Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Mâcon Bord de Saone 4 stars

26 Rue Pierre De Coubertin, 71000 Mâcon, France

#14 of 21 hotels in Mâcon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1289 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant stopover at The Mecure, Macon on the way to our holiday destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two rooms - a premium (for 1 adult&2 children) and a standard room (for 1 adult&1 child). All of the beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning worked very well. There was a swimming pool for the teenagers and a bar which adults enjoyed in the evening. There was both a French continental and a cooked breakfast (eggs&sausages). There was a family deal where adults pay and the children are free. I noticed there was a special deal with dog owners-I thought this was great that owners of dogs were allowed in the hotel & at breakfast-it was lovely to see a well behaved dog at breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't really think of anything. Staff great and very accommodating with wife's dietary limitations in restaurant for evening meal which was lovely.

    Door in-between bedroom and actual room door which gave access to bathroom. This makes all the difference to a good night's sleep a dulls any noise. Compact but comfortable and all facilities there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel for a stopover stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has only one, slow, lift serving its four floors. The restaurant is adequate if all you want to do is to get some food inside you but doesn’t aspire to more than that – there are plenty of much nicer restaurants in the centre of Macon. The bar tends to close quite early so if you want to sit up drinking you are better going elsewhere – but start walking towards the town centre and you will easily find a few places open later.

    I have stayed at this hotel for each of the last four years on my way south on holiday and then again on my way north back to the UK. In my view it flatters this hotel to call it four star – it has more of the feel of a good three star hotel. It is in a rather functional building that shows its age from the outside and the reception, bar and restaurant also have a functional feel about them. However the hotel is convenient for the motorway, is good value for money and makes a great stopover. The rooms are very nice and the people unfailingly friendly. The pool area is also a very welcome facility at the end of a day’s travelling, with an external area overlooking the pool where you can relax with a drink from the bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location and fab hotel, with the pool open to 10pm being a real bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in process was a bit slow and some staff were not overly welcoming but they were extremely busy

    Fabulous location when travelling down to the south coast of France with a great restaurant on site.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to move rooms after unpacking everything the last thing you want with kids after a long journey. This was because the plumbing in our room didn't work

    Very comfortable beds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice location by the river but too far from Macon. Eat elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the bar staff were offhand, reception staff ignored us and lost our order! On arrival we were told restaurant was full till 8.30, we arrived 8.20 there were lots of tables and they seated us and gave us menus After that we were ignored. We managed to find someone from the bar to get us some wine and water; there seemed to be only 1 member of staff to take orders and she spent around 10 mins at each table chatting! After about 30-40 of trying to attract a waiter’s eye we asked to give our order and someone who was clearly new took our order and we asked for bread whic didn’t arrive. We watched diners come and go until a couple sat next to us at around 9.20 and were served within 10 mins - having found a waitress we discovered our order had been lost. We decided to have the starter and cancelled the rest - I went and found some bread. We eventually ate at 10pm, just a small starter and a lot of bread. Unfortunately there was nowhere else to go. We refused to pay for our starter. The next night we moved into the Best Western in Macon which was lovely with lots of excellent restaurants nearby. We wondered if Brexit affected the service?

    We were a last minute booking as our car broke down on our way back to the UK so we had a small room with no view but it was perfectly satisfactory - bonus that it had a fridge and coffee making. All modern and clean. Nice location by the river but too far to walk to Macon and nothing else nearby (restaurants/bars etc). Reception staff were great, The pool was a bonus, but lacked enough loungers and umbrellas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    2.5
    Dirty and seriously dated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and seriously dated hotel. Not worthy of being a 4star or even being part of the mercure group. The bathroom was not cleaned, broken door and toilet seat. The room smelled like a smoker had been living there for months. A true atrocity

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaness was rather poor (bathroom) The restaurant: meal portions are ridiculously small (and am a slim and fit person) !

    The location The swimming pool Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    The hotel would benefit greatly with better trained staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant service was very poor. We had to remind staff that our first course was way overdue. The menu description of one main course was inaccurate and consequently disappointing.

    Location and facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent place when travelling across France with a dog. lovely walks along the river and easy access into the hotel with an animal. Breakfast was good, rooms had pleasant view and the car parking was safe and secure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.4
    Not the best but not awful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was slow and staff weren’t helpful. Check out was better. Restaurant staff were friendly. Food wasn’t great.

    The rooms were comfortable, aircon worked well, shower and toilet were lovely and clean as was the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.0
    Poor hotel, we will avoid the Mercure chain in future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less than helpful staff, no double bed - 2 singles on our honeymoon and they refused to discuss, rubbish restaurant...

    The Hippo' restaurant down the road - friendly, helpful and a decent choice of food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely location in clean and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant meals were underwhelming and not great value for the money spent.

    Service from front desk was great when we were allocated a room for 2 when we had booked for 3. Staff upgraded our room immediately without fuss and no additional cost. Clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Small rooms, pleasant staff. Kids will like the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small and the hotel is a little run down. Our sink didn’t drain properly and the air filter in the bathroom was filthy.

    Pool good, reception staff very helpful. Nice location by the river.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Great stay at Macon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is a bit too high... missed boiled eggs at the breakfast.. So theres nothing to complain about .. Well the heat but its not the Hotels fault ;)

    Nice English speaking Staff.. clean and nice rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    2.9
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Single Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty fithy toilet. Manager not interested to rectify the problem. Kept going on about the bed and sofa which wasnt the issue. Our issue was the dirty stained toilet. Would not stay here again for that reason. Paid too much for an unclean room and manager not interested so will vote with my feet and stay somewhere else. You are paying for a clean room unfortunately the manager does not agree. Would not recommend for this reason alone.

    Hotel was in a good position alongside the river

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Ideal stopover for travelling through France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Easy to find after a long drive. Excellent parking. Lovely waterside location. It was really pleasant to walk along the shaded banks of the Saône river after a journey. Also 20 minutes walk into central Macon. Nice pool on site & parkland adjacent to hotel. Excellent for a family stop over. Comfortable room & pleasant food. If you have time - go & visit Le Château de Cormartin, 20 mins or so north.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    Served a purpose, however unlikely to use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, the air conditioning did not work and the Wi-fi was pretty near useless. Certainly not 4*.

    The staff were friendly and helpful and the evening meal was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Stop over to the Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a little concerned after reading reviews over the last few weeks. Hotel was super! Ok the outside does remind me a bit of Hemel Hempstead but staff were amazing! Food was fabulous! Locked parking! Superior room was fab! Breakfast - could you want more! It’s about a 15 minute walk into town and as a mum travelling with 2 boys I needed somewhere where they could unwind! The pool was empty and they had it to theirselves for 2 hours! Well done all the staff you should be so proud of your Hotel! Thank you :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Very poor service in restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at restaurant was very poor particularly the restaurant manager. It took 25 mins to get a glass of water and food served before wine.

    Bedroom and next to River.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    This fine hotel is perfectly located for the traveller with a car load of luggage and dogs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner was dull and uninspired, with little evidence of real "cooking". It conformed exactly to the definition of "hotel food" and as such was poor value for money as it was very over-priced.

    The beds are excellent and overall the room was perfect with a fine view over the Saone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    ideal relaxing and soothing stopover...we had just had our house cleared by the removal men
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little plastic cups in the room for tea and coffee. Horrible. PAS a la hauteur d un hotel quatre etoilesq

    The simple but elegant style. Lovely bedroom overlooking the river. Very good quality and value 're food. Helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little way out of town. Supper service was slow and the food quality so-so.

    A limited menu supper at the hotel was a bonus as few restaurant options nearby at the time we stayed there. Breakfast was good although limited to the usual continental options. Our room had a river view. Nice swimming pool and terrace although we did not have time to make use of them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    A great weekend stay in a fab location, if you have dogs walks are super along the river.
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Staff very friendly, we had an early start to the National dog show and it was no trouble for us to have a take away breakfast, my dog was allowed in the restaurant in the evening which is better than leaving dogs in hotel rooms, I wish more hotels in England did the same for us dog lovers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, restaurant was closed for evening, very hard mattress, pillows are like bricks, sofa bed not wide enough for 2 children who don't want to snuggle.

    Shower. Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.4
    Was ok not what I expected from four stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soffa bed was not done for my two children, we had to ask for bedding and cover , eventually we got a pillow and a sheet for tow children!!!!! We only had tow towels for four of us Breakfast was nothing doesn't worth the money it is very expensive for the service you get I don't know how did they get the four stars ✨

    It was clean and modern in a really nice area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    3.3
    Unsatisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine in room was dirty and full of capsules, dusty on top. When I asked the manager on reception if it could be cleaned and refilled she said maybe and walked off. It was never emptied or cleaned Above the entrance door to hotel so Many cobwebs and spiders. Didn't bother letting the hotel know given the response about the coffee machine. Would not consider a mercury as a result again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.3
    Not a great experience. Downhill quickly. I think we will try somewhere else in future. Breakfast w.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here 8 months ago and really enjoyed our stay, this time our room wasn't made up properly, the room was dirty, dog hairs all over the bed, staff not really bothered, 25 mins to get served at the bar because no one was there.....

    Location,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.6
    Dirty carpet on hall way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty carpet on hall way. ( hairs and dust) and noisy Air |Conditioner,..................................................................................................................................

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Disappointing compared with Mercure Orleans
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    General decor horrible. Dinner menu inadequate. Breakfast incomplete.

    Bed Ok. Breakfast Poor no butter or jam and fresh fruit consisted of on unripe old Apple

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice place with pool to stay for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was clean, but in bathroom we saw many fingerprints on glass surfaces, hairs on of the floor.

    Friendly personal, good parking facility, nice swimming pool, family friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    2.5
    Extremely disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were checked into a room that had not been cleaned at 4.00 in the afternoon. Broken glass by swimming pool still there from the night before at 4.00 in the afternoon. Just swept the glass away when we pointed it out but they did not wash it so wasps were attracted. Air conditioning was broken. Receptionist advised manager would contact me, still to hear from them a week later. Have complained through two other emails and heard nothing back. We shall return to Novotel, so much better. Extremely disappointing experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable room and nice pool in functional-looking hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior and interior of the hotel are uninspiring. The public areas have had a facelift recently but that can't disguise the fact that the place has a functional atmosphere which is difficult to change. The pool and external drinking and eating areas are nice but the bar inside and the restaurant area have the atmosphere of a student cantine. When I have been there the restaurant menu has been bland but adequate - best to go for the freshly cooked dish of the day. And there is only one lift serving four floors so be prepared for a wait at busy times. Against this the hotel is not over-priced so whereas in some expensive places "you get what you pay for" in this place "you only pay for what you get"! I shall return but might eat out next time.

    I have stayed at this hotel four times now on my way by car to the Alps or on my way back. The advantages to me are a comfortable room on the banks of the Saone with easy access from the motorway and a very pleasant pool and sunbathing area. I shall continue to use the hotel as my preferred stop-off in Macon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice place(location)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    13 euros local taxes for 2 adults/night???? In fact is just 3 euros(10 euros more than normal),no invoice,no paper,all just in "black"!!!!

    Nice place(location)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    Don't count on eating at the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't an option to eat at the restaurant on site as it was fully booked! With young children this meant that we didn't eat an evening meal and the drinks were very expensive!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    Well located close to the Saone River, with nice relaxing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far away from the city center, The hotel is housed in a 1970-like building, and even refurbished it does not look as good as other hotels from the same category Long check out queue

    Well located close to the Saone River, with nice relaxing walks. Bar open late. Nice staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    A hotel with two faces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is boring and has no soul. No atmosphere whatsoever. Bare walls, no pictures, no greenery. Food mediocre and odd. Was it straight from the microwave? Staff impersonal. It has always been like this - even before it was a Mercure! But we still love the hotel!!

    Excellent location within parkland alongside River Saone. Room overlooked public swimming complex. Friendly, patient and flexible receptionist, giving us a choice of rooms. Pleasant terrace overlooking the hotel pool and river. A very pleasant riverside walk to Macon centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and smart room in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was very busy when we came in and tables were not cleared and crockery and food not available. Three staff on duty were friendly and helpful but overstretched. It was much quieter by the time we left.

    Very comfortable and smart room in great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.8
    Poor service for Nice rooms and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service. There is a big lack of personal. Check in lady had to serve the bar too. After 10 hrs. driving no one had any time for servicing a drink. The restaurant had a lack of waiters too. Long waiting times. Food quality poor. (Small restaurant 1,5 km left along the rivier). Manager was next morning not much interested in my story, even as I told him I made a reservation for a riverside room and got a back side room. Obvious lack of management!

    Location,parking. Hotel lies on the bord of the rivier Saône. Nice terrace. Room was OK, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.4
    Medium
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The senior woman who is the boss is not sympathic, but I think nobody ignore that...

    The promenade along the river Soane and the restaurant Le Poisson d'Or (500 meters from the hotel).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.1
    Suitable overnight hotel when you're heading down south.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast situation was out of control. They charge €15 per person but there wasn't any breakfast, there were no glasses, no plates. Not until after I complained at the front desk, they but more people in the breakfast room and started refilling. But I hate complaining. I rather just have a good experience.

    Small room but modern and comfortable. The bed was a bit hard to my liking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.7
    the hotel is conviniently located, not too far from the...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    some shelves in the lobby and lamps in the restaurant were not dusted for a while. dead insects were scattered around. carpet in the hall ways was not thoroughly vacuumcleaned.

    the hotel is conviniently located, not too far from the highway. staff spoke English and was very friendly. a nice park and a walk promenade along the river right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was good but no small spoons for coffee, eggs or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really small, we weren't able to carry our large suitcase from pne side to the other of the room as there wasn't enough space between the bed and the wall. Towels were not changed even though they were left on the floor in the shower, basket was not emptied, the bathroom had not been cleaned, only the bed was made.

    Breakfast was good but no small spoons for coffee, eggs or yogurt available. Staff were surprised when people asked for a small spoon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was disorganized
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disorganized We didn't have any shampoo nor shower gel and the bathroom sink was clogged. We had to ask the desk twice to have someone help us with this. Also the floor in the room wasn't well cleaned. It didn't feel we were staying in a 4star hotel. The pool was really nice though.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite having a nespresso machine in the room only paper cups were provided to make coffee. The sofa was upholstered in an uncomfortable plastic fabric.

    The breakfast was excellent with a great selection of food, a nespresso coffee machine and an electric citrus juicer to make your own orange juice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice short stay hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Refill during breakfast could be better!

    nice hotel with a park and walkway along the river. Great if your travelling with a dog! The view from the restaurant is great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    5.8
    Room with a milky view !!
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a terribel room. The window glass was all covered in milk white guup so we could not see anything out of the window. That was very sad and stupid to give us that room.

    The restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.8
    Perfect stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of sewer smell in bathroom. Not a fan of carpet on the floor, but it's clean, so no problem.

    Good breakfast, comfortable beds, efficient staff, easy parking. Feels more like a good motel, which is not a bad thing at all. Great for a stop in the way to the south.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.1
    Good breakfast till 11.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom but ok for entering it 1 person at the time. Rooms not soundproof so you can be disturbed by noise from the corridor or other rooms.

    Good breakfast till 11.00am on Sundays. Check out till noon. Large parking. Quiet area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for sporty people and dog lovers.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service menu could include more items, especially more cooked ones, rather than canned.

    The staff was most friendly, helpful and efficient. Room was new and clean and modern. Tea facilities in the room. Beautiful park outside with a 10 k marked running track. Perfect for dog walking too. River view. Little library downstairs by the fireplace- very cosy! Hearty breakfast, fresh juicer for oranges.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    6.3
    Somewhat disappointing, no better thsn cheap motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool present as advertised but closed on a hot day anyway. Airco in room as advertised but does not work at all. Restaurant menu limited and not suitable for children. Not horrible but not better than cheap Campanile, worse in some ways. A disappointment.

    Nice lication near river and city centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst in easy walking distance to several restaurants it was a shame the hotel restaurant only offered a limited menu at the weekend.

    The location is excellent on the edge of town and overlooking the river. The hotel restaurant was very good. The staff, especially Sandrine, we're efficient, helpful and friendly. It was a very pleasant and happy stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    6.7
    Great location. But we didn't sleep at all well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely hot but the air con wasn't functioning at this time of year. So we had the windows open all night meaning noise. I wrote to Mercure's central complaints team but have heard nothing back as yet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.5
    Great hotel for dog owners
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not straightforward for disabled people or those with heavy baggage. Entry to hotel is steps - there is an elevator to the left to take up you up half a floor to reception, but it's not obvious.

    Pretty good breakfast, reasonable wifi, comfortable rooms. Good for dog owners as can walk along the river directly outside

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent by the edge of the river backing onto a park and easy walking distance to restaurants and cinema. The hotel staff were very welcoming and supportive. The restaurant and the hotel was very good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    great location on the banks of the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, it perfectly met my needs.

    the location on the banks of the river is very nice. its about a 20 minute walk along the river to the centre of town but its a very pleasant walk. Also the parking facilities are very good with plenty of space and the gates are locked at night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.6
    Great choice for travellers with pets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a generous size and well-appointed and clean; wifi was a good speed and easy to connect to; breakfast was nice with good variety of hot/cold/fruit/sweet. Beds are very comfortable, though on the hard side. The hotel is great for dog walkers as you can walk along the river directly outside. The parking is also easy to use and seems secure. Both sides of the bed get a plug socket!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Close to the river, very quiet, lovely walk into town along...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the river, very quiet, lovely walk into town along the river.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok. Stains on the the floor and wall. Not worth what we paid for

    The staff were lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Helpful staff when a problem occurred in the bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Helpful staff when a problem occurred in the bathroom (flashing light bulb).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Staff was very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was really not comfy... Mercure should know better!

    Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    location was along the waterside and a park next door so as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    some of the staff were very unhelpful

    location was along the waterside and a park next door so as we travelled with our dog it was good for walks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Very good! Everything you could want from an hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with a Double Bed and a Single Bed (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good parking for large van

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Good 2 night stay with the family. A walk down the river brings you to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view over the river. The pool was nice. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Good stopover hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited choice for dinner at the restaurant.

    Clean, comfortable room, swimming-pool, pleasant terrace, big free parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    airco was too noisy, so could not let it on at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    airco was too noisy, so could not let it on at night..... too warm to sleep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Fab stopover on the way to the Alps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have a cheaper breakfast option if you have a small appetite.

    Great location, good vegetarian options in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    super
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good location near the river

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    We stayed one night, everyone at reception was very helpful. Nice and close to Macon centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful for booking taxis etc. Nice view of the river.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Rooms looks good and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needed to wait for then 15 min to order a drink. Wifi a bit slow.

    Rooms looks good and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Short break in macon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu was limited in restaurant. Food that was on offer was very nice.

    Absolutely great location on Bank of River Saone

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice quiet hotel overlooking the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices are higher than comparable hotels

    Nice quiet hotel overlooking the river. Close to motorway so good place to stopover.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double bed and Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, breakfast, parking, pool, room...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Regret not staying longer. Was in transit
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. With pets park one side river walk on the other plus lift to exit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location for halfway stop between London & Nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the most luxurious but ok for a night

    Good location for halfway stop between London & Nice

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: