Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western La Palmeraie 4 stars

1, Passage De L'Europe, 64000 Pau, France

#36 of 42 hotels in Pau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 122 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What didnt I like, well just about everything.. there is no greeting from the staff, no one tells you where to go or if there is a bar for a coffee or cold drink, the room although clean was basic and the bancony needed repainting along with the rest of the exterior. The food was disgusting, we had the dish of the day, the salad was tasteless and just muddled together and they covered it with a dressing unknown to mankind, the second course was fish rice and a form of sweet mixed veg stew, the fish was burnt, full of bones in a fillet?. And the rest was far too sweet. The sweet was apple flan, cold watery custard and tin squirty cream. Simply the worst meal I have ever eaten. This hotel needs to be reclassified as a 1 star the staff retrained and the hotel cleaned so they dont have to put cockroach traps in the bottom of the wardrobes. I will never stay there again...

    What did I like? Very little to be honest. The location is superb, easy access to from the hotel to the main routes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to find if you are driving, but away from town. The room was clean and comfortable. Loved the coffee maker in the room, which is not common in France. Lots of English channels on TV. Free parking....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought breakfast at 12euros expensive.No milk or sugar in the room,only 1cup ,these were provided when we asked.Lighting dim.

    The staff recommended a restaurant for an evening meal which was very good,just a pity we could not get one in the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two power sockets did not work, four lights did not work, and to use the tea and coffee facilities, we had to put the tray on the floor as it would not reach a working socket.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the hotel for a night rest during my Lisbon-Pisa drive. I selected that hotel for its location (close to the highway and kind of halfway) and for the fact that it has (...) a restaurant. Upon my arrival I was told the restaurant was closed for vacation !! When I was sleeping, preparing for another 1000km drive I was awaken by an alarm in my room from one of those 80s digital alarm clocks. Ridiculous ! Never mind talking with the staff in a language different from French and then can't go beyond "Hello" and "Goodbye". I'm very surprised that Best Western has its brand on this !

    Average facilities. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't always a member of staff who could speak English - we only met one person who spoke English. I speak a little French but sometimes miss important information.

    Plenty of space in the room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very run down needs money spending on it. staff on reception very morose no introduction to the hotel breakfast times etc no interaction at all very disappointing

    This hotel could be amazing but it is so tired. Room spacious. parking good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel needs to be refreshed. Poor internet speed access

    Bed and sheets OK

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed for August! Not mentioned when viewing or booking made!! The bottled beer was past the sell by date in the bar!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Type and confort of this hotel

    Landscape

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thermostat had poor climate control. Opening a window resolved the issue.

    Staff helpful, courteous, and kind.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was excellent, large and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dinner was unavailable during august holidays

    front desk staff. she was so helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant on site not open No hot water in shower Poorly provsioned breakfast

    Very quite Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel was extremely clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast should have been included in the room price Way overpriced for what you get at other hotels for free. The carpets in our room were filthy and needed to be cleaned.

    Easy access to freeway for visiting Lourdes and the Pyrennes. Quiet location. Not in the city. Restaurant onsite was convenient. Front desk and restaurant staff friendly and helpful. Room and bath quite large.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perhaps you could have more than one brand of beers at the bar?

    Essentially, all the facilities used, including the free wifi, where of excellent quality. I have no word for improving... just keep it as it is!

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An empty restaurant needed clients which was not helped by a Restaurant team less than welcoming. Needless to say we did not dine.

    Lovely reception area and helpful desk Team & Good parking and good location

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that the restaurant was closed on the weekend, however we had croque monsieurs in our room which were excellent

    On our route to Santander from Provence. Friendly receptionist who did everything to help us

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a problem finding the hotel as we arrived at Pau. The direction taken from your website was not very clear so we had to ask someone for help.

    We found Pau very interesting and our trip to and over the Pyrenees was fantastic. The French people wherever we went were always pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the price of the room the the very thin plastic cups in the bathroom should be real glasses. Also the bath towels should be in a thicker material.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good restaurant. Quiet and convenient location. Lovely forest within walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant closed

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tired needs refurbishment

    Location close to the motorway network

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely quiet room

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good comfortable accommodation. Excellent facilities and helpful staff. Plenty of secure parking in quiet location.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: