Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Résidence Pierre & Vacances Les Bergers 4 stars

336, avenue des Marmottes- Quartier des Bergers, 38750 L'Alpe-d'Huez, France

#18 of 30 hotels in L'Alpe-d'Huez

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We expected to be in the hotel, but ended up being in a side annex so had to go outside every time we wanted to access the lounge, pool, etc. The annex hallway needs a carpet as it gets full of snow and mud every day.

    The lounge was lovely and comfy, a friendly place to sit in the evening. The ski lift, shops, and restaurants are very close. The staff are friendly. It was good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio (2 people)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Underinvested ski lockers - no heating system for boots, no draining system for water; 2. Sauna - water bucket permanently attached to the wall, couldn’t refill to control temperature; sauna overcrowded as the other one was broken; 3. Beds - two small single beds, couldn’t really streach and relex (perhaps an issue when you are tall - 172cm) 4. Bar area - dominated by kids running around - perhaps more of a place for families; fire place broken so couldn’t enjoy the ambience and heat.

    1.Fantastic staff - everyone is super nice and helpful - THANK YOU!! 2. Proximity to lifts, ski rental places and ski passes points - it’s right outside the hotel. 3.Quiet and peaceful accommodation, if you like an undisturbed night sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Morning bakery produce was not nearly as good as the local bakery 200m down the road.

    We stayed in a 4 person apartment which was always going to be cosy. Having read some of the reviews on Trip advisor I was expecting the worst. We went during half term which may have meant that some of the more rowdy clientele may have stayed away. However the noise level for children sleeping was fine. Space was limited but not horrendous. Bathroom facilities were great. Sofabed was as good as can have been expected.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pool area was unsupervised which meant at times there was groups of teenagers (mainly French) messing around too much for us to let our children go into the pool.

    Located close to the Alapauris chair lift so good access to the ski area. We knew the check in time was 17:00 so when we arrived at 14:00 we expected to use the luggage room but our apartment was ready. Bars and restaurants were a two minute walk and the main area was only a 15minute walk which was no problem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio (4-6 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property needs to be refurbished. Only the bathroom looked nice and quite new. Only one heater in the room( electric), so nowhere to dry the clothes. Non existant sound proof. Could smell burning wood from the fireplace down below in the restaurant. Ski lockers very narrow, snowboard doesn't fit,not heated basement so boots can't dry either. NOT HEATED swimming pool! Couldn't use it at all as temperature always below 20C instead of advertised and expected 29C. When comlained was told that outside is cold so that's why water is cold! Didn't receive a reply when suggested to heat it up accordingly!!!! It was +8 when arrived and water was same cold even then.

    Great location, very close to the lifts. Restaurant on the ground floor is a good option if you don't want to leave the premises.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Room Apartment (5-6 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wood and furniture in the living room and the balcony could use a lick of paint.

    We had the "2 rooms (5-6 persons)" apartment and used this as a base for a couple of our walks in the mountains this summer. Layout: In the hall, at the entrance, there are two separate beds. There is also a separate bedroom (quite spacious). Bathroom. Separate toilet. Kitchen combined with living room. We had a nice stay here. Everything was clean. We had a mountain-and-street view, there are also rooms on the other side with mountain-only view. The supermarket (with bakery) is only 3-4 minutes away. I would not recommend the apartment for 5-6 persons but for 2-4 persons it's fine! We also ate at the restaurant once (pizza) which was good. Did not use the pool, but it looked nice. Self-service laundry on-site also useful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV a bit flaky but that could have been the location

    Comfy sofa bed (partner used the bottom bunk). Simple but good facilities in the room. Great view from the balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment floor dirty on arrival and the apartment in general was pretty run down (handles falling off wardrobe, scruffy furniture).

    Sunny Balcony and mountain view, saunas good. Pool small but nice and heated (outdoor). Good pizzas!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa beds great as beds but a little hard as sofas.

    Close to the slopes, and wonderful views. But basic but well equiped and clean, bathrooms good, lots of storage and the beds are comfortable. Our second stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (4-6 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the whole package.

    Location excellent-a short walk to slopes and lifts. Very cosy at night in sitting are with log fire, games, hot chocolate and pooltable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Two-Room Apartment (5-6 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment too small for five even though advertised for six. Living room/dining room/kitchen too small. Sofa bed in living room not comfortable. Not four star accommodation.

    Free Wi-Fi. Entry to pool and skating rink with Loisipass. Hotel pool and sauna. Location near to lovely relatively flat walks and cycling.Quiet! Restaurant good!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio with Mezzanine (6-8 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is smaller compared to pictures on booking

    Good location but not worth four stars anymore. A good 3 star hotel. Good restaurant with very good service and food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The furniture was quite old.

    The bed was comfy. We stayed 3 people in a studio which was fine but would be a squeeze for 4.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price was brilliant

    Sauna was nice. Pool a little chilly but nice and refreshing. View was outstanding

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (4-6 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor service, No cleaning for a week, old facilities. Nice location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities and rooms are tired but adequate and good value for money.

    Great location for ski lifts and local amenities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in outside of reception opening hours was a bit difficult

    Great location, good size room and great review

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property worn out, very basic, uncomfortable bed, noisy neighbours, bad soundproofing, no excractor over the hob, empty,

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2 people)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    couches in living area not the most comfartable

    location for slopes , great hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the day of departure we forgot items in the fridge When we come back and checked the fridge items were gone

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    old furniture

    Perfect location, next to the ski lift and comercial center; clean appartment

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Room Apartment (5-6 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was extremely run down

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Two-Room Apartment (5-6 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is old and not 4 star quality

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are very small. We had 5 lads staying in a room supposedly meant for 8 which worked out okay despite one toilet and bathroom. I had however taken the good advice from other reviews

    Great location. Friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    only one roll of toilet paper and one very small tube shampoo...for the room up to 6 people for a week stay.....

    the staffs are really helpful and friendly. Really appreciate their help..... the location is perfect for the skier, it is very close to the lift......

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    Well equipped apartment, good location close to lifts, great views, clean and well furnished for the money. Beds comfortable. Bathroom good. Plenty of well designed storage throughout.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    For a four star the rooms were small and you had to make your own beds, no double bed and two singles as expected, no oven only a microwave which didn't work?

    Location was good

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No hot water on 2 nights which was really poor after hard day on slopes! Rubbish was left to pile up in particular on the first floor stairs they did remove it on Thursday

    Staff helpful when we wanted to move room, great location

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One of the sauna rooms was not working meaning ques.

    Close to the slopes, good value for money, modern bathrooms, spacious appt, very good customer service from the reception - English speaking.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Limited parking at times.

    Bikes allowed in the rooms. Raclette in the hotel restaurant is very good! Well priced. Short ride/walk to lift station.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Ski lockers are small.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Location to the ski lifts excellent . Lovely views from room and the outdoor pool was great after a days skiing. Good value budget accommodation

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Kids had bunk beds which was fine but adults had a pull out bed in the living room. Didn't mind though as good price. During our stay the lift broke several times but they did not seem to be able to fix it. 5 flights of stairs was not fun!

    This accommodation is in a great location, walking distance to slopes, supermarket and restaurants, sometimes ski to door. The apartment was clean and had lots of equipment in the kitchen and plenty of storage. It had lovely views from a south facing balcony. The kids loved the outdoor heated pool and the bar area in the evening was very family orientated. All in all it is good value for money and this is our second visit.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I paid £300/night and had to make up our own beds. I think none peak times value might be ok but for the money I paid I've never felt so ripped off. The kids were on bunk beds and my wife and I on the most uncomfortable sofa bed I've ever not slept on. Will not be staying again. £100/night ok-NOT £300

    Reasonable amount of space and close to slopes/ ski lifts. Staff friendly enough.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Six male adults in a room that would have been more suitable for four. A little cramped but we kind of knew what to expect from previous experience.

    Good overall value for money & good location for slopes.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Old tiny rooms, nothing like the pictures Got skis stolen from the locker room Staff not helpful at all Location is ok for skiing, otherwise too far away

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pillows could do with upgrading. Very lumpy!!!

    Great location close to slopes and facilities. Children enjoyed the outdoor heated pool.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Opening hours for swimming pool and sauna.

    Great location and good in house bar and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy neighbours, lack of information about check in times before arrival.

    Good location close to local amenities

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff not very helpfully or informative

    Clean, good swimming pool,good location,good facilities in room

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price and access to slopes.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Convenience to slopes

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Needs updating, was too small for four people not 4 star more like 2 star

    Location was great

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Uncomfortable beds

    Very close to the ski lifts and supermarket

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room furniture & equipment. The pool & sauna.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms not big enough for number of people suggested. Need to upgrade in order to have a separate bedroom

    Location to ski lifts

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: