Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Mulhouse Bâle Fribourg 4 stars

Ile Napoleon, 68390 Sausheim, France

#5 of 6 hotels in Sausheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 258 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Friendly man on front desk, very nice and helpful on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated decor and the bath leaked badly into the room, the gentleman did explain it was due an update. The restaurant was also shut, not good as no one fancied a bbq ! It should be both options available. Also no drinks in fridge as per previous trips?

    Friendly man on front desk, very nice and helpful on checkout when explaining bath leak to him . Nice pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    The actual bed & night sleep was comfortable but the room was tired looking and badly in need of TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    In my opinion, the room that we had is badly in need of sprucing up and upgrading. Unfortunately, the bathroom contained signs of mould (in the corner) and my son didn't feel like getting in for a shower. One of the electric points was dangerous, when I pulled out the electric plug that had been charging the mobile phone, the entire cabling came away from the socket!! Health and safety concerns as if this had been a young child playing on the floor then they might receive an electric shock. The cupboard in the hotel room looked tired with slight damage down towards the bottom. I do have photographs to back this up if management are interested.......

    We've stayed at this hotel in the past hence why we booked for an overnight stay whilst travelling onto Italy for the main holiday. The beds provided were comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.0
    Not a great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    We reserved a room for 2 adults and 2 children with a sofa bed but upon check in was told this is not the case and were given a standard double room. Hotel provided a cot and my 7 year old daughter had to sleep in between myself and my wife. Very uncomfortable and unprofessional

    Not a great hotel and would not stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Good quality for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of air conditioning makes Summer nights a tad too hot.

    Breakfast was excellent, and the rooms are reasonable large. The position just across the German border is ideal, and the industrial area has a couple of nice supermarkets (closed on Sunday, though!). Kids loved the pool. Already the second time at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice rooms, great parkering (with a fence).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was abscent. I think I was just about the only guest and they did not put an effort into the breakfast. It was very sparse - but the waiter asked if I needed anything, she could make it. I was in a hurry (read; in transit with a 1200km drive in front of me) so I just left with some croissants. Please keep the same standard with few or many guests - or at least inform so we can order breakfast the night before.

    Nice rooms, great parkering (with a fence). Easy to find, close to motorway. 24h open reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.6
    we didn't check the rooms in the hotel as we thought we were going to pay and get what we expect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no air condition and the room was really hot and we couldn't sleep till the morning after a whole day of driving. In addition the carpet in the room was really dirty which is not expected from Novotel.

    the only good thing was the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    overnight stop to Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel is very suited to stop on the vaction to Italy, clean comfortable rooms. parking in gated enclosure . room clean and soundproof. breakfast was plenty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Good location for a stop over but very expensive food and drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room for four which was very small. The price of the food and drinks was very high and the location of the hotel meant it was very difficult to find any where else to eat without driving again. Breakfast was poor given the cost of the breakfast. We had an inclusive deal but even with this I think that the breakfast was poor value for money.

    The location of the hotel and ease of parking made it a good place to stop on the way to Italy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable but expensive for more than one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot and the room did not have air conditioning but rather a pretty standard hotel controlled fan system. we did not get a good and restful nights sleep given we were driving from UK to Italy and needed a good nights sleep

    Food was quite good but generally speaking I thought it was expensive for what it was

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.8
    Staff in The restaurant wasn't at all professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in The restaurant wasn't at all professional. Restaurant was not even half full and still waiting for service took 40 minutes and dinner 1,5 hours

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Cleanliness, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Cleanliness, location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Nearly everything was okay, as usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearly everything was okay, as usual.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Good stop off point close to motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a typical business standard which sadly lacks atmosphere.

    Restaurant staff were nice. Food was good. Easy location off motorway.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Superb breakfast in Mulhouse
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities and furniture are getting old, but still fairly good

    Good location, great breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    nice friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice friendly hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    The receptionist was very, very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot

    The receptionist was very, very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    3.0
    Swimming pool
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and air-condition

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Good location as a travel stop if traveling to Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better than expected. There is a nice swimming pool. Room was big enough. Bathroom a little outdated but ok. Airco did not work.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    Pleasent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was to expensive.

    Swimming Pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    This hotel gas secure locked parking which was essential for us as we had a lot of sporting equipmen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late at night and the hotel still had reception staff on to check us in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    4.6
    I don't know how this hotel got 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old furniture and carpet was smelly. It was very small room with three single beds and a matras for four people's

    Easy to find

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Great for one or two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is a little bit outdated

    Good food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.5
    Prima
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Discotheque noise nearby

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.5
    Good stopover
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxing and friendly, bar staff great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    Small breakfast aera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small breakfast aera. Lenghty check out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    7.1
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast is pricy (same price as 4**** hotels). Hair dryer in room broken. Shower head loose. Minibar empty and no possibility to get drinks from the bar or a vending machine.

    Good value for money. Very friendly staff both at reception and breakfast. Children do not pay for breakfast. Very fast WiFi in the room.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant meals available for dinner !!?!! - kitchen closed ??? Problem with reception when trying to pay my bill - they refused to give me a receipt as they said Bookings.com would pay them and charge me and give me a receipt !!!!!

    Location

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    4.2
    Only the location, relatively closed (15 min.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The lady at reception insisted to give us the most distant room at the first floor, without elevator... There is only 1 decent restaurant in the village. Better go few more kilometers to Mulhouse city. If reserved through BookingCom there are no points for Accor-hotel Card, that I took the satisfaction to destroy immediately. It's useless.

    Only the location, relatively closed (15 min. drive) to the Museums

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    3.8
    the hotel is closed to the highway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No airconditioning and impossible to open the window because location is too noisy. Decoration from the 80's (authentic one !). The mattress must be from the 80's too. In the room, door of the toilets was broken because of several kicks and not repaired. I had to ask to the reception to take of the 2 camp-beds in the middle of the room ( I was alone ...)

    the hotel is closed to the highway. Meals and breakfast are good ...but expensive.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    3.8
    Nothing at all!
    • Family with young children

    Before i book online , they mentioned air conditioned", and i called them myself to make sure they have air-conditioned and they answered: "of course we have". However when i came the air condition was off in all the rooms and they didnt gave us a fan !! They said they are out!! Also the rooms were so depressed and unlike other hotels. There is no air to breath! Couldnt sleep that night!, ppl were sitting outside of the building and at the loopy cuz nobody could sleep. The breakfast was bad and expensive. There were no Water at the time I was having breakfast and they were out of juice.

    Nothing at all!!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    4.2
    Parking easy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No air conditioning in the hotel. In which century are we ? It was 40 degrees Celsius inside the room! Was a joke ! And no elevator. And staff does not speak English well. Also the address on booking.com does not work with every gps navigation system.

    Parking easy.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    8.8
    No vegan options on menu
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No vegan options on menu

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    5.0
    Not much, was not as comfortable as we thought.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Small rooms, very basis, not clean. No AC.

    Not much, was not as comfortable as we thought.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.1
    No airco
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No airco

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    8.8
    Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed awful Worn room furniture Dirty behind things

    Pool Location

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.5
    cleanliness, free wifi, free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    cleanliness, free wifi, free parking

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    5.0
    Breakfast is ok, but expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    4 star hotel without airco ! Arrived at 21h, but no possibility anymore to eat something in the restaurant

    Breakfast is ok, but expensive!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.9
    Combination of Pool AND playground for kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No Airco - Pool not heated

    Combination of Pool AND playground for kids.. thats nice!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    5.4
    No air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No air conditioning

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    6.7
    Big room, secure car park,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Aircon in the room was not working properly. But I was too knackered to tell reception.

    Big room, secure car park,

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing

    everything

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    8.8
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    Great value for money. Perfect stay over on long drive.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: