Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Premiere Classe Saumur

161 rue de l'Oreau , 49400 Saumur, France

#19 of 21 hotels in Saumur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 950 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unhelpful reception . I had asked for ground floor but was given second floor and told no ground floor available, although there obviously were. Have stayed here many times but now under new management and will never stay again.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two very small thin pillows, together only 2/3 with of bed. Manager refused to provide more. result - stiff neck. room was only equipped for single traveller room small. even for a mote,l and shower room minute Isolated . nowhere to eat nearby. WIFI unusable, not secure - I had to defeat security setting of my computer to gain any access - Iexplorer would not connect, had to use another browser and accept mailings from hotel. BOOKING.COM PLEASE NOTE - unable to use wifi to book ahead, not secure.

    lighting ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was friendly, but we couldn't find anybody, speaking English I think, in such a big hotel should be not only French-speaking staff

    Clean, quite convenient, 24h check-in

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exterior room very noisy up to 2am. Drops everywhere. Poor noise insulation - felt like I was sleeping with the snorer next door. Room much smaller than Prem Classe Laval. Expected same standard

    Not much

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were very well cleaned and had all necessities, great powerful shower and storage for your clothes. Staff were very friendly and helpful and cleaners did a great job. Only a 10 minute walk to the train station and supermarket/shops and 20 minute to the local center. Would definitely rebook this accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    incorrect location via post code on google/gps

    the hotel is good value for money. Automated check was easy. My ratings are not truly reflective as booking.com dosnt include n/a as in didn't use breakfast or didn't meet any staff If you enter the post code you end up at another hotel by the river approx. 1k away The map or post code needs adjusting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    very tight space between end of bed and wall, not easy to access one end of room to the other with dogs sharing the room. 26+ Deg in room, no air con - dogs panting all night, little sleep, a sauna!

    Good parking, areas for walking dogs, easy access

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in was stressful as the automatic machine did not accept my credit card for some reason even though the reservation was there on screen. And the reception was closed as it was after 10pm. After some frantic searching I found a mobile number to call and a member of staff came and sorted it out. The room was pretty hot and the window shutter was faulty.

    Reasonable value for money accommodation. close to the centre of Samaur - 5 minutes car journey.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little difficult to find the hotel. Otherwise no complaints.

    Given that we only paid 38€ for a night the room was very comfortable, though cosy, for the price. The bed was very comfortable, the shower excellent and very decent towels for the price. Breakfast at 5€ each was good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free wifi is rubbish, we didn't have breakfast. There was nothing within walking distance. The shower curtain stuck to you because the shower was so tiny. Not enough water pressure to wash my hair. Bed was the most uncomfortable we slept on all week. I know it's cheap but the next night we got a beautiful B and B in and old chateau for 7 Euros more and it was fab! Hunt around for a cheaper option these are awful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    That was a nightmare - I left the hotel a day earlier, as it was soo terrible. - Middle of nowhere - really small room (1 sqm for the bathroom, including the toilet!) - Checking is almost impossible - the checkin machine wasn't working which resulted 30-45 minutes waiting in the night - wifi awsn't working at all - no english speaking staff - breakfast is really simple - for this price, I didn't expected a feast, but only jam, orange juice, yoghurt, caffe and bread

    nothing really

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size Self check in

    The hotel has very complicated self check in computer. Rooms are very tiny but clean. Very budget. Each room opens to exterior of property. Very clean, good breakfast although breakfast area is tiny.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The third bed in the triple room is quite close to the ceiling. The Wi-Fi was a bit slow.

    A perfect cost-comfort ratio. The room is small, but clean. The breakfast costs only EUR 5. There's a shopping mall next to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con didn't work. Awful room. Too small. Had to have window wide open as so hot. Couldn't sleep. Could hear man below snowing all night. Dreadful

    Parking. Location ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to say....we wanted cheap basic stay and thats what we had! Actually finding the hotel on arriving was a bit confusing. And being English...it always is a bit tricky when driving in Europe.

    Free service Very delicious baguette Hot coffee Really good value

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There should be free wifi but it was not working at all.

    The reception was friendly, we didn't have any problems in communication in English. The room was small, bathroom even smaller - but we were expecting this. Everything was clean. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of our room (no. 6) due to people smoking outside, noisy inconsiderate people smoking and talking outside near us on & off until 4.30am (we had the window open for air with the shutter down), the bathroom floor service (vinyl) made us feel like we needed to wear shower shoes, no soap over the hand basin, very thin bath towels

    It was 'functional', breakfast was adequate for the cost, was close to a mall for supplies/dinner/cinema, we were able to walk to the town although it was about a 15-20 min trip & there were buses nearby, clean towels each day

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather was +30 and so was the room.... :( Automated booking didn't work so we had to call a number at 00:30 and wait till the the guy arrived to do it manually

    It is what it is.. a place to sleep and have breakfast the next morning.... Clean and safe

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of a fan in the room when it was hot.

    Great value for money. The receptionist is one of the best receptionists in France... so helpful and welcoming. The room and bathroom were very clean and there is easy access to motorways and the city of Saumur. Although the room was small, it was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and very slow Wi-Fi. 15 minute walking distance from town centre. Room overpriced.

    Nice staff, clean rooms. Plenty of parking space. Self check in at the hotel was useful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well the fire alarm going off at ten past my midnight, because someone,was smoking in the room, Smells coming up from the shower , The bathroom was very small, you could sit on the loo and use the shower and sink at same time, and had to stand half in the bedroom to get dryed, The area. Is just off the motorway, i didnt really notice any noise but if you go for a walk its the industrial area so nothing to see unless you drive into town,

    Cheap and chearfull, you get what you pay for, Staff very good and clean,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only sweet stuff for the paid buffet breakfast. Self-service check-in machine didn't work at the time we arrived. Highly recommend visitors to arrive at the time that staff is present, because the manager didn't tend to fix this machine.

    What you get is what you pay. It is a cheap accommodation and serves the purpose.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really poor wifi. I couldn't even open a message on Facebook. That's how bad it was. The room had a strong smell from the previous person(s)

    Really nice and welcoming staff member

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a box. a small box. There is only a place for one towel. You almost crawl around each other. It is unsuitable for 3 people even with the bunk bed above the double bed. The Wi-Fi is very slow. it is necessary to have a car to see the town.

    Price. The staff was helpful. Good parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cramped, bathroom was smallest I have ever seen, we are both small, had we been any bigger I don't think we could have had a shower. just OK for one night but wouldn't repeat.

    It was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a bit hard to find and quite a way from the centre of Saumur south of the river in a housing suburb. Only staffed at certain times. Still, it was inexpensive.

    Rooms were clean, breakfast not bad. Room and breakfast good value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in machine would not accept our credit cards so we had to wait 1 hour for reception. Good thing we didnt arrive really late. Bathroom was not very clean & one pillow was very small..reception was at that time closed so no resolution

    The price was good & room fine

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only an automatic reception and our cards (all 4 of them) were rejected. Fortunately there was a nice french couple, that we asked to pay for us and give them back cash. Unpleasant experience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Said there was aircon but it meant a radiator. Pillows were like lumpy boulders and could hear everything next door and downstairs. Probably would be fine if wasn't full of loud drunk people shouting half of night.

    Everything you needed for basic night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window shutter stuck so couldn't keep the sun out. Clientel a bit rough in the room above and next door but what do you expect for a budget hotel. Air conditioning non existent.

    Good place to stay one night as a stop over. Breakfast ok and beds comfy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - This is not a place to relax but a place to sleep as it is very small. But is perfectly serves its purpose. - It is very clean. - With the bike it was very easy to get into the city center and bakeries, fruit stores etc. are just on the way to the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very basic hotel but what they provide is decent quality - good bed, clean rooms, tiny bathroon but all in good order. It is not a hotel for a holiday but good value as a stopover.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Group
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got to the place outside of check in hours but the self check in did not work! None of the phone numbers to the hotel worked and not even booking.com could get in contact with the hotel. Luckily we saw a curtain move inside the closed reception and we were let in and were able to check in although the staff didn't speak any English. Bathroom had at check in hair in the sink but was cleaned the following days. Staff even forgot a cleaning cloth in the room 😂 The room was quite small so glad we were 2 and not 3 as previously planned. As there are no taxis in Saumur at night only stay here if you have your own transport, it's too far and dark to walk by night.

    Comfy bed that was made every day and was happy to receive new towels every day too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff very bad - did not speak English as it said they did and were rude when we finally sorted out the problems. Luckily we had a member who spoke fluent French as they messed up our booking and for a while we thought we had no where to stay. A party was held over one night - very loud music and no staff to inform of this so we had no sleep that night.

    Breakfast quite good for the price. Location good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfy bed, hot showers, secure parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very small

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    King size bed good night sleep

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So small and cold Slept with clothes on

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Direction to the hotel not good at all

    Good Value for the money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    Cheap and clean and serviceable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning makes it hard to sleep in summer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room quite small

    All fine

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was dirty, the door to neighbour's chamber was opened.

    it was easy to check in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No facilities for making tea or coffee after the office was shut

    Clean simple and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    World's slowest wifi

    No frills, but the basics were done well. Jerôme able to recommend good value local restaurants

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 towel for 2 people

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and functional and the beds comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan room boiling

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic.ugly building.

    Cheap!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were poor and the rooms were hard to ventilate in the hot weather.

    The rooms were clean and perfectly adequate.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Signage for reception location - at rear of building

    Parking very easy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic

    Easy to find

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom sink operated like some public wash rooms in that there were no controls and the water came on when you held your hand in the right place. It was very awkward. First time we have ever seen this in a hotel and I hope it is the last!

    This is the nicest property we have stayed in of the Premiere Classe chain (and this includes stays over a period of three years). Premiere Classe is a budget chain and some of their properties are really not too great, but this one was quite nice. Bed was comfortable and room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi access in room was basically non-existent.

    Good value for money, breakfast was inexpensive and there was plenty to choose from. There was everything required for a simple stopover.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had bikes which we had to squeeze into our tiny room. Made it a bit cramped.

    Restaurant located 4 minutes walking distance next to Intermarche. Clean, adequate for price paid if you just want a roof over your head with comfortable facilities.

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was a little far to walk to the town center and the bus system is sparse and confusing.

    The staff were very helpful! The room was great and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room for the 2 grown-ups and one teenager was extremely small. The passage between the beds and the wall leading to the bathroom was around 50 cm.This was the only free space in the room. Only one person could move at a moment, while two others had to stay on the beds.

    The room was clean

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was a little far to walk to the town center and the bus system is sparse and confusing.

    The staff were very helpful! The room was great and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I think I have outgrown basic hotels. If money is tight then this is a good buy but I found it too small. The desk area is very small and it's position means the window cannot be opened while using the desk.

    The location was fairly convenient to reach the town centre but any closer and the price would increase. It appeared to be a new build so everything was fresh and undamaged.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We made the mistake of booking a triple room by accident, and it was so very cramped, with single beds which were not very comfortable.. The double we had before had been much easier to stay in.

    We had stayed here on our outward journey and thought we knew what to expect"

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was not accessible, possibly not working, room was too tight for space around bed, especially with two dogs in the room

    Location and friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very small (tiny) room without AC or any other vent system made very hard to rest in hot days/nights. No privacy with open windows (acces by external balcony...). Good luck keeping your kid from other windows :)

    Very nice and helpful staff. Great and comfy bed. Good location , near main road and some markets close by. Private parking and outdoor space is also a plus.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Got there late try automatic book as doors locked could not use the machine ..lucky new geasts arrive got axesss to aclosed door by just knocking on it there should have a sign

    A good night sleep nice and quiet

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I wasn't able to connect to the wifi and because there was no staff members on site I couldn't take advantage of the free service!

    Luckily I had a ground floor room which meant I could wheel my bicycle in for added security.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very small

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very small, the shower was ridiculously small. Won't be returning.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wifi signal was poor,so at times I could not connect.

    It was in a nice location, just minutes from Suamur. Good on site parking

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms too small

    Great break with the lads

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy to find. We had a double room which was quite spacious. It was clean and comfortable for an overnight stopover.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    tiny room, very noisy, early morning delivery with reversing alarm, the list goes on.

    very little. oh yes, leaving.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a good location

    Just as it says , good value for money

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    rooms were a bit small

    close to town centre and large supermarket

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning.

    Easy walk from the centre of town.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was almost too small

    Everything was satisfactory, auto book-in was good, room very clean, generally good.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: