Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Reims Centre Cathédrale 4 stars

31 Boulevard Paul Doumer, 51723 Reims, France

#24 of 49 hotels in Reims

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1410 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Close to Cathedral and good parking!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con in bar didn't seem to work

    Good location near the cathedral and good to be able to park car on site. Short walk to main area with all the restauants and bars well worth a visit. The bar area was uncomfortably warm but overall a great stay. Staff very friendly and rooms are clean. Coffee provided but in paper/plastic cups in room. Proper cups would be good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable and convenient hotel, in a lovely city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints!

    This hotel is quite a long walk away from the Cathedral! Nonetheless, we found it reasonably convenient. Almost all of the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent, as were the dinners we ate on two nights of our stay. Secure parking was available on-site, which is not always the case in a city hotel and is most welcome when one has a heavily-laden car!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking requires code to get in and out,was not informed at check in,also not informed code required to get out when eventually given code to get in,2 unessesary trips back to reception

    Great value for money,good location,nice beds,effective quiet air con

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel, needs a little TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridor leading to our room had lots of damage to the paintwork and woodwork which took the shine of an otherwise positive visit. Not a fan of the Nespresso coffee machine for breakfast.

    Good location, short walk to Reims centre and cathedral. Quiet, comfortable room. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant expensive Tea / coffee making facilities in room minimalistic Table cleaning confined to top surface only with side panels and underside overlooked. (This is an observation common to many restaurants)

    Good location quite near to Cathedral (15 minute walk) Good restaurant albeit expensive On site parking Comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Ideal for what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, just what we required for a short stop-over.

    Very well situated hotel with good parking facilities. The staff were very friendly and the room was well-appointed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.6
    You would be much better off in all respects staying in the Campanile next door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, corridors were very tired, worn picures, marks on carpet. Room service food left in corridor all night which smelt horrible. Bed lumpy and uncomfortable. 1 small bottle if water, 1 serving of coffee. Very flimsy plastic cups and paper cups for coffee. Very poor toiletries. For a 4* hotel this was a rip-off

    All the staff were very polite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Central for the Cathedral short walk 8 mins to restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No black out curtains or they did not fit

    Central for the Cathedral short walk 8 mins to restaurants close to the main shopping street Mercure are generally a good bet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable room, lovely staff and fab location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom! As above comments.

    Very friendly welcome upon arrival and very helpful - we asked for a dinner recommendation and had a great meal as a result just around the corner from the Cathedral. The room itself was clean and comfortable, beds were great but the bathroom was tiny!!! It was comical really - a real squeeze to negotiate the bathroom door and then squeeze around it to get to the shower!!! Then the loo was separate which is always good but again tiny and reeked of smoke - we were in a no-smoking room. We just didn't understand the layout of the bathroom and felt it was a bit silly! But overall it was all good, public parking just around the corner was very reasonable in price and secure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Good Hotel with excellent location and friendly staff. Food was very good especially the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Mercure sign does not stand out well enough so we drove past the Hotel initially.

    The room was very clean and well presented. Would have preferred English breakfast tea in the room, but I never got round to asking for it. The Breakfast was very good and plenty of variety including bacon scrambled egg and sausage. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which again was very good indeed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Superior room was worth the extra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plastic glasses in the bathroom and cardboard cups for coffee.

    Superior room was worth the extra. Hotel easy to find not far from the motorway, good parking and central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.0
    Reception area large
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived they had booked someone else with the same surname into our room. They had no extra pillows. The room was basic I had initially requested a room with a bath but they had given this away. The receptionist was very unsympathetic - this annoyed me the most. The breakfast was 18 euros each but not nice !

    Reception area large

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.3
    The location is good for Reims.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is getting very worn and the showers do not have full doors. I really do not think this represents good value for money.

    The location is good for Reims.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location, but a dissapointed due to handling of problems etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First we had a room with a specific, repetitive noise..at the reception we were told they had no option to switch rooms...however...we heard about a wrong booking by someone and they got a suite with a bottle of champagne. After a long discussion, we were given another room, less comfortable, smaller, ... so we actuallty went from a "superior" room to a 'normal' room for the same price...It's also time for all thr renovational works to end. Some years ago we were at the same hotel and at that time works were already ongoing. The champagnelist of the bar, showed lots of good champagnes which they no longer had...so quite dissapointed in this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds was the only draw back small for a double and not comfortable

    the breakfast was expensive, the beds OK, really good staff, on site restaurant excellent, easy walking distance to centre of town/cathedral on site parking lots of plus's for this Hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant. Better breakfast selection than most other hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren’t aware when we booked that work was taking place on the terrace which was noisy. Guests should have been notified at the point of booking. Given the numbers of people now consuming plant based diets (Vegan), hotels need to better cater for this group via healthy food options such as unsweetened plant based milk, yogurts, spreads etc. and label cereals as to whether they are suitable for Vegan and also Vegetarian diets.

    Good choice at breakfast including plant based milk. Fresh chopped fruit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    An overrated 3 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lobby is the only 4 star looking "picture". The rooms have broken walls, doors, wardrobes etc. and the halls look like the second world war just ended (old and ugly carpet, broken wood boards, dirty walls). You have to have a "Première" room in order to be provided with slippers, bathrobe (the only difference between standard and première). I cannot say that the staff is nice overall (with a few exceptions) and you have to make a scandal in order to be treated as you should be treated: a 4 star hotel guest. Coffee is horrible (machines only in SOME rooms), they have ugly plastic cups, and the kettle was smelly. Toiletries are not that great either. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

    Well positioned, even though the area is not a beautiful one. It is 10 minute walk away from the Cathedral. I appreciated that after filing an official complaint, the manager investigated the situation and made sure I was upgraded to a superior room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    3.8
    Position is good for visiting by walk the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very old style room. Still in Mercure style but very oldish and not spacious. Breakfast was poor. Not worth 19 EUR extra payment!

    Position is good for visiting by walk the city

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.8
    Not bad and would go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place looks just a bit tired, but the rooms were good and the shower very good

    The check in was poor and the member of staff mumbled along, however the room was OK and the location good with only a short walk to the centre of Reims. The hotel was alright, but the overall service was poor Great location though

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    3.3
    not what to expect from this hotel
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    phone got stolen and no help in any way. security camera everywhere with no use if it not benefit themselves. staff is not educated on how to talk to customers

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    A good hotel which we shall use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poorly supervised, the choice is excellent but the eggs would not cook because the water was not boiling, the hard boiled egg was black inside and the scrambled egg was cold.

    We have stayed here several times,, it is well located with a good restaurant for dinner in the evening

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    5.4
    Very close to city center, but this is not the only hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very cold evening. Heating was not working properly (or too low to save money). When asked, in the middle of the night, staff could not care less (or could not do anything). Very bad experience

    Very close to city center, but this is not the only hotel there. There are at least four close to each other. Good breakfast. Easy to reach. Good parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is modern and stylish and the rooms are nicely designed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at Reims Centre Cathédrale for 1 night. The hotel is modern and stylish and the rooms are average size, nicely designed. There is good free Wi-Fi and refrigerator. Lower floors bathrooms were maybe little bit worn out but everything was really clean. Parking conveniently under the hotel and easily accessed by lift. You can just drive in parking but you will need code to drive out. Absolutely wonderful stuff! Location is great just 10-15 minutes’ walk for the bar/restaurant area and the Cathedral. Good value for money. We have stayed in many times and will definitely go back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    The Hotel was well located within easy reach of the City...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel was well located within easy reach of the City Centre and a 5 - 10 minute walk from the Cathedral and main attractions. The rooms were of an adequate size which can be a bit of a rarity in France and very comfortable. There was no shortage of food at Breakfast with plenty to choose to set you up for the day. All in all we would have no hesitation is staying again in the future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, well-appointed central location, a short walk from main shopping & eating locations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room decor was - to me - a little on the "dark / gloomy" side, despite adequate lighting, but perhaps darker soft-furnishings are easier to maintain or are better wearing than pastel colours? An electrical failure on the wall plugs couldn't be resolved immediately, so a very minor "irritation" vis-a-vis recharging my cellphone but a plus was TV couldn't be switched on so more sleep in its place!

    Front of house staff were all very helpful throughout our short overnight stay, with a remarkably good self-service breakfast selection to suit a wide variety of tastes, with great quality and ingredients. Despite our room nominally being on "1st floor" - in reality, there's a double height atrium with restaurant and bar on their mezzanine level, such that I could not hear any discernible traffic noise from the adjacent main road. Room was comfortable, with plenty of storage; bathroom with shower over bath has been recently modernised and all fittings worked as they should.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.4
    It's a 3 star hotel using its nice front of house as a facade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small, the bed hard and uncomfortable, bathroom is small and the shower soaked the floor. Corridor is long narrow dark and depressing.

    The hotel staff and public spaces are good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.3
    nice room with extra amenties like bathrobe and slippers,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is not so clean, price is high for what you get, prices in hotelbar high, breakfast is very normal.

    nice room with extra amenties like bathrobe and slippers, nespresso machine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Its in a good position just off the motorway and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived at the restaurant for dinner at 7.00 the waitress looked at her watch as if to say we were too early. The breakfast is not very good, expensive for what is on offer.

    Its in a good position just off the motorway and the staff in reception are very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.4
    I would not stay here again. Hotel needs a refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was not to the standard for the price bracket. Toilet had been repaired but was still broken and leaking and new fitting did not fit properly so gap was exposed. Room needed refurbishment and bathroom was not so clean. Parking underground was very expensive considering price for room. Should be free for guests really or small additional charge.

    reasonably close to city centre. Short walk. Service of ladies at breakfast was good i.e. they were helpful. Secure parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Met Joanna Lumley at the main door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was expensive 18.50 each. There was a cheaper option but we were not told about it. Only discovered a few tables in the bar had been laid up for coffee and rolls on our way out. Still 9.50

    Met Joanna Lumley at the main door

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    4.6
    wont go again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this is not in a great location , with the motorway outside immediatly . Its very expensive and really just set up for business users . The bedroom was tiny

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    All ok stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    City tax not included in the bill in advance. Didn't like dark carpet. Could do better in breakfast for vegetarians.

    Bed was comfortable, washroom was clean, room was comfortable and dark for good night sleep with no noise. TV has few English options.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location and staff. Small quiet comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly and very helpful. Location was an 8 minute walk from the cathedral and 15 minutes from the train and surrender museum. Grocery store is 5 minutes walk on the way to cathedral

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.4
    Poor food, uncomfortable bed, not the treat we expected at the end of a long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rock hard. We slept better in our tent the previous week. The food was truely terrible (and expensive). We got a refund for one of the two meals.

    There was secure parking (about 10 euros per night though so expensive).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.6
    dissapointed in Mercure chain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) hotel rooms need renovation, at least doors and coners (pics are attached) 2) cleanliness & personnel service - dirty cups in the room from previous quests, new ones were not provided by request

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent place to stay to access city's main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor and corridors are a bit dowdy

    Comfortable and well equipped room Excellent breakfast in pleasant room and surroundings Secure and easy access car park in centre of city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.2
    I had booked a privilege room but I wouldn't again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was terrible, the room was constantly roasting. There was dried on mascara (not mine) on the pillow which was never changed during my 7 night stay. Room was very dated, cleanliness wasn't great. The carpet looked old and dirty. I wouldn't class this as a four star hotel at all (apart from the price I had to pay). The pillows weren't at all comfortable.

    The breakfast was amazing! Ten minute walk to the town centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Good for a stopover. Will be returning there on the way home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent for an overnight stop after coming across the Channel. V good location, 10 min walk to the cathedral -a must see! Staff helpful. Secure parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    The atmosphere was relaxing, the restaurant food was very...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was about a 10 minute walk into the centre and had been described as being in the centre

    The atmosphere was relaxing, the restaurant food was very good with a nice bar area. Friendly staff, pet friendly as well I couldn't have asked for more really

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Because I booked through Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because I booked through Booking.com the hotel did not know that I was travelling with 3 children so we did not have connecting rooms. The receptionist said that I should have booked directly and not through a subsidiary. I had to pay extra to upgrade to a junior suite which was 2 interconnecting rooms but instead of beds had sofas.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    very noisy, quite expensive in relation to its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel is advertised as "at cathedrale, in the city centre", in reality is located about 15 min from cathedrale and city centre, but very close to a quite busy higway, eg forget to keep your window opened

    comfortable rooms and service, very good choise for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Good diner, good breakfast, good garage but 12 euros.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked twin room. Upgraded to twin suite sounds good but each bed in separate room.

    Good diner, good breakfast, good garage but 12 euros. Staff helpful, but busy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    2.5
    We were allowed a room a few hours earlier than check in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of the laundry service was not explained and so the price was a shock! Wifi very patchy and slow. Overall the decor was very outdated and poorly maintained.

    We were allowed a room a few hours earlier than check in which was the best thing about the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.1
    Average Stay nothing outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was in proximity to the Cathedral not alongside as the name would imply. It wasn't up to the normal Mecure standard and somewhat worn out. Paid €12.50 for parking on site.

    Reasonably priced. Bed was comfortable and bathroom facilities adequate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most uncomfortable bed ever, no parking on site, with push bikes taking up parking bays and bad parking from guests taking up 2 spaces, reception staff were not interested. Poor express breakfast, this hotel is in need of some tlc

    Convenient to city centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    Good for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower cabin was so extremely small, it was very difficult to get into.

    Easy to get to from the motorway whilst, at the same time, being very near to the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Straightforward and comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showing its age in places.

    Straightforward and comfortable place to stay. Does what it says on the tin. Good place to stop off on the way to or from the ferry.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location for visiting Reims, with parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to arrange the room so that the lady guests can sit comfortably in front of a mirror with a hair drier in order to dry and style their hair.

    Very comfortable bed. Good sized room, overlooked the river and we had an excellent view of the firework display on the evening of 13th July. Parking was good, easy walking distance of the Reims cathedral and also for the visit to Lanson.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel great location next to the cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Organisation à bit haphazard this time

    Great hotel good location and quality facilities. Had a problem as room was given to another guest by mistake but eventually rectified and free upgrade given

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Would return - Good location & parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior of the hotel could do with an update to match the interior quality.

    The location of the hotel is great, we traveled by car from Calais and it was only a short distance from the motorway junction. It's also only a 5 minute walk to the edge of the main shopping / eating area of Reims. The parking facility was also ideal, there are at a guess 50/60 parking spaces in the underground car park which has a code to exit so quite secure. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. All round a great stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.0
    Air con good & quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived in garage & it was really smelly - leaking pipes & a man sweeping smelly water away. Room had peeling paint in a couple of areas. Shower side panel does not stop water spraying on to the floor.

    Air con good & quiet. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room excellent...Only problem was the air conditioning not good....Difficult to get cold air into the room...

    Great breakfast..All staff friendly and welcoming...Great location for autoroute and town centre/cathedral/shops/restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.3
    Lovely staff, but disappointed by the physical aspect of the hotel. Needs refreshing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs some serious refreshing. Not up to a 4* standing. The toilet in my room didn't work, so I had to change rooms on day 2 of my stay. No help to move, no kind or commercial gesture for the inconvenience, plus the new room wasn't ready for me when I turned up with armfuls of bags (I was previously informed that it was ready)... Am quite disappointed, was expecting better.

    Check-in experience very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The bar staff very pleasant. Easy parking - either pay for underground, or free for outdoor and street parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    4.2
    No sleep 'till ... never.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con broken in room, couldnt fix it, couldn't move us. Promised to provide portable air con, actually sent a fan which was totally useless. Had to sleep with windows open but as it's next to a very busy road we didn't sleep at all. Discounted our parking on check out as compensation, not good enough. Hotel as expected but in the event of something going wrong don't expect adequate management.

    Easy to find, pets allowed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though a good quality hotel I think they are pushing the bounds of value for money. I'm all for profitability but the bar prices are extortionate. We had 4 drinks in total and the bill came to €46, nearly the same price as the evening meal we'd just had and that included a drink! Only other thing we found was the beds in the room were a little hard, but each to there own I suppose.

    Clean, fresh hotel. The staff were very approachable and happy to assist with any query. Everything in the room you would expect, including a mini fridge and safe. About 10-15 minutes walk from Reims centre and 5-10 minutes walk to the cathedral.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    5.8
    the hotel location and reception staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    there were 2 coach parties at breakfast and the staff could not cope with the high demand, on arrival there was no fruit 3 trays were empty , there were no crossaints, the bread was virtually nil , and the coffee machine queue was to long. so not good at all.

    the hotel location and reception staff were excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    3.8
    Bugs in the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was bitten by bugs in my bed. 16 stinging, itchy, swollen bites all over me. We identified them as dog ticks - probably from the dogs who stay in the hotels with their owners. When I mentioned this to reception they only offered to change rooms, we were leaving that day - thankfully only staying the one night - as i was then itching all over with swollen bites all over me. I requested some money back or some compensation for the antihistamines I then had to purchase, but nothing. Another guest in our party also was bitten in their room. And air conditioning did not work in their room. I would most definitely not return after being bitten by the bug. I am not sure how you can miss them in the sheets! I found two....

    View of stadium from room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt slightly let down. The room was clean , crisp and tidy but the air conditioner didn't work and as it was approximately 33 degrees when we were there it felt very uncomfortable and we didn't sleep. We reported the problem that evening and no one came to look and sort it out. I was expecting something exceptional for dinner from looking at the website but it wasn't . I would recommend eating out at a loacl restaurant as what we ate was generic at the hotel.

    The location was good for exploring

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    5.4
    Definitely not four star!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were hard, we used spare duvets underneath the bottom sheet for extra padding Staff were less than enthusiastic. Seemed disinterested. We will be letting the management know some of the issues. We felt it wasn't just us, as they seemed to have that general attitude towards everyone. Restaurant food was average.

    Reasonably close to city centre Breakfast food was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    4.2
    Won't return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small. First room we checked into on the top floor was very warm. We asked how to turn on the air conditioning and were told there is no air available, as the whole building is on either heating or air conditioning. We moved to a lower floor where the temperature was at least tolerable. Location was okay with very few restaurants close to the hotel. When we booked we thought there would be many restaurants close to the property. Despite the name "Centre Cathedral", the cathedral is 7/10 mile away and the main restaurant square is almost the same distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    Unnecessary comments
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I avoid the first contact with the check in receptionist, saying that we would receive worse accomodations due to our reservation at Booking instead of reservating direct on the hotel/Accor site. It was unpleasant and they were not offering the category room we needed.

    I like the restaurant and the indication to attend to the lights show hold at the Cathedral during the weekends at 10PM.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fine but not as good as the other Mercure hotels we stayed in this trip

    The location was ideal, near the cathedral and the centre of town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Nice location; very comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was fantastic as we were able to walk to the downtown and restaurants very easily. In addition, the Champagne region is easily accessible by car from this location. There is a very nice footpath along the river across the street.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.3
    the reception staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in restaurant were very unhelpful and rude when asked for 2 more tea bags telling me each room was only allowed 2 tea bags per stay! and would not give any more milk

    the reception staff were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    6.7
    Clean but opportunistic in charges.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What we did not like was that parking was limited outside, the suggestion that they have parking also applies to the covered part. The entry to the garage is a damaging experience for your your car particularly if you have a low car. In other hotels that we stayed in Reims parking was never charged, it was free of charge. In this hotel they charge although other of the same chain in the same region do not charge. Reception was very rude when asked to help clarify this point. Room service was non existent. When we arrived late we asked if they knew of a plan wher we could get food and they were not very helpful.

    The hotel was clean and well presented. The welcome when we arrived was warm and the room was comfortable. Breakfast was simple but good with all the elements.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Returning home via Reims - A real GEM and so central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that comes to mind.

    The room was great, the staff all helpful, returning from holiday so car had lots of things in it so the underground parking was a real bonus. The restaurant was such a great space the food was first class and we liked the wine pairing suggestions. Would book again when we are going through France.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.7
    At check out we were asked to pay extra for breakfast, even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check out we were asked to pay extra for breakfast, even though the lady at the breakfast room had told us that breakfast was included. After refuted this with the the receptionist she also told me that there was an additional charge for us to use the car park. The receptionist the night before when we arrived had not mentioned anything about there being a charge for parking. I refuted the charge again and the receptionist said she had cancelled the charges and I thought everything was OK. However on checking my bank account I can see that I have been charged two extra charges and when trying to claim back, Mecure have twice ignored my request to look into it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.5
    Convenient stay over with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good food in the restaurant. Even though they were very busy the standard and service was very good. Used this hotel many time when driving down to the Alps

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.1
    Good enough for a stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly our evening meal was not great - slow service, grumpy waitress and one meal that never turned up!! (with no apology.) One of the four rooms we had smelt strongly of smoke. Others were fine.

    Breakfast was great, reception staff were friendly, room was clean, location is fab- very easy to get to and big car park just down the road.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.6
    Hotel was great will stay again ( from Australia) tops .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was wrong with this hotel & we stayed new years eave & it was quite.

    Very convenient location clean & modern,parking good , breakfast great . Our two sons & there families stayed as well & there very large rooms were also great. Will stay again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    4.2
    Glad we only stayed one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both throws on the beds had several stains on them. The pillows were not good. The bathroom floor was grubby. The carpet wasn't vacuumed properly. The corridors were very scruffy. Dinner was mediocre.

    Parking - underground garage with large spaces. Good variety of breakfast items. Good quality bed linen.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    7.9
    Reims is a lovely old city S2
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The chambermaid knocked at the door before 9 am. And also the system to car parking is nonsense, we couldn't get out, we rang the bell and had to wait a long time.

    Friendly stuff at the bar. Well located, just a few minutes from the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    5.5
    Staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not very clean, particularly the floor. Heating in room not working. We asked for and were given an electric heater.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    6.9
    the bar was good , service was good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    didn't enjoy location next to motorway - room a bit warm as we couldn't leave window open

    the bar was good , service was good . WIFI very good- room good overall

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.6
    I left some medication in my roomon departure and phoned...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I left some medication in my roomon departure and phoned fromUK to see if they had been found. They are now on their way to uk with compliments of hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: