Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Marseille Centre Prado Vélodrome 4 stars

103, Avenue du Prado, 13008 Marseille, France

#32 of 104 hotels in Marseille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 405 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Average stay. nice area, metro close by. all just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt the staff could have done more for me when my flight was cancelled. I had to rebook another flight and a hotel. The public computer was not working and the staff would let me work on the office computer or use the office computer on my behalf. I went to another hotel nearby(Ibis) and they were much more helpful. Also when I arrived the security safe was already locked. I said that night about it and they said it would be sorted. When I go back that night it was still locked. That morning I asked again could it be opened, it wasn`t done and i went out with my stuff in a bag. I returned that night still locked. A worker came up on the day i was leaving to open the safe. The breakfast l wasn`t as good as many novotels I`ve stayed at. On the first morning both coffeee machines were not working and the breakfast staff could not fix them. The scrambled egg and the mini sausages didn`t taste right. They have this fancy toaster, it just takes too long. The coffee machine was working the next day but the coffee didn`t taste right I didn`t finish my one and only cup. Just not what I expect from novotels.

    I had a big room with a balcony. I like the fresh water in the foyer. the bar area was also pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Anyone looking to stay just a few days in Marseille should consider this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wifi in the rooms wasn't exactly consistent, but downstairs one could find a better signal.

    I room service was excellent and the staff was very helpful at helping me reach my locations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was lavish and good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive parking and when we arrived, ICE cars was parked in the electric designated parking, leaving no room for charging possibility for my car. The hotel staff managed to reserve a slot for the next morning though so it ended well.

    Breakfast was lavish and good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Well located place to stay for one or two nights
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast not so worthy… For instance, the fresh cheese proposed was almost frozen.

    The bed ! The comfort. And also the quality of the dishes at the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel!!!!great experience, clean and very big rooms! Very nice shower, refrigerator, everything you need is in a room) stuff was helpful, we got free parking spot because it was Saturday eve, and Sunday parking is free, that was a great news ( otherwise it's 21€).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.0
    Okay hotel, staff rude, especially to young clients.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of our bags went missing during our stay. We complained to the hotel staff multiple times and indicated that it was full of things we had just purchased in town. Despite said multiple attempts, the staff did not seem to care about our loss. Ultimately, an extremely impolite email was sent by the hotel, claiming we should "check our bags".

    The hotel was convenient, clean and in a good, central location. Breakfast was complimentary with the room we had booked and the rooms were large enough to comfortably fit three people in a single room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    Air con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con. doesn't work well. We have to open windows. Therefore, a lot of noise and insects in the rooms for 3 nights. No solution from front desk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice, clean and comfortable. Close to many activities, staff very courteous. Area felt very safe, we walked everywhere, did not have to make use of metro or bus, but all seem close and safe

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seemed a bit away from everywhere, although this cannot be rectified do not book if you don't enjoy walking. We knew this going in and enjoyed the walks but this is not everyone's cup of tea. Minor complaint we would visit again happily

    The staff were extremely helpful, room was a great size and had all the comforts necessary for a pleasant stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.1
    Ideal place to go to the velodrome stadium and navigate around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incompétence of the guy who completed my check out. Lack of accountability, slow and unprepared. Limited parking space

    The Location. The lady who changed my room close to midnightthe first day on my request to get two separate beds. She was open minded, efficient, empathic

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.7
    so so, be sure to ask for a room on the right side
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room can be noisy (street side with lot of traffic), air cond is noisy, fridge and water boiler didnt work. overnite parking is expensive.

    breakfast was nice, with choices. location is fine not too far from many good restaurants and stores, and near a nice parc for kids, and a large screen.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    4.6
    Don't bother. Not worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities what so ever. Far from the airport. Broken shower. Noisy room. No airconditioning meant to open window and suffer with police sirens all night. No other activity to do in the hotel

    Good staff but can't understand english

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    6.3
    Ok for spontaneous booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room for 2 and got one for 4 and when I asked why they told it is a family Hotel and that it is more comfortable for them to leave the extra beds in The room. I didnt like that because there was no space and The room didnt Look nice. The breakfast is really expansive and the toilet was mit really clean.

    The hotel seems to be really modern with nice furniture. When we have been there in Front of The Hotel started a market and you have to go there!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Good but expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No shower gel in room. Was expensive.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel - a typical Novotel as expected.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant is closed on weekend, but there is a good room service. Hotel parking is not cheap (21,00 Euro per night).

    Internet is quite fast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Convenient place (near the metro)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The range of choice for the breakfast !

    The bed !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast and service at breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and service at breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location, clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell is too strong.

    Clean, comfortable, renovated, looks like new inside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in a beautiful city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location near metro and bus station. Beautiful view. Very quick check in and out.Very friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very friendly and informative.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Perfect service, location and facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled eggs, not properly cooked

    Great croissants

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.2
    Good location and suitable for short trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Near to the main train station and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    Hotel urbano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Simpatia e competência do staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.6
    Good value - will be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room facing the street

    Location layout staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.2
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large underground parking didn't feel safe.

    Clean comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Good Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    8.8
    Valuable for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room with 1 Queen-Size Bed and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Valuable for money

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    9.2
    Friendly staff, perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't understand how to ask for laundry. I packed my dirty clothes and filled in the laundry form. But found it untouched.

    Friendly staff, perfect location

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    8.8
    Very nicely designed and decorated with great ambience,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was not cheap and finished at 0930 sharp, fortunately we were able to get a refund but worth bearing in mind.

    Very nicely designed and decorated with great ambience, rooms comfortable and quiet and a bar that actually stays open past 2200 .....! Good rather than great location, its about 20 minutes to the Old Town.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    7.9
    Bed is super comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I can understand it's difficult to find a parking space in center marseille. But If there is a digital panel available to represent the residual parking space in underground parking lot, it will be greatly appreciated.

    Bed is super comfortable. Breakfast is good, especially the wuffle is excellent!

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    9.6
    I particularly liked the breakfast: rich and delicious.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I particularly liked the breakfast: rich and delicious. I also appreciated the possibility of "early bird" and take-away breakfast: very useful when you are on business trip. The room was clean and comfy and the staff very kind.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.5
    For us the location was perfect;
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    For us the location was perfect; I had business to do just 50 metres away. The fact that they had private parking was a real boon, if not essential as it is not possible to use the public car parking in front of the hotel..... that is used for the local flea market.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    9.5
    The Hotel was Comfy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    However, What we didn't like is the Intruder that got into our room at midnight whilst we were in bed. When we went down to the reception to report it, the man on the desk accepted that he gave a man our key just because he asked for it and did not provide any identification. The next morning we complained to the manager who failed to see the seriuosness of this Intruder and the fact that her staff had issue our key which is electronic to someone without first checking their identity and entitlement for a key. I strongly recommend that you avoid this Hotel at all costs. Who knows what might happen to the occupants of the room the next time they make this mistake

    The Hotel was Comfy and clean. We only had Breakfast the once and decided it was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.9
    Close by doctors and Clinique we had to visit
    • Couple

    We had this time a room on the 7th, but observed more sounds of traffic than on the 4th. Very limited space in garage downunder the hotel and very hot! Market in front of hotel starts at 06.00 hrs every day

    Close by doctors and Clinique we had to visit

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.2
    Rooms are very cleverly and tastefully designed.
    • Couple

    We were very happy with our double bed but we could have done without the other two additional beds. Good for a couple with kids, but for us they were just in the way.

    Rooms are very cleverly and tastefully designed. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    9.6
    Hotel is clean, with strong wifi, spacious rooms complete...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not too many shops and restaurants around it.

    Hotel is clean, with strong wifi, spacious rooms complete with amenities and a nice shower. Staff were friendly and helpful. Parking is available. Food in the restaurant was good too. There's also a convenience store nearby.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.8
    Very conveniently located, good-sized room, very clean, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Slightly noisy as other tourists on the same floor kept banging the doors.

    Very conveniently located, good-sized room, very clean, nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.5
    Nice room with comfortable bed & good shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice room with comfortable bed & good shower

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.2
    Location, close to our appointments
    • Couple

    Entrance/exit of parking

    Location, close to our appointments

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room a/c did not work.

    Great location. Good parking. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    8.3
    Nice rooms, good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty cutlery in the breakfast room, and no croissants

    Nice rooms, good service

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    Cleanliness, comfort,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cleanliness, comfort,

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    9.2
    Room was stuffy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was stuffy. When we opened the window, the noise from the street was too loud.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: