Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Première Classe Chalon Sur Saône 1 stars

Le Champ Fleuri - Rue Raoul Ponchon, 71100 Chalon-sur-Saône, France

#18 of 19 hotels in Chalon-sur-Saône

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1296 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location for the auto routes very easy to find the room and hotel were nice and clean and well looked after with a lovely sitting out area. Secure parking with gates closed after 11pm . The staff were really nice and the breakfast was good with plenty of coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room! I had indicated we were travelling for work and requested a quiet, double room. We were allocated a triple room, with one of the single beds pushed up against the wall. This wall had the door to the bathroom included, which meant that if you were sitting on the bed, the bathroom door could not be opened. The bed was so close to the door, I genuinely thought it would be possible to use the bathroom without leaving the bed! (I didn't try it though) With regard to 'quiet' the walls, paper thin, allowed us to hear everything going on in the two adjoining rooms, as well as the room opposite us. Our placement, next to the car park, also meant that we were able to hear everyone departing for work in the morning, along with their greetings to each other. On reflection, I should have refused to accept the room, but we were tired after travelling all day and just wanted to sleep. To be fair to the hotel, we have stayed there before and never had a problem, but this has put us off for good.

    On this occasion, not a lot! The receptionist was friendly and welcoming, but that's about it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little 'worn'.

    Simple but fine for an overnight stop and reasonable value, when compared, to other hotels in the area. You can eat in the Campanile restaurant right next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a room for three people, so I would have a little more space, but it was still very small. The elevator was extremely slow, the room had only two power outlets - not big things, but a bit annoying. What really bothered was the difference of the rate that was charged compared to the rate mentioned on the building. In general everything is extremely small in the room.

    This accommodation is a part of a chain and the offered service is expectable and similar to others. It is easy to reach and the reception was very friendly. A very large supermarket is a few minutes away. Parking is simple, many guests seemed to be traveling workers, so you could see this as a basic motel. The setup is practical and if that's what you are looking for it will work. Hot water in the shower, newspapers offered.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was my halfway stop on my way home from Colmar. On the way to Colmar I was allocated room 225 which smelt strongly of the sewers. Thankfully room111 on the return trip was fine. Basic but good enough for an overnight stay.

    Easy parking. Nearby Buffalo Grill

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating did not work and we were given a small heater that we could not use as made too much noise and kept sparking. The staff were not there by this time. The staff on duty next morning did not speak English. Also at a three in the morning we were woken by a group of persons who made noises in and out of each other’s rooms banging doors until after four .

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed in this hotel many times. It is comfortable and clean and is very near to restaurants. It is close to the motorway and is good for an overnight stop on the way to and from the south of France. The breakfast has improved.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed sheet had not been changed from last occupant no one to complaint to after 9 o'clock bathroom had hair in shower tray

    close to motorway and petrol station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We get our key-card, but could not open the doors. It was 23:00 and I was with little kids, so got we find a security men- who open my doors with normal key. Only one lamp was working. On the top of my bed lamp cover was always falling down. It was not safe for my kids.

    It was good place to rest between travels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little nearby so we ate in the Campanile next door. Service was terrible and food average. Saw the Buffalo Grill nearby as we left next morning, shame it didn't show on a google search.

    Good for an overnight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little outdated. No soap etc available.

    Good location, very easy to find & close to the motorway. Basic accomodation. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was not adequate parking - however a member of staff advised us to park on the pathway. a little a cramped in side for seating at breakfast air conditioning not working in one of the rooms Adjoining rooms for families would be great - rather than two separate rooms

    Nice size room Good choice for breakfast - Shower was good free wifi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelt terrible. Had clearly been a smoker in the room before us as the room also smelt. Requested a travel cot when we booked but when we arrived nothing had been arranged and were told it was broken with no other arrangements, how hard is it to get another?

    Great location for the motorway, beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very small room for three (adult & 2 teenagers) people, the bathroom didn't lock, the shower curtain covered about half the cubicle so everything got soaked and there were three small rough towels. It was really hard to find a parking space. It was too hot with the window closed and noisy with it open.

    The location was easy to find and there were some big handy shops and a Buffalo Grill nearby - there was an automatic check in machine - I got my room key, paid my tourist tax charge and checked in without speaking to a soul.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had two separate reservations as I had added on another night later. Reception staff did not speak any English which caused some confusion as I wasn't checked in properly for all nights. Consequently I was locked out of my room when I returned at night and other guests were allocated my room and came knocking after I'd gone to bed. Also the location was advertised as being a few minutes walk from centre of town but actually it is 25 minutes walk from Chalon station and another 10 minutes to centre. I was able to get a bus into the centre some days but had to pay extra for taxi's to come back safely at night, 18 euro's each time. The room was very small, dark and basic but quiet.

    Staff were friendly. I had a room on the end which was quiet. Cheaper than other options in Chalon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can't think of any downside apart from the lack of shower gel and soap but that didn't change our opinion of the hotel.

    Extremely well located, close to the motoday and to local restaurants and supermarket. The hotel was simple but clean. The breakfast was excellent value with a good variety of choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confusing entry -Campanile and Premiere Classe have the same gate - easy to miss. We went round twice! But we were tired - end of day. Ate opposite at Campanile, just across courtyard. No restaurant at Premiere Classe.

    Quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small - more like a hostel room rather than a motel room. The first room given to us smelt so much of cigarette that could not stay in the room for a short time. The next room we were given had no air conditioning and had to leave the window open - not good on a ground floor unit. Staff on duty when we arrived stayed long enough to give us a key then vanished. Thankfully Campanile was next door and associated so that we could mention our concerns and have first room changed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight sewage smell in shower room. Our room was next to the lift motor room or whatever it is called and it was like a lorry motor running all night. It was difficult to get to sleep. We have made a note of the room number and if we are offered this room in the future will ask for another.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find, couldn't get into the car park, was helped by someone staying in the hotel, car park full, so not ideal with a toddler arriving in the night, corridors filthy, a lot of people around the site just wandering about at midnight, police came on site due to concerns of safety of cars! Not ideal but we needed to sleep!!!

    Clean room, clean linen & comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms need decorating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are on the small side

    It was adequate for an overnight stop

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger room

    Yes, bed ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty

    The rooms smelt of old smoke and were covered in cobwebs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't know.

    Beds, bathroom included, quite location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls between rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt a bit. Possibly cigarettes

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very cramped.

    It was clean and the staff were welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell of disinfectant on entering the building.

    Leaving

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Friendly. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed sheet had not been changed from last occupant no one to complaint.

    Close to motorway

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small bathroom. Terrible shower with curtain and water all over the bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast decent but coffee horrible

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient for overnight stop. Good food available at neighbouring Campanile.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic

    Value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a budget hotel but absolutely fine for a stopover. Comfortable bed & clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Perfect for a stop over en route to the south of France!!!

    Close to restaurants, grocery store, and highway. Clean, quiet, safe and cheap!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hard to find, tucked away in a backstreet behind another budget hotel.

    Good clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice clean and quiet room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoky smell in room

    Slightly smoky smell in rooms but clean and functional

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffalo restaurant across the road

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fluffier towels in the shower room.

    The breakfast was very good value for money. Particularly liked the coffee and the baby buttery croissants!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean! The bathroom smelt like pee so bad! Too expensive for the quality given

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner. Some items were rapidly out

    THE breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good low budget stop over. There is an IBIS within a couple of minutes which has since car and food if you want to eat.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free internet, Computerised key collection at anytime, clean, cozy

    Great hotel to stop over after a long drive

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean

    Free parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet cistern ran water loudly all night and there was no one to attend to this.

    The breakfast was simple but good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    -

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little hard to find especially badly sign posted

    staff were excellent - helpful.clean and friendly - comfortale

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was tiny

    air conditioning

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unhelpful and rude

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room for 3 people

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, quiet location, close to the highway.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was basic and had a bad smell (cigarettes). Since it was at the ground floor, I couldn't keep the window open. The shower was broken.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No door on toilet. Dirty. Smell of sewage in room. Gurgling noise in our room/toilet when any other guest flushed theirs.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the mixed grill in restaurant was awful steak very very tough left it

    everything ok long walk into town

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and smelly; shower dirty

    Bed comfy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with a refurb.in near future

    Access to autoroute Good breakfast Good food at Campanile next door

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was all okay

    Clean and relatively comfortable motel

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wouldn't be fair to try and find something as perfect for our travels.

    Stop over returning to UK and for this it is perfect. Reasonable price, breakfast good value, especially for hungry kids who can eat as much as they want. Parking right by front door, our room was handy as we unloaded all our bags. I could hold my breath from car to room. For this excellent.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Group

    Poor bathroom construction thus water everywhere in the bathroom after a shower.

    Perfect for a stop during a road trip. Very good value for money. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unfortunately we had no water in the bathroom and the toilet would not flush! After much argument with a very unhelpful receptionist who did not seem to think this was a problem, we got a full refund. The disabled room the children slept in really smelt of smoke.

    Convenient stop over on the way to Calais from the Alpes.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Receptionist on evening of arrival was very unhelpful. Didn't give us instruction for getting in the hotel in the evening. She was quite rude when we asked about it, and we couldn't make ourselves understood, so we ended up staying in our room. Written instruction would be good.

    Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was surprised to see that both fire exits and stairs were partially blocked by service trolleys which would have seriously impeded a swift evacuation had it been needed.

    Simplicity and straight forward ness of offer

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Probably because there is no reception after 21:00, people allow themselves to smoke and do whatever you want in the room. The adjacent room was a woman with of Sado whipping and screams all night. The smell of cigarettes passes through the connecting door was open at first. We could not sleep and was not moving was mainly with children. I called the number listed at reception and did not answer us. Reception in the morning did not understand what the problem with that ??? In short, this hotel is also used as" House of ..."

    We left early in the morning

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Made a request for rooms with a connecting door. Rang on the morning of our stay to confirm but on arrival was given just two rooms next to each other. Not good for a family with three children, made our stay very difficult

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location seemed to be on industrial park.

    Better than expected for the price we paid! I liked that we had bath towels & also the free wifi worked really well. The Buffalo Grill across the road was brilliant

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was basic as expected but staff on check in duty chatting pn phone outside so needed to use auto check in which was tricky to navigate.

    Close to autoroute soith Chalons is a pleasant town for an overnight stop

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -matériel fonctionne mal : robinet+ distributeur de savon -mauvaise insonorisation pour l'intérieur:on entend les voisins au moindre bruit

    endroit calme insonorisation extérieure assez correcte

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms smelt a little when we first arrived.

    Staff very polite when card failed at first, breakfast selection much better than other premier class we have stayed in.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Couple

    Lift was out of order, the basin was blocked and the room which is tiny stank of cigarette. Our booking was not found despite having received a confirmation by email and text ! All in all a dreadful experience .

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Had a problem with the wi fi The staff tried to help but couldn't connect any of our devices

    Nice clean hotel, comfortable beds and quiet. Staff very helpful. Easy to find. Lovely market in the centre of town.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Convenience to the motorway south and being able to use the restaurant in the Campanile hotel on the same site. Safe overnight parking. Good value breakfast.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: