Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Olatua 3 stars

Rue Erretegia, 64210 Bidart, France

#10 of 23 hotels in Bidart

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 163 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio 2 Persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower has no curtain so water goes all over the floor. There is no escape for this water so you have to mop up after each shower. Simply solution is to put up a curtain.

    Loved the location. Being in the heart of the town centre gave us the option of walking to the restaurants, market and beach. The view of a part of the Pyrenees from our window was lovely. Dining at a restaurant overlooking the Pyrenees was so picturesque and relaxing. Nice food at all restaurants we ate at and great staff. The markets were fabulous with fresh produce. Friendly staff at the hotel and very accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We expected a quiet place. This was unfortunately not the case. The little road passing by the hotel is actually surprisingly busy. The same applies to the parking lot which is a few meters across street. Many cars passing by and in particular noisy scooters make us feel as if we were in the middle of a large busy town. Fortunately, the widows in hotel rooms are pretty good and the traffic during night is rather low.

    Nicely renovated hotel. Friendly, English speaking staff. 5min drive to beaches. Several restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No outside space

    Location superb, right on the village square. Garage on-site, an added bonus. Lovely walks with breath-taking views. Friendly, helpful staff and comfortable rooms and they made us, and our dog "Guto", feel truly welcome - we shall be back

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment 4 Persons
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Internet signal in room was a bit weak...anyhow not a big issue

    I liked the kindness of the hosts and the cleanliness of the place! Also, even with a late arrival, they trusted us and give by phone entry code and left the apartment door open to access. Location, great for relax, with good comfort nearby in the small town and still a 10 min drive from Biarritz and very close to Spanish border.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was advertised on Booking.com at about 36% reduction. When I arrived I realised that I paid the normal price for the room. Book direct with the hotel, avoid booking.com!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was so easy.. after a long days travel there was a welcoming young lady who was very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely small village. Nice leben. Cozy atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situation, ambiance, modernité

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room not very friendly

    central situation, friendly welcome

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio 2 Persons
    • Stayed 7 nights

    All good.

    Close to a brilliant town square. When we ate there we felt we were in heaven. Garage was a good help.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    large clean rooms and a great location by the village square.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better , but staff is so nice that we were ok with it.

    The staff: she was extremely helpful. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio 2 Persons
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Accommodation

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were made so welcome, the hotel is central, and a walk to the beach. Though a steep one! We had a very pleasant stay, the owners were so helpful, and beakfast was fresh and good. We both enjoyed our time in Bidart, and so did our dog!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would completely recommend this as an overnight stay, it was quick and easy to find off the main road to Spain from the UK, the room was excellent and the greeting warm. Great benefit of the secure parking under the hotel ( extra charge but worth it as no anxiety about bags in the car.) We were travelling with dogs and there were excellent walks on the beach nearby. Location very central in the town with a variety of restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    the central location right in the middle of the village and very close to the beach and all other attractions. the staff being obliging, attentive and very welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being central to everything means parking (opposite) was on a meter until 7pm and from 8am. Not expensive at Euro1 per hour but who wants to get up and cross the road at 8am? The breakfast was expensive if you only want a coffee and a roll however the boulangerie, less than 50 metres away, makes a good alternative.

    Location - ideal for local amenities and walking distance to the beach. A good base to see the area and less crowded than neighbouring Biarritz which is served by bus from outside the hotel. The couple who run the hotel - they were very welcoming and friendly and made for a pleasant, if short, stay..

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Christianson is welcoming, attentive, and gracious as a host. His hotel is perfectly situated: <5 min walk from the bus, the coastal walking path, the beach, a convenience store, and the chapelle La Madeleine ( best sunset watching spot on the Basque Coast). There is a Saturday market right outside the front door complete with singing locals in Berets. Christianson even offered to lend us his surf board. Bidart is a great compromise between the busy streets of Biarritz and the quiet residences of Guéthary. The central location does come with a touch of street noise.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Couple

    Nothing

    Owner was very helpful and the secure parking was very welcome! Breakfast selection was excellent. Douglas was very well behaved!

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness of the owners, the spacious room, comfortable bed, great location to beach and town center

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wonderful and helpful owner, very nice location, kept clean. Very accommodating of us traveling with an infant. Hope to come back soon.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing - it was all good

    Perfect place, room and location

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location in the village. Nice room.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly staff, good breakfast, excellent location

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Fantastic hosts, great breakfasts, large bedroom with all facilities. Minutes from v good restaurants and bars.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Reception was excellent, room was lovely, local to restaurants, shop and bakery. Bath was heaven.

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: