Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Provencal 2 stars

4 Avenue Du Marechal Joffre, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France

#26 of 46 hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 954 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    6.3
    We were on top floor but there is apparently a manager's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should include breakfast in rate...would never pay 11 euro in the basement breakfast place for yogert and cheese. Best western breaksfast is gree and wow

    We were on top floor but there is apparently a manager's suite above! Thump thump when they are home...ie midnight and 5 a.m. incidents!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.8
    Experience Villefranche-Sur-Mer in a period hotel. Rewarding and fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The regular smoking addict located one floor down in the neighbouring apartments did take the shine off sitting on the balcony. Smoking may not be permitted in the room(s) but the infusion of second hand smoke from other balconies into your space is annoying.

    The location and style of accommodation was a real attraction as we were seeking a local experience. Access to the old town is easy and convenient. The room was large and the sea breezes were refreshing. The lift is a memorable bonus. The breakfast in the garden and the terrace is fun. We dined at the local restaurants and there is no shortage of options in the old town. Try the Roxy across the road.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    Lovely outlook
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee making facilities in your room. Pigeons at breakfast.

    The Provencal Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer is situated on a hill approximately three to four hundred metres from the Old Town. Our room was on the third floor and on the corner so we had fabulous views from our three balconies (only one is big enough to sit on, the other two quite small). The bed is comfortable, there is plenty of storage for your clothes. There are no coffee and tea making facilities, unfortunately, although reception will pour you a tea or coffee to take back to your room or sit in the living room or outside in the garden. Just ask and they will provide it for you. The bathroom has a shower over the bath. Breakfast is served downstairs in the lovely garden. Unfortunately the pigeons can be a nuisance, so be aware and don’t leave your food unattended. Breakfast consists of fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, meats, cheese and of course beautiful pastries. There is also an egg boiling machine for something hot, and a toaster. There is no parking available, however, if you go down to the Wilson parking office situated on the foreshore (find information from the tourist office), you will be able to purchase a week’s parking permit for 25 Euro. Otherwise parking can be expensive if you can’t find ‘free’ parking spaces. It is approx a ten minute walk from the hotel to the swimming beach. The hotel will provide you with beach towels. If you have trouble climbing hills and stairs, you may need to find accommodation closer to the sea. Otherwise it is great exercise everyday. We enjoyed our stay. Would recommend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    The sea view was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sea view was wonderful. We were on the first floor with a large balcony and really enjoyed seeing the waterfront every day. Staff were friendly and the room was clean and had everything we needed. Location was perfect, just a short walk in the town to the restaurants and a quick scooter ride anywhere else down the coast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.7
    Would stay here again, but choose a larger sea view room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, but we knew that on booking. OK for the one night. Be prepared the walk up from the harbour and old town is steep. On the plus side if pulling luggage, it’s sloped pavement rather than steps.

    View from our room was great - the yacht-filled harbour and old town. The price was good for a hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer with such a view. Great bakery just around the corner!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Convenient with helpful friendly staff. Basic breakfast. Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pidgins around the breakfast table They need signage stating do not feed the birds And please remove your try after use

    It did what it said on the tin Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Location!! We were upgraded after Hotel learnt of our drama on the train getting there. Rooms arent flash but very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. We would definitely stay here again whenever we are back in Villafranche-sur-mer! Highly recommend

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle and tea/coffee as well as a little fridge would have been nice.

    Location was great, close to beach and shopping as well as public transport and lovely views of the harbour.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and cosy hotel on the Côte
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Village Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower a bit tight. Also, parking might seem a bit of a headache at first sight, but there is a paying parking lot not so far away. Would help to have some hotel voucher / discount if you are staying more than 1 night.

    Very nice hotel for a stop on your tour on the Côte d'Azur. The terrace and breakfast outside are wonderful (except for some flying visitors that might steal your bread when you don't pay attention:D).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Good value hotel with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms on the village side are noisy and very small. We were in a room where there was noise from the stairwell. We changed rooms and everything was fine.

    The staff were very friendly. The hotel was quite central. We moved to a room on the sea side and the view was lovely as well as being quieter. They provided a good breakfast and a pleasant place to eat in the courtyard. The bathrooms were clean and a good size. We loved the high ceilings and French windows.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Great accommodation, perfectly located in walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was absolutely perfect!

    Great accommodation, perfectly located in walking distance to the old town and main beach. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, they even promoted us with a nicer room with a sea view when we decided to prolong our stay. Superior cleanliness. As for the breakfast, I would say it was a bit overpriced and mostly croissant based (as everywhere in France), so we preferred delicious coffee and a piece of typical French pastry in the Boulagerie just over the corner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was fine but the beaches at Villefranche and Cap Ferrat are having problems because of the French local government closing the beach clubs this summer - the beaches are open but you couldn't get a sun lounger or an umbrella at the beaches I went to. I'm fair-skinned and I can't really lie on a beach without shade. So bring your own mattress and umbrella - buy them locally! - and it's perfect.

    The rooms were perfectly clean and cool and quiet, a great bonus in the Riviera August heat. The breakfast courtyard was charming. It was great value for money and in a perfect location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.4
    Unfriendly rude staff. Quanit hotel w/Lovely view from room. Do not do breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO parking - don't even think about it - drove around for an hour. We came in the evening tired, and staff rude and unhelpful. Had to insist on help with being able to park which finally happened. Lift at hotel can hold one person and one bag and it's an oven in there. Room was fine with lovely view. Breakfast terrible and, even though we notified staff that our AC didn't work all night, they didn't apologize and could have cared less we were uncomfortable all night.

    The view from the room. Quanit architecture and good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Great. The hotel provides a good base in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Village View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fine if not a little basic. More choice would have been good but it was reasonably priced with a good range of pastries.

    The staff at the hotel were excellent and very helpful. We had an adjoining room which is great for families with young children.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Classic stay steps from the waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful classic hotel in the heart of Villefranche-sur-Mer. Fantastic view of water and a short walk to the best shots restaurants and waterfront. The staf was delightful and the service great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Affordable accommodation on the French Riviera
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no hot water on the first night of our stay due to some malfunction - however, we were offered free breakfast next morning as a compensation. There was no any ventilation installed in the bathroom. The walls are really thin so noise from the adjoining rooms may be disturbing for those whose hearing is not impaired. You are asked by the hotel not to hang your beach towels on the rails of the balcony - a better option would be to provide some basic clotheslines.

    From the balcony of our room on the top floor, we had a really nice view of the bay (may be limited on lower floors). The air conditioning was nice to have and it worked effectively at the higher settings. Our bathroom was spatious. The staff were really kind and helpful. The location of the hotel is very convenient - bakery, supermarket (Casino Shop), local transport (cheap buses from Octroi stop to Nice or Monaco) are all close by. With the hotel a bit removed from the busy old town, street noise is not an issue.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Great value, when we go back to vist family friends we will look into staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Village Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our internet was spotty in our room, but worked perfect in the lobby. Our hot water could have been better.

    The staff was welcoming and was very helpful getting us in a little early before check-in. Our room was large and had an AC unit that keep our room cool in August heat. Charming 8 minute walk through shops to the beach. Walk home up hill from the beach was a little tiresome but people of all ages were doing it. Some people were able to get taxi service to and from the beach area, if needed. The hotel also had a 24 hour service bar. The mini pizzas were a life saver for my pregnant wife when she had a late night craving and everything else in the city was closed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    GREAT
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room with Sea View ( 4 Adults )
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A/C not working. The door wouldn't close. Every time we used to leave the hotel, we had to cede our room key to the front office staff. We traveled the world, and never experienced such a thing.

    Hotel in Villefranche-sur-mer a scenic and beautiful town. We loved our stay!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel for a sightseeing base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room could have been Updated and brighter.

    Good location as it’s close to the harbour but also Tain and buses for sightseeing. Rooms are small as are bathrooms but that’s part of the charm. Beds very comfortable and rooms kept clean and air conditioning worked well. The breakfast is good value for money. Self service and a big enough selection for continental breakfast but the dining room itself is very dated and gloomy and would benefit from a makeover. A nice courtyard outside was much nicer for breakfast. Reception staff very helpful. The hotel is basic but comfortable and perfect for a base for a sightseeing holiday.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.8
    Nice location but no parking..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Village View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in the ground floor just beside the reception, so noisy during the night, we couldn't sleep.. No help with the luggages..

    Staffs are very friendly, location was good but so hard to find a parking, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    The front desk attendant was lovely and had a great sense of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was abysmal and would be a strong consideration in whether I stayed at the property again - even with such a lovely staff.

    The front desk attendant was lovely and had a great sense of humor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Location excellent for bus connection to Nice, bakery, shop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat basic in our room, shower very small, but you get what you pay for.

    Location excellent for bus connection to Nice, bakery, shop. Walkable down the hill to restaurants. Nice view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Servered it's purpose by allowing us see nearby Cap-Ferrat without paying Cap Ferrat hotel prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entire hotel in general while clean could use a little more care to help it in the hallways and rooms. As I mentioned above we had a view of the Sea, but directly in front of our window was also an entire house that had collapsed so it did feel a bit ghetto if you got to close to the window.

    The location was less than a 5 min walk into town which was great and we had a view of the sea from out room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Village View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street noise at night was not great, especially on the World Cup night. The hotel could do with double glazing the windows on the street side.

    Good value for money. The hotel represented good value for money and was within walking distance of main beaches and attractions. We loved our stay at ville-French sur mer, and would recommend this hotel, but suggest that you request a room with a sea view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff and the wonderful sea views, although we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room , especially in hot weather , couldn’t even keep water cold.

    Very friendly staff and the wonderful sea views, although we did pay extra for that

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Ticked all boxes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Village Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard matress. Limited choice if you wanted a drink or something to snack on.

    Central and easy to access Villefranche on foot. Nice couryard for breakfast and sitting out. A bit shabby, but that adds to the foreign charm! Helpful Recepion Desk. Unexpected glimpse of the sea from our town-view bedroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin room Village Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked 2 rooms. One for my parents and one for my husband and me. Our one was ok. The problem was WIFI really not good. Sometimes completely lost WIFI in the room. But WIFI in my parents room worked very good. The room near village side was a little bit noise in the morning. In a word, the hotel gave good experience and I enjoyed my trip.

    Location. Just a few mins walk to seaside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money at Villefranche
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the public areas there were quite warm. Anyways at the room air conditioning worked well.

    Nice view to the bay from the room. Close to bus stop. Means that you dont have to pull the luggage all the way upwards the hill when you are leaving:) Friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Very pleased to have chosen here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking back uphill after a fine dinner at my age was a little tiring but would not have been a problem for anyone younger. Pillows were a bit hard but not so bad that I needed to change them.

    A convenient location for the old town by the coast and great little restaurants although it is uphill to return. A good buffet breakfast. The room was a little small but good air conditioning and everything worked well although the pillows were a little on the hard side. Lovely to have breakfast outside on the terrace. Taxis to and from Nice airport are expensive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some fresh fruits would have been nice for breakfast. We did not like the aggressive pigeons in the garden during breakfast, we felt forced to eat inside.

    Lovely hotel. Spacious, clean bathroom and beautiful view from the little balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin room Village Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the room was a bit small, but you kind of get what you pay for. Would definitely stay here again.

    Great location and value for money. Small hotel feel. We even got beach towels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful location and great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Village View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful location! Just a short walk down the hill from the main town and the port! Such a beautiful town and the colourful buildings are just so pretty. Our hotel was located a short walk up a steep hill however the views on the walk make it so worth it! The location us excellent and near some beautiful restaurants in a little square on your walk down to the port. We ate at Marechiaro and i would highly recommend it as it is so amazing and so cheap!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    The Hotel Provencal calls me back year after year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Like so much it seems almost petty to complain about the hardness of the pillows but.........

    The staff, as always, were friendly and welcoming. The location is fabulous- handy for the beach, restaurants, railway station and buses. Super, good value buffet breakfasts which can be eaten indoors or in the lovely outdoor garden/dining area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent view, mediocre room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room's facilities are rather basic: no coffee machine or water boiler, so slippers.

    View, view, view. The view of Villfrance's harbor and the beach is amazing. The staff are friendly; the breakfast is reasonably good. The location is good as you can easily walk to the harbor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    It was on a wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no safe in the room. No bar frig. I didn't like having to hand in our room key , when leaving for the day.

    It was on a wonderful location. The staff were very nice.0

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise from other rooms would have been disturbing if the hotel had been busier/full. The walls seemed very poorly insulated/thin. The lights in our room didn't work for a few hours but was remedied.

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin room Village Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little beat up with age and shower was small and hard to navigate.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Helped call my tour company.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Sweet and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture was basic ....old but room did not smell musky.

    Location and view of Sea. Convenient to shops, railway and bus. Old and quaint. Bathroom updated and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Friendly and convivial environnement between staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin room Village Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking around hotel- car got towed away from location we were told to park in and 50 euro taxi ride and 130 euro fine to collect it Elevator very cramped and slow

    Friendly and convivial environnement between staff and guests, very Instagramic location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic - no kettle in the room and on first appearances we thought it was too basic but really it did the job

    Great location and friendly staff. lovely breakfast eaten outside in the sunshine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    3.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room with Sea View ( 4 Adults )
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unhelpful. Parking is a nightmare. If possible go by train, don’t drive.

    This hotel is extortionate for the level of comfort and lack of facilities. The bed was so uncomfortable, the bathroom had dirty grout and the fittings coming out of the toilet were filthy. Bedroom was sparse. No tea making facilities or lift.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel for the F1 (take the 100 bus outside the door...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect hotel for the F1 (take the 100 bus outside the door to Monaco) and to enjoy the gorgeous town of Villefranche just a few steps away. Sea view is fabulous and very good AC. Rooms are lovely, way better than 2 star. If you want to try the beach club book in advance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    Located near the poromenade and the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel, near the center of the town cause that we heared all the noise from the street. The bathroom not so comfortable.

    Located near the poromenade and the beach. Nice place for breakfast, under the trees.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Both ourselves and our friends did have issues with our...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't book a small double as it is really small.

    Both ourselves and our friends did have issues with our rooms, however they were both promptly dealt with and we were allocated another room much to our delight a family room which are a good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    we had a wonderful relaxed time will be going again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin room Village Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing to dislike, the Hotel is well situated within easy reach of restaurants and bars. Villefranche is a coastal port and there are hills and steps but we enjoyed are stay immensely

    Everything about the Hotel Provencal was excellent a Full size bathroom with Bath the Hotel is very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. Location id very close to the centre of Villefranche

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel, but noisy, from neighbouring rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very small room, with one side of the bed against the wall. We could almost literally understand what the people in the adjoining corner from were saying, earplugs were definitely needed.

    The staff was friendly and the building is in a good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    Lovely view but needs a lot of improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom smelled absolutely horrible! We had to keep the balcony doors opened all day and night and had just quick shower, because staying longer in the bathroom was very difficult! We were also told that breakfast will cost us 12 euro each but at the end we paid 22 for one person. Breakfast was very poor for this amount. Just very limited choice and not much food.

    The view from our balcony was simply beautiful. We had nice big bed and location is very picturesque.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel has a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The things that we didn’t like were the smell from the bathroom which hot us as we entered the room. We had to have the windows open whenever we were in the room. And the other one were the thin walls. We could hear eberything from the neighbours.

    The hotel has a great location. It is close to the bus station and to shops and restaurants. It is a short and nice walk to the port. We had a sea view room, and the view was great. The lobby and the garden are also very nice. The room is nicely decorated and it was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Best location in Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi seems to be an old 10/1 Mbit DSL connection and it's severely overcrowded and just doesn't work most of the time. Unacceptable in this day and age. The room felt really clean and newly renovated but the bathroom was not quite spotless.

    The view from the window and balcony is fantastic! The bus stop for both Nice and Monaco is just across the street, the bakery is around the corner and the supermarket is a three-minute walk. The dwindling streets of Villefranche-Sur-Mer are just down the slope and once you've made it through that labyrinth you're at the waterfront and beach. There is no better location in Nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Kindly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Village Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the restroom, toilet really too close to the sink... : uncomfortable to sit especially for an adult

    Kindly staff Wide and clean room with parquet We got a seavieaw room instead of the reserved village view one. There are some elements which, in my own opinion, confirm the classification of two stars, i.e. the small size of the elevator, basic type of furniture in the room, no private parking in a place where is not very comfortable even stopping the car for leave or take the luggage), but finally I think it’s a very good hotel for his category, considering the fares which are about half the ones of the most other just only tree stars hotels in the same village

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    A peaceful place to enjoy the French Riviera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was not the best. But, you're not going to be up in the room whole day, so this shouldn't be an issue.

    Good location. Gare VilleFranche Sur Mer is a 15 min walk and the bus stop (for Buses to Nice, Eze, Monaco) is just a minute walk away. The hotel is also located close to the shore so some rooms have a sea view like ours did. The old town of VilleFranche is a 5 min walk. Lined with wonderful cafes in narrow alleys, sea front restaurants, the port and the beach, this is where you'd want to spend most of your time in Villefranche. The staff was extremely courteous and warm. The hotel provides good room service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Basic but clean!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is no more, no less than a 2 star! The hotel is a great location and clean, but this hotel is not a holiday hotel, it’s simply a place to sleep. The facilities in the hotel are limited and basic. Parts of the hotels bathrooms are desperately in need of updating, aswell as the grounds and corridors, perfect to sleep for a night or two, but not a holiday hotel to stay for a long stay.

    Great loacation to see nice, Villefranche-sur-Mer, Beaulieu-sur-Mer, Eze, and Monaco all 30 minuets away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Well-located hotel in Villefranche sur Mer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My mother stayed at Hotel Provencal for a week while visiting the French Riviera. The location of the hotel was great, very close to the train station and old town. The price was quite reasonable for the area. Her room faced the hills and seemed to be comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    A nice hotel in a charming old town.
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very hot in the corridors and rooms. The room temperature could be adjusted, but the corridor was hot like sauna.

    The stuff was very friendly. We also liked the garden terrace, where the breakfast was served. Villefrance is very idyllic and small so everything is within a walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay with great views of the sea in the always lovely Villefranche
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Village View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a steep hike up to the hotel. Fine for us but wouldn't suit some.

    Nice views and central. Comfy beds upgraded to sea view for free thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    A truly sensational Hotel with everything you need to enjoy the Riveria 11/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Their is nothing that I could fault this Hotel for..... the only thing I didn't like was that I had to leave and go home. Wished we could have stayed another week.

    The Staff were amazing and couldn't do enough to help. Location was terrific for local buses and pubs, yet only 5 minutes from the seafront restaurants and bars. The room was great and the balcony with Sea view terrific. Lovely quiet private gardens added to the serenity of the overall stay. A must stay from now on...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    2.5
    Shockingly bad and unacceptable experiece. Currently awaiting remedy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excessive noise from s group of Swedes on floors 2&3 causing mayhem. The night porter had to go up regularly to try to stop them running riot to no avail. We had to endure screaming , crying, arguments, door slamming, furniture moving, sex noises and running up and down all corridors and shouting in the lifts. Reception were apologetic but couldn't refund as paid to booking.com. In 40 years of travel I've never actually had to leave a hotel before which illustrates how dreadful it was.

    Had no choice but to leave after one night and register a complaint with booking.com.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.9
    Great place except for the parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking situation was poor. The first day, we had to run out to buy parking permits several times a day. On the second day, they sent us to their "sister" facility about a quarter mile away where we got free parking.

    They were very friendly and helpful. We got a lot of help in dealing with their poor parking situation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Well located, reasonably priced , convenient and comfortable. Tres Bon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin room Village Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good.

    Lovely hotel in a very convenient location for visiting local amenities. Within walking distance of port and water front, not to far up the hill for other venues. This is a local and comfortable hotel that has a nice feel to it and is a pleasant place to spend along weekend, or more

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    3.8
    Would never stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin room Village Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude and unhelpful staff. Paper thin walls means one can hear other guests urinate snore , bath towels the size of a face cloth, scratchy and paper thin, definitely not value for money

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Hotel is near pretty old town and harbour. Comfortable. Staff are excellent. Useful shops nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Village Side
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have welcomed an English-language entertainment TV channel that wasn't world news.

    Helpful staff, large selection of useful brochures on display, attractive garden.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Overall experience very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lift was typical French - very small. Quite a walk from train station to Hotel - would be good for Hotel to arrange a pick-up service.

    View from the room was good - in higher up rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely little hotel in Villefranche
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharp edge to beds. Mind your knees! Hilly little town so get the hotel to arrange a taxi if you arrive by train. Nearby restaurant La Cuisine highly recommended.

    Lovely location and very friendly staff. Good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    4.6
    Loved Villefranche, but disappointed with accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hand held shower head in bath. We felt the need to upgrade. Not enough information from main receptionist. Having to pay extra for tea & coffee in hotel. First time ever in our travels!!!

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    A perfect stay in a traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel can be a little noisy.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming and helped us with all our queries. The sea view and balcony on our 3rd floor room were perfect. The hotel is very easy to find and extremely well situated right in the centre of Villefranche near the shops, tourist office, bus stops and only 15 minutes on foot to the railway station via the old town. Breakfast is good and can be taken on a very charming terrace under the trees.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Hotel is situated on top of a hill beside entrance to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only minor detail I could highlight on the negative is that the bed was just a bit too small for two people, so we didn't sleep as well as we would have liked to.

    Hotel is situated on top of a hill beside entrance to the natural park with lovely walking trails. Swimming pool is small but pretty and we were there all by ourselves which was a bonus! Staff are very helpful and the restaurant serves great food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.8
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Village Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on ground floor near to reception throug what looked like a laundry room, door lock wasn't secure. Breakfast was a struggle with the amount of pigeons trying to share breakfast with you.

    staff seemed friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    4.6
    Hotel was run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was run down. Shower was the smallest I have ever experienced. If I dropped my soap, I had to step out of the shower to pick it up as there was no room to turn around in the stall. The light did not work so room was extremely dark. Had to wait until the sun came up to see so I could pack my bags.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Village Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle was incredibly small.. The shower hose wouldn't stay attached to the wall connector.. Very dusty bedroom..

    The breakfast was very good. The gardens are lovely, relaxing to sit in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.0
    Squalid and poorly maintained.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reality is very far from the pictures shown on the website. The furniture is squalid and the overall environment is poorly maintained. Pillows and mattress very hard, I slept badly.

    Location. Beautiful city, very close to Nice. Very kind staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.4
    Stay was great we had a lot of fun love the town and surrounding area our second trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were not friendly, breakfast was an extra 11 euros per person That would be about $50 every morning. We needed extra towels and got some from the maid and never heard the end of it. Our air conditioning did not work well (in room unit) and they said they would fix it nothing happened. Its was like the owners and staff were totally burned out and had already retired (Europe??) I would rather pay twice the amount I would never recommend or stay there again. Dr. R

    The cost of the room was about the best thing about this hotel it was not widely expensive and that was good. Beds were ok but small.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    The hotel was very nice inside and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin room Village Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were a little too hard and the bathroom could have been a little cleaner as we found a hair ball in our new towels when we arrived. Also, the tv only had two english speaking which were both news channels. I acknowledge that this is France but would have been nice to have had a choice of English speaking programmes.

    The hotel was very nice inside and out. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.5
    Absolutley loved this hotel! I would loved to have spent more time here if I could! Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Village Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish we could have spent more time at this beautiful town and charming accommodation. This hotel was well beyond my expectations and I cannot wait to get back. Love the little courtyard for relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Good location with seaview
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no own parking; it can be difficult to find a piblic place at the streets aroind. One may park at the harbour parking for Eur 1,80/hour.

    Charming, older hotel with clean and fresh rooms. Georgious view to the harbour. Generous breakfast buffet with eggs, cheese and sausage (seeing French standards elsewhere), definetly worth to spend the extra Eur 11. Top location with a 2 min walk to oldtown and harbour of Villefranche. Wifi okay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Village View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with village view was a bit noisy from the road at the back. Quite a steep hill up from the beach to the hotel.

    Close to town, friendly, English speaking staff, rooms very clean, very pretty outside terrace. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: