Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Regina & Spa

40 Rue De Lhomel, 62600 Berck-sur-Mer, France

#22 of 30 hotels in Berck-sur-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1316 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not really a problem - but it would have been nice to watch the 6 Nations rugby in the bar - but that would have been like icing on the cake ;-)

    Conveniently located for the centre of the town and local beach and front. Friendly welcoming staff, cozy warm room, comfortable bed, a shower I wished I had at home, a good restaurant and wonderful relaxing spa facilities..........wish I was there now!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor of hotel very tired, broken lights in stairway, bleach on hall carpet, our room had a broken granite sink surround and no breather on toilet waste which meant the room smelt of sewage. The plastic double glazed window wouldn’t shut and the kitchenette was locked shut. Charged for parking.

    We liked being able to book one room for our family as it slept all 5 of us - very hard to find.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had use of Kitchenette but had no actual kettle (but there was a coffee maker) but no complementary coffee / tea. Light switch in bathroom was far from the door so had to be left on as wouldn't be able to find it in the dark & didn't give enough light to the shower

    Bed Comfy, Quiet Location, good value for money, close to beach, lots of sockets for charging phones etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was non-smoking, but smelt of smoke. The breakfast was nothing special

    Staff were friendly, our dog was welcome and we enjoyed the spa. Although we paid extra for the spa and breakfast, the room rate alone was quite good value

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bedroom was small and the gap on my wife's side of the bed was less than 2 feet. Bed was comfy, but we got little sleep (read on). The spa additional fee was 35 euros for the two of us - no robe, no slippers. The spa is of a good size and in good repair. In the middle of the night we were awoken by loud raised voices (sounding a bit worse for wear if you know what I mean) coming from outside the hotel entrance and our room was situated directly above. At about 2.45am and unable to to get back sleep, I had to get dressed and go down and ask them to be quiet, only to discover it was a staff member chatting with friends! In the morning the entry steps were covered in about 30 cigarette butts. We didn't sleep well, although the bed was comfortable. We will not return here. Lack of information and poor welcome. What a shame.

    The evening meal in the restaurant was simple but good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although not common to French hotels they did supply a kettle with tea and coffee. However the cups supplied were thin plastic ones. Not something you would expect for this kind of hotel Also there was no milk

    It was a very good sized room and a very nice, large bed .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had booked to stay for 2 nights, but booked out on 2nd day as we got bitten over night by mosquito's you could see them all on the wall during the night and in morning , not the fault of hotel but they were very good and apologetic and charged us just for the one night so that wasn't a problem, we went onto another place called Veurne which was nice ..

    parking just outside hotel and easy to find, very close to beautiful beach that seemed to go on for miles, nice friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took the receptionist a long time to find our booking of two rooms. We had requested two parking spaces, even though the blurb said there was no need to book. We were only allocated one space and were told that they were full up, however the receptionist did manage to squeeze one of the cars into a spot. The toilet seat in our room was very care worn, originally I thought it was dirty, it was just worn away. We were charged 35 euros per room to use the swimming pool!!

    The dining room was well presented. All the food was good and well priced, as were the bar prices.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have a menu in English but we managed. Only had one pillow each but own fault should have asked for more .

    Excellent secure car park for my sports car, hotel just a couple of mins from the beach. Clean tidy staff friendly . We would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We picked this hotel particularly because of the pool and hot tub but there was an extra charge. This additional charge to use the hotel facilities was not advertised up front.

    Good location short walk to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better bar service, would be nice to see someone standing behind the bar to welcome you, rather than stand around for 5-10 minutes. Rooms could do with an update.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The dinner was also excellent. Shower was excellent. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly helpful staff, Quiet peaceful location and great service. If you like your Brit friendly English breakfast, English speaking location then don't go.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located at the far end of town fairly close to the beach and next door to a medical facility. When you drive in be prepared to avoid more than one person right in the middle of the road in their mobility scooters. The hotel itself is large and quiet, and slightly run down. The room was a decent size but absolutely STANK of cigarette smoke despite being a non smoking room. The hotel's solution was to send a maid up to the room with a can of deodorant spray (see picture) which didn't help. I could see from the mountain of cigarette butts outside the window ledge that the guests have been ignoring the no smoking rule for a very long time. After one night at the hotel my clothes all stank of smoke. One reason I chose this hotel was the in house swimming pool, but unfortunately when I asked about it at reception I was told that it would cost another 35 Euros to use the pool so obviously I declined. This was very disappointing and if this had been made clearer on their website I wouldn't have booked this hotel The beach at Berck is nice and wide and sandy and not too crowded. The resort itself, however is pretty run down and full of Le Chavs, and mouthy young teenagers smoking fags and drinking beer from cans. There are a few restaurants along the waterfront if you like fried stuff and a few shops if you like inflatable beach tat. Further inland there's a small high street with a slightly better selection of shops and a few restaurants. Again reflecting the slightly run down nature of the town we saw a few tramps and beggars around the town, and I'm guessing there's a problem with petty crime as the local Carrefour searched our bags as we walked out, even though we only popped in for a minute to get a small bottle of water. The town felt slightly unsafe after the shops had shut and everything went quiet.

    We booked this hotel in Berck Plage as our preferred location at the nearby Le Toquet was fully booked. The contrast between the slightly upmarket le Toquet and downmarket Berck was very noticeable. The best thing about the location was the big sandy beach, which was fairly empty and quiet despite the good weather and there's a large street market in the town on Saturday if you're into that.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family room with Kitchenette, however it needs to state that if you don't stay for 4 days or more the kitchenette is locked ( No kettle), please change this booking.com, Also 35 Euros for the use of the pool which is a silly price.

    Very close to the beach and decent sized family room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food had to pay extra for the swimming pool

    bed was comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little dated and could do with an update.

    Location and car park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good breakfasts

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a nice place to stay..much better than expected. Nice people- very friendly. The room was very good too! Clean, fresh and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant... really basic and not at low price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet needed replacing

    Size of room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated. Smoking at entrance.

    It was good value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    appearance,outside building was dirty. Pool table broken. Not very patient with kids.

    They kept the bar open till late.Family rooms.Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool opened late and was additional cost which was not clear at time of booking. Wifi was very limited

    The location in relation to the beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Comfortable beds and good shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Carpets in rooms. small room. overall shabby hotel has so much potential to be a great hotel but needs a facelift

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too bad the kitchen cannot be used if you stay for less than 4 nights Quite noisy sometimes

    Nice bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was smaller than expected.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff. Rude, Unhelpful, Argumentative and Anti-English

    leaving on the sunday

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpfulness of staff who told us about the seal colony.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant tres moyen

    Situation near the beach

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Staff were very pleasant, location was superb (just by the beach). Very dog friendly and breakfasts were good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking available. Odours in communal areas. Shabby decor in the hallways

    Room was clean and bathroom had been refurbished

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very comfortable bed. Recently renovated and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It all looked a little dated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel had a shabby appearance - paintwork throughout poor.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated and dirty carpets , plugs sparking on the wall , grubby all round

    It was by the sea

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A pleasant comfortable hotel with very welcoming and efficient staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls so couldn't sleep at all.

    Clean tidy room, nice complementary breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room! Door banged shut very loudly if you didn't hang on to it, and window was either shut or very open, no way of getting just a little ventilation. Ok for a night but could feel quite cramped for a longer stay.

    Well priced room, with very clean & recently refurbished bathroom. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The building was a 'tired'. The breakfast wasn't great. The room was too small for a double bed and had blankets on the bed (very 'old school'). A friend staying in a different room had a 'suite' with a duvet. I didn't understand why I was charged 2 nights at low season rates and 2 nights at high season rates. Who changes the rate in the 3rd week of April. My friend was charged the low season rate for a 3 night stay and the room was much bigger! The lift felt fairly unsafe.

    The shower was good!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bigger room if we had been staying for more than 1 night

    Comfortable beds,quiet room,good breakfast, secure parking dog friendly.Lovely evening meal,friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Some renovations are in progress and all will be very smart when complete.

    Good family accommodation. Comfy beds. Excellent breakfast Helpful reception staff - English spoken!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Disappointed that despite having an apartment room you could not use the kitchenette unless staying for at least four nights.

    A great location, being close to both the town and seafront. Easily walkable to both. The bed was extremely comfortable!!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had booked a premier/comfort room - and as much as it was bog enough, it has been badly maintained - water leak marks, peeling wall paper, bad paint jobs …

    Sauna and pool was good.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shutters were jammed on our window I fixed them by brute force .The floor in the bedroom bounced the wardrobe when you walked across it. The restaurant was very disappointing

    Bed was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Tired old hotel a long way from the town centre. We were very badly affected by mosquitoes overnight (bitten literally hundreds of times) which accounts for the comfort level!

    Friendly staff; good secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The decor was very shabby and in need of attention. Despite alerting to the hotel to my dietary needs I had to provide my own dairy alternatives. Vegetarian meals were advertised in the restaurant but in fact they were simply vegetables with sauce.

    The reception and bar staff were very friendly. There was an efficient lift. The hotel was close to all amenities but slightly away from noise.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tired hotel needs an upgrade dirty carpets in all areas, rooms old fashioned, odd bits of furniture old nylon bed spreads bathrooms need updating. Bad lighting broken light bulbs, room smells fusty and damp.

    Breakfast was good although slow to replenish. Plenty of choice. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very run down. Key card took 3 attempts to work. Not a great dinner menu. No kettle in the room or any drinking water.

    The bed was comfy and a good size

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel description says there is a pool. there is but at a supplement which we thought was expensive if you are only going to use it once

    ideally situated for both beach and town. very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had paid extra for a Superior room which had had a makeover except the floor which was cheap wood laminate old, scratched and marked. The bathroom had a new bath but the tiled floor was damaged and the sink was scratched and marked and the door hadn't been replaced and was cream and rotten at the bottom. The strange thing was, there were no taps for the water to run into the bath, only a shower hose. This fixing for this was connected to the wall a couple of feet above the side of the bath and there was no shower curtain! So what it meant was - the only way to have a shower was lie in the bath, making it impossible to have a stand up shower and hair wash. When we queried this at Reception we were told that they were't aware of the problem as we were the first people to have the room! So does nobody check a room after refurbishment!

    The Bar/lounge area was very nice as was the breakfast room/restaurant. The rest of it was very tired with badly stained carpets tatty wallpaper.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Paid hotel parking was very limited and unavailable. Lack of a mirror and electrical sockets in the room.

    Friendly staff and the food was reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms where looking a little tired...but it did state on reception that the hotel us undergoing refurbishment

    Lovely restaurant and dining area obviously just been refurbished, location was great

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although situated in the older part of Berck, we loved th serenity and old fashioned charm of this hotel. Both being of "advanced years" it suited us perfectly.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When checking out they attempted to charge 69 euros rather than the 55 euros that it was booked at via booking.com. Rooms functional but quite basic

    Good location, good bar.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No serious problems, but the corridors and decoration in our room looked a little tired

    The restaurant was good and the heating worked very well. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm welcome from staff. Simple rooms but very adequate for purpose. Nice continental buffet breakfast in the mornings and good food in the evening from their restaurant. Bar area was very useful! Spa was an optional extra - nice to unwind and relax.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very tired hotel, pealing paint old furniture our view at the back of the hotel looked on a very ugly hotel

    not a lot

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel does need some love and attention

    I found the Bed very comfortable, breakfast hit the spot perfectly and location was excellent

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    one of the beds needs a mattress replacement

    the spa

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    run on a shoestring. no fresh fruit at breakfast, no shower curtain, just a showerhead over the bath

    spacious rooms

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Soundproof not so good. Could hear everything from upstairs room.

    Breakfast was great

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent secure parking and in great location for shops, bars, restaurants and beach

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    will come again

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    ground floor shabby with carpet stains and bathroom in room very smelly.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed bugs in the pull down bed covered in bites all of us

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    hearing other guests in their bedrooms at night time and early morning whilst in my own room particularly snoring!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast a bit of a bun fight

    Premium room spa facilities

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very Good

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly welcoming, helpfull Staff even in English :)

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms quality

    Staff

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: