Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Premiere Classe Angoulême La Couronne 1 stars

Route De Saint Michel - La Croisade, 16400 La Couronne, France

#1 of 1 hotels in La Couronne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 547 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have appreciated a little more room to move about in the room. room could have been a little bigger.

    friendly helpful staff. reasonably quiet room and comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location for an early train journey the following morning fromn A
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was very friendly and efficient. She contacted us before our arrival to make us aware of the road works which was very helpful. She made us feel very welcome when we booked in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a one night stop over and a great shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost was a little high in my mind. 5 plus euros less would have been more syutable. I’ve travelled for 3 days on this trip and stayed in similar but cheaper properties. The Premiere Classe didn’t offer anything more than they did

    I had a problem with my motorcycle and the staff on shift were VERY helpful - despite my poor French. Shower was amazing, hot and powerful. Room was basic but very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Easy location and good showers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Girl on reception was not friendly at all. We tried to speak French but the little effort we had the girl from reception couldn’t be bothered to help. She said she didn’t speak English. She saw us going on the wrong direction for the rooms and didn’t even stop and, at least, show us the way. But the shower pressure was very relaxing.

    Shower was fantastic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.5
    Derniere Classe.
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Premiere (derniére) classe is getting a bit old now. Their module bathrooms especially. The shower head doesn't hang up on the wall so showering is a one-handed awkward affair. Wifi did not work. Thankfully my phone had 3G. I wouldn't go back to this one.

    Comfortable bed and good aircon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    the perfect choice for a sleepover during long road trips in France
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok, nothing bad really, when you pay 32EUR for a double room you cannot expect a Ritz or a Hilton! :-)

    The price of course! I use Premiere Class hotels a lot (along with Ibis Budget) when traveling through France. Great location, just outside Angouleme and near the highway, very clwan, with free car parking and fast Wi-Fi, it's the perfect choice for a sleepover during long road trips...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The have enough place to create small play area outdoor for kids but there’s none Road was close little noisy in a morning

    Comfortable bed well made bedding

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.0
    No more than Fair as an overnight stop off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No nearby restaurants,

    Ok as a overnight stop off Hotel aside from the lack of any nearby bar/restaurants making it all but impossible for anyone with limited mobility to eat anything other than the just about ok breakfast, .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.0
    plenty of room to park the car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was cold and the heater did not work the first night. Lights above the bed had a red illuminated switch which did not turn off. The tv faced the shower so near impossible to watch. the room was disinfected and smelt horrible on entering every day (2 day stay). think it was a truckers stop and not really a hotel

    plenty of room to park the car

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    4.6
    Not enjoyable.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made a mistake in the booking dates and changed to the correct dates, all within a few minutes, but was still charged for the original booking, full amount, and received a €5 X 2 complimentary breakfast in compensation. The noise level from other rooms in the hotel was very high and intrusive, the toilet offered no privacy, the insulation was inadequate, the towels were paper thin, the room furniture was almost non existent. One of the worst hotel experiences I've had.

    Bed was comfy, shower pressure was good, staff were nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.8
    Take breakfast with you.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast in these places is no cheaper, or more expensive than any other hotel. However, the choice is minimal and it was clear that the food had either been left over from the previous day or was prepared the night before. Most of the bread, madeleine etc was stale.

    At the cost of these places it is hard to complain. But I will!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    For the money comfy overnight stay and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy neighbour banging doors at midnight but that's not your fault.

    Bed was very comfy location 1 minute off motorway easy parking wonderful and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    Very basic but clean, easy to find. You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The online check in couldn't find my reservation - luckily reception was still manned but it still took a while to find my booking. Bathroom was tiny and I expected two towels as I had booked double room - not one small one. Also I was asked to pay extra for "tax" - it was only 1 euro and I was too tired to argue but still don't understand why I had to pay it.

    You get what you pay for - a very basic but clean room. The hotel was very easy to find - just off the motorway. The bed was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    A convenient stop, nothing more.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When you have been in one you have been in them all! Rooms are small and cramped. Couldnt moove about without hitting the TV on the wall. Though full of vending machines they only pump out chocolate bars or coffee. In this day and age it is quite feasible to offer other requirements including some hot foods.

    These hotels are what they are. A convenient place to stop for the night. Some are near centres but most are on the outskirts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice pity about the breakfast.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was disappointing,basically bread and bread, no cereal, jams were in big jars, although adequate, the only jar with any in was the apricot and I emptied that.

    great just off N10 so very handy, lots of grounds and areas to walk my dogs, bed had duvet much better than blankets and sheets.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    5.0
    The staff at the reception were nice and the place was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed at another Premier Classe, but for what they are, they are very expensive. They are just one step above a youth hostel and are therefore very overpriced. We have decided that we will drive through France in future just so that we don't have to stay in such places again. The other Premier Classe hotel we stayed in was dirty and reception chap was not welcoming and the entire place stank like a dirty ashtray, nothing nice inside or outside the building so it was nice to walk into this clean one with smiling and helpful reception staff (all ladies at this one) and it smelt clean.

    The staff at the reception were nice and the place was clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    5.4
    Faulty door lock - restricted use of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Door key card did not work so needed to be let into room by staff which meant 9pm curfew. Swapped room for one without twin beds and had to use a top bunk bed which was less than ideal

    Location, Friendliness of staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.3
    Stay in La Couronne Angouleme.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was checking us in but also talking to another person who was on a telephone. Thought this was a bit rude as we was there first. Overnight parking was not secure as in other Premiere Classe Hotels we've stayed in. Couldn't log onto the wifi, again no help from reception, just pointed to something on the wall and basically told to get on with it!

    We had a room meant for disabled people, so the room was very spacious. Bit limited on storage but for one night ok.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    It was ok.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots things !!

    It was ok. Expected it to be slightly better but still value for money. You get what you pay for !!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.4
    Nothing
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to sma

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Good staf
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms

    Good staf

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    well located for a quick overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    broken bed, cramped rooms, only French tv

    the price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money as an overnight stop when travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was particularly helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    water poured from hand basin needs a plumber to fix leak
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    water poured from hand basin needs a plumber to fix leak

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    As usual very good value
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Good for an overnight stay. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two towels are not enough for two people for showering could do with 4 towels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    contents for one night.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small but it will do.

    next to the route.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    good bed and good shower very good location
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    good bed and good shower very good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good value for money! Ease of access to N10, parking, cleanliness of room, good breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.0
    Location-near to autoroute
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poky room shower tiniest ever seen room dingy inside and out

    Location-near to autoroute

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Draught under door & cockroach in a towel

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    Overnight stay whilst traveling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, as expected

    Clean but basic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    One night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodation good for the over night stop we required..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    Ok for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy dual carriageway

    No croissonts bed was ok very cramped and very noisy from the dual carriageway across the way.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff and a good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff and a good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Not for families!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt of smoke with burns in the ceiling. Had two rooms for family and either end of the hotel.

    Breakfast was simple but fresh

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Very good value good bed good for those travelling with dogs
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good value good bed good for those travelling with dogs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    beautiful grounds,dissabled parkng rigfht outside the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    A really large room perfect for disabled people like myself

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.5
    the receptionist was extremely helpful and exceeded our...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, 2 adults always in each other's way

    the receptionist was extremely helpful and exceeded our expectations

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.4
    very functional hotel with friendly & helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the size of the ensuite facilities - very cramped

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.1
    Reasonable priced gite . Better value for a couple .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nearest place to eat was a walk away in the local supermarket.

    It was clean and confortable. And was all I required

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.9
    Great location, simple but adequate accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great location, simple but adequate accommodation

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Location was ideal next to main road to get too and from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was ideal next to main road to get too and from which saves time when traveling

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Did not have breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not have breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.5
    Arrived late and tired but staff checked us in quickly the room was basic but for the price it was
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing Inc bathroom needs repairs to be carried out

    Staff very friendly excellent service

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.8
    A great place for an overnight stopp
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's all fine.

    Amazing Value for an overnight stop and lovely staff with a clean warm room. Unbeatable......

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    7.1
    It was a place to put my head after a very long and tiresome...
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel made a complete mess of my booking so when I turned up, in spite of having a confirmation from Booking.com and a Pin number the hotel claimed they knew nothing about it, left me hanging around for ages whilst they spoke to their head office and god knows who else, if I'd known where the next nearest hotel was I would have left and gone there.

    It was a place to put my head after a very long and tiresome day.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    7.5
    Have used this chain a few times now so we knew what to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Have used this chain a few times now so we knew what to expect, so no surprise that it was very basic. We were though very disapointed with the road noise never slept a wink.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    A larger discount for a single traveller would be a bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    shower and tap loose on wall other wise everthing else ok

    A larger discount for a single traveller would be a bonus staff very polite and helpful room clean and tidy

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    6.7
    Dosyć czysto jak na hotel o takim standardzie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Obsługa nie mówi po angielsku. Hotel tylko na transit. Receptinist doesn't speak english. (as usual in France). Hotel good enough for transit.

    Dosyć czysto jak na hotel o takim standardzie. Clean enough for hotel of that level.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Did exactly what it said on the tin just what I needed to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was a little basic were ,were the croissant and chocolate au pan

    Did exactly what it said on the tin just what I needed to travel through to spain

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    5.8
    I had no problem with the set-up, the "cabin" was...
    • Solo traveller

    I don't like the idea non-residents can reach the bedrooms without passing a reception desk, it's inherently insecure; but the general area seemed quiet and respectable. If you stay insist on a room on the car park side, the motorway side is very traffic noisy and disturbed my nights rest. I had requested this but didn't get it, probably car park side books first.

    I had no problem with the set-up, the "cabin" was very like a Brittany Ferries cabin so not like an hotel,but OK for a night stop, and priced well.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    9.0
    Basic overnight accommodation but well presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    For 1 night it had all i needed

    Basic overnight accommodation but well presented. Clean and tidy. Good shower. Well located. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly reception staff. Easy late checking in system.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    8.8
    Very convenient to where we were going and good value for...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very convenient to where we were going and good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.8
    Convenient and accessible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient and accessible

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.5
    Cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bad experience

    Cost

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    5.4
    Access, and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Sound from Motorway,just unreal. Worse place I have ever stayed due to the constant noise from the road.

    Access, and parking

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No things

    Ok

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    5.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    road noise

    location

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.6
    Very handy for our trip straight off the n10 friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very handy for our trip straight off the n10 friendly staff and comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    7.5
    Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Price

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.6
    Locality of hotel just off road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Locality of hotel just off road. Supermarket nearby. Great for an overnight stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    7.9
    The location was perfect for us as we were going to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was perfect for us as we were going to a concert at La Couronne. It was easy to find and there was plenty of free parking.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    5.8
    Good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good parking.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    7.9
    Wellcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wellcome.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.9
    Clean and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The small shower

    Clean and friendly

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.5
    Very.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very. Small

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    8.3
    Rooms were clean and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows were very lumpy!!

    Rooms were clean and quiet

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    9.2
    The hotel couldn't have been easier to find and although...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel couldn't have been easier to find and although basic, was very clean and comfortable.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse Premiere Classe Angoulême La Couronne traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: