Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Paris Gare De Lyon 4 stars

2 Rue Hector Malot, 12th arr., 75012 Paris, France

#407 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3860 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very hot and staff kept turning tge air con off during the day. Surprised to not have any toiletries in the bathroom apart from body wash

    Very clean. The pool was great. Very handy to great cafes and restaurants and the railway station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    average. as expected for fairly budget hotel. if only budget was a lot cheaper these days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was quite small. room was not cleaned well each day. eg bis weren't emptied, tea, coffee, sugar in the room was not replenished.

    comfy bed. good aircon. nice bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, clean and really good to have use of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only paper cups were provided and no cutlery. Would have been better to have proper cups and spoons to have a cup of tea/coffee

    Great location, clean and really good to have use of the pool after long days out exploring the sights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, pool didn’t have depth measurements (You should have this for the young children) the pool is very deep. Staff didn’t know much about the area, staff need to learn more English

    rooms are nice and modern

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Very comfortable stay near the Metro and eating places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel was in a good safe location next to the Metro and café/restaurants. Beds & pillows were extra comfy, updated bathroom, good WiFi & quiet air con. Staff were helpful and hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Good for the business traveler looking for an economical stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Neighborhood was a bit dirty and grimy. Difficult to reach hotel from station. Breakfast was very modest and crowded. Eat elsewhere.

    Proximity to Gare de Lyon. Courtesy of staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    It was a bit underwhelming but Paris made up for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small room size. Has to move room twice due to street noise first time(after requesting a quiet room when booking we were given a room close to street level near construction site) Second room had a broken window and didn’t seal so even noisier! Breakfast finished at 10. No iron in room.

    The bed was comfortable. The reversible shower screen. Late checkout.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.2
    Not value for money. This hotel doesn’t fit to be rated 4 star!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor amenities e.g. insufficient shower/shampoo provided even after asking from housekeeping. Travelling with family 2adults & 2children; stayed for 4 nights. Not enough bath towels provided. Hotel very stingy. Only 1 bottle of mineral water given to 4 occupants per day! Worst still not given on last day.

    Location is good. Behind the hotel is the main Gare de Lyon station. Travelling made easy and time saving.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean utility for one night ;position to station excellent,restaurants all around ,but area very seedy ,and many homeless beggars on the streets .Well appointed rooms ,linen towels adequate ,bit o expensive for one night stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location, good value for mobey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask every day for extra towels despite being obvious there were 4 people in the room Small room

    Comfortable beds, clean rooms, friendly helpful staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was very good with very quality products, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small for a family with two children. The area in front of the hotel and the station make me nervous because of the strange people walking around

    The breakfast was very good with very quality products, the bed was perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.8
    Wouldn’t go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room Cleanliness Small bathroom Breakfast facilities were poor

    Breakfast was chaos too many people not enough tables and chairs. The room cleanliness was poor, horrible smell from the carpets, family room was really small for a family of 4. Bathroom could fit one person in at a time.... very pricey for what we got

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Good base for seeing the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper cups for tea/coffee and plastic glasses - really, does that save a lot of money? It's very poor from a guest perspective. The opaque glass wall between the bathroom and bedroom seems a nice idea, but it's very annoying if someone want to visit the bathroom in the night because the light awakens your family! Pointless tiny pool.

    Good location right next to the station. Pretty comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    2.5
    Run down one star in terrible section of town claiming to be a 4 star hotel by Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C did not work, we were supposed to have beds for all 5 of us in two rooms, instead had fold out couches. Maid walked into the room on three different occasions and never even knocked, even when I was in the shower and told them to leave they stood there and argued with me that they had to service the minibar. Three of us arrived at 925 for breakfast, and were refused because they close at 930. Of course the manager refused to even remove the payment for the breakfast which was prepaid. We were scheduled to be there for 5 days and left the next morning as soon as we secured somewhere else to stay. We were charged almost 1000.00 dollars for the two rooms for the one night. It would not have been worth it at 100.00 a room let alone what we were ripped off for. If you like junkies and lowlifes prowling around where your hotel is, you’ll love this place. My advice is to avoid at all costs.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Very close to Gare de Lyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ?

    Very close to Gare de Lyon. Easy travel to Disneyland and all... Just purchase a navigo card and enjoy travelling from RER to Metro lines or vise versa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Paris city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service started too late and hotel entrance difficult to locate, needs more signage.

    Fantastic location and proximity to metro and sightseeing attractions. Generous room size and room appointments. Good value for money. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Near to the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seems there is a hangout place just outside the hotel. Room is small.

    Near to the station. Airport shuttle bus stops near the hotel. Walking distance to restaurants and grocery store. Staff is courteous. They allowed us to checkin at 12 noon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Good but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The house keeping guys where asked not to clean the room as we had put the "Do not disturb" tag on the door. Still they came and tried to clean the room and it was awfully bad - messed up all the documents I had kept.

    The overall ambience was very good and entertaining. The hotel is well placed, much near to the attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Had a lot for kids!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a little rough and getting anywhere really involves metro. For the price though is good, and we came in and out of Gare de Lyon and also spent some days in Disneyland also accessible from this station. For a real tourist feel of Paris would recommend staying nearer Lux Gardens/Latin district.

    Had a lot for kids! Pool and games area, very good breakfast buffet. Location right next to Gare de Lyon. Staff good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    At this price point it was the best property I have stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    At this price point it was the best property I have stayed at in a long time. Pool was great, beds were divine. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. There were lots of little touches that showed the pride of management. Front desk staff, especially Andrea, were friendly and patient. Location right near major transport hub was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Close to everywhere , easily reach to the the transports .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No security personnel at the entrance of the hotel . Some guys and and homeless people are drinking and sleeping near the entrance during night .

    Close to everywhere , easily reach to the the transports . Kind personnel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Strategic location, good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress could be better, regardless of personal preferences. It's expensive, sure, but it's Paris

    Overall a really good hotel, with plenty of services, great breakfast and modern rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    A predictably high quality Novotel right next to Gare de Lyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smelly streets next to the hotel and station.

    This was a last minute booking for us as our plans had to change to due rolling train strikes. Location was excellent and everything was exactly as you would expect in a Novotel. It's always of a predictably high standard. Kids loved the pool although it was very deep so not one for small children without a parent. The restaurant attached to the hotel was very good and did a surprisingly excellent steak. Staff were fantastic. Located right next to Gare de Lyon which was perfect for us but a little away from other major attractions in Paris. If anywhere near the station, Le Train Bleu is a must. The breakfast is simply extraordinary.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    Poor location, Unaware staff - not worth the money they charge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The security hold amount of 560 EUR is still pending. Hotel says they have done the refund but it still hasn’t hit my bank account. If the Reception staff would have asked specifically for a credit card - I would not have given a debit card and avoided this trouble. Now I paid them twice for my stay plus another 120 for the deposit. They say the 560 EUR will reflect back but I am still waiting. This is how your experience is made bad

    Location kills whatever good aspects hotel might have had

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice Hotel central to everything however the unpleasant drunks outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rough area. Lots of drunks and homelessness, people urinating in the streets. Smell of urine and feaces was overwhelming at times. Not very comfortable walking around at night outside Hotel area

    Nice central area. Easy access to metro and surrounding areas

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location due to transport links from Gare de Lyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location due to transport links from Gare de Lyon. Nice to relax in swimming pool at the end of the day. Good for families with a kids play area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    The transparent bathroom glass wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The transparent bathroom glass wall. Not good when you share the room with your parent . It can be switched to opaque glass but still visible silhouette. You have to switch offbathroom lights when you take a bath

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Great pkace to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just perfect: nice, quiet, clean, comfortable rooms. Breakfast was superb and staff very friendly. For kids: 24 hour-swimming pool and kids corner with Xbox K-nect. And parking space under the hotel. Very close to Metro or train station. Definitely a GO for next time

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    For relaxation and refreshment; you cannot even want more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place of Henri Frenay deserves to be filled with life, so that a few (really only one or two) unpleasant, slipped, alcoholic figures will be leave the ground. But this is not (just) on the hotel... I can not report other negative things.

    The hotel is part of a known hotel chain, so we trusted it to bring the desired quality. We did not have to be disappointed, indeed! The swimming pool and the gym was perfect. The neighborhood was both relaxed and safe, approaching the accommodation from the front or the rear.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Good place to stay if you want to access paris and surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    limited breakfast - cook for yourself approach doesnt work so well when there are a high number of people choice of food for a 4 star hotel was also very limited

    location - super convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    We liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the location. Very close to Gare de Lyon so it was easy to get around. It was also close to some other places to eat so we had more choice. We enjoyed the swimming pool. It is very deep though! Staff were friendly and helpful, and it was very clean and comfortable. The rooms were a good size (we had a queen room with pull out bed for the children) but there was still room to move after the beds were pulled out which was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, helpful and friendly staff, and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, helpful and friendly staff, and great breakfast. We stayed for 4 nights in April 2018 (3 adults and two children, in 2 rooms, lots of space). Would return to this hotel again in future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Decent hotel, conveniently located, facilities can be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities for Novotel seemed quite inadequate as I have been staying regularly at other Novotel hotels in other cities and countries.

    It was very conveniently located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    24H Swimming pool and access to the gym, friendly staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not exactly value for money, a bit to pricey for 4 star hotel. Additionally parking was not included in the room price. Rooms were a bit to small for a family of 4.

    24H Swimming pool and access to the gym, friendly staff and great choice of breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, walking distance to the Seine. One train which took half an hour to Disneyland .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was too hot even with air conditioner switched on.

    Great coffee. Tasty breakfast with soya milk available for a vegan member of the family. Clean and spacious bath. Friendly staff. Double bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    Unfortunately all the rooms are the same size, so they can’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately all the rooms are the same size, so they can’t offer a ‘family room‘ that’s very big. Also the swimming pool is open 24 hours a day but is unclean. This was why we choose this hotel but after swimming once the debris in the pool put us off.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds hard. No dumbells in gym. Restaurant very small and crowded. Restaurant could benefit with more choice of food. Restaurant i found to have dirty cutlery.

    The staff at hotel were very helpful and it was a clean enviroment. the rooms offered everything you need for a quick stay. Overall pleased with the stay. Many thanks to Paula at front desk who was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Great for families, but don't use the hotel parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking lot is very tight, so tight that our companions dented and scratched their car quite badly. You're better off using the public parking facilities of the railway station 20 meters from the hotel: a bit more expensive but much less expensive than fixing a dent and scratch.

    Great for children, they appreciated the make up service at the breakfast. Good pool but not suitable for smaller children because of the depth. Extra beds on the rooms were of acceptable quality. Quite spacious rooms for Parisian standards. Helpful staff. No noise problems at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was extremly good, a great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was a little hot. only one of my windows opened up and the Air Conditioning wasnt good at all. The pizza around the corner wasnt very good FYI

    The breakfast was extremly good, a great value. the Bed was very comfortable. Location was convenient to the Lourve (2miles). Great food options

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location for travelling across the city with excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast lacked variety and the eating place was too congested compared to other novotel hotels I have been too.

    Good location for travelling across the city with excellent metro and bus links.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Family Friendly Hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on one of the main Metro lines. We were going out to Disneyland and it has a direct train line which is very frequent. Facilities for children are good! Hotel had a great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Friendly to kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly to kids. Small toy to my son makes him happy. Good position near by Gare de Lyon and shuttle bust to CDG. I came Pairs three times, always choose this area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.8
    It was ok, we like the location, but it‘s really not a four star standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toooooo many plastic cups in the room, bath and for tea and coffee, not suitable for 4 stars hotel and not really good for our planet!!! The swimming pool is smelly and not really clean, to less towels Room is not tidy, under our bed were rest of peanuts, everyday still there, even nach cleaning

    The Glas in the bath, special effect, cleaning and providing of tea and coffee daily

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was very rich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People queued to enter the breakfast room. It was stressful every morning not to know how much you'd wait for a table.

    Breakfast was very rich. Room was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel near the Gare de lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service: The service was great, all staff can speak English which is a big help. Staff at reception were cordial and check in and check out process was smooth. Housekeeping staff are also efficient and no complaints. Food/RoomService: I tried the chicken club sandwich (room service) and it came with fries, mustard, ketchup in cute glass bottles. Also tried the penne pasta with salmon and it was decent.. you can pay by card or cash once the food arrives in your room and that’s only because I had no deposit with the reception. Location: The location is just near the station which is convenient. If you walk out of one of the entrances to the hotel, you reach the station that connects you to trains (Metro, etc) There are downsides of staying near the station as people had urinated on the street adjacent to the station and it stinks every time we took a walk on that road leading to the main entrance to the station The hotel also had gym and swimming pool but didn’t really get time to try those facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    Standard hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road leading to the Hotel has a penchant smell of urine. The Sofa bed for the children was not that comfortable.

    Friendly staff and delicious breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    Good selection at breakfast with lots of different items...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was not that warm (especially when it was -1C outside!) and we could only stay in for a short time with our son before his lips were turning blue!

    Good selection at breakfast with lots of different items (hot items, yogurt and granolas, breads and muffins, fresh fruit etc.). Comfy bed with ready made sofa bed for our toddler.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable stay in this welcoming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor gym with a random assortment of machines.

    Although the hotel corridors were a little dated, the modern room was very comfortable and cosy, with a luxurious feel. The swimming pool was also a nice surprise. Very friendly and professional staff at the Reception. Great location for the Gare de Lyon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the breakfast area

    Very fresh tasty and beautiful croissants and fresh eggs and fruit a real banquet Only complaint is the restaurant is too small for the number of ppl had to queue but they moved very fast to accommodate everyone staff were really wonderful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only real let down for me personally was the size of the pool. I booked the hotel souly because it had a 24-hour heated pool. Upon seeing the pool I was both disaponted and baffled at how they had managed to make it look so much larger in their photos. In reality the pool is tiny, I mean really tiny. And so too is the changing facilities. I am really glad we went in March when it was not busy, I could not imagine more than 5/6 people could be comfortable in the pool at one time. It is also rather cold, but I find most pools to be the same in the UK too.

    The hotel overall was fantastic. The staff were not at all rude like previous reviews had claimed, they were so polite and welcoming. The room we had was really lovely and very clean. We had a room for three and it was the perfect size. The metro station is 2 secs away and is one of my favourite things about Paris. It is so cheap and easy to use, once you get the hang of it. I would definitely come back and use your hotel again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    convenient and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the check-in process is too long ; the link between booking.com and the hotel reservation is very bad according to the reception staff. It takes too long to check-in as all details are already known via the booking process. Maybe not specific to this hotel but in general the check-in process is too long and I find the attitude of the staff not appropriate esp. when it is at at late time in the night and when travelling with kids.

    quality of the room appliances, coffee machine, bedding, etc...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.1
    Convenient but may not be the most secure place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although location was very convenient, there were many drunk people outside in front of the hotel, requesting cigars or something else in French which I did not understand completely.

    staff attitude

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and extremely family-friendly hotel at a great location for sightseeing and travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not necessarily the most important as we were out and about but the swimming pool is not suitable for smaller children who don't swim yet, even if accompanied by parents as water is deep on both ends. It was a bit disappointing and scary for our little one. The changing room is rather small as well. I think it should be clearly stated on the booking. com site. The new hotel carpet I think would make a massive difference to the first impression, and strictly no smoking signs in all rooms (our first room smelt of smoke and we had to ask for a different one which was resolved very quickly).

    The breakfast choices exceeded my expectations, I truly enjoyed it. The croissants and bread were just delicious. Children's entertainers at breakfast were a great bonus, thank you, as well as the pancake machine and little frying pans for eggs which were an entertainment in itself! :) Our room was very well designed and comfortable, especially the sofa-bed on which our 4yr old son slept. Room service was great and very fast. Staff were fantastic, extremely professional and helpful, probably the best we've ever come across in our travels. The location was really good for travel to and from.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The daily cleaning wasn't very thorough. The location is not close/within walking distance to any of the main tourist attractions.

    Location was very convenient if you're coming in by train, and also going to Disneyland. The room size was good enough for a family of 3. The bed and sofa bed were both very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Will return here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in took longer than usual, clock on TV was so bright i had to cover it with some clothing.

    Easy access from station, clean and nice restaurant and staff WIFI very fast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Quite a connected Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was very nice. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable they assisted us very promptly and perfectly with our requirements of commuting to different places, they always use to give us printed information for the total route. The location of the hotel is very nice and connected, it is just next to Gare De Lyon train station from where you can take trains to entire Paris and intercity trains as well. You can find a train for anywhere from here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Happy overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception a little slow but not really a problem. The area around the hotel is a bit ropey after dark

    The restaurant staff were particularly helpful and welcoming. Food was v good. Room was smallish but ingeniously design to maximise space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would suggest that going early for breakfast is better than joining a very long queue.

    The hotel is right next to Gare de Lyon and faces a large open patio type area with buildings around it. No traffic so quiet and peaceful. The reception area is fab; quirky and interesting with a feel good factor. Everything is clean and fresh and our room was spacious and comfortable. The choice at breakfast was excellent and the scrambled eggs were the best that I have tasted. The swimming pool was great and with a temperature of around 31C was really warm. My grandson loved diving down to look through the portholes to the outside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    Pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room and shower could have been better. When I selected the room in Booking the breakfast was supposed to be included but wasn’t.

    Staff friendly, housekeeping awesome, location was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Good enough, enjoyed the city more than the hoteliers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complimentary items were a bit lacking, 1 free water bottle for a 2 person stay is a bit lacking...

    The bed was very comfortable and the shower was very nice as well!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.9
    Don't eat or have breakfast in this hotel you have to cook your own eggs and baco burnt and horrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got ripped off with breakfast for 3 days €350 ridiculous and we only had continental explained that our breakfast was included but they refused also checked in at 8 am and got charged € 70 don't eat or drink in this hotel rip off

    Bar staff amazing with our children

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    Location is good close to lots of tourists places
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was trying to tell them the room has paint smell as it appears to be renovated soon before we arrived, and I asked to change to another room but they couldn’t understand. We stayed in that room for 3 night with 2 years baby.

    Receptionist are not welcoming at all!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    Good location and service but don't expect too much on wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free wifi was too weak and slow to be usable in my room. We could feel a bit cold during the night.

    Very convenient location with the train station. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    great overnight stay in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    very hot in the room and couldn't turn heat down

    Staff were friendly and spoke good English which was good for us as our French is not great! They recommended a nice restaurant a short walk away for lunch for us. Hotel breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not at the property long enough to dislike anything. Only challenging when trying to get all your luggage to your room and it is self service.

    Proximity to train station. Breakfast options great and offers variety. Free mini bar. Good option for families. Kids play area offers a reprieve for parents.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.8
    Close to Gard De Lyon metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo/conditioner etc in room despite asking several times.One double and one pull out beds rather than 2 bed. Streets a bit dirty around the area.

    Close to Gard De Lyon metro.Bus to airport less than 5mins walk.Clean. Bathroom was very nice.English speaking staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Overall had a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Housekeeping could have been better, replacing the daily tea bags and bottled water, etc. Breakfast buffet lacked much variety and could do with some changes during the week to avoid getting tired of eating the same when one stays for over a week

    The proximity to the Gare de Lyon station and the overall location was a definite plus. Room was good for family stay. 24 hour pool, gym, free wifi were good accessories.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Good value for money nicely located 2 minutes walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room. Size of the beds are much smaller than US or Canada. They say it is Queen but looks like double. The sofa bed is very tiny and hardly accomodate a 12 year old. Welcome to Paris. Street access to the hotel are dirty and smelly (urine).

    Good value for money nicely located 2 minutes walking distance to Gare de Lyon. Acces to Metro and RER. Nice breakfast for 18 Euros for anybody above 16. Buffet breakfast is excellent. Reception eople are very nice and try you to accomodate your requests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service and food was great! Vegetable tempura was delicious. We found the burger was as well done as we would like. But other than that the food and way it was handed to us was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Paris was an amazing place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was located very close to public transport links. The room was modern, big and spacious. We were impressed with helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again on our future travel to Paris. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel in a terrific location just steps away from Gare Lyon train/metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our key cards didn't work a few times which required trips back to the front desk.

    Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and the dining staff was terrific.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    The rooms were clean and so comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were clean and so comfortable. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We ordered room service a couple of times and the food was incredible!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Very good location, clean and good attentive staff that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, clean and good attentive staff that listens especially for special breakfast requests. Hotel is kids friendly with occasional but appreciated entertainment for kids during breakfast at least we hen we stayed. I highly recommend it Thanks to all staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a long wait. Staff were rude to English speaking patrons and we had a hold for over 10 days on our bank account the full cost of accommodation after we paid and left.

    Leaving the room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable room, friendly staff and easy access to metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Queen Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small for a family to share. There could’ve been more vegetarian options at breakfast. The surrounding areas around the hotel were not great- even thought the metro was super easy to catch from the hotel.

    The room was neat and tidy. The bed was comfortable. The metro station was easily accessible from the hotel. The staff are helpful and friendly and my kids loved the character visits on the weekends at breakfast. The free mini bar in the room was a great added extra (unfortunately the chocolate was not replenished daily). The hotel went the extra mile with a little gift for my kids birthday.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novotel Paris Gare De Lyon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: