Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Reine Mathilde 2 stars

23 Rue Larcher, 14400 Bayeux, France

#3 of 19 hotels in Bayeux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1481 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    GOOD BASE FOR NORMANDY TOUR
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our allocated room was situated at the end of the first-floor corridor over the bar/Restaurant/kitchen area. This resulted in very disturbed sleep as these areas were cleaned and reset for the next day after the bar closed at 2200 and a great deal of noise was generated by sliding furniture. On our last night a birthday party moved to the terrace outside when the bar closed and continued until gone midnight. The duty member of staff offered to move us on the first night but to a room on the third floor and up a further 3 flights of steep stairs which my wife could not manage – we stayed put.

    Stayed here for 4 nights in October 18 in a standard double room. The hotel location is excellent nearly opposite the Cathedral with only a short walk to the centre of town. The room was of a reasonable size with two dining type chairs, a small counter next to a very small single wardrobe and no drawers necessitating use of a suitcase. The shower room was exceptionally small with a cubicle, sink and toilet. Both rooms were very clean and the shower room had recently been refurbished. The mattress was on the firm side. The staff were excellent throughout, warm and friendly at all times and worked together well. Service was excellent but we noticed that only two members were on duty at breakfast – one at the bar – and one covering the buffet breakfast area and reception at the same time which caused gaps in service. The food generally was of a very good standard and price especially the Moules. Overall the 10.50 euros for the buffet breakfast is good value, was well presented and varied but the “hot” food consisting of Scrambled Egg, Bacon & haricot beans was often on the cool side as guests or staff failed to close the lid! Coffee was acceptable but from a machine. The bar and restaurant were very busy most of the day – food is served from 7am to 10pm – and there is a lovely atmosphere. Parc Michel Ornano which is free from 7pm to 9am each day and .60 cents per 15mins thereafter and was very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.8
    Great location, enjoyable dinner, no hotel car park, small, noisy room with no a/c
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our allocated room was very small and immediately above the restaurant terrace. There was no air conditioning and therefore the windows had to be opened and it was very noisy late into the night, and from the early hours in the morning.

    The hotel is in an excellent location in the centre of Bayeaux!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, reasonable rate. Breakfast is a bargain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator.

    This property rates higher than two stars. Excellent location in the heart of Bayeux. Nice Cafe is part of the hotel. Breakfast is very good for 10 Euros. Request a room across the street in the annex to avoid several flights of stairs. There’s no elevator.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Hotel Reine Mathilde
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were very steep although the staff helped us with our luggage when we checked in!

    The staff was very helpful and accommodating! The room though small was very nice!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was wonderful! We will definitely come back and highly recommend to others

    Everything from location to service to accommodations was WONDERFUL!!! And their breakfast buffet was incredible! The very best in all of France!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Nice size room and great restaurant underneath in excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy when the trucks would deliver food, etc during the night to the hotel. No tea, coffee or fridge in room.

    Nice size room and great restaurant underneath in excellent location. Walking from train station easy, and tour pick up location within 30m. Great breakfast!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place would stay here again, near to the cathedral and Bayeux tapestry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was wifi but we could not connect to it.

    Loved the place, the room, the restaurant, and the staff were very nice and helpful. The breakfasts were lovely too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    We picked the best spot for us to stay. Would love to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As in many small old European towns parking can be an issue. Free parking is available with a short walk. Appears very safe.

    Desk staff was wonderful. Location is perfect. Attached restaurant has good food, nice staff and open 16 hours per day. Hotel is central in the town. Wi-Fi services excellent. English is spoken.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Very convenient location but parking is a bit inconvenient. Great staff and comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The young lady at the front desk was tremendous and surpassed our expectations. Super friendly, helpful in terms of recommendations and even helped carry bags up several flights of stairs. Breakfast was excellent as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel right behind the cathedral of Bayeux
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the first hotel in which I couldn't open the shampoo packet, which is rather annoying when you are already under the shower.

    The location was perfect, right behind the cathedral. Breakfast was OK. I had a nice little room right under the roof.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    I'd recommended this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Bayeux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant that was attached, was brutal compared to what I'm used to. Sooooo slow almost being ignored if you were there for just some drinks. Food quality was supreme, just beautiful!

    I found the beds were a little harder than what I'm used to but the double bed room was sufficient for what we needed. The staff were very accommodating and knew enough English as I knew little but enough French to be able to communicate with. A beautiful and elegant village away from hustle and bustle.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Great except for the fire risk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two flights of stairs and no lift in annexe. Also we were in the attic and windows were locked and no fire extinguisher on our floor , we felt very uncomfortable as we could have been in a very dangerous situation had a fire occurred. It was the last night of the holiday so we hoped it would be ok . But it isn’t very satisfactory.

    Wonderful Location and good friendly service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    Loved Bayeau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was street-side and very noisy. With no ac we had to keep window open which only contributed to more noise.

    Great location and clean rooms. Convenience of a restaurant as part of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Well located, quality, relaxed and friendly place. Great place as a jumping off point for the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel operates a 'no reception' policy which is fashionable these days - with people doing multiple roles but I like a hotel where there is someone who is a dedicated receptionist that I can talk to without having to go and look for them in the bar. Also there are no areas for sitting around except for the hotel rooms (eg. there's no terrace or similar) and you can't really sit in the restaurant very long. The hotel is limited in this aspect as it isn't big but it would be something that would influence rebooking.

    It was really friendly, relaxed and with a great restaurant. It's wonderfully located right in the middle of Bayeux too. It has a classy but efficient feel with people knowing their jobs and giving good service. The guide given to the area on arrival was very good and on the back of that I went on an excellent walking tour which was one of the highlights of my stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    The location was ideal and it was very efficiently run.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was over the restaurant and we retire early, so it was a bit noisy. The fan in the room closet saved the day.

    The location was ideal and it was very efficiently run. The breakfast was a good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly located and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has a great little bar and restaurant that attracts a lot of fairly rowdy locals. This made it impracticable for us to get an evening meal on site. Room on 3rd floor with no elevator also posed a challenge with our heavy bags, but assistance provided by the check-in lady was appreciated.

    Excellent location in the centre of everything. Great attic room in annex with exposed beams and sloping ceiling. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay in a nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to park in a public car park which was ok, but we had to get back there early in the morning to put a ticket on the car, otherwise the hotel would have been perfect.

    This was a stopover for us, so just one night. Bayeux is very nice and this hotel was good for what we wanted.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Location of room , ground floor , quiet area ,pretty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet self service breakfast and breakfast dining area was OK but not up to standard of the room !

    Location of room , ground floor , quiet area ,pretty location ,parking easy to locate , all in Centre of Bayeux.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Trip to Bayaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The room that we were given only had a sky light for ventilation, but on opening it, the cooking smells from the kitchens extraction fan were overwhelmingly bad. We had to ask for a room change, which was ok, but it was a smaller room. 2. The hotel generally was in need of a refresh, very tired in places and the stairwell was perticuarly smelly. 3. The breakfast was possibly the worst we've ever had, poor choice/quality and it's location was dreadful as it was in the middle of 2 seating areas which meant people were packed in trying to get through with their food while others were trying to find seats. 4. Poor parking.

    It's location was excellent for the sights of Bayeux.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent. Really enjoyed our stay. Location couldn't be better for a visit to Bayeux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was disappointing. Too expensive (especially the drinks) for its level of quality. The manager said we could order quite late, so we did, but waiters seemed much less happy with that choice.

    Location great. Manager & staff very helpful & friendly. We had a studio, which great - very comfortable & full of character with renovated old building by the stream.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Noisy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room next to the street, we could listen to all of the cars going by from early morning. Walls didn't isolate noises, we could listen to all the pipes and people on the nearby rooms.. not a very quiet night. We felt our room wasn't worth the money.

    The location was great, next to the town. We had dinner and breakfast and it was lovely. The staff was nice and approachable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Charmant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the restaurant coming from the pipes outside our window. Only during the day. Ok at night though.

    All very nice and handy. Very clean. Small room but absolutely lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    This hotel was magical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was magical. Everything about it was perfect - the room, the staff, the outdoor areas. I had the best dinner in France at their restaurant. I would love to come back here someday.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Overall good stay and satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit overpriced (perhaps not for the area, but in comparison to other hotels in France with bigger rooms and more amenities).

    The room was clean and comfortable, and the location was excellent (just across the street from the Cathedral. The restaurant food was good and the service very good. There was no air condition (small, older hotel and it was August) but they did provide a fan in the room and we were not uncomfortable. The staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Very pleasurable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff were extremely frendly and helpfull, the room was very clean and comfortable and the restaurant food value for money and delicious. I would differently recomend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed it, overall a nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is terrible. We arrived and almost missed our excursion trying to find a place to park. Please give clear directions, or better yet a hand out map of parking location for those of us visiting. Literally ran a half mile to make our excursion.

    Central to everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    The location was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't dislike anything about the property but the hotel has no private parking so was a little difficult some nights to find parking close by. There is a free car park area a short distance from the hotel but we used the car parks closer and topped up the meters as and when we needed to.

    The location was amazing! The suite was lovely, very spacious and very clean. The receptionist was so lovely and welcoming. We had a fabulous stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    It was a nice room, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the hotel was a bit expensive for what you got and most of the staff were not very welcoming or service oriented. I was made to wait a lot which is totally understandable if it is busy but it wasn’t.

    It was a nice room, comfortable. The bathroom had recently been remodeled. Everything was clean which is a number one factor for me. Bed and pillows were okay. Had a fan but not very strong/cheap. Had to have it right by the bed blowing directly on me as it was warm. The young girl working at the front desk was very friendly and very helpful. I unfortunately do not recall her name but she made up for the other desk staff member and the restaurant staff who were not so pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Great place to stay. If you want AC, you need to pay for a "premium" room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning, no conditioner (only shampoo and soap) was offered.

    The room was clean, staff were helpful, all our tours departed from this hotel. Complimentary croissants all day long, except during the breakfast hours was a real bonus!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    I enjoyed my stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that the "free parking" was too far away. Also there was no air conditioning in the room and it was hot as hell!

    Location was awesome

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice location, great restaurant in front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn't available most of the time (busy with the restaurant). Wifi didn't work at all. When we asked they said it was a city wide problem which was hard to believe. The next day another employee said it was solved again by just resetting the modem, which I already thought, but didn't help us anymore. We told them this but no discount was given to compensate. The beds weren't the most comfy ones, but ok. I think the price for what you get is a bit high.

    Nice location, great restaurant in front. Clean room. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good buffet breakfast, plenty of free parking a short walk away on the ring road. Perfectly located in the centre of town, a few minutes walk from the Tapestry, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Location, rooms and service brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside is the parking. We were lucky we found something close by

    The location is excellent and rooms are lovely. Should be classed as 4 Star not 2 Star

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stayed overnight and could not find fault with anything.

    ideally situated for cathedral visit and seeing bayou in general, the staff were very helpful and friendly. we ate there in the evening and would thoroughly recommend the food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    A lovely stay in pretty Bayeux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives

    The accommodation was self contained, independent access, good interior and amenities. The location was central and parking across from the Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place to visit Bayeux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lights turn on automatically in the loo, so you can't avoid getting blinded during the night :-)

    Very helpful staff. We were located on 3rd floor, but the staff carried our luggage. It turned out that the WIFI was broken and they had an repairman working on it. When it was discovered that it couldn't be fixed, we got upgraded to a really nice room in the annex. The room was next to the river and very comfortable. Restaurant was very busy, but with good food and service. The central location makes it easy to visit the Tapestry Museum, before the hordes in busses arrive from Paris.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    The location was excellent, although no specific parking was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent, although no specific parking was available it was plentiful and accessible closely to the hotel. The room was spotless, breakfast was great and the staff spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.6
    HOT at night trying to sleep in a converted attic unit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    HOT. Some of the units do not have AC. I did not think this was going to be a big deal but the unit we stayed in was a converted attic with no way to open the windows. So it was HOT. We really did not use the room for anything other then sleeping. So it was uncomfortable when we slept. The units with ac are probably more expensive. Rookie mistake traveling to Europe. If I would ever return to any place in Europe I would inquire that the units have ac and that it is working. Many places advertise AC but when you get there it is not working. Then they apologize and it is to late to find another place to stay and you will be HOT when you try and sleep. They also do not have elevators, or as they call them lifts in some of their buildings. So if you have heavy luggage, which we did, then you will have to carry your stuff up to the attic. Other then these things our stay was wonderful. LOL

    They serve a nice breakfast. The unit was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is in the heart of town and walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Challenge with parking our car as had to be moved by 8 a.m. each morning.

    The hotel is in the heart of town and walking distance to Cathedral, Tapestries, and the start of Normandy beaches tours.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Great Location Huge Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air-con. No fridge. Leaking basin. Food & service disappointing at hotel restaurant.

    Well-appointed huge room. Room was bigger than we expected and soo comfortable! Huge king size bed. Lounge, desk, huge bathroom, large wardrobe, kettle, Nespresso coffee machine In a fantastic 'botanic garden' & canal setting with a resident cat! Location was perfect near cathedral & main street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel, catering staff need a lesson in politeness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was hectic and had to queue for the coffee machine and toaster. Car parking was a long way away but after hours most were free until 09.00 next day.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    We were happy with our stay at Reine Mathilde and loved staying in the town of Bayeux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Reine Mathilde is conveniently located in the center of Bayeux. Great restaurants, shops and bars are located walking distant from the hotel. Also, they have amazing complementary croissants at reception daily.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't reach our room. We got signal in the stair case but not inside.

    Loved opening the window and having the fan bring in the fresh air. The hotel was right around the corner from where our tour shuttle met.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Very nice, convenient hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wish the late staff had known/remembered to tell us that the hotel sponsored buffet breakfast stopped at 10 AM. We went for an early but long walk and missed it. It wasn't free, but it would have been a good way to have a brunch to hold us until dinner.

    The hotel staff stayed up to let us in when our train arrived at midnight. We really appreciated this as our B&B would not accept us this late. The room was very comfortable with an excellent bed. There was a basket of yummy chocolate croissants in the lobby! The cheese omelette from the restaurant was very tasty. Very nice coffee, too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and for a 2 star city centre property it was almost perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were located on the top and the property does not have a lift. No a problem for us, but for infirm guests this might be a worry. Otherwise, the hotel is excellent and highly recommended

    This is a 2 star property? Great location, spotlessly clean with very good staff. The breakfast was exceptional for a 2 star. Although we didn't eat in the Bistro, it looked very good, was always busy and had a great atmoshphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough hot water - had a few cold showers :(

    Very charming and clean. There is a basket with free pain au chocolate after breakfast, in the reception area :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location for exploring Bayeux and the Normandy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking can be a bit of a challenge so expect a short walk to your car.

    Perfect location for exploring Bayeux and the Normandy beaches. In-hotel restaurant is convenient, fun and has a wonderful terrace to enjoy the pretty setting. Rooms are modestly sized but very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Room was quiet and the bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is NOT FREE. Only parking is street parking, which is very limited and only free overnight (7pm-9am) and a lot of that parking was not available due to street closures related to the D-Day festivities. The WiFi worked in most of the hotel, but, not in Room 9. (It even worked in the hallway right outside the room!) Hotel staff didn't know anything about it (such as IF there was a wifi booster that could be rebooted or something.

    Room was quiet and the bed comfortable. Location compared to Cathedral and Bayeux Tapestry very convenient. Fine for one night stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Good with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a nice room at the back but the light fixture was broken. They fixed it but we were awakened at 6 am by kitchen noise. They changed our room the next night and gave us free breakfast. However, the room we were given was smaller and not as nice as the first room because the hotel was fully booked. The staff was wonderful, and even allowed me to use a washer and dryer. They put out the leftover breakfast pastries in the lobby.....Nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Mathilde hotel is the place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic property, welcoming and great staff and good restaurant. Perfect location for great views of the cathedral and close to Bayeux tapestry and pIck up for d-day tours.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Two different experiences!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room at the front on the road the first night and was very noisy.

    Was staying again 3 days later on way back through. Asked staff if we could have a quieter room than previous stay and they did so. By some stroke of luck we were also upgraded to a prestige room which was fabulous. Very different to first nights budget stay. Would definitely recommend upgrading if it's a possibility. Was like being in a different hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Simply perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was that there was no extractor fan in the bathroom so smells and steam weren’t easily dispersed.

    Superb location, comfortable, very clean, friendly helpful staff, great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    restful and restorative. Perfect really, but much too short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking always generates some anxiety in these little old towns, but we were reassured by staff, and everything worked out fine for us! We only had breakfast in your restaurant, so I can't really comment on its ambience.

    Your staff are great ambassadors for your hotel, on the phone and in person. Barbara (I believe) is priceless, with friendly, reassuring attitude. Her facility with English was a bonus. Our Prestige room in the annex was a surprise upgrade, and we both said "I'm not leaving ever" after the woman from the desk hauled my wife's heavy suitcase over to the room. Up-to-date features in a bright spacious room with stone walls, quiet private courtyard setting is what we would always seek but never expect to find. The perfect blend of the old and new. I must comment on the quality of workmanship in our room. I tend to be critical and have never observed such perfection in the finish of a hotel room, regardless of age, from colour choices to curtains, wall paint and paper, bathroom fixtures and tile to the fit of windows and doors. And everything WORKED!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    My wife and I stayed at the Reine Mathilde to enable a visit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We have no complaints. Everything was superb.

    My wife and I stayed at the Reine Mathilde to enable a visit to both Bayeux and the Normandy beaches. We were more than satisfied with all aspects of the hotel, the staff, the grounds, and the location. We were most impressed and will definitely stay with you when next we visit Normandy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    great location, great value, would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom shower - water would leak out of the shower onto the floor making everything a little slippery

    large room, comfy bed, friendly staff, wonderful location and great views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    loved bayeux and hotel was fabulous, but do not take a cab from brittany ferries!! very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was difficult to get to bayeux because we were not renting a car and we had taken brittany ferries on a sunday because it worked best with our travel plans. we would have needed to take a bus to caen and then a train and would have been several hours so we took a cab thinking it would be between 50 and 60 euros which is what we were told and found online. it cost 110 euro!!! ouch!!! it may be well worth it for all hotels to get together and offer a shuttle service.

    we're given a surprise upgrade which was lovely. room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    A great stay in a nice town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    We received an upgrade to their adjacent building. The room was excellent, a good size and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good, although the daily cost was €10.50 per person

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Overall this hotel was great and the staff were all very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our standard room was very cramped and the bathroom was small. The shower had very little room.

    The staff were all very helpful and friendly, and the location was in the center of town with lots of shops and restaurants. Also very clean. The staff even helped us program the gps in our car from French to English and program our new destination to return the car. Very close to Normandy where we had hired a tour guide to take us there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely food, great location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room just need to be a bit bigger. It had a big bed which was comfortable but I would have liked a bit more room as there was only about a foot of space round the bed. The bathroom was nice but the toilet was on the wrong wall so you could bearly get your knees in. But when all said and done we only needed space to sleep and wash so it was fine. Also the hotel is quiet considering our room was on the road at the front we also had a view of the cathedral from our bed.

    The food in the restaurant was delicious and far exceeded my expectations and good VFM. The staff were lovely and the hotel is really well situated, everything is on the doorstep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in beautiful town.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Found bed a tiny bit hard for me, was better after a night when I'd got used to it. Rooms on small side and sloping walls with skylight would make usable floorspace even smaller if you're particularly tall - although wasn't a problem for us. No actual hotel parking - you might be lucky and get parking spot outside or very near but you have to pay for it and it was pretty full up, very rarely saw a free spot. However hotel directed us to free parking 7 minutes walk away which was available. Not a reflection on hotel but we stayed in Bayeux on a Saturday and Sunday night and lots of the shops in Bayeux were shut not just on Sunday but also on Monday morning so we had no chance to visit them. Even on Saturday night a lot of restaurants seemed shut or didn't open until 7pm so plan where you're going and find out opening times.

    Breakfast buffet very good, not included in room cost but we ended up using it every morning by choice. Great location in town and outside restaurant very popular - possibly more for drinks than food. Staff all efficient and friendly. We had rooms in main hotel which were stylish and modern and very well fitted out bathrooms. Also fans provided which were useful at night as it was very hot when we were there. Wifi excellent. Liked fact that check out time is midday. Liked location as easy to find by cathedral and main street and also if you used free parking (7 minute walk away) you were on edge of town so didn't have to negotiate narrow streets when going out for the day. The cathedral, Bayeux tapestry and various museums all minutes away. Would definitely stay there again if in Bayeux.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!

    Excellent location, just 2-3 minutes' walk from the Tapestry and Notre Dame Church. The restaurant offers lovely breakfast in the morning for 10 euros with nice croissants, bread, coffee, eggs, bacon - something for everyone!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Beautiful large room ( located in the annex across the road from the main hotel). Comfy beds, great shower room, coffee machine , kettle and safe. Good quality breakfast at an extra cost - best we experienced on our trip. Parking is on the street or a paid car park a few minutes walk away ( free parking overnight) and we didn't find this a problem. Enjoyed sitting in the courtyard in the evening with a glass of wine and plate of cheese. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Great location, Room Excellent, Parking not ideal, but OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Available parking on arrival was very limited and about 300m from the hotel.

    My room in the annex behind the main building, No. 22, was very large and comfortable, more like a 4-star than a cramped 2-star, which is what I expected, and is probably what one encounters in the older main building. The girl who welcomed me, once I could find her, was lovely and charming. The staff were generally as efficient as one expects in France. The property is very well located. Parking is in the street or in nearby pay lots. The pay lots are limited to three hours, however, so this results in considerable inconvenience if the town is busy. Overnight parking is easier, once tourists have departed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    A nice hotel in the heart of Bayeux that gives you a great taste of the beauty and people of France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having someone at the lobby desk full time - many times you would have to wait for them as they were also servicing in the restaurant

    breakfast buffet was a great way to start off your day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    The hotel was very comfortable, the service friendly. It was a very good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was adequate, but not especially delicious.

    Our bedroom was in an annexe in what appeared to be a barn conversion. We were delighted to be told on arrival that this was because we had been upgraded. Our lovely, smart room was in the converted loft of the building with beams and a very comfortable and large bed and a shower room of very good size. Despite being in the town, the room was very quiet with a lovely garden surrounding the building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Very beautiful, peaceful and relaxing hotel stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really wasn’t anything that I didn’t like. It was clean, inside and outside areas, it was very spacious, and the staff were friendly. Parking was convenient. There’s a small lot across the street and one in the back as well.

    Absolutely loved this hidden gem! There’s a beautiful little creek that runs right past your window. I was definitely not excepting such a cute little hotel ! Will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    We liked this quaint hotel & restaurant very much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel & town are charming! The restaurant had a welcoming, comfortable feel, & offered delicious food! The room was very small, but the bathroom & shower were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in the bathroom and closet area were the only complaints!

    We had a comfort room, which after Paris felt huge!! King bed, 4 chairs. Very nice room. Great view of canal out of window. Staff was very nice, every time we had a question. Train strike was in process, so we had lots of concerns. Thanks for helping and being a great staff overall!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Cozy hotel in the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    little room, for one night no problem. if i stay longer little bit bigger.

    we had also breakfast in the hotel. very good reastaunt in the area but this hotel was very cozy. we liked it and had also dinner.very good. middle of the center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and romantic break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The free car park was about a 10 minute walk away. You can pay to park next to the hotel, but only on a short-term basis. Once we got the hang of it, it wasn't a problem.

    Central location in Bayeux and actually a perfect base from which to explore Normandy. We were in the annex behind the post office, which was a bit odd, but it was beautiful and peaceful. Unexpected provision of kettle and coffee maker. Lovely terrace in front of hotel, total sun trap.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we wanted was some English TV news channels. The staff tried to get it for us but it was not possible or to get anyone to fix it over the weekend.

    This hotel is right in the centre of this lovely city. There is a great restaurant on site with very friendly and helpful staff. The room was very spacious with a nice sitting area too. We loved getting an unexpected upgrade as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Lovery location, staff friendly, a little over priced and brekfast poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very poor, everything was cold scrambled eggs, bacon etc. Did not eat there the second day went out to a restaurant near by.

    The location is excellent, with some lovely restaurants close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay when doing a D-Day tour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in the heart of Bayeux. Easy walk to cathedral and tapestry. Pay parking (only a few hours are metered) directly behind hotel, or find free street parking after unloading which is what we did. Nice restaurant at hotel. There are stairs as it is an old building. Friendly and helpful staff. Normandy/D-Day tour meet just behind hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    We stayed in Bayeaux to visit Normandy. It was perfectly located & very charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not crazy about the breakfast eggs but the bread was superb!

    Our room was a small apartment in a building behind the hotel. It was lovely & the bed super comfy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating did not work nor did the hair dryer. Receptionist just shrugged when told about this. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was awful but breakfast was good.

    The location and view were lovely. Nearby parking was inexpensive and handy.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: