Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palazzu U Domu 4 stars

17 Rue Bonaparte, 20000 Ajaccio, France

#5 of 24 hotels in Ajaccio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 200 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark foyer and feeling that part of hotel closed for off season which gave a feeling of not overly welcome. Rates on offer by hotel at almost 50% lower than we paid via Booking.com

    Location and building facade and most of staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standing Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately when we arrived, the elevator was down, so the staff helped us , but we had to use stairs all time.

    The location is ideally placed to visit and walk in Ajaccio. The building is beautiful. The room is very spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room initially assigned to me had a disgusting toilet leak and it smelled. I also paid over 200 euro for the room. I told them about it, and while the woman at the desk did not seem thrilled about moving me, she did and I was given a nicer room.

    My room upgrade from a smelly room with a toilet leak, to a room that was clean with a terrace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested for a quite room in 1 week before checking in. When we arrived to the hotel around 16:00. The hotel allocated a room 301 which is right next to the elevator. However is was very noisy when the car went up and down. As the result, we woke up at 5:30 by the noise of elevator and could not turn to sleep at all. Just the hotel said as we were booking by booking.com instead to book directly to hotel then the request was just a nut... As the result, we will not use neither booking.com nor hotel Palazzu u Dumo in Ajaccio anymore😬😖😖😖

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was fine - quite small but clean and comfortable. The shower leaked as door didn't seal so we had a bit of mopping up to do. The reception area was a bit cluttered with scaffolding - to remove chandelier - for the whole four days. When we asked they said they had problems with building and renovation work - unfortunate in high season. The restaurant menu was very expensive and we didn't see any guests use it for the whole four days. I think lack of atmosphere and prices were discouraging when so many more ambient options just a few minutes stroll away.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved the balcony with sideways view down to harbour (although not so much the washing hanging out opposite) We loved the magical staircase lit by candles. Proximity to restaurants and bars. Right in heart of Ajaccio. We would stay again if in Corsica just for the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awsome room with super modern and comfty furniture, excellent bed and linen, the bathroom superb! Staff nice, manager awaited for us till our unplanned late arrival, only bad thing there is no parking, but there is a public car park close by, pretty cheap to use even overnight. Safe place and the hotel is around the corner from old city and Napoleon House Museum which is a bonus!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was difficult to log into to. We had one iPhone and two iPads. Normal log-in kept giving us error messages on ALL devices. I ended up having to go to the online help and fiddling around. The staff, at the time, could not help (this was at 8pm). They should give precise instructions on what to do because I can't imagine that I was the only one experiencing this. Also, hot-water knob in shower was EXTREMELY hard to turn. Very annoying. The staff was aware of this. This should be fixed. For the price, everything should be perfect!

    Spectacular location. Room was huge and had views from two sides, plus a large balcony with furniture and two small "Juliet" balconys. But I didn't realize I had booked at this property at the marina, as the main lodging is high above, around 180 steps up, to be precise. Luckily, I discovered this before we arrived. But, this was not an issue. We liked the exercise. (But something to be aware of if you don't like to walk!) And we did a lot of it! Staff was very nice. Check-in is at the main hotel and we were led to the lower, port location by motor scooter. Nice brunch. I think about $20, at the main location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were poor, hot water very unreliable and not convenient- had to press a button then wait 5 to 10 mins before there was hot water in the shower. Second bathroom was appalling: only 1 meter wide, no space for anything, tiny shelf. Toilet was in a common space under the stairs. Lighting throughout the apartment was grossly inadequate, to the extent that you couldn't see in your luggage in the evening, nor read in the living room. Beds and bed linen were below average quality. The TV room was like a dungeon with no fresh air or windows, and no other TV in the living room. This apartment was only just comfortable, very basic albeit with a great view. Given previous reviews and the description of the apartment as luxurious, I had expected higher quality and left feeling disappointed.

    Great view from the private terrace, and a charming historic building. Wifi was good, and the kitchen was clean and functional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - large Suite very poor lighting. Too dark! - no bar facilities for cocktail party. Poor reception facilities. - canapés apéritif poor quality. - breakfast viennoiseries pales and not appealing Very Expensive for what you get. This hotel with such great history and location deserves a serious upgrade !

    Outstanding location in the heart of Ajaccio. Poor indoor facilities. Lavish bathroom and outstanding bath , but poor quality towels. Poor quality with very hard pillows.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was staying because the location was convenient. Unfortunately the hotel has bed bugs(in the room I was allocated) and I got quite severely bitten. I understand that bed bugs are a problem in European hotels and it's becoming harder to control them as they become resistant to the chemicals used to exterminate them. We mainly stayed in perfectly adequate 2 or 3 star hotels, in Corsica, and we didn't experience bed bugs until I stayed in this fairly luxurious hotel. I didn't report them to the hotel because i was not in a mental state to do so. My husband was in Ajaccio hospital with a spinal injury and I could not cope with a conversation about bed bugs at that moment on check out. I lost 2 nights non refundable accommodation payment to the hotel via booking.com because my husband was urgently transferred to Marseille for surgery - unexpected. So I had to pack and leave quickly. It would be nice if that money could be refunded, but I'm not counting on it. Michelle Gallant

    The staff were great at a difficult time for me. The room was a good size.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hotel parking, so you have to pay extra for a nearby parking place. Dark colors in the entry hall, Both of the above will change: they will renovate the hotel in 2017. They think that they are serving American breakfast, but who was ever in a 4 star hotel in America, knows this is not the case. Overall, most hotels and this one is not an exception, are overpricing.

    Extremely gentle service. If you are arriving by car, they guide you to the nearby parking. They give you really good advice for restaurants and places to visit. Try their Ajaccio anis cake that they are serving for breakfast. The beach is in 3 minutes walking distance and it is amazingly pleasant beech for a city center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was facing the street, other side rooms had much better view. No shower curtain, furniture is not very nice, the whole hotel is dark and black. Looks like a partial renovation has been done, but not everything has been renovated (washroom). No parking available.

    Location directly in the center

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is TOTALLY overpriced and of very poor quality. At Euro 25 per person I would expect fresh ingredients and more options.

    The hotel is an excellent location and the staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was very late 4PM. It is unusual.Too noisy in the room,but it os city centr anyway...

    Simple room where it everything you need.We got very early brekfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    No elevator. No air conditioning. No fans. Very disappointing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor - dark No parking Value for money

    Friendly and helpful staff Location Breakfast area and staff Candies

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking

    Easy to find.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standing Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast too expensive. Weird black decor

    Big room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi is problématique

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standing Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff are fantastic! Friendly!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standing Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bath needs some update

    staff was really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was a bit slow.

    Fantastic location, historic building, nice staff. In the city center, close to the harbour and a beautiful little beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything? Everything was really good

    Location perfect, staff so friendly and so helpful, and hotel is very nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast option very expensive.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very expensive. Best to go elsewhere for that

    The central location is unbeatable and easy to get to

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standing Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pretty much perfect :-)

    Great location, beautiful rooms, fantastic staff, very modestly priced. Will be my go-to hotel whenever I return to Ajaccio.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fact that despite the large number of windows in the room, the shutters/curtains were closed all the time so the room was very dark and dingy. The front windows looked out on to the street. From the side windows if you leaned out, you could see the harbour.

    Both the bedroom (room 308) and bathroom were largely more than the average hotel bedroom size (30 m2) and the décor was very elegant.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room next to ours was cleaned at 9AM on a Saturday and therefore woke us up. When telling the front desk that it was a not pleasant experience they said that there was nothing they could do about it, and I should have told them the night before that I wanted a quiet morning (...!)

    Great location, cute architecture.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a pity that so much of the old building has been covered up in favour of modern black style.

    Very central, and we were given an excellent recommendation for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi Fi was not good. Could download emails but not send or get onto internet. A big issue when traelling on business..

    Position, lovely staff, good rooms

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sun terrace is shaded but in any event and conference groups have priority over guests. Staff uninterested.

    Good location. Near to all restaurants and bars

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi in the hotel was terrible, it was so slow it was almost unusable. There were very few facilities in the hotel, bar was never open, no food and drink other than breakfast.

    Room was large and comfortable. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - Don't have parking - The place is nice but I expected more in terms of comfort for a 4Star Hotel

    - The staff is great! They are extremely nice! - The location is good. Close good beaches (by car) and good restaurants around - Wi-Fi worked very well

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bathroom shower badly needed updating and continental breakfast was weak coffee, mediocre croissants and plain yogurt: Not worth the extra for included breakfast - you're better off walking out the front door an hitting one of the many cafes in the area.

    Great location in old town Ajaccio! We made the right decision to ditch our car and walk everywhere - a minute or two to the waterfront, just around the corner from the Napoleon museum, countless restaurants and shops. Most importantly, the staff were stars and made my stay with my toddler easy.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is far too expensive for what it worths: no eggs, no pancakes or crêpes, no salty dish available or need to pay extra for those... looks so cheap... orange juice is clearly not a freshly squeezed juice. You'd better not need two soaps and other toiletries, there are stuff available in the rooms of course but in very limited quantity, same for the towels... They would make you pay for using their printer and one papersheet in order to get your airplane ticket... a shame given rooms' prices... No pool, which is was not a problem for us.

    Excellent location in the city center, very close to everything. Hotel is located in a beautiful building and benefits from modern, large and beautiful rooms. Very nice staff overall.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no bar fridge and no face washers. In our original room the wifi was good but in the second room it was very intermittent and had to go down to reception to use it.

    We had a bright modern room with a long balcony. The location of the hotel was easy to find and is in the heart of the old town amongst the restaurant and bar area. All the reception staff speak English. All the rooms are different. Some have balconies, some patios and some neither. Our original room overlooked a narrow laneway and was quite dark. The hotel were really good and changed us to a brighter room with balcony.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lacking a bit overall in terms of atmosphere. Very dark corridors.

    Excellent location. Spacious rooms with nice bathrooms. Professional staff, mostly friendly.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was poor, just cardboard pastries and terrible coffee. There are plenty of lovely places to get breakfast nearby so do that instead.

    Comfortable, spacious room & great location in the best part of Ajaccio

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was pretty basic and not good value. Had to order eggs/ham etc. in advance. Was told eggs not avaialble until I noticed omlettes being served

    Locarion Staff very friendly and responsive Good rooms - spacious and comfortable enough

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom towel rather small in contrast to other top quality facilities. Breakfast average for the 12 euros, could improve choice and quantity

    Lovely room, great shower and very centrally located, 5 mins to everywhere including the beach

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The darkness of the rooms-lighting needs to be improved. The lack of a functioning bar.

    The location was excellent. Most of the staff was exceptionally pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I wish breakfast was included.

    Excellent location, very spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff, central hotel with good facilities

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful stylish hotel in the heart of Ajaccio with everything at your doorstep.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Sweats in the entrance

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    moisture in the bathroom of the two rooms

    The location

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I thought the breakfast was a little over priced

    Lovely rooms and excellent location

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not able to go into room before 18.00. Room smelt heavily of smoke. Room very noisy No internet in room

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the unavailable parking

    The location and the lovely staff

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Loved the location, style and staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very nice service, hotel very central and staff dog-friendly

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Superbe spacious room, located in the heart of Ajaccio

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - WiFi was horribly out of order and staff wasn't helpful at all about it

    - excellent location in a nice old building in the center of town

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, helpful staff. Great location. Wonderful large, airy rooms

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, a stone's throw from Napoleon's house and other significant attractions made our short stay so perfect.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Grand staircase, breakfast in the courtyard

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lousy breakfast

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Palazzu U Domu traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: