Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Pont d’Avignon Centre 4 stars

Rue Ferruce, 84000 Avignon, France

#16 of 48 hotels in Avignon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 806 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    I had a really lovely stay. The room was quiet and very comfortable , I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the breakfast was over priced. I understand some guests might eat a large breakfast and that would be better value for money but for anyone like myself who eats a small breakfast it was expensive. The price should be variable. No other criticism.

    The bed was very comfortable. The standard of cleanliness was very good and the products in the bathroom were really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location, air conditioning and fantastic service at the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby was too modern looking. That’s just an opinion.great location

    Great location. Right next to the wall and shopping. Nice size room. The staff was very helpful and friendly with restaurant suggestions. I missed a train and a man at the front desk was very very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Would have preferred to book elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is around 23Euros for 24hours, the room is small, and the bed is not very comfortable, hotel similar to Ibis or holiday inn express standard. Very overpriced for the experience

    The location is great in the city centre, clean basic and tidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    I liked the location of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel said to be a 4-star hotel. From my experience this is barely a 3 star hotel. It seemed as if the room and bathroom were separated by fake walls. The beds were average. I wouldn’t stay here if it wasn’t for the location and that we were staying 1 night. Not a 4 star hotel.

    I liked the location of the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel in the heart of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame there wasn’t anything gluten free, but I brought my own rice cakes so I was OK

    An excellent range of breakfast foods. Great to find soya milk and dairy free margarine available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.4
    Lovely location not best of hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated and cramped. Room cleaning staff entered room every morning at 8.30. Breakfast staff had to be asked to replenish çheese, ham and croissants.

    The location of hotel. Reception staff were pleasant. Fridge in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location . good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent reception staff as usual at a Mercure. They spent considerable time arranging a train booking for us in order to avoid a strike disruption on SNCF.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was a bit hit and miss, toilet rolls were of the poorest quality, breakfast stopped at exactly at 10.00. If it was not in the centre of Avignon it would be a 3 star.

    Beds comfortable, wifi good tv good the hotel was warm everywhere, staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellent choice if you are not driving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was terrible. Directions were confusing. Instructions on luggage dropoff and parking should be clearer. Dropoff area needs to be bigger.

    Location was superb - so close to Papal Palace and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    4.6
    pretty awful really cold , smelly and not what we expected having stayed here often .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel had a terrible smell of sewerage on the 1st night we stayed , two days later we stayed again for business and got upgraded , but the heating had broken and although we were supplied with small electric heater it was not in any way adequate . The staff admitted the central heating was broken . Mercure should not have sold rooms in this hotel --it has big problems . They offered a transfer to the other Mercure but by then we had unpacked , parked etc

    we were upgraded a second time

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    A very well located modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quilt was a bit too "hot" presumably because it was all-synthetic, but this is fairly common in hotels. Expensive breakfast, and I made a mistake on booking.com (a very easy one to make) of booking the non-breakfast option and then got charged €30 for two breakfasts. My fault of course but I don't think the description was clear enough for each of the options.

    Nice comfortable room, nice bed. Everything was new and worked great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay In Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really nice. Coffee in room, nespresso. Comfortable room with chair and couch. Easy walk to restaurants and palais

    Convenient location inside wall In Avignon

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location but not made to feel as though they cared about us. Clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper cups for tea and coffee, not environmentally friendly at all. Poor selection of tea. Had to ask for milk in the room. Staff not very friendly though polite. No carrying bags to room. Unpleasant smell of sewer in foyer and outside front door.

    Location, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location and super helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room is a bit dark & dingy.

    location is superb, in the middle of nice small shops and restaurant. Next to the Pope Palace which is really great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.5
    Avignon is a place to relax and dream in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was dark, the view unexceptional and it was occasionally noisy with people shouting outside.

    Hotel was conveniently placed. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    We always try to stay at a Mercure hotel as they are very reliable and this one was no exception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything

    The English breakfast is always a bonus and greatly appreciated. The staff and in particular Julian on the reception were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Really enjoyable place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bird droppings on balcony were a little off putting

    Really helpful staff, comfortable room. The location is perfect for exploring the town and banks if the river

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    The hotel location was perfect for us as tourists, very central and the hotel staff amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint was with reference to the car parking which I covered under the previous question.

    Very helpful staff, nothing was ever too much trouble. The car parking was a little bit confusing, made a little bit confusing for visitors like us who are not French speaking. The car parking is in a multi level building with reserved areas for the hotel customers, instructions on the hotel information page would have made the parking a lot easier, however the hotel staff were really helpful and therefore made the problem go away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Did not eat there as breakfast VERY expensive , £30 for 2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was badly designed , You can not lift your armswhile using the basin. No hooks & no shelves.

    Did not eat there as breakfast VERY expensive , £30 for 2.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    The hotel rates were reasonable, staff efficient and friendly, and the Old Town location great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was adequate for me, but two people might find it crowded.

    Breakfast was excellent, and the front desk staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Overall an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs, wife with limited mobility which made access in certain areas challenging. Slow WiFi very irritating. To get decent speed it was cheaper to use mobile data than pay the 2 euros an hour for the premium broadband.

    Location was excellent for the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Excellent location and experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better pillow selection.

    Excellent location. Easy directions to parking lot with luggage drop off area. Room ample and clean. Bed and linens very nice. Staff very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant location, Comfortable bed, great modern bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The corridors are in a very poor state so initial impression was not great however the room was modern as was the breakfast area. Room was a little small.

    Brilliant location, Comfortable bed, great modern bathroom and shower. Extensive and tasty breakfast. Good value for money and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Completely enjoyable, therapeutic and relaxing.Avignon also a dream.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattresses a little hard but certainly nowhere near enough to stop us returning. Would love to go back.

    Hotel beautifully situated, quiet and rooms very nice. Breakfast great, staff lovely and very helpful. Gorgeous hotel in gorgeous location. Thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fees. Nice property but not excellent for a rate we paid. Don't forget to bring your shampoo and toothpaste with toothbrush!!! For 250 euros we paid for 2 nights no toothbrush for us??? Unforgivable!

    Position

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Lovely Avignon, well located modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the parking for our motorbike was great, secure and in the multi storey car park, it was a little difficult to negotiate the arrival at the hotel via the big car parking complex. However it was a great facility once we had understood our way around!

    A very comfortable and well located hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Change the room badge 3 times in 7 days Parking not belonging to the hotel and charged extra Room climatization and moquette to be renewed

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.5
    Great choices-fruit, nice that jams in jars to spoon out...
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the front desk person was busy and the only one there, no matter how long I stared at manager at her desk beside the front desk area, she couldn't be bothered to help. Management needs to support their staff when guests are at the front desk or have more staff. There was no shower glass gasket to stop water from draining onto the floor. I don't know if this is true in all the rooms but it must be a nightmare for housekeeping.

    Great choices-fruit, nice that jams in jars to spoon out rather than single-use plastic! Attentive staff Front desk girl was super nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant and comfortable but need earplugs or a heavy sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only problem was the noise. Flimsy doors meant that noises coming from the corridor were heard loudly in the room and the air conditioning also made a loud noise periodically.

    Warm and welcoming service at reception!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Best location. Extremely helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower! Water didn't drain properly. Temperature was inconsistent. It was either scorching hot or freezing cold. Warer pressure was also inconsistent.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in centre of Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking garage is public and sometimes completely full and so very tricky for guests to park if they arrive late in the day.

    Staff was particularly helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Everything except the garage and finding our Mercure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com needs to explain that there are 2 side-by-side Mercures at this site. The signage was very confusing. We went to the wrong one. The garage had NO signs to point you toward your hotel. It is a huge garage. The drop-off area was congested and impossible. Please, for the sake of future patrons put more directions in the garage and explain it more in your literature so t hat on the arrival patrons are not bewildered, more tired, and frustrated. Valet parking would have been worth the price!!! We went to the wrong hotel after a long, mountain drive, already stressed from the drive and garage and had to walk around the block to find the other hotel entrance. I spek French and it was not a language problem. It was lack of good information. Sincerely, Joan F. Dunn Please let me know you heed this advice and care. I await a reply.

    Everything except the garage and finding our Mercure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Friendly & helpful staff, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive but well worth it. Family room comes with bathrobes & slippers, bonus toilettries and free drinks at minibar

    Friendly & helpful reception, excellent location to catch sunset at pont d avignon & walking distance to palais du papes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    The staff were really helpful and approachable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were really helpful and approachable. Breakfast was well organised. The hotel was well located to explore the city. The car park linked to the hotel was also ideal for car hire and for visiting attractions out of the city with links straight to the ring road around the citadel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place in splendid Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find any defects

    The hotel is adjacent to the Popes' Palace and the Pont, two main points of interest in the city. The rooms are nicely colored and furnished, with excellent air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Several excellent staff, apart from the inability to obtain...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I raised a problem with my TV, and with my shower on my first day, but was unable to get anything done.

    Several excellent staff, apart from the inability to obtain attention to two routine problems.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable hotel, close to main sites, but please change parking instructions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The parking instructions were totally inadequate. It could have been so simple as the hotel drop off point is just before entrance to car park. The instruction said park at P1 which was completely wrong and it took us forty five minutes in the heat to find the hotel from that location. P3 is the closest to the hotel.

    The breakfasts were very good. The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Best possible location, my own medieval tower in the window,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hooks or bench or any place to put down anyhing in the bathroom

    Best possible location, my own medieval tower in the window, surprisingly good room service dinner, very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    Iepers Excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location; adjacent to the Cloth Halle; 2 minute walk to the Menin Gate. Comfortable room; small, but clean and functional; breakfast was great; good selection, quantity and quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is a bit small.

    The location is great! Very close to the Palais, the bridge and many many other things. Staff are very friendly and offered us to book a hot restaurant in town. The parking facility is very convenient and easy access to hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Good hotel in the centre of Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps up to reception from car park not optimal. A ramp to facilitate transport of luggage would be greatly appreciated!

    Central location. Staff very helpful. Breakfast fresh and varied - something for everyone. Bathroom layout good, also suitable for older generations!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    The parking is awkward, although the hotel will validate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is awkward, although the hotel will validate your ticket to get 20% off. Stingy on the milk, they don't supply any for tea or coffee in your room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Amazing time in Avignon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We only had breakfast at the hotel (which was very good - buffet style, with a wide selection on offer) and we chose to eat elsewhere for lunch/evening meals. We couldn't personally comment on the lunch menu that was provided, although a couple in our party said the choice was a bit limited and not as good quality as other meals they had enjoyed elsewhere.

    We all enjoyed a fabulous weekend break. The hotel was even better than expected, having read reviews on Trip Advisor, we were not disappointed and wouldn't hesitate in recommending. We hope to return in future. The staff were so friendly, helpful and accommodating. Service was excellent. The hotel location was perfect for sight-seeing yet it was quiet enough to get a good night's sleep too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Such a great place to stay. So different from our experience at the Mercure Gare do Lyon (which was awful). We would definitely rec to others. Such nice staff and fabulous location!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.9
    The location is unbeatable, and the staff is SO helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bed was pretty uncomfortable.

    The location is unbeatable, and the staff is SO helpful. There is an attached car park that costs 16 euro per night with the hotel's validation. We used Avignon as a base for exploring Provence by car, which worked out ok. The hotel sees a lot of traffic and the facilities are a bit tired, but it is nevertheless a very good value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.3
    good value for money; excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    apparently too early in the year to let the airco work already... so quite a bit too hot in the room

    perfect location; breakfast good value for money. Taxi service provided by reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    6.3
    You have to sit down in the shower to wash your hair.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to sit down in the shower to wash your hair. There is no bath robe and the towels are not really large for after the shower. For a 4 star hotel there was lacking a gym or other facility.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    6.7
    Springs in bed made uncomfortable night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We tried to change room as bed had springs you could feel, but receptionist explained all beds are the same and haven't been replaced for years. received 20% off as a gesture. wouldn't stay again

    fantastic location, but awkward walk from underground car park to reception. clean and modern looking but beds old and tired.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.5
    Best lodge in Avignon tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities are not much and too practical. Restaurants are not impressive,,

    Excellent location is beyond comparison with anything... Kind staffs and reasonable prices,,, Moreover convenient location of secure and spaceous parking lots... Perfect~

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine with the hotel, no problems. Public parking was just next to hotel, however don't know how an elderly or disabled person would have managed the access to the floor used by the hotel, quite difficult for us and we are healthy - up a wrought iron stairway with cases very difficult.

    So close to the main sights and shops in Avignon. Room had a bath which was a real bonus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel in the centre of Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable bed & pillows (extra provided). Staff pleasant & helpful. Great location, central to everything but no noise heard from street.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.2
    I reccommend this Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    Spacious clean comfortable rooms with strong wifi and good showers. Perfect location 5 minutes from Papal palace. Friendly helpful staff with great english

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    8.8
    Location: right in the center of things, a few minutes on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is comfortable enough but looks a bit spartan (in a modern way), and shelf space is almost non-existent (only one shelf in the closet, no drawers in the room). Poor lighting in the room and in the small bathroom (except, weirdly, in the shower itself).

    Location: right in the center of things, a few minutes on foot from everything, and very easy to reach in a car. Parking is very convenient, there is a drop-off area right next to the reception (there are a few steps though) so you can load/unload your luggage, get into the room, and then park the car. The hotel gives you a 20% discount for parking, and it works out to ~EUR13/day at the time of writing. WiFi is functional though logging in from time to time is a bit annoying. Reception staff are nice and helpful. I did not have breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    7.9
    Excellent location for turists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking in the building expensive. Wish hotel staff could provide better directions to find free parking space.

    Excellent location, 2 min distance from Palace of Popes and centre town. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    6.3
    Great location, and that's it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't usually complain about pillows, but whatever Mercure put on the bed in Avignon doesn't qualify as such. I've had more comfortable airplane pillows. Really poor quality. Overall, the room was fine, but overpriced for what you get. As (almost) always in France: breakfast is not included and costs a fortune, so find a local bakery (not easy).

    The hotel is located smack-dab in the middle of Avignon, which is extremely convenient. The parking garage is easily accessible, and the hotel allows you to unload at the entrance before guests park their car in the garage. Front desk staff was friendly and quick.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.6
    Good value and alittle bit of contemporary luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame that parking is an issue. Huge public car park which is below the hotel...but at an extra cost of about 20 euro a day

    Bed was so comfortable! Room had a lovely coffee machine and it was so perfectly situated in the middle of Avignon

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    7.9
    Good hotel in the heart of Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of control over the "unloading area" meaning that people parked there long term and bags had to dragged up and down stairs to access the hotel from the car park.

    Comfortable room and hotel well situated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.9
    Air conditioning motor was cutting and out all night with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning motor was cutting and out all night with a loud rumble. Report 1st night, second night unchanged, reported sternly. Breakfast Foc for unconvinced. Needs urgent attention room 318

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee...

    I had a room on the 3rd floor with a balcony, although the room was on the small size I could open the doors and have my breakfast by the open doors which was nice. The bed was comfortable. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. The location was fantastic as near the bridge, Palace de Pape, restaurants, when I left I took a tuk tuk to the central station which was fun and only 5€. The hotel was quiet and I liked the reception and outside terrace area. I preferred it to the other Mercure further in town. I would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Near pont and palace de papes. Trainee staff very helpful. We only had one night but with a little help we caught a local bus to pont du Gard. Good breakfast. Dinner at 46 was great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    5.4
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are uncomfortable. Location/directions to the hotel were not clear. Ended up at the other Mercure property then was given wrong directions by the front desk person. Took me and my guests 45 minutes to find our hotel after asking 3 people on the street ( one of which asked for money and told us the hotel was 5 kilometers away). Some of the staff at the hotel were not very nice. We asked about arranging some local tours and were told by one of the front desk staff, "What??!!...We don't do that!". Luckily we found the company that does do tours outside on the street close to the hotel. My invited guests were treated rudely by one of the housekeepers when they asked for extra towels.

    Breakfast was good. Location was nice but difficult to find.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    8.3
    Unique hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been more helpful - was told originally that I had to go to the parking office on level 0 to get 20% discount only to find later they had a machine at reception. Unloading and loading back up luggage was a bit of a challenge and you can't avoid the steps up to reception but was manageable.

    A unique hotel just inside the Avignon city wall but excellent location for seeing Avignon. Car park was for the the Palais des Papes but you get a 20% discount - room was clean and ammenities were nice touch

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.8
    Really great location within the walls of the city - and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not always easy to find the way into the hotel late at night. Foyer/lobby can be overcrowded.

    Really great location within the walls of the city - and a great city to visit. Close to the main attractions but quiet. Discount on underground parking also good. And spaces to park.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.9
    Liked almost everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the staff during breakfast could be a bit more attentive to the guests. Also I found a hole in one of the bath towel, but the other service and facilities are very good. Many thanks!

    Liked almost everything. The location is excellent, staff at the reception is very helpful and kind, we received all necessary assistance that made our staying most pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent, friendly, clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 10 nights

    A shame that the courtyard terrace was out of use for 3 days of our stay for renovation.

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Comfortable bed and great to have daily free soft drinks and a fridge in a privilege room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in a very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi access due to traffic into adjoining carpark can be very slow at times! If you need a taxi to get to the airport or train station then allow plenty of extra time during peak time traffic periods.

    Nice room and great location to the old town and Pont d'Avignon

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    public rooms a bit spartan

    Very helpful staff. Clean pleasant room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and full of historic buildings and amazing historical facts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have nothing negative to say.

    Being inside the walled city, it was a great home base for exploring Avignon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    We only stayed one night and it was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location great breakfast and got a great tip for dinner which was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfort in the shadow of Palais des Papes,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with a double bed and a sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Updated public spaces as well as redecorated rooms made for a delightful stay in downtown Avignon,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff were exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More attention to detail on refilling toiletries in the bedroom and more water would have been welcome.

    The staff were exceptional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Good quiet location right inside old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old TV and poor remote. Unload area is located inside the underground parking- very confusing even after receiving instructions.

    Shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location and all that you expect from a Mercure Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location and all that you expect from a Mercure Hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Location, service and the fact that we were able to park underneath the hotel made the stay perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect.

    location, service and smiling and happy staff made our overnight stay a genuine pleasure. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: