Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Le Havre Centre Gare 4 stars

20 Cours Lafayette, 76600 Le Havre, France

#20 of 46 hotels in Le Havre

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 528 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Two Sofa Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A slightly confusing pre-authorisation policy is used to collect payment; you pay your room rate plus 50 Euros per person in anticipation of you using the bar or opting for breakfast. Your actual costs are then added up on check out; the holding amount is refunded two days after check out before they charge you your actual bill. I was also unable to see a break down of my costs on check out so had to take their word for it ; I was told that the final invoice would be emailed to me (which it hadn’t been). I wouldn’t normally recount a personal experience such as this on here but I had friends also staying in the hotel (at the same time) who encountered the same issue. Simplicity and transparency is important! Also, whilst comfortable, the hotel charges at the higher end for its rooms.

    A good, standard Novotel experience. Rooms were clean and comfortable, if functional. A very good breakfast is served up every morning at an additional cost. Staff were friendly and keen to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant staff were slow and not attentive. Each time I went for dinner I waited too long to be seated and to be served. Menu choice is very limited. I indicated that the hotel met my expectations because I had been before and so knew what to expect! In absolute terms the restaurant did not meet my expectations

    Reception staff were helpful and efficient. Room was comfortable with plenty of storage space for clothes. There was ample parking at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Double Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent overall including room, reception, breakfast, location, cleanliness etc. We requested a European adaptor to charge phone which was happily provided.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Sofa Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't set up the kids beds. We were charged more for parking than we were told at reception. Parking is difficult if you have loads of luggage

    The bed was super comfortable. A good selection of restaurants nearby and the staff were helpful and spoke good English

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Double Sofa Bed (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room with a sofa-bed, but were mistakenly given a normal room. After carring all our luggage (we were carrying a lot of stuff as we were traveling with our newborn baby) we had to request a new room and again move our stuff to it. The staff didn't help us with the move which would have been nice considering it was their mistake. Booking.com mentions it includes parking, but parking is on a public car park across the street, and not free.

    The hotel looks really nice and we had breakfeast served in the room at no extra charge. Nice view over a Quay and it's marina.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Sofa Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service in the restaurant, at the evening, was slow and missed some of the order. The food was not good. The breakfast was not very good either. The wi-fi was terrible. The fitness center was not what we expected, and the Jacuzu was out of order.

    Very comfortable beds. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Sofa Beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The office people on leaving was not helpful and had really difficulty. They did not help on my parking problem and even did not try to help. I will never stay at this hotel again.

    convinient and economical. The office people on the welcomming

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Sofa Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no hotel parking and it's not included in the price, although there's a sign like 'get a parking ticket on the front desk'. So the closest underground parking is 50 meters behind the corner, around 5 euro per night.

    On check in our room was right in front of the elevator, so I was worried it may be disturbing. I asked on front desk to change the room but the hotel was fully booked. Nevertheless soundproofing was so great that the elevator was not a problem at all. Clean and comfortable room with 1 double bed and 1 small bed. Nice view on the channel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We slept well on the way back from Bretagne. The staff was very helful and arranged for two rooms next to each other as we travelled with kids. Nothing spectacular but clean and well situated (we avoided going to the city center).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    better service in the restaurant. the hotel was full so the kitchen had a hard time keeping up with the demand.

    paid a little extra for the executive suite that included king size bed, robes and slippers, nespresso machine and free mini bar. nice!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Sofa Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Understaffed at reception - one lad who was doing that and serving in the bar meaning a long wait to check in after a 6 hour journey. Evening meals were average at best.

    Comfortable room. Good selection of breakfast items.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Sofa Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is always nice to have a bit more space in a family room - ok for one night but we would not have wanted to spend more time there. The location on the main road is not pleasant (but sound-proofing good) and not that close to restaurants.

    The reception staff were very welcoming and had the patience to let me try out my French! Our teenage children had single sofa beds so they did not have to share. The bar area was small and a bit dimly lit but good range of drinks and not too expensive. Breakfast also offered a good choice and the restaurant was light and airy. Parking at 6 euros for 24 hours adjacent to hotel is good value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a tv, good food, great beds. Not sure what else I would want.

    Our flight to catch a cruise ship had been delayed so we had to go to Le Havre as its second port. We had no luggage, the train ride from Paris had been problematic and we were very tired. The hotel was like an oasis in the middle of this turmoil. Location right near the train station and within walking distance of various activities. We were welcomed by a very friendly staff. The room was delightfully comfortable. We walked around the first evening but were greeted with a huge storm the next morning and spent the day in the room leaving only to eat three delicious meals in the dining room. It was a respite that was appreciated and enjoyed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Double Sofa Bed (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My gps failed to recognize Hotel address. I might have spent hours to find it. Receptionists are not fluent in English. They charged more than i had to pay, and were very reluctant to apologise. She said, the machine made mistake, so she needed not to say sorry.

    Room was spacious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room with Double Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been slightly cheaper as €16.50 per person was quite a lot.

    The staff were extremely helpful and very understanding of our poor French. All the facilities were of the highest quality. The location was excellent for travelling around Normandy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Excellent staff,all very clean,good choice at breakfast,plenty of parking around hotel,made us and our little dog very welcome.highly recommend .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel have limited parking Space. You have to walk around to park in the nearest space.

    We chose the executive room. Beds were super comfy, room was spacious, You can have breakfast in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Reception was great, friendly and welcoming. It's lovely to see our requirements for 2 cots in the room were implemented. The bed was so comfortable and the view from the room was fab.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Double Sofa Bed (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an average modern hotel for business people, nothing outstanding.

    Modern hotel with all amenities nearby and spaciuos clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Double Sofa Bed (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled a bit stuffy when we checked in.

    Helpful and warm staff. Nice parking facility. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast included in the booking. No car parking, we have to park it out in a paid parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough Drinking water in the room

    Parking availability Same day laundry service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant lay out not very personal. A bit sterile

    Bed very comfortable. Excellent room service dinner one night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, just next to the train station and bus terminal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Sofa Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was two small and the children's bed where very difficult to put away every morning.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Sofa Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was full and it is open and not inside the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Double Sofa Bed (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff should have a course for improving their English.

    Breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Sofa Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking exit is a little confusing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Sofa Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great with easy access to shopping centers and restaurants. Very friendly staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Two Sofa Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot to do in the area

    Bed was comfy staff were great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Sofa Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much dust on the room and bathroom is not clean specially the bathtub. And we had no electricity for 1 and half hour.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were Friendly and helpful, and The hotel is clean seems to be new

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window is not well seal. High winds make noise

    Location and bed comfort

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    no refrigerator

    comfortable nice view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with 1 Double Bed and 2 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was schech and grey. Maybe the weather...

    Breakfast was great and the room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was not cleaned properly. Check-in was delayed and they made us to wait 40 mins in hotel lobby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Service at bar was poor. Ordered gin tonic and did get both together in a very small glass witn no ice! Dinner was OK. Breakfast offers limited choice. Asked to put bill on other room after dinner. Staff did not know procedures/did not apply procedures and we ended up with 2 wrong bills. Wasted a lot of time writing a mail to get it corrected. Reply mail did not provide appropriate answer/action to complaints.

    Room Booking and reception at arrival

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very small lobby. When you wait for friends or smth like that you should go to bar. I booked 4 rooms for 1 night each. When we checked in I told we'd pay cash, each room to be paid separately and wanted to pay right away as next day we were going to leave early. Receptionist refused to get payment and blocked at my credit card given as guarantee for extras ..... 800 Euro. The total amount to be paid for 4 rooms was about 500. Great, yeah??????

    Spacious room. Tea kettle in the room. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant was shut one night Car parking was an extra (not clear on the hotel information) and could not be reached with out going outside as it was not adjacent or under the hotel. Stark building with little decoration or pictures.

    Functional city centre hotel.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception was very "warm", as I arrived and was immediately and abruptly asked to make a deposit of 100 euros/day for services of the hotel that I might or might not use... Seeing how the room was paid for in full 3 weeks in advance, and at the time of the booking there was no mention of any such policy of the hotel of making guests give extra guarantees, I asked for an explanation, and was given a very impolite and incomplete answer... At check-out, I asked how long it would take to have the balance of my guarantee released and the answer was "immediately", but this was a lie - in fact it took no less than 7 days to release their grasp over my money... If you intend to stay there, please be aware that aside from having to bear all the risks yourself, you would need to put up with double the advertised costs, while having the feeling that you are being treated as a would-be thief or a vandal.

    The hotel is very well located and has comfortable beds and nicely furnished rooms. Too bad about the reception staff and guest policies.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel, while advertised as being a 4 star hotel and having air conditioning in it's rooms, during the week of our stay, there was no air conditioning! The temperature of room (room number 320) was very uncomfortable. After reporting to the hotel staff on a third occasion, we were given a table top fan which helped a little, however by the time we received this fan, we only had 2 more nights of our 7 day stay left. We reported the temperature of the room the morning after our arrival. Not impressed!

    Very good location for access to trains and main streets.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The restaurant wasnt open for a couple of weeks in August - which we didnt know in advance

    Location is excellent, just across from a great shopping centre

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There could be some more coffee supplies in the room. With 2 older children we all wanted a drink and there was not enough of anything.

    The check in staff were excellent. Very helpful and friendly. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our room was noisy until 23:00 with doors banging and guests arguing and calling out. The restaurant was closed and in the morning the cooked breakfast was cold.

    The location is ideal for ferry travellers, beside the terminal and around the corner from some great restaurants. The breakfast buffet has a wide selection

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was not clean. Bedsheets didn't smell fresh and bathroom had stains on the floor. Shower had mold stains on the cruces between the walls and shower floor which suggests that bathrooms are not cleaned regularly.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor WiFi access ( only in bathroomwhen standing close to the mirror!) An very small and inadequate " fitness" area! Sauna and whirlpool with free inview from the restaurant , terrace and kids playground!!! Even the showers are not sight save!!!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything super-clean and well kept, jacuzzi, hamam, sauna are all great, kids loved the "surface" table with angry birds and overall appeal. Very kind and helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room door system was not fully functional which caused some trouble to get in. Excluding that, everything was fine.

    Facility was simple and very useful. I love the fact there was a bath in the shower room.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very clinical reception, rather unwelcoming. No character and therefore no desire to hang about in the open area where the bar and the restaurant can be found.

    Easy to find, good sized bedroom and a reasonable price. Good temperature and very clean in the room.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    excellent location for quick connections and very kind personnel. Even managed to get me some food quiet late in the evening, at the cosy bar

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's run like a budget hotel. Plastic cups etc. Very dissapointing.

    Location and near to train statuon

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No restaraunt whilst we were there No breakfast available Under staffed

    Vlenliness

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location and modern feel of hotel and free parking.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bar expensive for soft drinks / pool would've been nice

    Location / friendly staff / good view from room

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    it was ok

    location, breakfast, rooms.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing.

    The bed is very comfort. And the location is comfortable, near the train station.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi with poor range

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely hotel ideal for the Ferry Port, close to local shops and amenities.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The car park is a bit strange and it is not free.

    Quiet and clean room with reliable internet.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    memory foam bed topper really uncomfortable.

    cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing Bad at all

    Staff all friendly, Good Variety of continental Breakfast. Rooms Serviced Every Day and ideal for a short walk into the Centre :)

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    there is no place to change when you go to or get out of the gym. Very unpractical after the jacuzzi , sauna etc...

    all the rest

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking place instead of private parking place, my car was broken in the night of 10th.

    location, facility

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    During my stay there was no meal service, other than breakfst.

    The location was OK. Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to the train station

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good location, near to the station. But a bit far by walking from city center. (Eve walkable though...)

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personnel

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: