighting above a mirror is poor for makeup application

    The location and proximity to the shore, shops, restaurants and transportation were all excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Efficient and well-located...just what we needed after a long train ride.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean and quiet. We walked to/from the train station and to/from the promenade. The pedestrian area and restaurants are close by. It was great for our short visit before getting a rental car the next morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.8
    location v good in centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    larger lift

    basic enough boutique accommodation but all new - bar v v small - room v small but upgraded to floor 1 as lift is v v small - breakfast v v good -

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    A lovely hotel, good value, clean and very central to town, would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff on arrival could of been a little more welcoming

    The hotel was in a lovely building and very central, the man on reception on our last day was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Staying here added to the enjoyment of my time in Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, great location, quiet but not far from restaurants, shops and the sea. Comfort room was good size, bed very comfortable. Added bonus of a fridge in the room. Bathroom is contemporary, shower is excellent. We had breakfast every morning, it was simple but very enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice is a great place to base your stay. nice city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was comfortable, the staff excellent very helpful. breakfast buffet was a good start to the day. nearby shops daytime ,restaurants nigh time and only five minute walk to the sea front. And checkout the local public transport. cheap as chips and very regular.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    They had towels you could take to the beach which was an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They had towels you could take to the beach which was an unexpected surprise. Breakfast was good value compared to the local cafes and had a good selection. The bathroom was modern and very clean. There was a kettle so bring teabags :-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    See what did you like above...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iron in room would've been handy and somewhere nice to eat/ have a coffee outside- area a little small and tired.

    Lovely bed and great view and friendly staff. Nice modern feel in great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    La Villa(Victor Hugo) Nice and cosy Hotel near city centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to report here.

    La Villa Nice Victor Hugo offers a good quality price ratio. Located in Boulvard Victore Hugo, the hotel is at 5 minutes walking from the famous “Promenade des Anglais” and at 15 from old Nice with all restaurants and shops. Hotel was renovated recently and offers nice and cosy rooms. My room was clean ,clear and quiet. Air-conditioning was running smoothly. Bathroom was correct. Breakfast was fine and good quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.8
    Room was modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to park onsite and no valet parking available. Staff member at breakfast was walking around twiddleing thumbs and we had our dirty plates pulling up.

    Room was modern and clean. Good location. Reception staff polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    La Villa Victor Hugo is a nice boutique hotel with Vieux...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sometimes the staff came across a bit cold.

    La Villa Victor Hugo is a nice boutique hotel with Vieux Nice in walking distance. It is reasonably close to the beach and to all important parts of town. The hotel is clean and provides good facilities given the price level.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Good all rounder
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't dislike anything.

    Bed comfy and spacious. .nice white soft towels. Good quality bathroom products. Staff were very informative.good all rounder

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Interior is very good, new rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During 4 nights stay bed clothes/linen were not changed and the room was not cleaned properly (napkin on the floor was not picked up).

    Interior is very good, new rooms. Location is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    A very comfortable hotel in an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The major road works out front does upset the approach to the hotel, it will be wonderful when this is completed.

    The hotel was in a very good location, only a stroll to many good restaurants and very handy to all public transport options.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.8
    Didn't reach expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked this hotel after seeing it's high ratings on various website including booking.com. The cleaning service was not up to standard for a 3 star hotel, at first we thought it may have been by mistake but used items were inconsistently taken and replaced. Some of the staff were not the most welcoming but that may have been a language barrier. The breakfast was absent of skimmed milk. Also during our stay there was a lot of construction works out front of the hotel which was quite noisy.

    The hotel was in a great location, just a short walk to the promenade, great restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    Good located but needs more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What we did not like is the attitude of the employees. They were not polite and not too helpful either. For example when we were checking in, the receptionist waited us like 10 minutes and nobody was there except from us. Second day our shower gel finished (it was about to finish by the way) and we asked to refill it but another receptionist told us she cannot do it and have to wait next days housecleaning, not so helpful.

    The location was perfect, close to everywhere. Unfortunately there was construction in front of the hotel but it is not hotel's fault:) I think it will continue for sometime. The hotel was simple and clean. Do not expect too many facilities. Room was big and comfortable. Room has minibar but it is empty, you can full it. A/C was working well. Shower was big and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.7
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very bright and hot. Vast windows with no coverings made it unbearably hot to get ready especially in the afternoon and evening. Huge bathroom but nowhere to put bathroom amenities

    Location was good. Rooms where clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice budget hotel, but in the middle of a construction site...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The overall breakfast was ok but very basic.. scrambled eggs were made from some powder... really strange and did not taste good. WiFi in the room is VERY slow... impossible to use. There was a huge construction site next to the hotel, which i think should be made clear when booking. this was disappointing.

    location was great and staff was helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    6.3
    too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom ventilation was too noisy and never stopped construction in the street not very helpful staff at the reception to chance my card of booking thank you for cancelling the rest of my stay without fee

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.0
    Very expensive for an average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold floors, especially in bathroom Average cleaning - they leave dust on furniture No iron in room - need to go to the ground floor to get it Very expensive for an average hotel

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    Spring break in Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather noisy during one night due to revellers outside, also tram work starting quite early, though this would not prevent us from staying here again.

    Staff, cleanliness, location, large room, late check out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Complimentary coffee and tea only available on first day - should be replenished on a daily basis.

    Good location. 5 mins easy walk to promenade/pedestrian areas and similar to train station. Quiet location - local roadworks made access a little tricky but should be excellent in the future. The locality is good for wheelchair users - flat with good dropped kerbs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Great location, GREAT shower
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, lovely and very helpful staff, comfy bed, FANTASTIC shower... Couldn't ask for anything more, really. I snuck a coffee down in the breakfast lounge and the spread looked fantastic as well - worth the low price the concierge had mentioned to me on check in. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is modern and could be more practical. Need 2 chairs in room rather than one. Pillows not soft enough for me. Subway works with hoarding are directly outside the hotel but are due to finish soon and are not noisy after 1700.

    The confort size room had a large bed and the shower room was good. Recent additions of a fridge and kettle were useful for us but coffee and tea given for day of arrival only. The room was spacious enough for 4 days. Breakfast is adequate with bread,croissant, cereal, fruit, yoghurt,cold meat, cheese etc with a very small amount of cooked items. Wifi worked well for us on 1st floor We like the location of the hotel in between the station and promenade and for some nice restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    The location of the hotel was perfect and we liked the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was slow, the staff could be more friendly, they were helpful, but not friendly.

    The location of the hotel was perfect and we liked the room as well. Facilities were ok, plus point for the supersoft towels ;)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Comfort and ease on Boulevard Victor Hugo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The tram to airport was under construction which made the front of building a little noisy and a trifle hazardous. A hotel of slightly similar name is close by...no connection!!!

    The hotel was newly and tastefully decorated. The staff were exceptionally helpful when we ran into a problem.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    More breakfast choice for those with allegies ie dairy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More breakfast choice for those with allegies ie dairy allergy meant that I could have bread but nothing cooked and cold food besides some processed meat was cheese or yogurt.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    10
    The hotel is beautifully designed and furnished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautifully designed and furnished. Located just a few blocks from the promenade and from everything else. The staff was superb, specially Lionel. We can't wait to come back to Nice and stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.1
    Good base
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding over front of property and some associated noise on the weekday afternoon that we arrived.

    Near to shops and old town within walking distance

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    7.5
    A bit basic but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were much more basic than the photos portrayed. I was expecting a much more 'boutique' feeling hotel but in actuality it was more like a chain hotel with a bit of fun wallpaper. We were comfortable but just underwhelmed.

    The lobby has a funky feel which is quite welcoming as soon as you enter the hotel. Balconies in the rooms were nice - great to open the doors and have a look out. The location was great for the train station and an easy walk from the main high street and the beach.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.2
    Good location, helpful staff, tidy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arrived at night and it was little far to walk from the bus station

    Staff were kind and helpful, room was in a good condition especially the bathroom, very comfortable bed, good access to the city, and I loved individually controlled heating system and the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    7.5
    Generally nice, very glad we got a cheap offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    scaffolding outside the window and workmen up and down so had to keep the curtains closed at all times, this was not mentioned on any site when booking. Loud drilling started at 0800. Rooms were not cleared of glasses and cups from day 1 when we left on day 4. Clean towels only provided room wasn't cleaned.

    Clean comfortable room and nice location off the busy streets. Night staff were very nice and chatty and helpful for the next day.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    Great location not far from the promenade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal could be stronger.

    We were offered a large room on the 3rd floor corner with two small balconies - so had a pleasant outlook over the church next door and rue Victor Hugo. The bathroom was very large. The hotel is a short walk to the promenade, and from there to the old town with lots of dining choices. It is also about a 15 minute walk to Nice Ville station. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.6
    Amazing and Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wi Fi was a bit hit and miss. I cant say because I originally booked a standard room and they upgraded us so I don't know what the standard room wold have been like but everything was excellent.

    It was clean Good location They upgraded us, Comfy bed, We could get BBC TV shower room was lovely, breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.9
    Great location and perfect if you're into pillows that are as hard as a rock
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had 2 nights here with very little sleep as I had 4 of the hardest pillows I've ever experienced. When I asked for an alternative, or another softer type I was told "no can do" quite Rudely. 2 days later and I still have a sore neck!

    Roomsvery clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.5
    Worth your money, but check construction works in the street and the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole street is full of construction works and the hotelfacade as well. Our balcony was blocked due to painting works. So we had no view on the street.( Therefore we got the upgrade) We were lucky to arrive between Christmas and new year so they stopped working on it so we had no noise complaints. We slept really well

    Nice breakfast, although it was in the basement without daylight. We got an upgrade to a comfortroom which was more spacious. The room was nice and very clean and had nice bathroom with a large shower,with toiletries and we got 2 bottles of free water on the room. Nice bed and good heating system.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I missed a kettle for tea or coffee.

    It is a lovely old building but the rooms have been updated in a modern minimalist style. It is very restful. My room was very quiet. The reading light was good and outlets for charging were convenient. The elevator was slow but the stairs were convenient. Location is great. It is close to the train station and to the bus which goes to the Matisse museum as well as the promenade with its buses. I only had a coffee which was a bit pricey but the breakfast looked quite good. Staff is very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.8
    v clean modern room in excellent central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some members of reception staff rather reserved and unenthusiastic although polite.

    v clean modern room in excellent central location. Old Town and Promenade easily accessible.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    6.3
    Give La Villa Victor Hugo a pass.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were hard as a rock. The desk clerk told me all the pillows were like that. The room (even though I was told I was "upgraded" for nothing, was very small. I can't imagine two people in that room. Also, there was no hair dryer. The shower floor had no lip on it and the water went all over even though I was extremely careful.

    It was clean but basic

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice stay in Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Softer pillows. Longer shower border not allowing the water to drip down to the bathroom floor.

    The location: not far from the promenade and at the same time in a relatively quiet district. The building is beautiful, the lounge and the breakfast room are newly renovated and have a nice design. Food selection at the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Looked out on a Holiday Inn across the street - not the most glamorous scene.

    Mid-way between rail station and downtown restaurants. Easy to find during the day or night. Quiet enough if window closed, otherwise a little noisy, being on the first floor and hearing people talking in the street.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Lovely stay on the French Rivera
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee making facilities in room

    Nice breakfast. Clean comfy room. Lovely shower in bathroom. 'very helpful and friendly staff. Great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.1
    Room was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room, a mini fridge would also have been an advantage

    Room was clean Beach towels were provided - big thumbs up for this as the private beaches charge for towels. Night staff especially were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Perfect in every way,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave. If I had to pick anything then probably just the exterior of the building which is in need of some TLC but does add character

    We spent 2 nights here after a week camping further down the coast. We wanted a bit of luxury and after reading all the reviews we knew the Victor Hugo was perfect for us. The location of this hotel was fantastic. friendly staff. We arrived early than expected and our room was ready so we could freshen up after a long journey. The hotel is easy to find from the train station, only a 10 min walk. (we took the No.99 Express from the airport). Lovely big bed. Amazing shower!! very clean and modern. Close to the front, main town, and old town. lots of shops within minutes. we walked everywhere. we loved Nice and the hotel made it even more special. We hope to return one day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.3
    Well-presented and stylish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Breakfast selection quite narrow given price

    - Comfy bed - Extremely helpful staff - very accommodating with check-in time, recommendations on what to see, do in Nice, providing directions - Quiet but within easy walking distance of Promenade and Old Town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast arrangements could have been better.

    Beautifully looked after and in an excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    Victor Hugo is a great place and would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very tiny but it was fine

    I liked the location and the feel of a boutique hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    The decor and the cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It is my favourite hotel in Nice. Exceptionally pleasant and a great location

    The decor and the cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to stop in Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevator. Slow and small

    Nice place to stop in Nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, 10 minute to the sea, 10 minute to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small dimension of the room

    Great location, 10 minute to the sea, 10 minute to the shopping streets, old city and lot of restaurants:)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    great location, super clean, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location, super clean, nice staff. the room was smallish but impeccable. no water in the room, which would've been nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Marvelous place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marvelous place...! Thanks

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    Lovely building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from outside of hotel opposite, late into night.

    Lovely building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    I loved my stay and will go back some day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would recommend it to anyone interesed to staying here. The location is close to the beach and trian station.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: