Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 4 stars

107, Boulevard St Michel, 5th arr., 75005 Paris, France

#243 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 211 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small, but I think that’s normal for Paris. The lift was broken, so staying on the 5th floor and having to climb up and down 5 flights of stairs (+-100-stairs) a couple of times a day was not ideal, But the staff assisted with our bags and were very accommodating and apologetic.

    Fantastic access to public transport (bus & RER/Metro stations). Staff were mega-friendly. Basically across the road from Luxembourg Gardens Convenience store just 3-min walk from hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is tiny but this hardly matters.

    The staff was exeptionally friendly and helpful. The room was small, but it had everything: two robes with slippers, kettle for making tea and coffee and 2 good size mugs, as well as 2 glasses, 2 free bottles of water, good light and magnifying mirror in the bathroom, a personalized note and cookies waiting in the room, good WiFi and nice amenities. There is a central light switch at the door - and on both sides of the bed! Fanpris supermarket is almost next door and the location is great. Breakfast is 15EU if ordered a night before and well worth it (otherwise its 19EU). Great value for money, would definitely want to stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Bus stop right outside to Gare du Nord (38) and Eiffel Tower (82). Great restaurant used by locals. Quirky decoration which suits the hotel name. Staff said happy birthday to my husband and gave him a box of sweets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given the room on the ground floor next to the luggage storage room and a few steps away from check in. I was traveling with my teen son, so the room location was not a huge issue. However, if you are traveling as a couple, I suspect this room location will be a huge disappointment. It is worth requesting a room on a higher floor away from the front desk. That being said, the room itself was lovely. It was much larger than I expected in Paris and very clean.

    The location is convenient to the RER and to the airport. It is very clean, comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly it has to be said that the best thing on this day was that we were off the plane but not to detract from the hotel the- Location is sensational , allowing our first day after 24 hour flight to be active but not too difficult - staff go above expectations readying our rooms for an early check in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really small and breakfast overpriced.

    Staff was really professional. Location is perfect in front of Luxembourg park and not far from St Mchel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was some distant rumbling, possibly from the RER, but it did not bother me.

    The room was stylish and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Transport to and from the hotel is very easy: RER(B) Exit "Rue de l'Abbé de l'Epée" is just outside. Our room had an interesting view over the walled gardens of a historic institute. Staff were very helpful and professional about looking after our luggage on the last day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no slippers in the room ... I would be much happier if the room was not covered in carpet ...

    Moustafa was really helpful for everything we had asked for ...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Other than the very good breakfast the restaurant ("Le Luco") cannot be recommended.

    Small hotel with very friendly and service minded staff. Good breakfast in the restaurant of the house. Few steps from the main RER-train line going north-south through Paris (and directly to the CDG airport). And 100m from the beautiful Jardin de Luxembourg.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Many thoughtful touches in the room which made us feel very welcome. Near the Luxembourg gardens and nice places to eat

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't good. Self service with a tiny variety of cold offerings and scrambled eggs. They ran out of coffee, butter and the wait for replenishment was way too long. Much better and cheaper options down the street.

    The location was excellent. 5 mins from Luxembourg Gardens, right beside a metro stop and 15 mins walk to the river. Lovely streets all around.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad

    Closeness to metro and beautiful jardin du Luxembourg

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smallest room I have ever been in Paris

    Location. Nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom/shower

    Comfy bed; good location; nice outlook; friendly staff;

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    just a bit tiny.

    Great location. Just in the downtown. You dont want to miss their breakfast believe me !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really comfortable beds - very fashionable bathroom, air conditioning, quiet due to double glazing. Close to jardin de Luxembourg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little inconvenience: misunderstanding about the invoice. It appeared they tried to bill me twice. Luckily, all was cleared before we left.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast spread not really necessary.

    Great decor. Spotless. Small bathroom but otherwise immaculate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room,shower,helpful staff,location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room is very tiny for my comfort

    The room is comfortable and very clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small but comfortable room, very good bed. Breakfast not included, but you can book this separately at the hotel. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WIFI is not stable.

    Breaskfast is more expensive comapring with other stores around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast expensive

    Central location, friendly staff, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    small rooms. expensive breakfast. bad WiFi.

    close to Luxembourg park

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room for one person, not a double - at twice the price. The hotel had singles but Bookng didn't offer one.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very comfy bed, excellent location ease of access to airport and to key sites. Nice scrambeld eggs!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff and location is great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the style and the staff was very friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like this hotel!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very nice. Also location and service. Overall great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms.

    Good location, metro stop outside. Comfy bed. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location, lovely frendly small hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast only till 10

    Breakfast service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small lift, but more importantly they do have a lift.

    Staff very helpful, hotel well located. Air conditioned, beds comfortable. Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best croissants in Paris! The breakfast was wonderful, and the staff super helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff cleaning around the tables during eating breakfast was a bit odd

    Mustafa was great. Very welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small.

    Good area, close to station and the beautiful Luxembourg Gardens, Notre Dame and the Pantheon. Good restaurants all around.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautifully renovated and decorated old style hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wish we could have stayed longer.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was small (not unusual for inner city hotels).

    Staff always warm and attentive. Breakfast was delicious and a great deal. Bed was very comfortable. Very clean. fantastic location.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant was not open on Sunday evening for dinner - not a big problem as there are cafes around.

    Room was beautifully appointed and small as you would expect in Paris. I was given a free upgrade to a room with a lovely view. Room was spotless - totally clean, even the bathroom grout was sparkling. Staff were courteous, helpful and spoke english. Upon check out, they did not charge me for my Vitel water - a small but welcome gesture to end a lovely night in Paris.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Buffet breakfast could have been better. Scrambled egg and coffee/hot water stored in flasks were tepid and there was no facility to toast bread. Restocking of cooked breakfast items and hot drinks could have been better - perhaps if we had come down to breakfast when items were put out we would not have noticed a problem. Cut fresh fruit was also very disappointing initially - but then half way through our meal a large tray of lovely fruit appeared! All breakfast staff were very helpful in responding to requests.

    Bedroom was great; very clean and of a good size. The bed was very comfortable and sheets soft. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The serving times in the restaurant downstairs were a little inconsistent but we ate elsewhere nearby so it wasn't a big deal.

    The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the main attractions of the city. It's also fairly easy to get to from Orly airport! We had a really lovely room with a big ensuite. The windows really blocked out the outside traffic so we had great sleeps too!

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room was very small for 2 people and bathroom door was a pullout door which I personally don't feel comfortable with.

    The staff is phenominal, bed was so comfortable. Room was very quiet. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Attractive, comfortable room . Hotel is very near local train station which links to the metro. Ask for a room on a high floor in the back of the building. You will be out of the noise zone and have a pleasant view of a small garden.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We took a larger room on the top floor. It was very quiet and overlooked a small park. Lovely to have a window that opened definitely worth the little extra.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small bath rooms

    Wonderful accommodation in a truly historic area of Paris. The concierge was particularly helpful in meeting our needs. Thanks Miguel!

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a second stay at this hotel, both have proved the staff to be friendly and efficient, the location is great for a walk around the Luxembourg gardens or to the Latin quarter , the meals are inexpensive and delicious with lots of choices and variety. Did I say the staff are great, well they are the best thing about this wonderful little hotel right where you wanna be in Paris.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WIfi was spotty in the rooms. Maybe we should've tried the lobby. But that said, I want strong wifi in my room......I know spoiled.

    I was not familiar with this hotel prior to our trip. It is now my go to hotel for any trip to Paris. The location is perfect for walking to great sights, or shopping or restaurants. The bus and Metro are literally outside the front doors. It is so charming, with eclectic decor; old world mixt with modern, it feels so homey and comfortable but definitely classy and beautiful. And breakfast was easy and delicious.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was not very large with restricted space to move around the bed. The bathroom was also small but adequate.

    The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the food in the brasserie was very good, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Position was also close to the main tourist area and an RER station.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very small and the wifi reception from 5 th. Floor was poor. No alcohol available after hours so bring your own to the room if you want some.

    The staff were helpful. The bed was comfortable and the shower powerful with lots of hot. Water. The desk clerk Manuel was very informative and cleaning staff very attentive. Room was always clean. Sound proof windows was excellent. Next to metro even better.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave!

    Very warm welcome upon arriving,gave us a free upgrade to a superior room as I mentioned we were on weekend break for wedding anniversary.lovely boutique hotel,well recommended.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness of room, very dusty in places. Electrics were temperamental. Iron and ironing board would have been useful.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast (not the full breakfast, just coffe and a crrooasoint) was poor

    staff was extremity nice the room was great

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a bit small.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing especially

    Location, friendly staff, clean room

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff and location were perfect.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor great, staff great, location great

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the room was clean but incredibly dusty!!

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is unstable.

    The location is good.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room caused me to be claustrophobic. I know it's Paris and rooms are small, but this was terrible.

    location

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to comment on.

    The staff were very hospitable and friendly. Very comfortable bed. Clean throughout. Conveniently located.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming and polite staff with broad smiles. Certainly an hotel to revisit.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The reception staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small but comfortable room, great shower, nice view over gardens, reasonably quiet although on busy street, wifi good.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the shower was too small

    very convenient hotel with very well decorated rooms and comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Couple

    Close to metro. Great restaurant attached.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are a little on the small side

    Location and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we liked everything - the rooms were a little small though

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hotel was in a great safe and secure location that was within walking distance to numerous tourist sites and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    But dated

    Great staff, excellent location and decent sized rooms for Paris

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, location.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were only there for 2 days and the area was not to our liking but hotel was fine.

    It was quiet and room was very well appointed .

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: