Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Premiere Classe Angouleme Ouest - Saint Yrieix 1 stars

114 Route de Royan, 16710 Saint-Yrieix-sur-Charente, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Saint-Yrieix-sur-Charente

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 603 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleaning of floor was not good enough. And there was small ants in the room. This is the smallest room and bathroom we ever have experienced, after many years going through Europe by car. And we had a room on second floor with no lift.

    The location. Clean bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very tired a years worth of dust and hair under the bed. Pillows very old we wrapped spare sheets around them before sleeping, bathroom not nice a very small shower. No kettle tea/ coffee facilities . Smoke drifting in from smokers outside. A poor sister to campanile on the same site. Not worth the money.

    Nothing apart from the staff who were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small but adequate for an overnight stop. However, it was excellent value for money. If you are travelling on a tight budget then Premiere Classe will serve you well but don't expect any frills. The area where the hotels were sited could have been better but ideal for access to the main road.

    Consideration was given to our room location as we were travelling with a dog. The room was small but was clean and had in it everything the traveller needed. The breakfast was simple but good value for money at 5 euros.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled of cigarets. Each time you tried to talk to staff about problem suddenly they stopped talking English. They gave us one towel for 3 people. The room looks different then the pictures on the site.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is bare bones, but I guess for €5 you can't expect a royal buffet. Some kind of ham or salami would be been a welcome addition. The restaurant next door is pretty appalling, but not technically part of the hotel. But do yourself a favour and head into town. Oh, and there's not a lot of soundproofing.

    Well, first it should be said that you get what you pay for: this is a budget hotel and no mistake. But for all that, the beds are comfortable, the staff are brilliant and the shower pressure (on the ground floor at least) was AMAZING. Not sure about the no towels issue on some other reviews: towels were refreshed every day. I would happily stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows on the bed need looking at. They really need replacing room 226

    We found that the girl on reception was excellent. The breakfast was very good for 5 euro Would recommend this hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was a limited choice of breads, cakes and sweet spreads (no cheese spread), no meats, cheese or salad/fruit. The only hot item was tea, coffee and toast. But it was good enough to start the day. The 'bathroom' was the smallest I have come across, but everything worked well with good toilet and shower. There is WiFi in the rooms but it could be slow at peak times. No fridge or Minibar. Bring a kettle. I would happily stay here again at these prices.

    The large double bed was comfortable and there was a large bunk bed fitted across the pillows. 3 adults could sleep here, but hardly anywhere for them to stand if not sleeping. You can book an evening meal at the next door hotel for 12 euros and it was excellent quality from an inspired menu, and if you load up your salad plate (from a fantastic array) then you wont be hungry. Location was away from the hussle of Angouleme, but just beside the main n10 road. This could mean noisy rooms, but the metal shutters worked well on keeping noise out. It is 3Km to the centre ville (walkable) but a bus stops on the road outside. Friendly helpful staff, clean rooms, ample parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    CCTV covering the car park for added peace of mind.

    Great value for money. Quiet hotel. It has a bed, a shower and aircon - all you need. I stay here every year for the Circuits des Remparts event.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean and comfortable but small. The bathroom was clean but tiny, all plastic and reminiscent of a boat cabin - the pictures and description could (should) have made that clearer. Breakfast was filling but basic and not a great selection.

    Angouleme is beautiful and well worth a visit (but it's a 30 minute walk from the hotel) The hotel was clean and comfortable and easy to find and good for a cheap overnight stop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A more comfortable bed would have made this stay perfect for the price.

    The room was great, however the bed was very hard and sadly I had booked this hotel due to previous reviews saying that it had a comfortable bed. We ate in the on site restaurant and must say the food was great and plentiful. My advice would be not to accept an end room as the noise of people going up and down the metal steps wakes you up.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not very comfortable and the sheets had some stains. Luckily we were only one night. It was late when we arrived so we needed to use the machine to check in. It did not recognize my family name, my credit car and only after several trials we could enter the booking number that it recognized. Most likely we won't come back. Quite disappointing.

    Not that much to like

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was easy to find for foreign travellers but very noisy, traffic and fellowguests. Design of building is about as basic as you can get and not comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room seemed airless and aircon did not appear to be working.

    Convenient for proximity to autoroute and Campinille restaurant next door with disount voucher. Stayed here for overnight whilst travelling. Bed firm

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom would have been good.

    Although the rooms were compact there was everything you needed. Clean comfy beds. Shower room was very small but spotlessly clean. The restaurant adjoining the next door hotel was excellent, food superb plus a 15%discount on cost of meal as we were staying at the Premiere Classe. It was an ideal stopover on our journey driving down to Spain. Value for money and would definitely use again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, the bathroom was tiny, and overall the facilities were quite basic. It was fine for one night, but would have been uncomfortable for a longer stay.

    Easy check-in and check-out, good location close to the motorway, comfortable enough for one night.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows very 'lumpy' but other than that nothing wrong

    A good budget hotel, we spent 3 nights as it is near the town where the Circuit des remparts was being run.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to access late at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was probably the worst I have ever had. no croissants , no cheese. just bread butter & jam

    the price was good. and the bed was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Staff extremely helpfull

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were to Big!

    I'm mega

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was charged twice for my stay at this hotel once out of my euro bank account and once from my UK account

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room was very small and bathroom even smaller. Could not turn around

    Location and welcome

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower cubicle is tiny, and I mean tiny.

    Handy location for highway, good facilities, reasonable breakfast but a little way out of town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome breakfast place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast OK, perfect for oversleep with older children, pleasant space for sitting outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress cover was stained and smelly

    Male member of staff was fantastic. Location was great . Price was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and shower small

    Cheap cheerful, internet good,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO wi-fi

    Historic Town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Great value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small as was shower

    Value

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit crowded

    Very friendly and helpful reception staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking a bit dated.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good price and location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed and great shower.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV only tunes French channels.

    Convenient place to stop while travelling through France by car. Clean and quiet. WC and shower in your own room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was next to power plant

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows were awful just the worst ever so ruined what could had been a good nights sleep there's no where to get a quick meal and too far to town so only option was the restaurant on site too tired to enjoy that

    Room clean functional good for one night but best feature it's right on the motorway

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very small & cramped - even by budget standards. TV on wall was easy to bang your head on. Room was cold on arrival - the convector heater did warm it by the time we had eaten. The whole room was "tired"

    Bed was comfortable. good parking if a little cramped. Discount at restaurant next door where the food was quite good for France. Good night's sleep.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fire alarm rang in the middle of the night. As I went downstairs the staff said that everything was fine. I got the feeling that is not the first time it happens.

    The restaurant

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Does what it says on tin, no frills but comfortable and great value for money. Taxi into centre ville is 10. Some nice restaurants 10 mins away. Air con, bed and shower is all I need when traveling, this ticks all the boxes.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room is small and so are the beds. Its a fair distance outside Anguoleme - so need to drive. Shower/toilet cubical is a "wet room" which can "flood".

    Cant beat this place for value for money but don't expect frills. More recommended for a group of men looking to minimise room costs rather than for couples. Room is basic but clean and functional with own shower and toilet and working air con! Nice and quiet too. Breakfast is excellent value for money . Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room size is petite, and especially so if occupied by three. The shower room was looking a bit tired and didn't drain too well.

    Cheap and easy to find though a bit far out to walk into town. Out of hours check in terminal was easy to use and plenty of parking despite it being a busy weekend in Angouleme Circuit des Remparts.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I felt that the restaurant facilities next door were not fantastic and perhaps a little overpriced for what we got but there was a 15% discount for hotel users. Not a major concern though.

    It was basic, clean and functional. Right next to the N10 road on which I was travelling. Very helpful receptionist. It suited our purpose as a travel stopover perfectly. Fantastic price.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Couple

    The room was very small. The toilet and the shower were also very small. It was very difficult to have a shower and we are in normal weight. For people who are bigger it should be impossible. Another problem is that the window of the room looks in the corridor which means that people pass outside of the room so it's not possible to open the window to have fresh air.

    The staff was polite and pleasant

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I didn't like the big yellow stain on my pillow when we arrived lucky I had my own that I brought. I also got conned at the on site restroant I was told I would get 15% off payed my bill to find the lady handt taken 15% off at all and when I confronted her about it she said there was nothing she could do as the transaction had already gone through.

    I like the fact you get free wifi. Also like the showers very hot and powerful

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower & toilet

    Location good rooms fair. But rooms has no kettle or tea for guest on arrival the room was to small and shower I cold not use

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room hot and could not open window. Shower temperature control difficult and water drainage slow. In dark hard to see how to access hotel, we accidentally went onto N10 and got lost.

    Clean

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI only worked in reception - not in rooms - I sat outside reception and did my emails - several people also came to reception to query wifi. They need to boost the wifi so it reaches rooms. This is a significant issue to stop me from booking again.

    Reception - two ladies very happy and kind. Considerate about parking motorbike near room on ground floor - thoughtful. Room nicely refurbished. Good for price.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not clear that the breakfast bar in the hotel was the cheap one. Instead I used the restaurant and was charged more for breakfast than an evening meal. Not happy.

    Handy for the main road route

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was on a bike and the receptionist gave me a ground floor room so I could keep my bike safe. Very helpful and good WiFi!

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    It was simple to book in even through it was late evening. The staff were welcoming & most helpful

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Convenient location for access to RN10

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    exactly as expected

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    vaue & very clean & tIDY + p\eking good

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice restaurant next door. close to local attractions,

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tiny room, over lit, very hot and very noisy from other rooms. Bathroom is minute- smallest I've ever seen anywhere.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location and overall services provided deliver excellent value for money

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    convenient for overnight stop close to the N10 Price

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms are not big but they have everything that you need for a good night sleep

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Arrived 11pm, reception closed and have to wait about 30 mins to have someone to help us with the check in.

    Free parking, comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Little bit of noise coming from adjoining rooms, not the best soundproofing.

    Handy location, all nice and simple.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La possibiltad del automatic checking nos salvo la vida (llegada despues de 22:00)

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not much choice of places to eat

    All the basics were covered well!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very friendly and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The whole place was dirty and very unclean

    Breakfast wasn't to bad

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean comfortable cheap.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows are not very comfortable.

    Having our own en-suite bathroom facilities. Excellent [if compact] shower.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disappointed couldn't get wifi in room only reception area

    Easy to find and get away in morning

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location excellent for a 1 night stay when travelling. It is easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ground floor room smaller than other rooms we have stayed in at this location and a bit run down.

    Convenient for onward journey

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good place when you need only a night and rest .

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi fi a tad slow, but free

    Location Breakfast Friendly and helpful staff Very clean room Good hotel concept

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Couple

    Friendliness and halpfulness of all the staff

    The staff were wonderful.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: