Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pierre & Vacances Premium Le Palais des Gouverneurs 4 stars

9 Rue des Gouverneurs - BP 66, 17410 Saint-Martin-de-Ré, France

Review score

Based on 319 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 people)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position of room Balcony too small Reception closing inconvenient Pool very small Lift not working Lack of information in English Bed linen and towels not changed during our 10 day stay Request by email for room near entrance and on ground floor to cater for limited mobility not supplied even though arranged and agreed to pay extra, seems we got a room possibly furthest distance from reception and with several steps to navigate Beach further away than expected

    Convenience to centre of town. Public transport and drivers excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The balcony was very small and awkward to access - it looked over a car park so we didn't want to use it anyway. The pool is very small - useful for small children but little use for adults.

    We just used the room as a place to sleep - it was big enough for that. Quiet, too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (3 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sofa bed was making sounds and was quite uncomfortable. The lighting in the room was quite dark. The biggest issue we experience was the process of communicating to us all the passcodes to enter the property. We were coming late at night and we missed the one call from the hotel as we were driving. The message was left, however, since I don't speak French, I couldn't check it. When I tried to call back the hotel around 20:30, the phone was always busy. When we arrived to the hotel, the entrance gates were locked and we couldn't enter the property. We had to ask a stranger on the street to translate that voice mail that was left on my phone that evening! Why not to send an email? A text? Its clear that I am a foreigner, so it was quite a disappointment in the beginning of the trip. We felt, the hotel was understaffed and couldn't pay proper attention to the needs of the clients.

    The location was awesome. The property is an old French house with fantastic courtyard. Swimming pool is functioning even when its chilly outside. Very neat and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (3 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No covered storage for our tandem bike. Our room smelled like fish for the 3 days we were there.

    This is not a hotel, it's actually studio apartments. Has amenities such as pool and sauna, which were still open in late September. Cooking facilities in the rooms adds a nice option to the relatively expensive restaurants in town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room we had was dirty & one toilet had a problem & smelled very bad , so we had to move rooms & the receptionist didn't seem very nice about this .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Room Apartment (5 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very early check out but staff were happy to store luggage so only a little grumble.

    Stylish, pool and kids play area. Fantastic location as short stroll to marina Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio (3 People)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning pack did not contain enough dishwasher tabs or washing up liquid. Apt needed to be painted.

    Location was v good. Apt in lovely part of garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (3 People)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It would have been a lot better if we had air conditioning and a proper bed (rather than sofa bed)

    Location was perfect, staff very helpful, pool an extra bonus

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing about the accomodation but our first experience of Ryanair will be our last - a nightmare and constantly trying to get you to spend more - avoid.

    Quiet position with a lovely garden and a pool. A few minutes to the harbour and restaurants within a short walk. Staff were helpful with advice on where to go and where to eat. Happy to organise taxis, trips etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Room Apartment (5 People)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More frequent replacement of towels. Bathroom was wet most of the time as the shower rained on to the floor and hand basin. More cleaning products for kitchen/bathroom.

    Mini shampoo and body wash were a lovely fragrance. Sheets were clean. Bath towels were clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2 room apt. Twin beds were a bit hard.....though sofa bed was very comfortable. WCs though very clean could do with a bit of bleach to remove stains. Check in after 3pm is a bit late, 2pm would be nicer.

    Great location. Very quiet and restful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment needed refurbishing, not very comfortable, not all that clean and wifi didn't work very often.

    Friendly staff, good bikes to hire, pool,.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The apartment's aren't as big as they look on the picture's, or as updated as the picture's try to make out it's just the bathrooms they tiled to make look clean and updated. Book in advance for a terrace but still don't expect to get one. Don't bother trying to call Pierre @ Vac whilst in England as you will never get through,neither did Booking.com, i tried from March and i was going on the 6th Aug.Spoke to someone 2 days before and that was because someone who lived on Il de Re had to go and tell them to call me. I wouldn't stay again only because we didn't get what i asked for and was unable to contact Pierre at St Martin for over 5 months and they blamed Booking.com.

    It's very close to the port of St Martin. The grounds are in closed so good as we had a dog. Beautiful part of the Island close to so many lovely places to cycle to, Great for couples to just walk to the port.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly one of the beds was very hard and uncomfortable.

    Great location. Staff could not be friendlier and were very helpful, made bookings for us etc. Lovely peaceful surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rather isolated. Wifi was poor. the pool was small. There was no English TV available.

    The staff were very helpful. the rooms were spacious. It was well-equipped.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Apartment very basic, balcony could not accommodate two people, and staff were not at all helpful. Other apartments looked better and had somewhere to sit out. Not what we saw on website.

    Building was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio (2 people)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only thing that disappointed me was that being on the first floor, there was no where to have breakfast al fresco - my fault though, as I didn't thiink of that when booking. The pool area was a bit disappointing - it looks better on the website.

    I loved my apartment (a 1st floor studio in the main house). It was bright, airy, clean, spacious. Such a relaxing place, I was enchanted immediately. I spent a whole week there and got through three books!! The staff were all very helpful. Nice location slightly out of the main town, but still only a five minute stroll to the harbour with its shops, restaurants and bars. I would definately return, but would consider upgrading to a ground floor apartment, with patio, next time

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 people)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was ok

    Peasce quiteall was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (3 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location staff, room and parking were all good. The sauna was especially appreciated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Room Apartment (5 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Single beds are hard as nails, whereas sofa bed a bit more comfortable

    Closeness to main harbour

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (3 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    corridors are rather stark concrete

    Position in St Martin. Practicality of layout of apartment. Approachability of staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Room Apartment (5 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible wifi, really dingy apartments (not at all what they look like in pictures). Poorly equipped.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be nice to receive an actual receipt for our booking showing total bill etc and not having to ask yourselves for one!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (3 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool too cold, bedsettee uncomfortable, nowhere to relax or sit.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second floor accommodation. No outside space.

    Location great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of room need to be improved.

    Staffs extremely friendly and with good abide where to go and where to eat. Very well located.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (3 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised that we had to pay extra to have our room cleaned.

    Location perfect

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Studio (3 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a bit of updating

    Being able to park was a real bonus. Staff were very helpful to move us due to stairs being difficult for my son.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (3 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Proximity to everything along with the friendliness of the staff made our stay a very pleasant one.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (3 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit expensive

    Great comfort quietness, great location and easy parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Once again had to seek extra towels as we are three people not two. The water quality reports for the pool would be more impressive if they were not really out of date! It's not cheap - but then nothing on Ré is.

    Car parking is often difficult on Ré, so secure car parking is good, the town is on your doorstep, you don't need a car for going out for a meal or sightseeing in the town. Hired good bikes from reception and had two days' nice riding around the island. Ordering breakfast croissants etc from reception the night before is a good idea. Staff were friendly and helpful. Dog-friendly place and the ramparts are only a short walk away for exercising the dog who had a lovely time chasing rabbits.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paying for WIFI. XXIst century = free WiFi The decoration of the room was quite poor No loo paper Curtains not in condition When we arrived the room was cold

    The location is amazing Freedom (no unnecessary staffing) Cool swimming pool and spa

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was terribly hard Pillows were not comfortable The first floor room is like a prison cell without a balcony The windows have to be open when it sunny but they are very dangerous because they open into the room by about 800mm - at a ridiculous height. These windows should be changed immediately. They also reduce the room size when open.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    As the hotel was advertised as a 4 star we were expecting somewhere pretty special with all the trimmings you would expect from a 4 star rated hotel. What we had was an unclean, basic, tired apartment. As my husband and I were travelling with our 5 year old daughter, she had the bed in the bedroom which left myself and my husband sleeping on the sofa bed in the kitchen area, with the lumpy pillows, listening to the noisy fridge and neighbours, both from above and below. The pool was a lot smaller than in the photos and had mould and peeling paint everywhere. The free parking was secure, however, the spaces were not marked therfore the 'car park' was always in complete chaos and was based on a first come first served basis. Nearby parking is all metred. Not what we expected at all for the money. It felt like butlins but a pricey one!

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location was fantastic, only 5 min walk from the centre.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Toilet was a bit small in the good sized studio apartment but otherwise the facilities were excellent

    Excellent location in St Martin and very comfortable accommodation with nice pool area.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Welcome and service from Emmanuel was excellent. She was extremely pleasant and helpful. Facilities were excellent. Accomodation was very good and very clean. Covenience to town centre (5 mins stroll) was great!

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all excellent but I think a bed would be better than a sofa bed.

    Location,environment,grounds,facilities,cleanliness,staff,room,decoration,price.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    An idyllic setting just 5 mins walk from the port (with lovely cafes and restaurants). The apartment was well equipped (with a Nespresso machine - extra points!) and comfortable. Parking was secure and nearby. We loved it all!

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough sockets, with all the kitchen gadgets and also our tablets, phones etc which needed charging up daily

    So close to the old port. Pleased to find kettle, toaster, 2 coffee machines and a teapot. Dressing gowns, towels and beds made up too. Staff really friendly and facilities good. Great location 5mins and you were at the harbour with such a choice of restos

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing of any great importance. Check in/out times more restrictive than a conventional hotel which might be a problem for some people.

    An ideal destination for families who prefer to self cater. The indoor/outdoor heated pool is a plus for days when the weather is not great. The location is just right, in a quiet area but within an easy walk of the quaint lively (for Ré) town and port

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Studio dirty Pool and pool area needs renovation Not worth 4 stars premium rating

    Location Kind staff

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too basic for the cost ( 120 euros per night )

    Good location, private parking, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    situation ,prés du centre ville

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No shops nearby. Reception open for limited hours not very convenient for arrival.

    Nice Studio with lovely high ceiling which made it appear larger.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent central position, 5 minutes from the port and restaurants. Very helpful staff. Great pool

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old bicycle, slightly tired accomodation

    Location/parking

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The accommodation was expensive for what it was.

    Reception staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Comfort of beds and cleanliness.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff Well kept grounds Location

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lovely grounds great staff great location

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: