Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of L'Orée des Châteaux 2 stars

9 bis Route de Blois, 41250 Bracieux, France

#4 of 5 hotels in Bracieux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 584 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    A convenient base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rest of apartment a bit spartan. Slightly cramped.

    Pleasant garden setting on edge of town. Restaurants within walking distance. Convenient for Loire countryside and a straight road to Chambord in only a few minutes. Well equipped bathroom with walk-in shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean. Comfortable bed. Good shower. Happy staff. Well located. Walkable distant from the town - Pharmacy, deli and supermarket. And a nice chocolate factory! Super close to Chateau de Chambord!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    Not a place I would go back to!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t clean as I would expect any hotels/B&B to be. Bathroom wasn’t cleaned at all. Towels were smelly and the glasses were dirty. Not a place I can recommend.

    Good location for a visit to Chambord. The village was beautiful. An old village.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Big room, good shower, seperate toilet, very good bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For such a nice location at the riverside it is pitty that there is no common terrace or sitting area outside. The road is quite noisy in the morning. Our door could not lock. Staff did not do anything about it nor give a reduction.

    Big room, good shower, seperate toilet, very good bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Avarage
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was kind of dirty, they do not wipe the floor for quite some time, spider nets everywhere, towels were ripped off.

    This hotel is placed about 10 km away from the Chambord castle which is very convenient. We got a nice apartment with a little kitchen that had a fridge, toaster, coffee maker, etc but we didn't have the time to use it as we only stayed for 2 days. Breakfast was ok, with ham and cheese, cereals, yogurt, coffee, milk, croissants and pancakes. Just 2 minutes walk there is a French restaurant opened just for lunch and dinner. Also, close by there is a chocolate artisan factory.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed one night, certainly value for money. The room was basic but very clean, I would have like to see a small fridge in the room but the receptionist, Julie put our wine in the fridge at reception and we enjoyed it on the lawn a bit later. The breakfast was really good, with nice coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    A great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I always stay here en route to the south of France, and I cannot fault it in any way. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, quiet location, and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    Ideal location for visiting the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very hard No drink making facilities in room Room felt very basic and functional, no second pillow(although that was resolved on request)

    Location perfect for visiting the Chateaux. Quiet village location Welcoming host Parking Room spacious (booked a triple room although 2 of us). Large storage cupboard Large shower and good range of toiletries

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay in the Loire Valley if you want to visit some castles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place to stay in the Loire Valley. Staff was very friendly. Not a lot to do in the town, but close to castles if you want to visit them. Great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant location ideal for local chateau, basic but clean and easy to use hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved to have had tea making facilities. The breakfast felt very understaffed with one poor lady covering front desk and breakfast, she ran out of bowls, there was a toaster but no sign of bread to go in.

    Superb quiet location ideal for chateau exploring and walking distance to Bracieux. Ample room in the rooms for our family with 3 little ones. We had a downstairs room with its own patio which was lovely. There was a closeby pond however the undergrowth and small fence meant it wasn't an issue with our toddler

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Good value, would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room, bath only in room (no shower) breakfast time not enough crockery / cutlery and staff wouldn't go get clean things.

    Location was good, access to rooms direct from court yard, rooms are big and the beds are very very comfortable. Short walk to centre ville, nice view of lake from rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our seventh visit and we were there for two days, the Hotel was not busy but we were given a small upstairs room which was very difficult for us as we are in our late seventies. We have always had comfortable ground floor rooms in the past, however we feel that they are now giving inferior rooms to Booking.com customers. We revisited the Hotel two weeks later and again had a small upstairs room, this we told you about in our last requested review, but have not received a comment from you yet.

    The area and the Relais D'Artemis Restaurant, which was in easy walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.3
    Bracieux and surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our eighth visit and we were very disappointed with the size and position of the room. The ground floor rooms which we have had in the past were not being used, and because of our age would have been more suitable. We feel that Bookingdotcom customers are given the cheapest rooms without having a choice. This is the first time we have complained about one of your Hotels but felt that being Bookingdotcom customers we were treated as second rate.

    Bracieux and surrounding area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.3
    Chambord....here we come!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ask for a room overlooking the lake.

    Simple yet well furnished. Comfortable beds. Good Parking and near good retaurant (Relais) and excellent Creperie in village. Perfect position for visiting Chambord. Good value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....all great!

    Always a great stay.... We were in the new building, which was great as we had a large ground floor room, which has patio doors out to a small terrace, a real bonus to sit out enjoying the late afternoon sun!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    Faultless.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another great stay.....as always. I stayed in the new block this time, which is very spacious, a lovely walk-in shower, very clean and comfortable. This is my faviourtie place to stay en route to the south of France. The staff are always very friendly and welcoming. It's so peaceful, and you get a great night sleep. Thank you for another great stay!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Ideal stop over after a day visiting Chambord
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was quiet, had ample parking, the receptionist was very friendly and the bed was very comfortable. We were visiting Chambord and so the location was ideal. We don't have breakfast but the dining area and breakfasts on offer looked very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    From the warm welcome to the large room and outdoor seating...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the warm welcome to the large room and outdoor seating everything was fantastic. Couldn't fault the place. Strongly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent safe parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift.

    Excellent safe parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Very nice indeed & I was quite impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very modern bedroom. Looks like it has had a recent re-ferb and tastefully decorated, very nice indeed & I was quite impressed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Very convenient location close to the palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not speaking basic English

    Very convenient location close to the palace. Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    Rural
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky tired mattress. Tired bathroom towels.

    Rural

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and attentive pwners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and attentive pwners

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    perfect location for visiting loire castles - quite and rural
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no negative comments

    perfect location for visiting loire castles - quite and rural

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Good overall hotel with ample parking close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet was smelly. It rained!!!

    Hotel was walking distance from a nice little town with good eating places.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable room, good breakfast and convenient location for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable room, good breakfast and convenient location for visiting Chambord

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    correct
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    finition de proprete

    l'ensemble

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.0
    no ventilation in room unless you open french doors--not a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no ventilation in room unless you open french doors--not a good idea on ground floor!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Very good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very good service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful French hamlet in the grounds of the chateaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    The room was like a little apartment with it's own small seating area. Beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    A very nice and convenient big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice and convenient big room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    9.2
    For a stop over, this hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet brush definitely needs changing.

    Location. It was very accessible. It was quiet, clean and comfy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    8.8
    The staff was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Do not NEVER go to that fancy restaurant on the corner! It wasn't recommended by the hotel staff, we just walked around, and see how elegant it is. But behind the fancy names the food was bad..

    The staff was very nice! The hotel is clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    7.1
    Localization to Chambord chateau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cleanless: a lot of spider's nets, dead flys, dust are not ok for this price and booking's rating.

    Localization to Chambord chateau. Receptionist helpful and kind.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    10
    I use this hotel often on my drive down to the south of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.....all great!

    I use this hotel often on my drive down to the south of France, and the staff are always very was warm, friendly, and welcoming. You are always shown to your room on check in, which is a very nice gesture. The rooms are always spotlessly clean, nice large comfortable beds, with good quality bed linen, and super white! The location is great, very quite, so a good night sleep is had. Great value too. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location near Chateau de Chambord.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Better pillows.

    Excellent location near Chateau de Chambord. Very clean. Warm room and comfortable bed. Buffet breakfast better than most. Very cordial host.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    10
    This is my favorite place to stay en route to the south of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing....

    This is my favorite place to stay en route to the south of France. It is a very quite and peaceful place to stay. The young lady on reception when I checked in, was aware of my booking, she personally showed me to my room, and went through the workings of the room.....very few places do you get this sort of service. The room, as usual, was very clean, spacious and well appointed. The young man on reception the next morning was very friendly and helpful....as always. A great place to stay, and excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.2
    Rooms were clean and quiet at night despite the fact that it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi wasn't always reliable but that seems to be a common problem in hotels in France.

    Rooms were clean and quiet at night despite the fact that it was all ceramic tile and you could sometimes hear clatter down stairs or in the hall.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    9.6
    Owners went out of their way to make us welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owners did not speak English and we did not speak French, but we all communicated through Google Translate. Was a bit frustrating, but lovely/ funny at the same time.

    Owners went out of their way to make us welcome. Great breakfast and hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    I have stayed here a few times en route to the south of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing....

    I have stayed here a few times en route to the south of France, and I cannot fault it in any way. The gentleman on reception is always very helpful, friendly and professional. The rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable, and great value for money. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    7.9
    Spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kitchen was a bit random-no kettle, only one decent sized mug. Everything in kitchen could do with updating-crockery, glassware, cutlery etc.

    Spacious room. Bathroom-good shower. Comfortable bed. Good sized fridge.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    9.6
    Very helpful reception and an excellent room, a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful reception and an excellent room, a quiet peaceful location.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.5
    Very comfortable clean and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable clean and affordable

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    Welcoming - Personal welcoming from Manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    Welcoming - Personal welcoming from Manager Room Cleanliness Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.9
    Quiet, lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet, lovely location. Close to Chambord

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: